Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th June 2020, 12:57   #29521  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
2h22m compared to what for you @jdobbs? 16hrs? ^^
2h22m was the length of the movie. The actual job only about 45 minutes start-to-finish (before correcting the HEVC stream). And, yes, using X265 it would have probably taken somewhere in the neighborhood of 16 hours.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2020, 14:21   #29522  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 184
Can't wait to do some alpha tesing
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2020, 14:59   #29523  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,366
I don't suppose this will be of benefit for 3D encoding would it. Last time i tried hw acc FRIM it resulted in severe artifacts for software based players.
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2020, 18:01   #29524  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
I don't suppose this will be of benefit for 3D encoding would it. Last time i tried hw acc FRIM it resulted in severe artifacts for software based players.
Sorry, no.

I haven't looked at FRIM or 3D in a while, but I seem to remember that problem as being related to drivers.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2020, 18:02   #29525  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,366
I believe a while back someone said there was an updated FRIM build that supposedly fixed that problem. I just have no idea where to get it.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2020, 19:24   #29526  |  Link
musiclover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
I believe a while back someone said there was an updated FRIM build that supposedly fixed that problem. I just have no idea where to get it.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
https://www.videohelp.com/software/FRIM and https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=169651
musiclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2020, 21:27   #29527  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,366
Which one would i need for BDRB, the 32bit version? My cpu is a 9900K
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2020, 21:32   #29528  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,071
32 bit
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2020, 22:56   #29529  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 159
bdrebuilder uses frim 1.25, there has been 5 updates and now 1.31
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2020, 01:46   #29530  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Anybody else experiencing this?

I can start NVENCC with a fixed command line.

When I start the job it seems to be slower than I'd expected -- about 125fps. So I stop the job and restart it. Suddenly I'm getting 420fps... with the exact same command line. Try it again... and it's random. I might get either of the two speeds. Weird.

Now THAT's confusing.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2020, 03:44   #29531  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Well... even a broken clock is right twice a day.
Not if it is a digital clock and the display goes dark/blank.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2020, 07:45   #29532  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Anybody else experiencing this?

I can start NVENCC with a fixed command line.

When I start the job it seems to be slower than I'd expected -- about 125fps. So I stop the job and restart it. Suddenly I'm getting 420fps... with the exact same command line. Try it again... and it's random. I might get either of the two speeds. Weird.

Now THAT's confusing.
Strange. Did you check the GPU load and temperature (e.g. using GPU-Z)? Is the speed limited by the GPU or by the bus transfers/memory access? Are you using HDD or SSD? Virus scanner interference, or some other background process interfering?
What I noticed here (NVEncC x264 1050Ti) is an initial speed increase during the first few (say 10) seconds which then settles to a steady value.

Last edited by Sharc; 30th June 2020 at 09:10.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2020, 10:17   #29533  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,058
Quote:
When I start the job it seems to be slower than I'd expected -- about 125fps. So I stop the job and restart it. Suddenly I'm getting 420fps... with the exact same command line. Try it again... and it's random. I might get either of the two speeds. Weird.

Now THAT's confusing.
An app being quicker on second run is no mystery, happens with sore more SW.
Its just that these date are still kept in RAM.
Like with tsMuxeR, muxing time went from 9..10 min first run
down to 1,5 minutes for the same 10GB test stream on second and third run.
(Magnetic platter HDDs used, with SSD maybe unnoticeable)
I just extensively tested for one particular stream losing packets at the end.
(solved since the 2020-06-27 build for me, BTW)

Would fit the available 32GB RAM. (Did not run RAMMap though to confirm)
Why it would be slower on third run, I cannot comment.
But if I close the app and allow the RAM to be flushed, then it may take the full first running time again.
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."

Last edited by Emulgator; 30th June 2020 at 10:23.
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2020, 11:56   #29534  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Anybody else experiencing this?

I can start NVENCC with a fixed command line.

When I start the job it seems to be slower than I'd expected -- about 125fps. So I stop the job and restart it. Suddenly I'm getting 420fps... with the exact same command line. Try it again... and it's random. I might get either of the two speeds. Weird.

Now THAT's confusing.
Can you post that commandline?
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2020, 12:44   #29535  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 159
ohhh looks like nvencc has fixed/added the repeat issue
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2020, 13:23   #29536  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Anybody else experiencing this?

I can start NVENCC with a fixed command line.

When I start the job it seems to be slower than I'd expected -- about 125fps. So I stop the job and restart it. Suddenly I'm getting 420fps... with the exact same command line. Try it again... and it's random. I might get either of the two speeds. Weird.

Now THAT's confusing.
hmm im only get 66 FPS regardless how many time i restart, just a note 400 fps sounds too quick, gpu encoding doesnt give same quality as cpu, so id be happy for gpu to be spitting out the best quality it can do "--preset quality" even if that means less fps, im sure gpu at max quality will be a lot quicker than cpu, will be nice to have the option of HW excelearion, will you be including 264 hw exceleration also ?

in using a RTX 2070 Super

Code:
NVEncC (x64) 5.06 (r1569) by rigaya, Jun 16 2020 13:25:14 (VC 1916/Win/avx2)
  [NVENC API v9.1, CUDA 10.1]
 reader: raw, y4m, avi, avs, vpy, avsw, avhw [H.264/AVC, H.265/HEVC, MPEG2, VP8, VP9, VC-1, MPEG1, MPEG4]

Environment Info
OS : Windows 10 x64 (19041)
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K @ 3.70GHz [TB: 4.30GHz] (6C/12T)
RAM: Used 7414 MB, Total 16311 MB

#0: GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER (2560 cores, 1800 MHz)[PCIe3x16][451.48]
NVEnc features
Codec: H.264/AVC
Max Bframes               4
B Ref Mode                yes
RC Modes                  63
Field Encoding            no
MonoChrome                no
FMO                       no
Quater-Pel MV             yes
B Direct Mode             yes
CABAC                     yes
Adaptive Transform        yes
Max Temporal Layers       0
Hierarchial P Frames      no
Hierarchial B Frames      no
Max Level                 62
Min Level                 10
4:4:4                     yes
Min Width                 145
Max Width                 4096
Min Height                49
Max Height                4096
Multiple Refs             yes
Max LTR Frames            8
Dynamic Resolution Change yes
Dynamic Bitrate Change    yes
Forced constant QP        yes
Dynamic RC Mode Change    no
Subframe Readback         yes
Constrained Encoding      yes
Intra Refresh             yes
Custom VBV Bufsize        yes
Dynamic Slice Mode        yes
Ref Pic Invalidiation     yes
PreProcess                no
Async Encoding            yes
Max MBs                   65536
Lossless                  yes
SAO                       no
Me Only Mode              yes
Lookahead                 yes
AQ (temporal)             yes
Weighted Prediction       yes
10bit depth               no

Codec: H.265/HEVC
Max Bframes               5
B Ref Mode                yes
RC Modes                  63
Field Encoding            no
MonoChrome                no
Quater-Pel MV             yes
B Direct Mode             no
Max Temporal Layers       0
Hierarchial P Frames      no
Hierarchial B Frames      no
Max Level                 186
Min Level                 30
4:4:4                     yes
Min Width                 129
Max Width                 8192
Min Height                33
Max Height                8192
Multiple Refs             yes
Max LTR Frames            7
Dynamic Resolution Change yes
Dynamic Bitrate Change    yes
Forced constant QP        yes
Dynamic RC Mode Change    no
Subframe Readback         yes
Constrained Encoding      yes
Intra Refresh             yes
Custom VBV Bufsize        yes
Dynamic Slice Mode        yes
Ref Pic Invalidiation     yes
PreProcess                no
Async Encoding            yes
Max MBs                   262144
Lossless                  yes
SAO                       yes
Me Only Mode              yes
Lookahead                 yes
AQ (temporal)             yes
Weighted Prediction       yes
10bit depth               yes


NVDec features
  H.264/AVC:  nv12, yv12
  H.265/HEVC: nv12, yv12, yv12(9bit), yv12(10bit), yv12(12bit), yuv444, yuv444(9bit), yuv444(10bit), yuv444(12bit)
  MPEG1:      nv12, yv12
  MPEG2:      nv12, yv12
  MPEG4:      nv12, yv12
  VP8:        nv12, yv12
  VP9:        nv12, yv12, yv12(9bit), yv12(10bit), yv12(12bit)
  VC-1:       nv12, yv12

Last edited by Mike-uk; 30th June 2020 at 21:05.
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2020, 17:23   #29537  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,366
i'll experiment with the updated version. I'll have to go into the bios to enable the iGPU. That's a job for upcoming weekend.
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2020, 17:27   #29538  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
Can you post that commandline?
I've deleted it. Right now I'm in the middle of system backups, but I'll post an example later.

Thanks.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2020, 17:32   #29539  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
ohhh looks like nvencc has fixed/added the repeat issue
Wow. That's are really quick response! I just downloaded it and will do some testing after my backups finish. I added code to BD-RB yesterday to scan/add the headers -- but I'm very happy to remove it! I'd much rather have the encoder do it!
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2020, 20:18   #29540  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
[...] will be nice to have the option of HW excelearion, will you be including 264 hw exceleration also?
I think you mean acceleration. Also, when posting long lists like that, please CODE wrap them.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.