Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th July 2018, 06:27   #51761  |  Link
zeus0r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
That's the image I would expect if your display didn't activate its tone mapping.
and what could be the reason for that? win7?
zeus0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2018, 07:53   #51762  |  Link
MishNZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
Hi, this is fairly normal behaviour i'm afraid, this is unlikely to change, I get similar issues, mine plays audio for a second with a black screen, then starts after about 2-3 seconds but then plays perfectly fine. You just need to find a way to live with it mate.
If this can't be resolved, then surely a option for "Wait X seconds after switching to exclusive mode before starting playback" is required?
MishNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2018, 08:10   #51763  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,670
@Warner306: madVR is a renderer. Its purpose is to display video ... conveniently, as much as processing power permits, but most of all: fast enough. Image restoration is not its purpose, only displaying. A video filter for AviSynth or VapourSynth might be the better workflow for neural network based restoration algorithms (similar to NNEDI3). Here it appears quite off-topic to me.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2018, 16:34   #51764  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
@Warner306: madVR is a renderer. Its purpose is to display video ... conveniently, as much as processing power permits, but most of all: fast enough. Image restoration is not its purpose, only displaying. A video filter for AviSynth or VapourSynth might be the better workflow for neural network based restoration algorithms (similar to NNEDI3). Here it appears quite off-topic to me.
Removing artifacts from video is relevant. They all have them. Neural networks are one way to do it. Neural networks can do a lot of things for video. It is up to your imagination, really.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2018, 16:37   #51765  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus0r View Post
and what could be the reason for that? win7?
No idea. Your display must be recognizing some of the metadata because it is switching to HDR mode. It doesn't make sense why it wouldn't tone map. It must not understand the language of the PC or have something to do with Windows 7. Or not all of the metadata is making it to the TV.

Check to see if the mastering display peak nits is shown in the OSD. Also, try another file to eliminate the source as the problem.

Last edited by Warner306; 12th July 2018 at 17:42.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2018, 19:47   #51766  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Removing artifacts from video is relevant.
Then it may be a case for the decoder, because different video formats may produce different kinds of artifacts and may profit from format dependent artifact filters.

So, maybe ask for an option in LAV Filters. But I still believe that a renderer is the wrong place.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2018, 20:31   #51767  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,272
We already have a neural networks based artifact removal feature in madVR today so the idea cannot be off topic. We also don't want to deep dive into something that could never be part of madVR.

RCA is part of NGU and very effective compared to old deblocking methods, even if it is not part of the decoder.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2018, 21:35   #51768  |  Link
nussman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Then it may be a case for the decoder, because different video formats may produce different kinds of artifacts and may profit from format dependent artifact filters.

So, maybe ask for an option in LAV Filters. But I still believe that a renderer is the wrong place.
No idea what you are talking about. For GPU processing the video renderer is the right place for sure and there are already filters to remove artifacts in madVR. So whats your point?
nussman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2018, 22:26   #51769  |  Link
veggav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 76
Back here to ask a few more things, since you guys have a huge patience with me

I use JRiver because it's the only player that can do UHD BD menus with MadVR but the latests version of JRiver still uses an old version of MadVR.
The new one has tons of goodies like denoising and some image processing that are a must.

I know what I'm going to ask is related to JRiver but if I go ask in their forums they will tell me the newer version of MadVR is not supported that's why I'm asking here.

When playing a full UHD disc the subtitles only show if the menu is showing or at least the timeline bar when you pause the movie.
When playing the M2TS file directly this doesn't happen and this problem didn't occour in the older MadVR version bundled with JRiver software.

Do you guys have any idea of something I could try here to solve the problem?


And an unrelated question, do I really have to use exclusive mode for HDR?
My monitor goes HDR mode and it seems fine in D11 Windowed (10Bits). So if it's not broken don't try to fix it? Or am I missing something?
veggav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2018, 22:31   #51770  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by veggav View Post
When playing a full UHD disc the subtitles only show if the menu is showing or at least the timeline bar when you pause the movie.
When playing the M2TS file directly this doesn't happen and this problem didn't occour in the older MadVR version bundled with JRiver software.

Do you guys have any idea of something I could try here to solve the problem?
Its a bug in the newer madVR versions, thats why JRiver Media Center still uses the old one until a release is made available that fixes it. I made madshi aware of that bug and hopefully the next one has it fixed, although he has been busy for longer then I would have hoped.

I'm not aware of a work-around.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2018, 22:53   #51771  |  Link
veggav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Its a bug in the newer madVR versions, thats why JRiver Media Center still uses the old one until a release is made available that fixes it. I made madshi aware of that bug and hopefully the next one has it fixed, although he has been busy for longer then I would have hoped.

I'm not aware of a work-around.
I guess I'll let UHD BD menus aside for now since I really enjoy MadVR features in the newer versions.

This must be a really small bug because M2TS works and when you pause the subtitles are rendered so I don't think this might be hard to fix.

When you spoke with Madashi, did he mentioned a reason why this happens?
veggav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2018, 00:12   #51772  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by veggav View Post
When you spoke with Madashi
*madshi

Last edited by ryrynz; 13th July 2018 at 00:15.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2018, 00:46   #51773  |  Link
veggav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
*madshi
Oops.

Cellphone typo.
veggav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2018, 01:42   #51774  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
We already have a neural networks based artifact removal feature in madVR today so the idea cannot be off topic. We also don't want to deep dive into something that could never be part of madVR.

RCA is part of NGU and very effective compared to old deblocking methods, even if it is not part of the decoder.
Sorry, probably should have mentioned artifact removal is already in madVR and be done with it. Typing with a morning coffee and not always paying attention.

I thought it was interesting and somewhat relevant. Nuff said..

Last edited by Warner306; 13th July 2018 at 01:45.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2018, 07:16   #51775  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,670
That was new for me too. My personal opinion is not always right, especially with missing background knowledge...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2018, 07:34   #51776  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,272
I appreciated the post and link, it is cool to see what might be possible for madVR with next gen hardware. I just wanted to point out that we also shouldn't go off on a tangent about it either. It is so easy to go off topic for pages in this thread.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2018, 09:24   #51777  |  Link
mrmojo666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 73
Hi Mclingo, have you had a chance to try latest 18.7.1 ?

https://www.amd.com/en/support/kb/re...rad-win-18-7-1
mrmojo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2018, 13:54   #51778  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 669
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmojo666 View Post
Hi Mclingo, have you had a chance to try latest 18.7.1 ?

https://www.amd.com/en/support/kb/re...rad-win-18-7-1
Not yet and reluctant to be honest, i've been having an odd problem since I tried multiple driver versions the other day, its shafted my pc a bit. I was getting a red cross on my speaker task bar icon every reboot suggesting the win audio service wasnt fully started when my PC booted, this turned out to be an issue with the win audio service not have service rights to some of the MMdevices reg keys, I think I have this fixed now but it has cropped up again randomly a couple of times now. My second issue is really odd, sometimes when I turn my TV off my PC just stop responding, nothing in events, no network nothing, its like it goes to sleep and wont wake up but the fans are still running and HDD lights are flickering like its doing something. I went back to 18.2.2 to see if this solved this, I havent tested it yet, I want to get stable again before trying this new driver.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2018, 23:00   #51779  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 355
I'm creating 72hz custom resolution and I was wondering which way is better - via nvidia control panel or via CRU. I'm using nvidia drivers 385.41
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2018, 23:09   #51780  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,272
I only use CRU as a last resort. Custom Resolutions are still a bit... unstable... and I don't think we have a good "this way works better" figured out, it seems to vary based on system and driver versions without a lot of patterns.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.