Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th June 2018, 14:34   #6221  |  Link
LouieChuckyMerry
Registered User
 
LouieChuckyMerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
MeGUI as such is more or less "portable" anyway, you just unpack it from a ZIP archive, and you should unpack it anywhere else, just not in the usual "Program Files" directories protected by the UAC. Where does it reside in your system?
I have it on a RAMDisc, F:\, with all my other audio-video programs. When I started learning about encoding it seemed like a good idea to have independent discs for the executable files (F:\), the source files (D:\), and the output files (C:\). Perhaps I was overthinking things .

Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Windows 7 in 64 bit is fine; if you don't use the 64 bit of MeGUI, the general version will use the 32 bit version of AviSynth (log reports "MeGUI: 2859 x86", and SEt's MT version is only available in 32 bit, so it's obvious).
Yes, I've been using SEt's () 32 bit MT version for some years, until trying to figure out AviSynth+.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
BTW, "Prefetch(7)" is funny, are 7 threads the maximum for your specific script's memory consumption? And yes, Prefetch() is a function specific to AviSynth+ MT.
In the beginning I used Groucho2004's awesome AVSMeter () to test for the best MT configuration, and I found that on my quad-core system SetMTMode(3,7) gave me better results than SetMTMode(3,8). Not that I know why .

Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
Open a script with nothing but Version() and see what it says.
It shows: AviSynth 2.60, build:Feb 20 2015 [03:16:45] 2000-2014 Ben Rudiak-Gould, et al. http://www.avisynth.org

Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
PS Is MeGUI being a bit oddly when encoding sources indexed with Lsmash for anyone else?
For some reason, after one of the recent updates, the info displayed in the job queue takes quite a while to acknowledged an encode has started, even though the window displaying the encoding process is open and it's clearly progressing. The log queue continues to display "waiting" and appears to be frozen, because no jobs can be started until it changes from "waiting" to "processing", and a couple of time MeGUI has frozen completely "waiting" for a job to commence that's already running. It seems to only happen with Lsmash.
I've not experienced any freezing, but perhaps it takes a bit longer to proceed from "waiting" to "processing" lately. It's always taken much longer for LSmash scripts to load-begin processing than FFMS scripts on both my Win 7 64 bit systems, but I prefer it because, for whatever reason, FFMS sometimes "acts up" whereas LSmash doesn't.

Last edited by LouieChuckyMerry; 6th June 2018 at 14:43.
LouieChuckyMerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2018, 22:00   #6222  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouieChuckyMerry View Post
It shows: AviSynth 2.60, build:Feb 20 2015 [03:16:45] 2000-2014 Ben Rudiak-Gould, et al. http://www.avisynth.org
I do not know what is going on there. Could you please check if you do have a avisynth.dll in your MeGUI folder (in the root) when MeGUI is running and this dll is from 2018?
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2018, 23:07   #6223  |  Link
doomleox999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
OK, then I misunderstood it. You do not want to select specific streams you want to change the language of exsting streams. This is sadly not possible.
I found a way. You just have to change the default language in MeGUI settings, as simple as that.
doomleox999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2018, 01:50   #6224  |  Link
LouieChuckyMerry
Registered User
 
LouieChuckyMerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
I do not know what is going on there. Could you please check if you do have a avisynth.dll in your MeGUI folder (in the root) when MeGUI is running and this dll is from 2018?
There's an AviSynth.dll in the root MeGUI folder and Windows Properties says the "Product name" is "AviSynth+ 0.1 (r2664, MT, i386)" and the "Date modified" is "28 March 18 15:04".
LouieChuckyMerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2018, 03:06   #6225  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouieChuckyMerry View Post
It shows: AviSynth 2.60, build:Feb 20 2015 [03:16:45] 2000-2014 Ben Rudiak-Gould, et al. http://www.avisynth.org
Sorry if that makes me feel a bit better. I suspected it was probably happening to other people, only nobody else had noticed yet.
When I tested old MeGUI versions, it seems the problem was introduced around the time the extra Avisynth info was added to the log file. That may be just co-incidence, but it took me a long time to notice too.

Quote:
I've not experienced any freezing, but perhaps it takes a bit longer to proceed from "waiting" to "processing" lately. It's always taken much longer for LSmash scripts to load-begin processing than FFMS scripts on both my Win 7 64 bit systems, but I prefer it because, for whatever reason, FFMS sometimes "acts up" whereas LSmash doesn't.
Maybe it's because my PC's old and it's a slow script and it's been a while since I encoded any 1080p video, but I don't recall such a large delay time between MeGUI starting encoding and realising it had started encoding. The progress window is really slow to respond to changes in encoding speed, so maybe it's related to that (I wish it was responsive enough to show you sudden changes in encoding speed instead of slow enough to show you something that probably happened 20 minutes ago).

This was what I meant though. 100 frames have been encoded and the job queue still hasn't caught up (job5 running).
I'm using an old XP compatible version of LSmash, but even so, this feels like something new.

PS. I just ran a short encode (100 frames) of the same video, only without any filtering aside from resizing in the script, and when it'd finished encoding the job queue still showed "waiting". When I tried deleting the job from the queue manually, MeGUI found a new excuse to crash.


Last edited by hello_hello; 7th June 2018 at 03:56.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2018, 11:07   #6226  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,800
Another feature request for Zathor.....

When you select an encoder preset, open the encoder configuration and then change something, upon clicking "okay" MeGUI asks if you'd like to save the changes to the preset. Not having clicked the "Update" button first, I'm usually pretty confident I don't want to save the changes to the preset, so would it be possible to add a "don't ask me again" checkbox to the message window?
The question seems rather redundant to me anyway, given there's an obvious update button for when you do want to update the preset, and 90% of the time I'd be making temporary changes to an existing preset rather than loading the defaults and starting from scratch anyway, and being asked all the time is $&#% annoying.

Thanks.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2018, 22:32   #6227  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouieChuckyMerry View Post
There's an AviSynth.dll in the root MeGUI folder and Windows Properties says the "Product name" is "AviSynth+ 0.1 (r2664, MT, i386)" and the "Date modified" is "28 March 18 15:04".
OK, what is happening is that that avisynth.dll cannot be used by MeGUI. Therefore the script calls the system installed dll which is the old AviSynth from 2015.
The question therefore is why the avisynth.dll in the MeGUI folder is not autoloaded. How do you start MeGUI? With a double click on the MeGUI.exe?
Also avs+ needs the vcredist 2017 which you do not have installed. It should be copied by MeGUI but could you please try to install:
https://aka.ms/vs/15/release/vc_redist.x86.exe
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2018, 00:18   #6228  |  Link
VoodooFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
@Zathor
What about that error?
VoodooFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2018, 09:56   #6229  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoodooFX View Post
What about that error?
Maybe MediaInfo found another subtitle corrupt here:

Quote:
---[Information] Text
-[Information] ID: 7
-[Information] StreamOrder: 6
-[Information] Codec: S_TEXT/UTF8
-[Information] LanguageString: Portuguese
---[Information] Text
-[NoImage] InvalidArgument=Value of '4' is not valid for 'index'.
Try remux your mkv source with MkvToolNixGUI before, and repeat the MeGUI recode.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2018, 13:34   #6230  |  Link
wiggaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 17
Hello,
I did few tests between the old version (2836) and the latest (2859), and ffmpeg is indeed slower.
We are talking about fps decimals but, since we enjoy every single increase, that's become significally important, I think.

Here's some logs:

1080p crf (first 2836 then 2859)
https://pastebin.com/iet3XFmg

576p 2pass (first 2836 then 2859)
https://pastebin.com/pMCsZuU8

What you think?
Thanks in advance
wiggaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2018, 15:03   #6231  |  Link
LouieChuckyMerry
Registered User
 
LouieChuckyMerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
Also avs+ needs the vcredist 2017 which you do not have installed. It should be copied by MeGUI but could you please try to install:
https://aka.ms/vs/15/release/vc_redist.x86.exe
Happy Friday! I've downloaded and installed the above 2017 vcredist.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
OK, what is happening is that that avisynth.dll cannot be used by MeGUI. Therefore the script calls the system installed dll which is the old AviSynth from 2015.
The question therefore is why the avisynth.dll in the MeGUI folder is not autoloaded. How do you start MeGUI? With a double click on the MeGUI.exe?
I've portable MeGUI in a folder on a RAMDisc and pinned to the Win 7 64 bit start menu. I tried double-clicking on MeGUI.exe but receive the same "No Function Prefetch" error, so it seems to still be reverting to the installed 2015 avisynth.dll.
LouieChuckyMerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2018, 15:09   #6232  |  Link
LouieChuckyMerry
Registered User
 
LouieChuckyMerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
Maybe it's because my PC's old and it's a slow script and it's been a while since I encoded any 1080p video, but I don't recall such a large delay time between MeGUI starting encoding and realising it had started encoding. The progress window is really slow to respond to changes in encoding speed, so maybe it's related to that (I wish it was responsive enough to show you sudden changes in encoding speed instead of slow enough to show you something that probably happened 20 minutes ago).

This was what I meant though. 100 frames have been encoded and the job queue still hasn't caught up (job5 running).
I'm using an old XP compatible version of LSmash, but even so, this feels like something new.

PS. I just ran a short encode (100 frames) of the same video, only without any filtering aside from resizing in the script, and when it'd finished encoding the job queue still showed "waiting". When I tried deleting the job from the queue manually, MeGUI found a new excuse to crash.

I paid extra attention when I started my most recent encode and, although it does seem a bit slower to get going, it changed from "waiting" to "processing" as it should. My system is Win 7 64 bit with 12GB RAM. How much RAM do you have? Perhaps it's simply an XP and-or RAM issue?

Last edited by LouieChuckyMerry; 8th June 2018 at 15:10. Reason: Clarity
LouieChuckyMerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2018, 18:27   #6233  |  Link
VoodooFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Try remux your mkv source with MkvToolNixGUI before, and repeat the MeGUI recode.
Remuxing with MkvToolNix v23 didn't helped, only removing Portuguese subs solved error.
VoodooFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2018, 22:04   #6234  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoodooFX View Post
Yes, here is log (after oneclick error I aborted audio job):
https://pastebin.com/gNijDJmS

btw I get same error " 4 is not valid for 'index' " when I edit x265 preset in oneclick and try to save it(clicking around presets error sometimes disappears, still I dunno why or when).
As you are able to reproduce it:
http://megui.org/megui_debug.7z
extract the content of eitehr the 32 or the 64 folder (depending on your MeGUI build), reprocude the error, close MeGUI & upload the log.
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2018, 17:15   #6235  |  Link
VoodooFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
As you are able to reproduce it:
http://megui.org/megui_debug.7z
extract the content of eitehr the 32 or the 64 folder (depending on your MeGUI build), reprocude the error, close MeGUI & upload the log.
Here you go:
https://pastebin.com/ixWEYDP1
VoodooFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2018, 21:06   #6236  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,396
LouieChuckyMerry / hello_hello: Could you please try 2860? It should now properly detect that the included portable AviSynth is not used. Please try also if the MeGUI setting "log debug information" changes a thing (with the next restart).

Quote:
Originally Posted by VoodooFX View Post
Thanks, will have a look in the next days.
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2018, 14:20   #6237  |  Link
Statick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 21
request:

I'd really like a way of accessing the input filename from within the OneClick encoder AVISynth script

specifically I want to access the .d2v file generated, which is always named after the input filename, and reference this in the script. something like %input_filename% would do the job, like this:

tfm(d2v="%input_filename%.d2v")

I'm sure there are other paramters that would be useful if exposed this way, but this is the only one I'm after!

Currently I have to edit the AVISynth profile for every single video I encode, which for several hundred videos is extremely long-winded and error prone
Statick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2018, 14:23   #6238  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
LouieChuckyMerry / hello_hello: Could you please try 2860? It should now properly detect that the included portable AviSynth is not used. Please try also if the MeGUI setting "log debug information" changes a thing (with the next restart).
Thanks for the effort!
Now you've made me feel bad for being the bearer of bad news.

Quote:
[Warning] AviSynth Information
-[Information] AviSynth Wrapper
--[Information] Version: 1.0.2847.0
--[Information] Date: 06-05-2018
--[Information] Interface: 3
-[Information] AviSynth
--[Information] File Version: 2.6.0.6
--[Information] File Date: 31-03-2015
--[Information] File Name: Avisynth 2.6
--[Information] File Path: c:\windows\system32\avisynth.dll
--[Information] AviSynth Version: AviSynth 2.60, build:Mar 31 2015 [16:38:54]
--[Information] AviSynth+: false
--[Information] AviSynth MT: false
--[Information] AviSynth Status: active
-[Warning] AviSynth portable
--[Information] File Version: 0.1
--[Information] File Date: 28-03-2018
--[Information] File Name: AviSynth+ 0.1 (r2664, MT, i386)
--[Information] File Path: c:\program files\megui\avisynth.dll
--[Warning] AviSynth Status: inactive - portable AviSynth build cannot be used. The loaded DLL is: c:\windows\system32\avisynth.dll
PS It makes no difference if the "log debug info" option is enabled/disabled.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2018, 15:08   #6239  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,755
Quote:
c:\program files\megui\avisynth.dll
is probably protected by the UAC: Windows doesn't allow manipulation of files in this directory branch without Administrator access rights.

That's why we keep recommending not to install MeGUI there, over and over ... or you would have to disable the UAC, which is a security risk.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2018, 15:30   #6240  |  Link
Statick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
is probably protected by the UAC: Windows doesn't allow manipulation of files in this directory branch without Administrator access rights.

That's why we keep recommending not to install MeGUI there, over and over ... or you would have to disable the UAC, which is a security risk.
I have "run this program as administrator" selected and it seems to solve all such problems, albeit that I have to click the "yes" prompt every time I open the program. I could be missing something though.
Statick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.