Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > VP9 and AV1

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st April 2020, 21:41   #2201  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,696
Yeah I wonder what encoder they're using (presumably libaom), and how it's configured! I imagine they're doing like 15 fps and some very small frame size like 240x430 or 160x284
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2020, 22:33   #2202  |  Link
soresu
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Swansea, Wales, UK
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
Yeah I wonder what encoder they're using (presumably libaom), and how it's configured! I imagine they're doing like 15 fps and some very small frame size like 240x430 or 160x284
Even with a small frame size they may have a dynamic res DNN scaler to sweeten the pot given their AI/ML focus in the last decade.
soresu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2020, 22:55   #2203  |  Link
utack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
https://www.blog.google/products/duo...tay-connected/

Pretty cool, Google has announced using AV1 in their Duo voice chat app, targeting 30 Kbps!
And yet their blog is using.....gif to showcase the moving components
utack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2020, 00:28   #2204  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by soresu View Post
Even with a small frame size they may have a dynamic res DNN scaler to sweeten the pot given their AI/ML focus in the last decade.
That very much makes senes, though I wonder how good these can really be.... LC-EVC seems to be a much better solution than smart upscaling.
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2020, 03:33   #2205  |  Link
soresu
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Swansea, Wales, UK
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
That very much makes senes, though I wonder how good these can really be.... LC-EVC seems to be a much better solution than smart upscaling.
If it only needs to work for a phone size screen, or at worst a 10 inch tablet then it won't be much of an issue anyways.
soresu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2020, 19:55   #2206  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
Yeah I wonder what encoder they're using (presumably libaom), and how it's configured! I imagine they're doing like 15 fps and some very small frame size like 240x430 or 160x284
Video chat content is generally quite simple to encode. No camera motion, faces don't move that fast. So pixels/bit can typically be a lot higher than for TV/film content.

384x288 24 fps at 30 Kbps of video chat is feasible with a good HEVC and persumably AV1 encoder. Not pretty, but with lip sync and some sense of non-verbal communication. Lower frame rate and fps mean a lot of MIPS/pixel so AV1's broader encoding speed challenges shouldn't be a substantial issue.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2020, 15:32   #2207  |  Link
marcomsousa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 74
YouTube for Android TV enable AV1 video codec support on capable plaforms
https://www.xda-developers.com/youtu...rtain-devices/
__________________
AV1 win64 VS2019 builds
Last build here
marcomsousa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2020, 15:39   #2208  |  Link
hbbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcomsousa View Post
YouTube for Android TV enable AV1 video codec support on capable plaforms
https://www.xda-developers.com/youtu...rtain-devices/
Just tested on my Nvidia Shield TV.

Only getting VP9. Also, apparently, there is no way to enable AV1 on the app settings.

Sent from my Moto Z3 Play using Tapatalk
hbbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2020, 15:55   #2209  |  Link
hajj_3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 961
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbbs View Post
Just tested on my Nvidia Shield TV.

Only getting VP9. Also, apparently, there is no way to enable AV1 on the app settings.

Sent from my Moto Z3 Play using Tapatalk
I assume it is just for android tv devices that have an av1 hardware decoder or maybe it is only used for low resolutions if your internet connection is slow.

Last edited by hajj_3; 30th April 2020 at 23:52.
hajj_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2020, 23:30   #2210  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbbs View Post
Just tested on my Nvidia Shield TV.

Only getting VP9. Also, apparently, there is no way to enable AV1 on the app settings.

Sent from my Moto Z3 Play using Tapatalk
Based on a look through the decompiled source, it does seem to require hardware support, and also requires Android 10. I don't think the Shield has either.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2020, 00:12   #2211  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,696
Shield definitely does not have a hardware AV1 decoder. It's an nVidia Tegra X1 / X1+ SOC.
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2020, 03:32   #2212  |  Link
soresu
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Swansea, Wales, UK
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcomsousa View Post
YouTube for Android TV enable AV1 video codec support on capable plaforms
https://www.xda-developers.com/youtu...rtain-devices/
I believe this is pre emptive support for the rumoured Android TV powered Chromecast Ultra supposedly coming out later this year - if it uses Amlogic S905x4 as I believe it would, it should do 4K AV1 in hardware.

If that happens I would expect a ramp up in AV1 content on Youtube, Google Play Movies/TV, and Vimeo.
soresu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2020, 05:28   #2213  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
Shield definitely does not have a hardware AV1 decoder. It's an nVidia Tegra X1 / X1+ SOC.
I would've loved to have been a fly on the wall on the meetings held over whether the AV1 block would be ready in time to meet the already delayed X1+ tape-out or not. "Just two more weeks, it's almost done!"
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2020, 18:25   #2214  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,052
Is there an alternative to https://aomedia.googlesource.com/aom.../noise_model.c to build a film grain table for aomenc?
Preferably something that does only support humongous raw yuv files as input.
Having to:
1. create a raw yuv file from the source and from a denoised version of the source
2. create the film grain table with noise_model
(3. encode using the film grain table)
just seems like too much pain for this to be usable for anything but small samples.

So does anyone know a better tool or a better workflow to create the filmgrain tables? (may be a modified ffmpeg version?)

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2020, 19:14   #2215  |  Link
marcomsousa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 74
Libaom have a new branch applejack some people are saying that this is for Libaom 2.0? Anyone know anything about this?

Marco Sousa
__________________
AV1 win64 VS2019 builds
Last build here
marcomsousa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2020, 07:45   #2216  |  Link
marcomsousa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcomsousa View Post
Libaom have a new branch applejack some people are saying that this is for Libaom 2.0? Anyone know anything about this?

Marco Sousa
OK, so this branch is new branch from master some time ago, to make it stable and release libaom 2.0.0

https://bugs.chromium.org/p/aomedia/...detail?id=2545
__________________
AV1 win64 VS2019 builds
Last build here
marcomsousa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2020, 12:57   #2217  |  Link
Beelzebubu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York, NY (USA)
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
Is there an alternative to https://aomedia.googlesource.com/aom.../noise_model.c to build a film grain table for aomenc?
Preferably something that does only support humongous raw yuv files as input.
Having to:
1. create a raw yuv file from the source and from a denoised version of the source
2. create the film grain table with noise_model
(3. encode using the film grain table)
just seems like too much pain for this to be usable for anything but small samples.

So does anyone know a better tool or a better workflow to create the filmgrain tables? (may be a modified ffmpeg version?)

Cu Selur
aomenc --denoise-noise-level= does the same as a FFT denoiser + examples/noise_model + aomenc --film-grain-table=.
Beelzebubu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2020, 15:20   #2218  |  Link
Scope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
AVIF (AV1 Image File Format): experimental support
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1625363

Firefox 77.0a1 (2020-05-03)
https://i.imgur.com/uonsh58.png
https://i.imgur.com/5awSd0t.png
Scope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2020, 21:11   #2219  |  Link
Tadanobu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beelzebubu View Post
aomenc --denoise-noise-level= does the same as a FFT denoiser + examples/noise_model + aomenc --film-grain-table=.
Are you sure ? I thought --denoise-noise-level adds the same amount everywhere while the film grain table would calculate how much it adds for each frame/scene.
Tadanobu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2020, 13:54   #2220  |  Link
Beelzebubu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York, NY (USA)
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tadanobu View Post
Are you sure ?
Yes.

Quote:
I thought --denoise-noise-level adds the same amount everywhere while the film grain table would calculate how much it adds for each frame/scene.
That depends on the film grain table in the input argument. But generally speaking, if the film grain table was generated using examples/noise_model, then it invokes the exact same code as --denoise-noise-level= for film grain table generation.
Beelzebubu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.