Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th April 2017, 02:31   #43501  |  Link
qjb2016
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: cq
Posts: 15
Hi madshi,I also,the HDR, color space can be identified, the transfer function can not be identified, windows 10 1703, epson tw8300
Attached Images
 
qjb2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 07:09   #43502  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 842
madshi, since I can't get the ytp test images to load anymore, can I just as well drag one of the png test images from http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/ into MPC-HC? The gradient one specifically. Thanks
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 10:21   #43503  |  Link
pruttolle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
copyback has to work so either your PC has a serious problem or you should contact AMD about this.
Yeah, Copyback works, but not as smooth as Native.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
Same thing here with RX470.The black screen is reported but not fixed.Every RX4x0 user here has the same problem.
I just set decoder to ''none'' and switch to evr cp and dxva2(native) if there's something ''heavy''.
Ah okay, thanks! I guess I'll wait with all other AMD users
Hopefully it'll be fixed soon.
pruttolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 11:41   #43504  |  Link
Cienight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budtz View Post
I take that back. disabeling FSE fixes the issue. the system behaves a bit different but its fine.

I have another problem however. i get glitches if i use dxva in lav filters. what could couse this? cuvid is fine
Hi, i also have the exact same problem. I get glitsches on specific parts of the video if i enable dxva2 in lav filters. Did you find any solution?
Cienight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 12:11   #43505  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,062
try DXVA copyback and make sure the nvidia power saving setting is NOT set to optimal.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 16:40   #43506  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,023
When the Win10 creators update (1703) is installed, it also re-installs drivers and resets the Nvidia profiles to defaults. So anyone who has tweaked settings in the past should reapply them.
You can adjust application profiles with NvidiaProfileInspector. The MPC-HC profile is named "Media Player Classic". Set power management mode to Adaptive.

Those who have issues with FSE in Win10 1703, try this:
right-click on the player exe > compatibility > uncheck fullscreen optimizations
(this is a newly added option)
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 18:34   #43507  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 429
Is it better to use for mpc-hc or mpc-be (windows 7), power management mode: prefer maximum performance instead of adaptive?

Last edited by Siso; 25th April 2017 at 18:39.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 18:44   #43508  |  Link
khanmein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
Is it better to use for mpc-hc or mpc-be (windows 7), power management mode: prefer maximum performance instead of adaptive?
Adaptive is more than enough. Try to toggle around which suit you the best.
khanmein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 18:51   #43509  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
When the Win10 creators update (1703) is installed, it also re-installs drivers and resets the Nvidia profiles to defaults. So anyone who has tweaked settings in the past should reapply them.
You can adjust application profiles with NvidiaProfileInspector. The MPC-HC profile is named "Media Player Classic". Set power management mode to Adaptive.

Those who have issues with FSE in Win10 1703, try this:
right-click on the player exe > compatibility > uncheck fullscreen optimizations
(this is a newly added option)
None of that works...
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 22:55   #43510  |  Link
mrcorbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 171
I am not able to get HDR output to work either in Win 10 Creators update using my GTX 1060. I even tried reverting to the pre-Creator's update driver (378.92) as the Creators Update supporting driver broke HDR output in games for some people, but this also didn't work.

Things I've tried in all possible combinations:

Setting color output settings to 4:2:2 and 4:2:0 10 and 12 bit in Nvidia driver settings.

Setting color output settings to system managed in Nvidia drivers (new option for Creator's update drivers).

Manually triggering HDR mode in Windows display settings before playing video.

Both Nvidia and Win 10 HDR metadata transmission methods in madVR.

In the cases where HDR was not manually turned on, madVR output was identical in windowed and FSE modes (and both were wrong, looking washed out with the overall picture too bright, the highlights dulled and with the color saturation low). In the cases where HDR was manually turned on, the windowed output was still wrong and the FSE output looked the same as the output when HDR was turned off.

As of now, the only "correct" (as in close to the output of my TV's internal media player and madVR in process HDR to SDR mode) HDR output I've seen is by setting the Nvidia drivers to system managed color, turning on HDR manually, and playing the files in the Windows 10 Movies and TV app. This combination of settings is also the only time I've seen my receiver report that it is being sent the BT.2020 color space.

Interestingly, the output from the Movies and TV app when HDR is turned off is the inverse of madVR's ouput with the overall picture dark with the highlights blown out and with the colors super-saturated.

Last edited by mrcorbo; 25th April 2017 at 23:12.
mrcorbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2017, 02:20   #43511  |  Link
Ginnoji
Registered User
 
Ginnoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
To get madVR to passthrough HDR data successfully on Windows 10 1703 I did the following:

Update to madVR 0.91.9, LAV filters to 0.69.0.43, NVIDIA drivers to 381.89

NVIDIA Control Panel settings:
http://i.imgur.com/M5KxTx3.png

Windows 10 System settings:
http://i.imgur.com/23Mp535.png

Player Properties:
http://i.imgur.com/CMDgYy2.png

madVR settings:
http://i.imgur.com/qoR6NV6.png
http://i.imgur.com/XpRAzbx.png
http://i.imgur.com/4Pl6Rk1.png

Picture quality looks exactly the same as when using the TV's internal player.
Also, both NVIDIA's private API and Windows 10 API produced the same results but I only tested with one video file.
I used DDU to do a clean install of the display drivers.
Windows 10 1703 was a clean install not an update from 1607.
Ginnoji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2017, 06:40   #43512  |  Link
lubczyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 61
madVR and high refresh rate panels

Can madVR take advantage of high refresh rate panels like 72Hz, 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, et cetera? Would I be able to get smoother motion with a 240Hz panel with 24/30 Hz mixed content (Anime) without enabling the Smooth Motion setting?

Is there a point or any benefit in using high refresh rate monitiors/panels with purely madVR?

On another note, do high refresh rate panels help with the viewing experience of 24/30 sources like Hollywood films?
lubczyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2017, 08:04   #43513  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,249
Enabling Smooth Motion is exactly what you'd want to do with a high refresh rate panel, either that or running as close to the frame rate as possible which you can already do with lower rate panels.
Yes the benefit is smoother pans at the expense of a small amount of image sharpness, but perhaps Smooth Motion at 100+Hz is almost as good sharpness wise, perhaps someone can weigh in here.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2017, 10:34   #43514  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,062
the potential problem with smooth motion is "totally" gone on a screen with 120 Hz+ and that's about it.

they are usually very very bad screen with terrible CR, 6 bit TN panels and terrible colors. these are gaming screens nothing else.

if you want proper image quality get something else.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2017, 13:25   #43515  |  Link
YxP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
Every RX4x0 user here has the same problem.
Just to be 1000% sure: 8bit works fine with AMD? I just ordered my 580 and will go nuclear if madvr doesn't work properly :P
YxP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2017, 14:08   #43516  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,062
have fun with your core meltdown because NGU is going to be very slow with polaris.

i never had any problem with AMD DXVA copyback. not with my 6770, r9 270 and even my RX 480 worked properly with DXVA copyback.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2017, 14:16   #43517  |  Link
YxP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 97
I'm upgrading from HD7850 and it indeed works very well, although a bit too slow for high NNEDI or Very High NGU. If 580 can run NGU high I think I'll survive.
YxP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2017, 14:23   #43518  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,062
i'm not 100% sure but a 7850 has about the same NGU performance as a polaris card.

if i'm not mistaken my R9 270 was faster than my RX 480 in NGU and only there.

but NGU high is pretty easy for GPUs so maybe...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2017, 15:16   #43519  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by YxP View Post
Just to be 1000% sure: 8bit works fine with AMD? I just ordered my 580 and will go nuclear if madvr doesn't work properly :P
The problem(black screen) is the combination of RX4x0,Madvr,dxva2(native) and 10 bit HEVC.With this combination and evr cp everything's fine,so it seems that the problem points Madvr.With 8bit you'll be fine.RX580 is a rebrand with higher core clocks,so I guess you will have it too.
If you have dxva2(copy-back) why bother with dxva2(native) though(?)I am the unlucky one like pruttolle that experiences stutters with copyback,others with same gpu don't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by YxP View Post
I'm upgrading from HD7850 and it indeed works very well, although a bit too slow for high NNEDI or Very High NGU. If 580 can run NGU high I think I'll survive.
Huhn is right about polaris being slow.
In some occasions(in others I have some dropped frames) I can run NGU(sharp) high with my RX470.I guess you will be able to run NGU high with an RX580.
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2017, 23:06   #43520  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,249
Ran NGU sharp for the first time on some a 720 movie and was quite impressed with how it looked. Couldn't run Very High on my 960 but High was a go with about 20ms render time.

Sounds like someone needs to have a word with an AMD dev and get them to optimize a bit for madVR if it's that bad, I don't see a good reason to choose them over Nvidia when it comes to using it (Once you've optimized the 24Hz mode that is) I believe AMD still has the better timings here.

Last edited by ryrynz; 26th April 2017 at 23:13.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.