Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th July 2016, 20:56   #81  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by raffriff42 View Post
Disabling 3D filter acceleration (VDXA) did the trick (Preferences/3D Acceleration)
A video driver issue? (I have NVidia, 365.19, 2016-05)
Uploaded build 37357

* fixed dx9 display bug
* fixed VDXA (was broken since version 7)

Thanks raffriff42 for report!
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2016, 08:19   #82  |  Link
18fps
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 55
Thanks for this program! I love the fact that I can open a tiff sequence.
Would it by possible to add support also for dpx format (already supported by ffmpeg, as one of the -image2 image formats)?
18fps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2016, 11:21   #83  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18fps View Post
Thanks for this program! I love the fact that I can open a tiff sequence.
Would it by possible to add support also for dpx format (already supported by ffmpeg, as one of the -image2 image formats)?
Do you mean opening or saving?
Opening should be already covered by plugin (cch_input.vdf)
If not, post image sample.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2016, 13:49   #84  |  Link
18fps
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 55
Thank you for pointing to cch_input. I had to edit the ini to add the extension, after that, it works. Very nice!
18fps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2016, 12:09   #85  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 1,932
Two small details that are usually just cosmetic but still bother me:
1. Since VapourSynth reports errors the same way avisynth does you'll actually get an error message saying something like "Avisynth error!
<vapoursynth error message here>" because vdub always adds the "avisynth error" even when it's a .vpy file opened.
2. Also because I use the same interface, vdub assumes the error message string always uses the local encoding (like avisynth), this isn't true for vs which passes an utf8 string which then may or may not display correctly.

Not sure what to do about it. I guess one way would be to simply declare a new error reporting interface and try that first.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2016, 14:09   #86  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
Two small details that are usually just cosmetic but still bother me:
1. Since VapourSynth reports errors the same way avisynth does you'll actually get an error message saying something like "Avisynth error!
I can rename the message to something like "AVI handler open failure:..."

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
2. Also because I use the same interface, vdub assumes the error message string always uses the local encoding (like avisynth), this isn't true for vs which passes an utf8 string which then may or may not display correctly.
This is bad. Also I am not happy about error message format, would prefer something parseable like

Code:
filename.vpy(linenumber) : error bla-bla-bla
VD has very little code around avisynth, basically

Code:
extern "C" const GUID IID_IAvisynthClipInfo   // {E6D6B708-124D-11D4-86F3-DB80AFD98778}
  = {0xe6d6b708, 0x124d, 0x11d4, {0x86, 0xf3, 0xdb, 0x80, 0xaf, 0xd9, 0x87, 0x78}};

struct IAvisynthClipInfo : IUnknown {
  virtual int __stdcall GetError(const char** ppszMessage) = 0;
  virtual bool __stdcall GetParity(int n) = 0;
  virtual bool __stdcall IsFieldBased() = 0;
};

...

mpAVIFile->QueryInterface(IID_IAvisynthClipInfo, (void **)&mpAvisynthClipInfo);
So if you merely clone the same interface with different GUID then I can put different names AviSynth/VapourSynth and do something about character encodings.

May be a better idea to implement input driver based on native VS API but I dont want to do it myself.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2016, 14:22   #87  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 1,932
I'm not sure you'd gain anything from native api support. You don't do prefetching and I don't think there are any relevant formats you can't already open through vfw. Am I wrong?

If not I'll just create a new interface to save some effort.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2016, 15:07   #88  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Ok
I have no idea about new benefits, maybe I can make use of some metadata (full range etc). But this can be included in new interface too. And what is prefetching?
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2016, 13:05   #89  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Adding "native" support for x264 encoder.

All these formats are supported: yv12, yv16, yv24, rgb (both 8 and 10 bit).
Colorspace options 601/709 and full/limited range for all yuv formats.

"Video color depth" dialog is discontinued, it never made much sense. Now there is separate "Decode format" dialog and "Output format" inside compression dialog.



Internally there is full support for 16 bit yuv formats but I dont use them for anything but output to x264 (may be expanded later).

What is x264 plugin (actually 2 plugins for each bitdepth): this is basically x264vfw from https://sourceforge.net/projects/x264vfw/ with some cosmetic changes:
VFW API is extended to support format negotiation etc.
File output is removed.
Decode support is removed.
Format conversion is disabled (handled by VD).

In fact some arbitrary vfw codec can be simply renamed as vdplugin, this may be useful to have many portable versions of same codec.
__________________
VirtualDub2

Last edited by shekh; 24th September 2016 at 21:46.
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2016, 16:12   #90  |  Link
Jamaika
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 568
Thanks. Certainly come in handy for beginners.
Whining Jamaika:
Lack Rec. 2020
How is the support for above 8bit color depth and rec 2020 in the preview?
Good and it, but I preferred the appearance codec komisar.gin.by.
It could use a codec VP9vfw at youtube.
And what with support GoPro CineForm YUVA4444 / RGBA 12bit?
Jamaika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2016, 17:01   #91  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamaika View Post
Thanks. Certainly come in handy for beginners.
Whining Jamaika:
Lack Rec. 2020
How is the support for above 8bit color depth and rec 2020 in the preview?
Good and it, but I preferred the appearance codec komisar.gin.by.
It could use a codec VP9vfw at youtube.
And what with support GoPro CineForm YUVA4444 / RGBA 12bit?
> Lack Rec. 2020

I think it`s better to make advanced conversion filter for stuff like this (also proper place to do all kinds of dithering). Supposedly a library like zimg already does all math.
Just a thought, I don`t plan to make it today.

> How is the support for above 8bit color depth and rec 2020 in the preview?

Are you asking to actually output high bit depth to display? I don`t have such display and don`t even think about getting one.

Komisar codec is something I considered to look into, after a while.

> It could use a codec VP9vfw at youtube

Not sure what are you talking about. Does VP9vfw exist? Do you have a link?

> And what with support GoPro CineForm YUVA4444 / RGBA 12bit?

Nothing, since it it does not support such formats with vfw codec and is closed source and devs dont even visit their own showcase forum.
Well in fact it has "enable 4444" option which will upconvert 8bit rgb to 12bit rgb. Pointless, huh?
__________________
VirtualDub2

Last edited by shekh; 14th August 2016 at 17:05.
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2016, 19:06   #92  |  Link
Jamaika
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
Not sure what are you talking about. Does VP9vfw exist? Do you have a link?
I realize. I can dream. In the same way as the improvement in VirtualDub container AVI, which is obsolete.
It is only outdated VP8vfw but it has currently container webm.

Is this project still current?
https://sourceforge.net/projects/mpxplay/files/x265vfw/

Last edited by Jamaika; 14th August 2016 at 19:11.
Jamaika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2016, 19:43   #93  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamaika View Post
I wrote here, will see. link
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2016, 16:53   #94  |  Link
b2kguga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 21
Hi shekh

Can you explain a few things about VDub plugin api ? I wanted to know exactly what functions are called when toggle function is activated.

For example, whenever i use the toggle, if preview is enabled these routines are called (In order)

ParamProc, StartProc, RunProc

When i press again the preview (to disabled it), the function EndProc is called.

So,what are the usage and routines envolved with ? UndoSystem RedoSystem, RedoFrame ?
b2kguga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2016, 18:20   #95  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Did you read PluginSDK.chm? I advise reading it start to end, it has a lot of answers.

Or if you read but don`t understand something specific, ask again with more detail about your problem. Normally all you need to get started is just grab any existing plugin, so your questions are quite disappointing.

> UndoSystem

Never used it, don`t even imagine why it is needed.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2016, 22:58   #96  |  Link
b2kguga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 21
Skeh i read it, but im having trouble identifying where some routines starts and ends and preview is enabled and the correct usage of RedoSystem. I mean, after using UndoSystem the program seems to start all routines again, but which functions are passed 1st ?

Sorry for the bad english, but it may be better i explain in examples.

Im giving a try building a new version of LogoAway. So far, the rebuild is doing well. Im doing it in assembly and debugging it also with my own assembler. One of the things im having difficulties to understand is that inside my ConfigDialog it have a call to the toggle function of Vdub.

Apparently it restarts he execution of other Vdub starter functions such as:
RunProc, EndProc, StartProc etc.

I wanted to know the order that these functions are called. This is because the controls im using needs the values to be update and, therefore, needed to reload (and destroy) old memory allocated. This is causing the dialog to flick the preview window.

Code:
Proc ConfigDlgProc:
    Arguments @Adressee, @Message, @wParam, @lParam
    Local @mfd, @fa
    Uses ebx, esi, edi, ecx, edx

    call 'USER32.GetWindowLongA' D@Adressee, &DWL_USER
    mov D@mfd eax
(...)
    ...If D@Message = &WM_COMMAND ; User action

        If D@mfd <> 0
            call On_WmCommand D@Adressee, D@wParam, D@lParam, D@mfd
        Else
            xor eax eax
        End_If
(...)EndP
; inside WM_Command the controls are used as:
Code:
(...)
    ...Else_If D@wParam = IDC_EDIT_LOGO_BORDER_WIDTH ; Border Size (Width)

        call IFilterPreviewUndoSystem D@fa
        ; ImgWidth= Pos+BorderWidth
        lea eax D@lpTranslated
        call 'USER32.GetDlgItemInt' D@hDlg, IDC_EDIT_LOGO_BORDER_WIDTH, eax, &FALSE
(...)
        call IFilterPreviewRedoSystem D@fa

    ...Else_If D@wParam = IDC_EDIT_LOGO_BORDER_HEIGHT
(...)
    ..Else_if D@wParam = IDC_BTN_SHOW_PREVIEW

        call IFilterPreviewToggle D@fa, D@hBtn
        xor eax eax
(...)
What is happenning is that when i set the new width or height of the logo, the preview is flickering because the plugin is restarted and the memory is allocated/deallocated.

Code:
Proc EndProc:
    Arguments @fa, @ff
    Uses esi, edi, ebx
(...)
 ; used to deallocate memory
EndP
Code:
Proc StartProc:
    Arguments @fa, @ff
    Local @BWidth, @BHeight, @TmpMemData, @GradientSize, @MemSize2, @MemSize3, @MemSize4, @MemSize5,
          @ErrorMessage
    Uses ebx, esi, edi

    mov eax D@fa
    mov esi D$eax+FilterActivation.filter_dataDis
(...)
; this is where to allocate the memory
EndP
Code:
Proc RunProc:
    Arguments @fa, @ff
    Local @ImgWidth, @WithBorderNorth, @WithBorderEast, @WithBorderSouth, @WithBorderWest, @CurSrcframe, @IsKeyFrameSet, @Counter
    Uses ebx, esi, edi
(...)
; this is where the plugin actually works.
EndP
The problem is that, when activating the preview the plugin stops the execution, and starts again on EndProc (To delete the memory), StartProc (to allocate the memory again) and on Runproc (to run the previewed data)

I wanted to know the order of the functions where undosystem uses to reload.

I mnean, undosystem seems to run again on all the functions pointed by the FilterDefinition structure, but im not sure the order the pointers are being called once undosystem and RedoSystem are activated.

Code:
[FilterDefinition:
 FilterDefinition.next: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.prev: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.module: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.name: D$ Sz_PluginName
 FilterDefinition.desc: D$ Sz_Description
 FilterDefinition.maker: D$ Sz_Author
 FilterDefinition.private_data: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.inst_data_size: D$ Size_Of_FilterData
 FilterDefinition.initProc: D$ InitProc
 FilterDefinition.deinitProc: D$ 0;DeInitProc
 FilterDefinition.runProc: D$ RunProc
 FilterDefinition.paramProc: D$ ParamProc
 FilterDefinition.ConfigProc: D$ ConfigProc
 FilterDefinition.StringProc: D$ StringProc
 FilterDefinition.StartProc: D$ StartProc
 FilterDefinition.EndProc: D$ EndProc
 FilterDefinition.script_obj: D$ VDXScriptObject
 FilterDefinition.fssProc: D$ FssProc
 FilterDefinition.stringProc2: D$ StringProc2
 FilterDefinition.serializeProc: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.deserializeProc: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.copyProc: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.prefetchProc: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.copyProc2: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.prefetchProc2: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.eventProc: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.accelRunProc: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.mSourceCountLowMinus1: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.mSourceCountHighMinus1: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.mpStaticAboutProc: D$ &NULL
 FilterDefinition.mpStaticConfigureProc: D$ &NULL]
Im asking this because i want to avoid the flickering and the only solution i can find is making the allocation and deallocation of memory be inside RunProc function using a flag to check if we are really running the plugin or only using it on preview mode.

The documentation says that the place to allocate and deallocate memory is on StartProc and EndProc and maybe i need to do those allocs/deallocs in other places.

This is what ive built so far

Last edited by b2kguga; 20th August 2016 at 23:01.
b2kguga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2016, 20:49   #97  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Fixed some serious bugs
and just another screenshot for completeness

__________________
VirtualDub2

Last edited by shekh; 24th September 2016 at 21:47.
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2016, 19:34   #98  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 679
Added FFV1/Huffyuv with simple UI (luckily these codecs do not need difficult setup)
Other options in dropdown are 8 bit rgba, yuv420, yuv422, yuv444 (equal for both codecs)

__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2016, 14:12   #99  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 6,833
Ooooh, lovely
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2016, 22:43   #100  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,376
ffv1 got 16bit RGB mode in ffmpeg recently if I remember well.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.