Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th June 2019, 23:47   #56641  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 671
@mambans I understand you're using a 4K display? How exactly have you configured your upscaling? Normally madVR doesn't scale when you're playing source material that matches the display definition.
On the OSD, if the line just after 'movie 3840x...' says 'draw 0,0,3840,...' then it's not doing any scaling.

@jacob Have you checked if the problem can be reproduced with another player like MPC-HC? To know if it's linked to MP or if it's between madVR and the graphics driver.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti

Last edited by el Filou; 19th June 2019 at 23:52.
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 00:19   #56642  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by mambans View Post
Hello again, I'm wondering if there are any setting to automatically disable upscaling when playing 2160p(4k) content?
You probably aren't upscaling 4k but are applying post processing and or high chroma settings. I assume you have not created any profiles and you need to.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 00:23   #56643  |  Link
hotripper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
You are correct. Dolby TrueHD/Atmos and DTS-HD Master Audio/X are a no go. Only a temporary thing.. I don't mind.
Maybe I dont understand...

But why dont you have one go from hdmi nvidia to tv for 4k picture, and one going from dp nvidia to receiver, and then one ARC tv to receiver? I use this setup and it works perfectly and will carry DTS HD master DD+ etc.
__________________
3700X - RTX2070 - 970EVO - EVGA Supernova 750W Gold - Sony KD55X720E
hotripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 00:27   #56644  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,361
Would rather not deal with display quirks doing that and plus I'd need another cable specifically for this, which I'm not prepared to purchase. Will upgrade the amp sometime.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 00:33   #56645  |  Link
hotripper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 53
I dont know what display quirks you mean. It is fine. But yes youll need a Fosmon DP to HDMI cable as this is the only one that works correctly $9 on amazon. Or like you said upgrade the amp so u can passthrough 4k60. I did the former as 9 bucks was better than hundreds on a new receiver.
__________________
3700X - RTX2070 - 970EVO - EVGA Supernova 750W Gold - Sony KD55X720E
hotripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 10:08   #56646  |  Link
mambans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
@mambans I understand you're using a 4K display? How exactly have you configured your upscaling? Normally madVR doesn't scale when you're playing source material that matches the display definition.
On the OSD, if the line just after 'movie 3840x...' says 'draw 0,0,3840,...' then it's not doing any scaling.

@jacob Have you checked if the problem can be reproduced with another player like MPC-HC? To know if it's linked to MP or if it's between madVR and the graphics driver.
Hello, no I'm not using a 4k display, atm I'm using a 1440p but wanna prepare for my ultrawide (3440 x 1440 + HDR), its not 4k but it has HDR.
Madvr stats -> https://i.imgur.com/jblTPaZ.png

Madvr scaling settings ->
https://i.imgur.com/5MnmzkJ.png
https://i.imgur.com/jf1cCjp.png
https://i.imgur.com/nqvovtL.png
https://i.imgur.com/Y9TnTSr.png
mambans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 12:07   #56647  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by mambans View Post
Hello, no I'm not using a 4k display, atm
You need profiles set up.
Turn off superRes, try Bicubic 150 as a downscaler, better?
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 12:48   #56648  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 309
MS just pushed out build 18922 on fast-ring, and banding errors are gone (on my rig), without having to use the workaround.
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (20.8.3) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (2004), Silverstone LC13B-E, Onkyo TX-RZ800, Philips 55PUS6754/12, Mission M35i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 20th June 2019 at 12:59.
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 14:14   #56649  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
You need profiles set up.
Turn off superRes, try Bicubic 150 as a downscaler, better?
Also sharpen edges and soften edges enabled at the same time sound counter-intuitive to me, and if using the AR filter integrated with some upscalers you shouldn't need to activate anti-ringing in refinement.
Anyway, rendering times of 24 ms for 24 fps movie shouldn't cause any problems so I'm wondering why it "lags".
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 14:19   #56650  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,361
Yeah I wasn't about to critizise his entire setup but things are looking overkill and there's something there doing it. Don't always trust the render times..

Last edited by ryrynz; 20th June 2019 at 14:24.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 15:13   #56651  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
Here's what I would submit, if anyone has any remarks I'd be happy to consider them
Here's the link to the feature suggestion for 'audio-only HDMI/DP output' in MS Feedback Hub, if anyone wants to upvote: https://aka.ms/AA5emb3
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 15:49   #56652  |  Link
mambans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
You need profiles set up.
Turn off superRes, try Bicubic 150 as a downscaler, better?
Didn't help much, but I totally forgot about profiles. Can play around with that instead and set a different profile for my HDR (4k) content.
mambans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 16:11   #56653  |  Link
mambans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
Also sharpen edges and soften edges enabled at the same time sound counter-intuitive to me, and if using the AR filter integrated with some upscalers you shouldn't need to activate anti-ringing in refinement.
Anyway, rendering times of 24 ms for 24 fps movie shouldn't cause any problems so I'm wondering why it "lags".
I'm not that good with Madvr but I have now turned of soften edges and anti-ringing

And I just found out what caused the 'lagging', it was 'reduce compression artifact's under artifact removal.

Btw, just found out about Profiles. Is there anyway to see that profiles is activated? and will this auto profile work:
if (HDR) or (srcWidth >= 3840) "Profile 2"
else "Profile 1"

Thanks so far and in advance.
mambans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 16:21   #56654  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 259
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...942#pid2238942

A wealth of info here
__________________
Windows 10-1909 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Pioneer VSX-534 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 16:32   #56655  |  Link
mambans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
Thanks, will definitely read trough it. I was just skimming through it about profiles but found nothing about seeing the activated profile.
mambans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 17:39   #56656  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 671
No way to see it in the OSD (yet), but if you open madVR settings during playback, the folder(s) associated with the active profile will be in bold
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 18:48   #56657  |  Link
mambans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
No way to see it in the OSD (yet), but if you open madVR settings during playback, the folder(s) associated with the active profile will be in bold
Ah oke, that works. Thanks!
mambans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 19:13   #56658  |  Link
Djfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 24
madVR sadly doesn't seem to support 1440p and 120Hz for 3D playback, yet.
(and the display mode settings don't seem to honored, it switches to 1080p60 and doesn't return to the original display setting once I leave fullscreen; my settings set/unset display mode upon entering/leaving fullscreen, since the display still stays in 1080p60 upon leaving fullscreen, it doesn't reset to original display mode upon leaving the application either :/ ; I might actually report that as a bug later on)

Are there any infos why 3D is limited to 1080p60? Displayport/Nvidia 3D Vision definitely support 3D for more than 1080p and 60Hz (unlike HDMI maybe)

Is there any interest in working on supporting side-by-side/top-bottom/field-sequential/frame-sequential 3D? (I have mostly seen the first two so far)
3D channels on broadcast I have access to are only side-by-side and I don't know of any MVC encoder that is freely available sadly. (If you know of one that is free or has a fair price, pls tell me)
The only way to watch these movies for me so far, is the NVIDIA 3D Vision Video Player. (I'm actually unsure whether I can combine the player with madVR, I'll take a look at this now and update this post later)

Anyways I'm very greatful for madVR, I just started using it and I'm amazed at the results I'm getting on my 1440p monitor, especially the scaling looks way better now!

Last edited by Djfe; 20th June 2019 at 19:22.
Djfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 19:29   #56659  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
-madVR's 3D support is currently limited to 1080p23.
It has been this way for a while now too. I do not expect madVR to improve its 3D support anytime soon. With 3D being removed from recent Nvidia drivers and the last few generations of TVs it seems like the user base for improved 3D will only decrease in the future. Sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainlesskodi View Post
MS just pushed out build 18922 on fast-ring, and banding errors are gone (on my rig), without having to use the workaround.
This is really good news! Now to decide if I should install the fast ring...
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 20th June 2019 at 19:34.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2019, 20:42   #56660  |  Link
Djfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
It has been this way for a while now too. I do not expect madVR to improve its 3D support anytime soon. With 3D being removed from recent Nvidia drivers and the last few generations of TVs it seems like the user base for improved 3D will only decrease in the future. Sorry.
cool, thx for the info and linking me to your options thread. My searches didn't bring it up.

What leaves me wondering/confused: Nvidia's control panel shows, that (madVR) set my display to 60Hz (not 23,xxx) and mpc-hc shows with STRG+J that my display runs at 100Hz and everything is synced to 49,xxx
But atleast it works ^^

It's kinda sad to me that 3D is dying but it is how it is.
Though 3D might not be completely dead because you can watch 3D with VR headsets and use madVR for that.
Though only mvc or side-by-side would work. Other 3D formats (like the ones I mentioned) wouldn't work with madVR, yet.

Last edited by Djfe; 20th June 2019 at 20:45.
Djfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.