Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th September 2019, 09:18   #1  |  Link
wthreex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 53
Mute whole audio but not remove it

Hello, newbie here how do i mute whole audio and keep it with video file with avisynth? i found KillAudio but it would remove the audio.
wthreex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 09:38   #2  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by wthreex View Post
Hello, newbie here how do i mute whole audio and keep it with video file with avisynth? i found KillAudio but it would remove the audio.
Do you want to mute the track, or replace the audio with a new, silent audio track of the same duration?
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 11:55   #3  |  Link
wthreex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by benwaggoner View Post
Do you want to mute the track, or replace the audio with a new, silent audio track of the same duration?
No i just wanna silence the current audio track, i know i can simply remove the audio track but for some reason i wanna keep it with video, About the duration: 0 to last frame

Last edited by wthreex; 17th September 2019 at 12:01.
wthreex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 05:52   #4  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by wthreex View Post
Hello, newbie here how do i mute whole audio and keep it with video file with avisynth? i found KillAudio but it would remove the audio.
I think this should do it

Code:
Amplify(0)
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 10:12   #5  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,617
Thread moved by user sugestion.

Yes, Amplify(0) mute all audio inside AviSynth.

Of course input file remain unchanged. You must save the audio and remux with the video, then is like "replace the audio with a new, silent audio track of the same duration?"

Can you explain for what you need mute the audio, instead KillAudio, inside AviSynth?
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 12:57   #6  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Can you explain for what you need mute the audio, instead KillAudio, inside AviSynth?
One reason could be that eg PotPlayer puts up an error message if it cannot find any audio, after you acknowledge the problem, then plays OK (bit of a nuisance only).

EDIT: I suspect that the OP does not want to re-encode the video, so solution with eg ffmpeg to produce silent low bitrate audio is maybe required,
keep the original audio but silenced is a weird requirement, I think he just wants same length as video but silent. I dont know how to do this in ffmpeg.
OP does say "with Avisynth", but I aint sure that he means to re-encode.
Perhaps clarification required.

EDIT: If however I am wrong and OP does indeed want to use Avisynth then perhap below of use, (but PoisonDeathray's Amplify(0) is easier with exact same characteristics as source clip audio)

Code:
AviSource(".\big_buck_bunny_720p_h264.mov.AVI")  # Some clip

# Choose your poison for Silent Audio at same length as source clip
AUDIO_RATE  = 44100     # 32000, 44100, 48000 etc (lower is smaller)
CHANNELS    = 1         # or 2 = Silent Stereo (1 channel smaller)
SAMPLE_TYPE = "8bit"    # "8bit", "16bit", "24bit", "32bit" or "float" (8 bit, smaller file size)

Audio=Last.BlankCLip(audio_rate=AUDIO_RATE,channels=CHANNELS,sample_type=SAMPLE_TYPE)  # same audio length as source clip video
#Audio=Last.BlankCLip() # Or this for exactly same audio characterstics including original length (if audio exists, else no audio).

AudioDubEx(Last,Audio)

#return Info
Above will also add silent audio same length as video clip, where source clip has no audio.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 18th September 2019 at 13:44.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2019, 05:38   #7  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,972
If Audacity knows where to find ffmpeg, it'll import audio from most file types, and it should be easy enough to mute it and export it again. All that'll be left to do is combine the silent audio with the video into some as yet unknown container/file type.

It hadn't occurred to me to try it until now, but if you normalize the peaks to zero percent with Avisynth you get silence. MeGUI will convert just about anything, and it's audio encoder configuration lets you normalise the peaks to any volume, even zero.
There's GUI's dedicated to re-encoding audio and/or video and combining them again in a new package, but I've no idea if they'd have a silent audio option. Something like this: https://www.videohelp.com/software/rebox.NET

Foobar2000 has an Amplify DSP (which for reasons I don't understand is called "Amplify" instead of something like "Volume" or "Gain" or "I Swing Both Ways"). It can only reduce the volume by 20dB, however you can add as many instances of a DSP to the conversion chain as you like. Five at -20dB should give you silence.

Last edited by hello_hello; 20th September 2019 at 05:43.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2019, 09:40   #8  |  Link
wthreex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post

Can you explain for what you need mute the audio, instead KillAudio, inside AviSynth?
I'm using a app called "Telegram" if i upload a video without a sound the app shows it as a Gif, But if a video have a sound with it the app shows is as e video.

Last edited by wthreex; 25th September 2019 at 08:25.
wthreex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.