Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th February 2019, 01:18   #28361  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Just looked at your log again, if I read it right the encode failed 13 1/2 hours in?
Might be heat, clean up your bunnies and reconsider your tweaks, anal or otherwise, to ease up on your CPU.
Or just get a decent CPU
Yeah, I think you are right... My system has been on extreme borrowed time for the last few years now. Many times it will just freeze up and I hafta restart it a number of times, and then it will seemingly run just fine for quite a while, weeks sometimes, or even a month or two.

I use speccy to check the CPU temperature, although it almost always shows it much higher than other apps do, including my bios. It used to crank out these encodes over night every day without any trouble, but it could be getting worse now. I'll hafta wait until I can hopefully get the drop on some unsuspecting senior citizen right after they have cashed there Social Security check. THEN I could see about buying a new system. I've already looked into the CPU / MOBO / Memory. I already have 2 SSD drives and a new stronger PSU that I THOUGHT would help, but it doesn't really. I just need to get the stuff above and a nice new trick case and then that should hopefully do it.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2019, 03:52   #28362  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
I'll hafta wait until I can hopefully get the drop on some unsuspecting senior citizen right after they have cashed there Social Security check.
You have three choices: there, their, they're
Obviously "there" is the wrong one.

You are going to have a hard time getting the jump on a senior citizen, since direct deposit is pretty much the way SS payments are handled.

Better think of another way to pay for the new hardware.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2019, 04:00   #28363  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
You have three choices: there, their, they're
Obviously "there" is the wrong one.

You are going to have a hard time getting the jump on a senior citizen, since direct deposit is pretty much the way SS payments are handled.

Better think of another way to pay for the new hardware.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2019, 14:45   #28364  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 941
13 1/2 hours to go, don't damage the wall and clean up your dust bunnies
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2019, 18:59   #28365  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
13 1/2 hours to go, don't damage the wall and clean up your dust bunnies
Will do! As soon as I hunt down Mr. Video, tie him up in his own windowless basement, and begin a most creative 13 1/2 hour session...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2019, 19:17   #28366  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,582
I'm shaking in my boots. Oh wait! It is damn cold outside, no wonder I am shaking in my boots.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2019, 19:21   #28367  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
I'm shaking in my boots. Oh wait! It is damn cold outside, no wonder I am shaking in my boots.
Oh boy...

BTW, just before you die, I will frigg'n FORCE you to use poor grammar, so that will be the VERY last thing you remember! We're talk'n split infinitives, etc. So, you better not mess with me!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2019, 20:47   #28368  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 834
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
You have three choices: there, their, they're
Obviously "there" is the wrong one.

You are going to have a hard time getting the jump on a senior citizen, since direct deposit is pretty much the way SS payments are handled.

Better think of another way to pay for the new hardware.
I was too late on that one.

Do you overclock your CPU?? I built this Desktop in 2010, and I sometimes have it overclocked and others times not..depending what I'm doing. I have zero need for a newer Motherboard (or Windows 10). Check your RAM also. I have some protecting the outside so if I clean the machine inside and touch the RAM area, all is protected. I don't know how often you clean and stuff. But I haven't had any crashes like that unless I oops and have the overclocking set too high - usually I don't.

Not only is the Motherboard a little older so is your time of reference with SSI - funny.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Oh boy...

BTW, just before you die, I will frigg'n FORCE you to use poor grammar, so that will be the VERY last thing you remember! We're talk'n split infinitives, etc. So, you better not mess with me!
That's almost a real punishment vs the figment damnation thing. Almost. Memory doesn't end there, aww...poor Lathe. I think Mr. Video is mischievous enough to have fun after letting go - like me.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!

Last edited by AmigaFuture; 16th February 2019 at 20:58.
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2019, 04:27   #28369  |  Link
sonate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 160
It's been a while since I used this program. If there is anyone who can help I would appreciate it.
Is the Inspect program still valid, as I seem to have several installation errors.

- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.6.0.6, not recommended version
- HAALI Splitter: Ok
- FFDSHOW: 4504, not recommended version
- WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC: Not Set correctly
- WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC: Not Set correctly
- WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC: Not Set correctly
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec": Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
- BD-RB vUNKNOWN, not current
sonate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2019, 04:30   #28370  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonate View Post
It's been a while since I used this program. If there is anyone who can help I would appreciate it.
Is the Inspect program still valid, as I seem to have several installation errors.

- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.6.0.6, not recommended version
- HAALI Splitter: Ok
- FFDSHOW: 4504, not recommended version
- WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC: Not Set correctly
- WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC: Not Set correctly
- WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC: Not Set correctly
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec": Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
- BD-RB vUNKNOWN, not current
Perhaps it would be best to go back to page 1 of this thread and re-download the newest version and all the current supplementary programs shown there.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2019, 04:41   #28371  |  Link
sonate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 160
Lathe, I appreciate what you said , but that is exactly where I got them, from the links on the first page just a few days ago.
sonate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2019, 04:45   #28372  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonate View Post
Lathe, I appreciate what you said , but that is exactly where I got them, from the links on the first page just a few days ago.
Uh oh... There's something smelly going on...

... and I think it's gonca...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2019, 04:57   #28373  |  Link
sonate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 160
If there is anyone else who doesn't think I'm gonca, I would appreciate your help.

The codecs are set as advised but inspect first claims they are set wrong for win 7 and then further down in the report says they are OK, then it claims that the present build of BD reb is unknown.

This is why I asked if inspect was still current. Again, I would appreciate anyone's help.

Last edited by sonate; 20th February 2019 at 05:02.
sonate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2019, 05:13   #28374  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonate View Post
If there is anyone else who doesn't think I'm gonca, I would appreciate your help.

The codecs are set as advised but inspect first claims they are set wrong for win 7 and then further down in the report says they are OK, then it claims that the present build of BD reb is unknown.

This is why I asked if inspect was still current. Again, I would appreciate anyone's help.
Heh... I KNOW you are not gonca mate

I made two statements:

1) There is something smelly (in other words that is very odd that if you just DL'd the stuff on page one that you would be getting that kind of report) I'm not sure, and others here may remember, but I THINK that there was some kind of discontinuance of an older form of the 'Inspect Report' That could simply be it.

2) If there IS something smelly, it is likely gonca (due to the randy mooses [meese...?])
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2019, 11:05   #28375  |  Link
musiclover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonate View Post
It's been a while since I used this program. If there is anyone who can help I would appreciate it.
Is the Inspect program still valid, as I seem to have several installation errors.

- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.6.0.6, not recommended version
- HAALI Splitter: Ok
- FFDSHOW: 4504, not recommended version
- WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC: Not Set correctly
- WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC: Not Set correctly
- WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC: Not Set correctly
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec": Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
- BD-RB vUNKNOWN, not current
Don't use the stand-alone version of Inspect but go to the help menu and start Inspect there.
musiclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2019, 16:11   #28376  |  Link
sonate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 160
Musiclover, thank you much! It all shows correctly. Again thanks.
sonate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2019, 18:09   #28377  |  Link
laserfan
Aging Video Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Off the Map
Posts: 2,457
Dumb question of the day (and because the "3d" search term doesn't work): Will BD-RB backup 3D discs? I've acquired a handful of them and it seems prudent to consider backing them up!

I know, "why don't your just try it" but my MediaPC is down atm and the answer to this question might inspire me to work harder to get it back into service!

laserfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2019, 19:01   #28378  |  Link
CraigWally
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 18
Easy answer of the day
YES
CraigWally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2019, 20:03   #28379  |  Link
omegaman7
Registered User
 
omegaman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA, Oregon
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserfan View Post
Dumb question of the day (and because the "3d" search term doesn't work): Will BD-RB backup 3D discs? I've acquired a handful of them and it seems prudent to consider backing them up!

I know, "why don't your just try it" but my MediaPC is down atm and the answer to this question might inspire me to work harder to get it back into service!

While the software generally does a good job, I don't know that I would trust it 100% without a means to test the final output.
__________________
Only one rooster, need be in the hen house...
omegaman7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2019, 21:11   #28380  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by omegaman7 View Post
While the software generally does a good job, I don't know that I would trust it 100% without a means to test the final output.
Why is that? I've never had any issues with 3D.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.