Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th April 2017, 03:45   #43521  |  Link
egandt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 46
Quick tests

I ran a few quick tests using the latest build, here is what I see (note I have an HD Integral, so I can monitor the HDMI stream data as well as via the TV Info).

If the monitor is set to HDR (windows slider setting), then both modes (Nvidia or DX11) display HDR, but then everything is displayed using HDR, so not sure if they are doing anything. If HDR is disabled, then everything plays back a non-HDR no matter the option (Nvidia or DX11).
If you set a custom color mode using Nvidia (which makes sense as I can match the TV's calibration), then HDR can not be enabled in Windows (via the slider) and both options (Nvidia and DX11), do not display HDR.


What I'd like is to be able to turn on HDR, but only have HDR data sent if the Video is HDR otherwise to not send it, but I do not see how to do that in Windows currently, so with HDR on it is right for 1% and wrong for 99% which is not. I've set it for the 99% (HDR slider off, Nvidia set to 4:4:4 limited) since so little has content includes HDR.

I'm running a 7700K with a GTX 1080 TI, latest Nvidia Drivers.

Is there something I'm missing with the settings?, or is it just that Windows HDR is half baked (I'm thinking it is the second one).

Thanks,
ERIC
egandt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2017, 04:27   #43522  |  Link
chileverde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Occasional playback stutters/skips that MadVR doesn't recognize

I've been using Kodi DSPlayer 16.1 with MadVR (currently v0.91.7) for a long time with no problems. Recently I've started experiencing video/audio stutters about two or three times per hour of playback. The best way I can describe it is like a skipping vinyl record, and the audio stutter makes a machine-gun like effect. It's very brief, lasting 1-2 seconds each time, but really jarring, and often the video/audio are out of sync afterwards and I have to stop playback and restart.

The MadVR playback stats don't recognize these stutters as frame repeats or presentation glitches - it seems like as far as MadVR is concerned, playback is working fine, which makes me wonder if something else in my system is causing the problem.

This problem started spontaneously several months ago - I didn't make any changes to my system or upgrade any of the software.

Also, I'm running Windows 10.

Thanks!
chileverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2017, 06:15   #43523  |  Link
nsnhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 108
What are requirements for the 'HDR slider' appearing at all ? You needs Win10 creators update, but what about other components ?
nsnhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2017, 11:09   #43524  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,163
you need an HDR screen with HDR 10 support, a GPU that supports HDR and if you are using an AVR in between it has to support it too.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2017, 12:07   #43525  |  Link
egandt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsnhd View Post
What are requirements for the 'HDR slider' appearing at all ? You needs Win10 creators update, but what about other components ?
You need a monitor that reports an EDID that supports HDR as well, confirmed that using the HD Integral to change the EDID of the TV.

ERIC
egandt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2017, 14:54   #43526  |  Link
Cinemancave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 30
With the HDR modes implemented in the new release, is it still possible to send HDR passthrough without sending the metadata? I am hesitant to try out for myself since I don't want any updates to start causing any issues (I'm on an earlier build). I'm a JVC owner and want to be sure that it's safe to update before I do. I need to strip the HDR metadata in order to get the max out of the projector, and this was a (for me) welcome side-effect of the HDR implementation before.
Cinemancave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2017, 18:09   #43527  |  Link
Q-the-STORM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cinemancave View Post
is it still possible to send HDR passthrough without sending the metadata?
Yes, don't check "send HDR metadata to the display" and you're good.
Q-the-STORM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2017, 21:36   #43528  |  Link
lunnar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cinemancave View Post
With the HDR modes implemented in the new release, is it still possible to send HDR passthrough without sending the metadata? I am hesitant to try out for myself since I don't want any updates to start causing any issues (I'm on an earlier build). I'm a JVC owner and want to be sure that it's safe to update before I do. I need to strip the HDR metadata in order to get the max out of the projector, and this was a (for me) welcome side-effect of the HDR implementation before.
I am curious to know why your don't want the metadata on your JVC projector?

I also got a JVC(RS-420) and I feel like I do want the metadata to be sent to the projector.
lunnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2017, 01:53   #43529  |  Link
igvk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 28
Using 3dlut

Hello,
I have created .3dlut in displayCal for my display (NEC PA302W), using i1 Display 2 calibrator.
And recently I noticed some bad artifacts in video when this 3dlut is used in madVR.
Here is a screenshot (the saturated color patches can be seen, especially in the left part of the image).

The video is ok when i disable calibration LUT.
It seems that something is wrong with calibration or its usage.
What can be done to fix this?
Attached Images
 
igvk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2017, 09:19   #43530  |  Link
IanD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 190
I'm attempting to play 3D @ 60fps to an LG OLED in PC mode using LAV, MPC-BE and MadVR in order to bypass as much processing in the LG as possible and have greater control. However this is proving more difficult than I imagined, not least of which is both MPC-BE and MadVR have settings for the 3D output format which may be conflicting. I wasn't sure which forum is most appropriate since I don't know which software component is most contributing to the issues. I'm using an i7 2600 and GTX 1050 with 4k60p RGB Full Range output.

As a preliminary question, I have come across comments that MadVR only works with MPC-BE x86 and not x64: is this still true, or doesn't it have an impact on speed anyway?

If I set 3D output in both MPC-BE and MadVR to line interleaved, I get a 1920x1080 window on the desktop that is 3D when I put on the passive glasses. Statistics say it is a 1920x1080 video, yet line interleaved should be generating a 1920x2160 window IMO, which means there is scaling happening before the window is output. Rendering is ~ 30ms with all scaling Bicubic75 and no other processing. When in fullscreen windowed mode, it seems to be correct 3D, but rendering increases to ~60ms and there are many dropped frames.

There is obviously unwanted scaling (ie I don't need a 3D window on the desktop if it reduces processing load) happening in windowed mode, but I'm not sure if it is also happening in a similar way for fullscreen windowed mode: that is, maybe the 1920x2160 decoded 3D interleaved frame is being scaled to 1920x1080 for display in the window, then being scaled back up to 3840x2160 for display in fullscreen windowed, losing detail in the process. Or have I got this wrong and the window is correctly processing the decoded frame separately for each situation? There should not be a huge scaling overhead in scaling a 1920x2160 interleaved frame to 3840x2160.

I'm also confused over having 3D output format settings in both MPC-BE and MadVR: what should I set each one to in order to get unmolested line interleaved 3D with the least processing overhead?

If anyone else has experience in doing the above for the best PQ and least processing load, I would appreciate some tips.

Last edited by IanD; 28th April 2017 at 09:22.
IanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2017, 12:37   #43531  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,163
did you hanged the nvidia power setting? if not change them to adaptive.

64 bit is faster for software decoding and madVR works totally fine with 64 bit. ignore the 3D settings in mpc be for now or use mpc hc until 3D works as it should be.

my guess is that these mpc-be settings are for EVR and or the subtitle filter.

leave madVR at interleaved 3D for now
after you did all this make a screen of the OSD.

60 FPS scaling isn't easy for a 1050 so the load will be quite notable.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2017, 13:47   #43532  |  Link
IanD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
60 FPS scaling isn't easy for a 1050 so the load will be quite notable.
Will look into your suggestions.

Actually, 1080p->4k @ 60fps with Bicubic scaling and smoothmotion has a render load of about 7ms on the GTX 1050. 3D seems to be a different matter, at least with my current configuration, although theoretically it should be less because 1920x2160->4k only needs scaling horizontally.
IanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2017, 23:10   #43533  |  Link
chileverde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Playback is suddenly stuttering/skipping

I've been using MadVR (currently v0.90.13) with Kodi DSPlayer 16.1 on my Windows 10 HTPC for a long time with no problems, but just recently started experiencing video/audio stutters two or three times per hour of playback. The best way I can describe it is like a skipping vinyl record, where the same millisecond of audio/video repeats in a rapid-fire machine gun fashion for 1-2 seconds. Sometimes the video/audio are out of sync afterwards and I have to stop and restart playback.

Interestingly, the MadVR playback stats don't recognize these stutters as frame repeats or presentation glitches - it seems like as far as MadVR is concerned, nothing is awry, which makes me wonder if something else in my system is causing the problem.

Any advice on how to troubleshoot this?

Last edited by chileverde; 28th April 2017 at 23:19. Reason: typo!
chileverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2017, 01:07   #43534  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,277
First thing I'd do is try using another player then rolling back drivers. A system restore point set before these issues occurred could be worth a shot.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2017, 01:37   #43535  |  Link
chileverde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
First thing I'd do is try using another player then rolling back drivers. A system restore point set before these issues occurred could be worth a shot.
Thanks. Do you mean rolling back graphics drivers? I'm on Intel HD 4400 graphics through my CPU, and I haven't been aware of a driver update in a very long time, unless it could have been an automatic update in the background. I'll check.

Trying a different player is a great idea. I'll try MPC-HC with MadVR, same settings, and see if I experience the same issue.

I've been having this issue for at least 6 months (been lazy about trying to solve it), so I'm not sure what system restore points are available but I can check. That would leave all my personal files in place but roll back the OS, drivers, installed programs, etc, correct?
chileverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2017, 08:29   #43536  |  Link
IanD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
after you did all this make a screen of the OSD.
Easier said than done: photo is the best I could do, with playback on pause.

Render times are around 18ms with MPC-BE x64 Bicubic75 for all scaling
Render times are around 45ms with MPC-BE x64 Bicubic75 for all scaling plus smoothmotion enabled.

I'm not certain, but the image looks a bit softer than I would expect, so I wonder if the process is throwing away lines and then scaling back up again for presentation because it does mention the image is 1920x1080 and it does present in a 1920x1080 window. However, it does sort of work.

I have to stop the LG OLED from orbiting the screen, otherwise the eye views swap after a time period. Also, because I'm driving the desktop effectively as 2D, the LG doesn't detect 3D and automatically switch into 3D mode with extra OLED Light, so I have to manually use a different preset to watch 3D. Apart from this, it works well because I can watch 3D and 2D just by putting 3D glasses on or removing them and the desktop doesn't change hugely.
Attached Images
 
IanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2017, 11:28   #43537  |  Link
Cinemancave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunnar View Post
I am curious to know why your don't want the metadata on your JVC projector?

I also got a JVC(RS-420) and I feel like I do want the metadata to be sent to the projector.
When a JVC projector receives HDR metadata it gets locked into HDR mode. This doesn't actually do anything other than turning off the dynamic iris and defaulting to a JVC predefined HDR-gammacurve. The major selling point for a JVC is the black levels, hence we want the dynamic iris. Also, custom gamma curves give better results than JVC's own solution so it's nice to have a user mode properly setup for HDR that doesn't default to a worse JVC curve.

The current go-to solution to get the best result with UHD material is to buy an HDFury Linker for 200$ in order to strip the hdr metadata before the JVC receives it. With Madvr, we are basically getting this functionality without having to buy a separate device.

All information can be found on avsforum.
Cinemancave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2017, 15:21   #43538  |  Link
SweetLow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cinemancave View Post
With Madvr, we are basically getting this functionality without having to buy a separate device.
Just from curiosity - what is problem to set new EDID for the projector without HDR tags? This make system wise solution.
SweetLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2017, 17:50   #43539  |  Link
Cinemancave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetLow View Post
Just from curiosity - what is problem to set new EDID for the projector without HDR tags? This make system wise solution.
I am not sure that I understand your question. The Linker is needed in order for a UHD player to send HDR (tells the player that "yes this display is HDR capable", so the EDID to the player needs to say "HDR capable" etc.) but from the projector's point of view it doesn't get the HDR flag. Unfortunately there is no other way to accomplish this atm. One would hope JVC could allow the user to set up HDR in a custom mode with functioning dynamic iris. But this is sadly not possible.
Cinemancave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2017, 19:38   #43540  |  Link
Dark Eyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Nvidia drivers & GTX1060 settings

I'm currently using Nvidia drivers 376.53, with MadVR v91.9 with a GTX750Ti outputting @ 1080p.
I'm about to upgrade to a GTX1060, so I was wondering which Nvidia drivers people are using.
Also, has anybody got any suggested MadVR settings for the GTX1060(3GB), that I can use as a baseline to start from?
Dark Eyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.