Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd April 2019, 13:48   #55621  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 219
Not so sure about that, I think it is better as in the overlays side and other bits and bobs are supposed to be not as aggressive if thats the right word, maybe Exclusive is more Exclusive than 10 and the likes, sure HDR was much the same, but simple things like drivers, the Windows 10 ones are not compatible, so you have to try and find Windows 8.1 ones, and you are not sure if they are the same as 10 for issues.

A word of caution though, I thought the same as all I heard was it was better that 10 for this, but I have to say I only had 8.1 on for a matter of hours, a lot was to do with me having a fake monitor due to audio going to my AVR via Display Port, but my god it would not behave and it drove me mad with it jumping about to a fake disply etc.

I also noticed other things, that I cannot even remember now, simple things you take for granted in Windows 10 now, ultimately I put Windows 10 back on and all the problems vanished.
__________________
Windows 10-1903 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"

Last edited by madjock; 3rd April 2019 at 13:51.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2019, 15:08   #55622  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,657
win8 can't do WFS 10 bit that's it FSE works totally fine.
madVR uses the API from nvida and AMD so the OS doesn't matter much for HDR what matter if there API are supported on other windows version then 0 which is still the case.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2019, 19:07   #55623  |  Link
Grimsdyke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 129
Hi Madshi, there were a few crashes since driver update to Intel-6618 related to the dll below.

callstack crc : $cc12cd00, $3d0d8150, $1a3e20d2
exception number : 1
exception class : Exception
exception message : Access violation at address $7ffe2a28b33d in module 'igd10iumd64.dll'. Write of address $4b886ce0.
Grimsdyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2019, 21:35   #55624  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,149
That's all on Intel. Report it to them.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2019, 21:35   #55625  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 219
Is this not more of a Driver problem than a madVR one, multiple AMD/nVidia drivers have issues and everyone else rolls back or waits for a better driver ?

edit : ah beaten to the punch
__________________
Windows 10-1903 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2019, 04:29   #55626  |  Link
TheProfosist
Registered User
 
TheProfosist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 133
Alright so troubleshooting this has finally completed on my saga of trying to get reasonable video playback again after switching from a GTX1060 to a RTX2060


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheProfosist View Post
Trying to troubleshoot something. On my HTPC (Win10x64-1809v2, i7-4820K, 32GB ram, RTX2060, 4K HDR Sony TV) I cant seem to get pans to be smooth even though im withing the render times on a per frame basis. I can disable more things to lower it further and it doesn't seem to improve it. Yes smooth motion is on in the when needed but should be needed her 23fps content and display changed to 24fps. It doesnt show dropped or duplicated frames for how stuttery it is. Previously had the 1060 in there no real improvement going to the 2060.

Ideas on troubleshooting this would be helpful. I have tried:

using different decoders in lav filters. Anything other than CUVID just seems worse
MPC-HC versions 1.7.13 and 1.8.4
madVR versions 0.92.14 and now 0.92.17
upgraded the GPU
lower settings from NGU to superxbr to jinc
increasing buffer from 8 to 16 (though im not sure if 6GB vram is enough for this)

I have not completely wiped my madVR settings to see if it does it from scratch since I thought I would post here first to see if someone has ideas.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheProfosist View Post
alright so I have made some progress I started by uninstalling, reinstalling, and reseting MPC-HC and madVR.

The stuttering has mostly been fixed I just get a little blip every now and then say every couple minutes at most. some time during fast actions or pans. I'm not using smooth motion just matching frame rate could this be buffer related? This seems more frequent than the 1 stutter every 4min or so that the madVR UI is suggesting.

I did fix exclusive mode as well.


both the stuttering and exclusive mode seem to have been related to having HDR enabled in Win10 at an OS level.


I have not yet tweaked scaling algorithms or anything like that yet. Just on default settings.



When playing back 4K HDR BD content I'm still getting stuttering on pans that should be smooth. This is with HDR turned off at the OS level and HDR set to pass through. Colors look very muted So I don't think it is actually doing HDR with this setup.

So its looking like most of my issues have been related to HDR.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheProfosist View Post
looking like more HDR related issues then...

That setting was supposed to be flipped to on


I tried forced V-Sync with HDR content with HDR enabled at the OS level and still stuttered. I forced Vsync to On for MPC-HC as well as my madVR folder.

With these forced on and OS HDR disabled the playback is much less stutters but it is still stuttery and the colors are all muted so The display either sint getting HDR or doesn't know it is.

This testing was done playing back 4K HDR BD Content



Thanks to the below chart I no longer have stutter on my HTPC playing back even 4K HDR BD content. 418.91 did indeed fix my issues and large pans in GITS live action and Bladerunner 2049 are not buttery smooth. No random hiccups from 1080p playback on my 4K screen either so Ill now be able to start tweaking my actual settings which I thought were the issue all along. Thanks to the community for the help as always. Suck when I try to chill after work just to have the thing that's supposed to provide relation pissing me off.

Last thing to note is that with Windows 10 OS HDR enabled I still cant go fullscreen exclusive.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
I just updated that info here:
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=176013

419.67 GRD 2019-03-25 stuttering issues
419.67 CRD 2019-03-20 stuttering issues
419.35 GRD 2019-03-05 stuttering issues
419.17 GRD 2019-02-22
418.91 GRD 2019-02-14 NO stuttering issues

Did anyone test 419.17 about the stutter issues?
TheProfosist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2019, 07:39   #55627  |  Link
katodevin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheProfosist View Post
Thanks to the below chart I no longer have stutter on my HTPC playing back even 4K HDR BD content. 418.91 did indeed fix my issues and large pans in GITS live action and Bladerunner 2049 are not buttery smooth. No random hiccups from 1080p playback on my 4K screen either so Ill now be able to start tweaking my actual settings which I thought were the issue all along. Thanks to the community for the help as always. Suck when I try to chill after work just to have the thing that's supposed to provide relation pissing me off.
Glad to hear going back to 418.91 fixes it. I can totally relate. I'm stuck with a 1660gtx that stutters no matter what. Much less with vsync on (every 2-3 min now), but unfortunately I can't go back to 418.x since they don't support the 1660 . I'm really hoping Nvidia figures out what the issue is, but I'm afraid I may have to dump my 1660 if it doesn't get resolved soon.
katodevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2019, 10:51   #55628  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,566
I have a problem which is likely a driver or OS problem, I just want to ask if it's known here and where I should report it, NVIDIA has a support forum, right? I reported it first to mpv, and they told me to test madVR. After I told them it's not working in madVR too they said it's a driver or OS problem. It happens when I do the following:

using Windows 10
using NVIDIA GT 1030 card
dual monitor with duplicate mode
use d3d11 which mpv and madVR use by default
use fullscreen windowed mode

The second screen is broken then, horizontally stretched showing only the left side of the image and everything is green.

Last edited by stax76; 5th April 2019 at 13:21.
stax76 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2019, 11:31   #55629  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,657
working flawless here.

cloning two 1080p screens
windows 17134
1060 419.67
d3d11 windowed and FSE which isn't the default madVR option.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2019, 12:09   #55630  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,566
Thanks for testing. I've forgotten to mention that it happens only in full screen mode. I'm using the latest Win 10 and a driver installed about 3 weeks ago, screens are both UHD.
stax76 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2019, 12:46   #55631  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,657
i tested FSE and WFS.

anything else that comes to mind?
screen scaling?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2019, 13:19   #55632  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,566
Maybe it happens only with UHD but it could be anything, much likely it relates to d3d11, when I use gpu-context=angle in mpv then it's fine. When I extend the screens instead of duplicating it then it's fine as long as I start the player directly on the TV, yesterday I started the player first on the desktop (because the TV wasn't on yet) and moved it to the TV screen afterwards which caused the problem to appear.
stax76 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2019, 03:41   #55633  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 381
Is there a way to change zoom percentage ? for when I want to squish or expand images on CRT ?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2019, 08:29   #55634  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,538
That is the player's responsibility, madVR will render to whatever size the player asks for.

Zoom Player is very good at that kind of thing.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2019, 08:30   #55635  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 40
So I can set a lens memory on my JVC when a video starts to play.

But how can I set a lens memory when a video stops playing?

I want to revert back to my main default lens memory when playback stops and only be in my special video lens memory when I’m playing any video in madvr.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2019, 09:46   #55636  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Sorry guys, terribly busy atm. Just to let you know: My Nvidia driver contact just informed me that the HDR passthrough problems (not always engaging, and incorrect metadata) should be fixed in the next bigger driver release.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2019, 11:51   #55637  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
FWIW, I also noticed this line in the information for the latest cumulative update for Windows 10: "Addresses an issue that prevents users from configuring their screens for high-dynamic-range (HDR) video playback."

What exactly that fixed or if it'll affect madVR in any way I don't know.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2019, 11:57   #55638  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,657
should be unrelated because that's about the windows API.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2019, 14:00   #55639  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Sorry guys, terribly busy atm. Just to let you know: My Nvidia driver contact just informed me that the HDR passthrough problems (not always engaging, and incorrect metadata) should be fixed in the next bigger driver release.
This is great news! Thanks for taking the time to let us know
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 398.11 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25PR2
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2019, 16:37   #55640  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Sorry guys, terribly busy atm. Just to let you know: My Nvidia driver contact just informed me that the HDR passthrough problems (not always engaging, and incorrect metadata) should be fixed in the next bigger driver release.
Oh thank God! That's fantastic!! Thanks, madshi!!
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.