Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th August 2009, 12:38   #4521  |  Link
ser2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Megui bugreport (version 1053).
There is a bug in Video preview window at AVS script creator:
1. Press '+' to zoom preview to 2x
2. Press 1x to return preview to normal size.
3. Now if I press again + it scales to 3x, nor 2x! Now if I press 1x and '+' again it zoom to 4x! Seems like button 1x does not reset zoom variable.
ser2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2009, 13:24   #4522  |  Link
Underground78
Registered User
 
Underground78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: France
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by ser2 View Post
Seems like button 1x does not reset zoom variable.
Yep, exactly ... Little patch to fix this bug :

Code:
Index: gui/VideoPlayer.cs
===================================================================
--- gui/VideoPlayer.cs	(révision 1344)
+++ gui/VideoPlayer.cs	(copie de travail)
@@ -240,7 +240,8 @@
         /// <param name="e"></param>
         void originalSizeButton_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
         {
-            resize((int)file.Info.Width, showPAR.Checked);
+            zoomWidth = (int)file.Info.Width;
+            resize(zoomWidth, showPAR.Checked);
         }
         private void zoomInButton_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
         {
On a side note, I had to modify MeGUI.csproj to successfully compile Megui with compile-msbuild.bat because some files seem not to exist anymore. I'm not really sure of what I've done but here the patch in case it could be useful :

Code:
Index: MeGUI.csproj
===================================================================
--- MeGUI.csproj	(révision 1344)
+++ MeGUI.csproj	(copie de travail)
@@ -834,11 +834,6 @@
     <Compile Include="AssemblyInfo.cs">
       <SubType>Code</SubType>
     </Compile>
-    <Compile Include="Properties\Resources.Designer.cs">
-      <AutoGen>True</AutoGen>
-      <DesignTime>True</DesignTime>
-      <DependentUpon>Resources.resx</DependentUpon>
-    </Compile>
     <Compile Include="Properties\Settings.Designer.cs">
       <AutoGen>True</AutoGen>
       <DesignTimeSharedInput>True</DesignTimeSharedInput>
@@ -1111,11 +1106,6 @@
     </EmbeddedResource>
     <EmbeddedResource Include="pause.ico" />
     <EmbeddedResource Include="play.ico" />
-    <EmbeddedResource Include="Properties\Resources.resx">
-      <Generator>ResXFileCodeGenerator</Generator>
-      <LastGenOutput>Resources.Designer.cs</LastGenOutput>
-      <SubType>Designer</SubType>
-    </EmbeddedResource>
   </ItemGroup>
   <ItemGroup>
     <None Include="app.config" />
Attached Files
File Type: diff MeGUI.csproj.diff (1.0 KB, 23 views)
File Type: diff VideoPlayer.cs.diff (572 Bytes, 16 views)
Underground78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 09:21   #4523  |  Link
rtjnyoface
Constantly learning
 
rtjnyoface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mountain Time, U.S.
Posts: 189
This might seem like an extraneous request but would it be possible to get the font in the status window darker? There are many times when I have difficulty reading it. Like I said it might seem extraneous but even people peeping at my pc while it's encoding have had difficulty seeing the time remaining and such. This is but a small request and I understand if other things are given priority, especially since you're doing this stuff for free.

I guess it says something about your work when requests are fixing small errors in zooming and being asked for a darker font in a specific window
rtjnyoface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 09:29   #4524  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
You mean something like this ?

Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 11:21   #4525  |  Link
Jawed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtjnyoface View Post
This might seem like an extraneous request but would it be possible to get the font in the status window darker? There are many times when I have difficulty reading it. Like I said it might seem extraneous but even people peeping at my pc while it's encoding have had difficulty seeing the time remaining and such. This is but a small request and I understand if other things are given priority, especially since you're doing this stuff for free.
I'm afraid you are facing an uphill struggle here:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...32#post1213232

make sure to read all the follow-up posts.

I even suggested a fix.

Jawed
Jawed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 11:49   #4526  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
It uses WinAPI standard controls/values used by thousands of applications, the problem is your LCD or your configuration. RipBot264 has serious issues regarding unreadable stuff, maybe it assumes a large resolution which I don't have.

Last edited by stax76; 1st September 2009 at 11:54.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 11:56   #4527  |  Link
Jawed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 156
MeGUI uses standard controls in a non-standard way.

Windows has a concept of "make a control hard to read to indicate to the user that this information is irrelevant". This is being misused in this case, because the information being shown is highly relevant.

Jawed
Jawed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 11:58   #4528  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,806
Quote:
RipBot264 has serious issues regarding unreadable stuff, maybe it assumes a large resolution which I don't have.
I assume that everybody has good well calibrated MAT lcd monitor. I don't care about rest.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 12:16   #4529  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Quote:
Windows has a concept of "make a control hard to read to indicate to the user that this information is irrelevant". This is being misused in this case, because the information being shown is highly relevant.
I'm not sure about this, in the latest StaxRip beta I use readonly text boxes as well as cue hints in text controls often and it's not hard to read on my 1024x768 Samsung analog monitor. What about VirtualDub and DGIndex, don't they also use readonly text boxes in the status display?

Quote:
I assume that everybody has good well calibrated MAT lcd monitor. I don't care about rest.
That's exactly what I assumed because RipBot264 targets HD users mostly which are likely to have a good LCD. Not that I'm concerned but would it be such a problem to support older/cheaper hardware?

Last edited by stax76; 1st September 2009 at 12:23.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 12:29   #4530  |  Link
Jawed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 156
Greyed-out text, deliberately defined by Microsoft to indicate that the text is not meant to be read, should never ever ever be used by an application for text that is meant to be read.

It's irrelevant how readable any developer thinks it is, the UI specifically reserves greyed-out text for text that is not meant to be read.

Jawed
Jawed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 12:37   #4531  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jawed View Post
It's irrelevant how readable any developer thinks it is, the UI specifically reserves greyed-out text for text that is not meant to be read.
blame constructor then instead of any developer...

Last edited by Kurtnoise; 1st September 2009 at 12:45.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 12:39   #4532  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
It seems MeGUI don't use just readonly text boxes since readonly text boxes have black and not grey text, I'm confused.

edit (overlap): maybe it's grey because of the flatstyle used?
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 12:43   #4533  |  Link
Jawed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 156
As I already explained before, that's because you are using the wrong kind of control. You should be using a label.

A text box is a kind of control used for entering data. A label is a kind of control for showing data. A label can never be edited by the user.

That's why, by default, a text box is accompanied automatically by a label control (when added to a form), which the developer uses to put a description of the function of the text box. The text in this label can not be edited by the user, so does not need locking, and is therefore highly readable.

Jawed
Jawed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 12:44   #4534  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
Quote:
It seems MeGUI don't use just readonly text boxes since readonly text boxes have black and not grey text, I'm confused.
yes it does...but this is dependant of the OS used. In the case of Progress Window, the textboxes are disabled (so...grey-out) but are readable.

Last edited by Kurtnoise; 1st September 2009 at 12:46.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 12:48   #4535  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Ah, it's disabled, I agree then text should be black like in VirtualDub, DGIndex, StaxRip etc.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 13:02   #4536  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
better ?

textboxes as read-only:


textboxes disabled:
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 13:27   #4537  |  Link
Betsy25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Holland, Belgium
Posts: 330
Actually, I agree. In the end, they are used as status indicators, which purpose are to be kept visible. You can think about any kind of status indicators, the most known perhaps the installation progress windows of the main windows installers, they aren't greyed, because the user wants the see the progress at any time it is running, so for me, these should not be greyed out, after all the MeGui status windows do run for hours and hours and especially then, users are interested in taking a keep once in a while how far the process is.

So my conclusion : Better readability, the first shot is better, regarding the Time indicators, these are (for most) the most important parts, so bolding them wouldn't be a bad idea either.
Betsy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 13:30   #4538  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
@Kurtnoise

Read only text boxes allow focus, text selection etc., I think it's OK but not perfect. Better would be using a label and apply border style using WinAPI overriding CreateParams or using ControlPaint class to paint a border. Maybe there are easier solutions.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 15:19   #4539  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
I decided to stick as "Vdub" style (like 1st picture) for the moment...
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2009, 15:40   #4540  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
If you want to prevent focus/selection a easy solution is using labels and drawing a border:

Code:
Private Sub TestForm_Paint(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As PaintEventArgs) Handles Me.Paint
    For Each i In New Label() {Label1, Label2}
        Dim r = i.Bounds
        r.Inflate(1, 1)
        ControlPaint.DrawBorder3D(e.Graphics, r)
    Next
End Sub
Another way:

Code:
Public Class StatusLabel
    Inherits Label

    Protected Overrides ReadOnly Property CreateParams() As CreateParams
        Get
            Dim ret = MyBase.CreateParams
            ret.ExStyle = ret.ExStyle Or Native.WS_EX_CLIENTEDGE
            Return ret
        End Get
    End Property
End Class

Public Class Native
    Public Const WS_EX_CLIENTEDGE As Integer = &H200
End Class

Last edited by stax76; 1st September 2009 at 15:48.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
development, megui, not a help thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.