Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th August 2018, 01:32   #51961  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 280
I was wondering if most use artifact removal?
At what strengths does it seem to soften the image?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2018, 02:17   #51962  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,597
I would say it starts to soften noticeably around 3, I only turn it on for sources that need it.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2018, 02:22   #51963  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaytrinitron View Post
Does anyone know if this vapoursynth feature is still in the works?
I expect this feature to make it in before MadVR 1.0 lands but it's not a focus right now.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2018, 02:30   #51964  |  Link
jaytrinitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I expect this feature to make it in before MadVR 1.0 lands but it's not a focus right now.
Good to know. Just because I'm unaware, is there any rough timetable around the release of MadVR 1.0?
jaytrinitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2018, 06:26   #51965  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,597
Nope.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2018, 08:49   #51966  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anima123 View Post
Is there a way to force decimation of progressive 59.94 fps video? When I apply film mode on this kind of videos, madVR always detect it as cadence 2:2, and no decimation on it.
You can't really do IVTC decimation if its actually 60fps progressive, and not telecined. Its a specific algorithm to remove duplicate frames from the telecining process, not a generic "make half the frames go away" kind of thing (why you would ever want that anyway?).

If its 59.94 fps which resulted from a Telecining operation from either 23.976 (ie. 3:2) or 29.97 (ie. 2:2), then it should be able to recover that as well.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2018, 10:15   #51967  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 493
"(why you would ever want that anyway?)"
I think US TV channels that broadcast in 720p60 is/was a use case.
(I'm not from the USA so I don't know if 720p HDTV is still commonly used)
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2018, 10:50   #51968  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,723
it is used all over the world.

and it will not work if the source is true 60 fps.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2018, 11:10   #51969  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 493
I was rather thinking of 24p-in-60p material, I assumed that's what Anima123 was asking.
Like, what happens if a 720p60 TV station wants to show a 24p TV series or movie?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2018, 11:20   #51970  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,723
if it is was created using a 3:2(6:4) cadence and not blending madVR "IVTC" can fix this too.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2018, 14:17   #51971  |  Link
cork_OS
Registered User
 
cork_OS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Minsk (Blr)
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaytrinitron View Post
Good to know. Just because I'm unaware, is there any rough timetable around the release of MadVR 1.0?
In this thread madVR 1.0 is a meme like Second Coming.

Just now madshi is interested in improving HDR->SDR mapping, which development go on at another forum.
__________________
I'm infected with poor sources.
cork_OS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2018, 14:20   #51972  |  Link
jaytrinitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by cork_OS View Post
In this thread madVR 1.0 is a meme like Second Coming.

Just now madshi is interested in improving HDR->SDR mapping, which development go on at another forum.
Figures. Well, he keeps improving his unique software and adding new features all the time all for free, so I can't complain.
jaytrinitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2018, 01:32   #51973  |  Link
HelmedHorror
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 31
Is HDR content (i.e., 4k UHD 10-bit Blu-ray) supposed to look much darker than SDR on an 8-bit monitor, or are my madVR settings causing this problem? As a demonstration:
  • here's a screenshot of the SDR Blu-ray version, and
  • here's a screenshot of the 4K UDH Blu-ray.

This is not just one movie, though. Every 4K UHD Blu-ray movie that I've compared with its ordinary 1080p Blu-ray version has had this darkness problem.

I have an 8-bit monitor with 300 max cd/m^2 ("nits").

I use madVR with mpc-hc and my madVR's HDR settings can be seen here.

My OSD information is here.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Thanks!
HelmedHorror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2018, 03:14   #51974  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,171
I've noticed the same thing.. Even changing the nits to 100 doesn't help enough.. I'm staying away from HDR as a result.. Normal blurays are probably better overall..
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2018, 08:36   #51975  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I've noticed the same thing.. Even changing the nits to 100 doesn't help enough.. I'm staying away from HDR as a result.. Normal blurays are probably better overall..
There's a lot of work being done on the HDR to SDR tone-mapping in another forum. It's almost ready and will likely be released here soon, but I can say that it looks much better now than the current official release.

Overall, HDR to SDR will always look a bit darker though.

Last edited by AngelGraves13; 6th August 2018 at 08:38.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2018, 08:52   #51976  |  Link
kostik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
There's a lot of work being done on the HDR to SDR tone-mapping in another forum. It's almost ready and will likely be released here soon, but I can say that it looks much better now than the current official release.

Overall, HDR to SDR will always look a bit darker though.
What another forum?
kostik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2018, 09:00   #51977  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,171
I'm aware, I'm using one of those test builds. @kostik Avsforum. A new release build can't be too far off now.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2018, 13:58   #51978  |  Link
svengun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 49
HI, got a quick question, since the last few Nvidia drivers , I've lost the bit setting option in the Nvidia panel (8 / 12 bits)

Currently using : GeForce Game Ready Driver 398.82 WHQL

Is this correct ? having not bit choice anymore ?

Thanks for any reply ;-)
svengun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2018, 14:22   #51979  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelmedHorror View Post
Is HDR content (i.e., 4k UHD 10-bit Blu-ray) supposed to look much darker than SDR on an 8-bit monitor, or are my madVR settings causing this problem?

Thanks!
This is normal because a high-contrast image is being shown at a low brightness. Most HDR content is around 1,000 nits at the brightest pixel vs. 100 nits for SDR. In order to display this correctly, some range compression is required to provide proper contrast between dark and bright image detail. Otherwise, detail would be clipped and the image would be flat. PQ HDR is also an absolute brightness standard without a flexible gamma curve like SDR. So it is difficult to brighten it even when converted to SDR without making it inaccurate. For example, you can't watch a 100 nit source at 300 nits like SDR content.

There are different approaches to tone mapping. BT.2390 happens to be on the harsh side and compresses most of the content range to a lower nits. In the future, more dynamic tone mapping may be available or different tone mapping curves. This should make the image a little brighter. Personally, I've adapted to the darker image and find that the HDR version can have detail that isn't possible in SDR because the brightest information is clipped.

Try using a lower target nits and/or brightening your display when watching HDR content. Changing the gamma curve in calibration can also help sometimes. The target nits value is the PQ container and not the brightness of your SDR display. The conversion from PQ to gamma does not translate directly and will vary by display depending on its brightness and gamma curve. Two displays with the same relative brightness can require different target nits.

Last edited by Warner306; 6th August 2018 at 15:57.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2018, 14:27   #51980  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by svengun View Post
HI, got a quick question, since the last few Nvidia drivers , I've lost the bit setting option in the Nvidia panel (8 / 12 bits)

Currently using : GeForce Game Ready Driver 398.82 WHQL

Is this correct ? having not bit choice anymore ?

Thanks for any reply ;-)
You are probably using the default color settings. Switch to "Use Nvidia color settings." If it is still not there, try a reboot. If still not there, you need to clean and reinstall your drivers.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.