Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th April 2019, 07:46   #1781  |  Link
szabi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Yes, quite significant.
I will switch to use it.
Thanks .
szabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2019, 15:56   #1782  |  Link
almosely
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 43
It would be very nice, if you wouldn't force everyone using your launcher to check for updates after six months even the checkbox "never show auto-update notifications on application startup" is enabled. Maybe there's another checkbox necessary for that six-month-message - but I definitively do not want to be forced to check for updates or to wait for a felt eternity before I am allowed to click the discard button.
almosely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2019, 11:23   #1783  |  Link
rsotome
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by almosely View Post
It would be very nice, if you wouldn't force everyone using your launcher to check for updates after six months even the checkbox "never show auto-update notifications on application startup" is enabled. Maybe there's another checkbox necessary for that six-month-message - but I definitively do not want to be forced to check for updates or to wait for a felt eternity before I am allowed to click the discard button.
Just gonna ask about that update thing as well, maybe an option to disable checks. Thank you.
rsotome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2019, 14:26   #1784  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 116
This program doesn't accept UHD files as an input?
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2019, 16:30   #1785  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlw_4049 View Post
This program doesn't accept UHD files as an input?
This is just a GUI front-end. It "accepts" whatever Avisynth or VapourSynth script as input that you load

The actual question, IMO, is whether Avisynth or VapourSynth and the particular filters (especially the source filter) that you are using properly support “UHD” material, i.e. 4K resolution + High Dynamic Range (HDR).

I think "classic" Avisynth is out of scope here, as it was 8-Bit only and development is pretty much dead, AFAIK.

But VapourSynth should work fine, as it has supported "high bit-depth" color formats ever since. Maybe Avisynth+ can be made to work too, as it is supposed to add more color formats (including 10, 12, 14 and 16 bits) to Avisynth.

The next big question is, how the encoders, i.e. x264 or x265, deal with “UHD” input. My experience on that field is limited, but you will probably have to use some sort of "tone mapping", if you want to encode as SHD.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 2nd May 2019 at 16:40.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2019, 16:42   #1786  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,039
Simple x264/x265 Launcher v2.90
https://github.com/lordmulder/Simple...ases/tag/v2.90

Quote:
Version 2.90 [2019-05-02]
* Updated x265 to version 3.0+18
* Updated x264 to revision 2969 (API v157)
* Updated NVEncC to version 4.36
* Updated build environment to Visual Studio 2017 with Update-9
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 2nd May 2019 at 17:04.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2019, 17:27   #1787  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
This is just a GUI front-end. It "accepts" whatever Avisynth or VapourSynth script as input that you load

The actual question, IMO, is whether Avisynth or VapourSynth and the particular filters (especially the source filter) that you are using properly support “UHD” material, i.e. 4K resolution + High Dynamic Range (HDR).

I think "classic" Avisynth is out of scope here, as it was 8-Bit only and development is pretty much dead, AFAIK.

But VapourSynth should work fine, as it has supported "high bit-depth" color formats ever since. Maybe Avisynth+ can be made to work too, as it is supposed to add more color formats (including 10, 12, 14 and 16 bits) to Avisynth.

The next big question is, how the encoders, i.e. x264 or x265, deal with “UHD” input. My experience on that field is limited, but you will probably have to use some sort of "tone mapping", if you want to encode as SHD.
Thanks for the info. I've only ever had experience using AviSynth+. Never really looked into vapour synth.

Is it considered better?

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2019, 18:10   #1788  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlw_4049 View Post
Thanks for the info. I've only ever had experience using AviSynth+. Never really looked into vapour synth.

Is it considered better?
We have a forum rule to not ask "what's best" because this question cannot be answered objectively. The best is what works best for you!

But, according to its author, VapourSynth...

Quote:
...has been heavily inspired by Avisynth and aims to be a 21st century rewrite, taking advantage of the advancements computers have made since the late 90s. The main features compared to Avisynth are:
  • Multithreaded – Frame level multithreading
  • Generalized Colorspaces – New Colorspaces can be specified at runtime
  • Per Frame Properties – Additional metadata can be attached to frames
  • Python Based – The scripting part is implemented as a Python module so you don’t have have to learn a special language
  • Support for video with format changes – Some video just can’t stick to one format or frame size VapourSynth can handle any kind of change
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2019, 03:36   #1789  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
We have a forum rule to not ask "what's best" because this question cannot be answered objectively. The best is what works best for you!

But, according to its author, VapourSynth...
Thanks! So, I can use this in GUIs?

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2019, 22:50   #1790  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlw_4049 View Post
Thanks! So, I can use this in GUIs?
Well, it depends

Simple x264/x265 Launcher, for example, supports VapourSynth scripts as input – provided that VapourSynth is installed. It does not provide any kind of VapourSynth editor though; that is out of scope for this program.

So, if you are looking for a fully-fledged GUI editor for VapourSynth scripts, you should probably have a look at the VapourSynth Editor.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 4th May 2019 at 20:34.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2019, 19:47   #1791  |  Link
Chouonsoku
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
I'm having any issue with the latest release where sometimes on running the program and queueing an encode, I get a complaint that VapourSynth is not installed. Closing and reopening the program and queueing the encode again seems to solve the problem. I'm running VS and the launcher in portable mode.
Chouonsoku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2019, 19:51   #1792  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chouonsoku View Post
I'm having any issue with the latest release where sometimes on running the program and queueing an encode, I get a complaint that VapourSynth is not installed. Closing and reopening the program and queueing the encode again seems to solve the problem. I'm running VS and the launcher in portable mode.
Latest release did not change anything regarding VapourSynth detection. Anyway, try running the program with option "--console" and have a look at the log.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2019, 23:59   #1793  |  Link
Chouonsoku
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
Quote:
[Check for VapourSynth support]
VapourSynth thread has been created, please wait...
VapourSynth Dir: E:/Tools/Simple x264 Launcher v2/extra/VapourSynth
VapourSynth EXE: E:/Tools/Simple x264 Launcher v2/extra/VapourSynth/core32/vspipe.exe
VapourSynth DLL: E:/Tools/Simple x264 Launcher v2/extra/VapourSynth/core32/vapoursynth.dll
VapourSynth 32-Bit edition *not* found!
VapourSynth EXE: E:/Tools/Simple x264 Launcher v2/extra/VapourSynth/core64/vspipe.exe
VapourSynth DLL: E:/Tools/Simple x264 Launcher v2/extra/VapourSynth/core64/vapoursynth.dll
VSPIPE.EXE process encountered a deadlock -> aborting now!
VSPIPE.EXE process still running, going to kill it!
VSPIPE.EXE failed with code 0x0000F291 -> disable Vapousynth support!
VapourSynth 64-Bit edition was found, but version check has failed!
VapourSynth thread finished.
VapourSynth could not be found -> VapourSynth support disabled!
Then I close and relaunch and get this:
Quote:
[Check for VapourSynth support]
VapourSynth thread has been created, please wait...
VapourSynth Dir: E:/Tools/Simple x264 Launcher v2/extra/VapourSynth
VapourSynth EXE: E:/Tools/Simple x264 Launcher v2/extra/VapourSynth/core32/vspipe.exe
VapourSynth DLL: E:/Tools/Simple x264 Launcher v2/extra/VapourSynth/core32/vapoursynth.dll
VapourSynth 32-Bit edition *not* found!
VapourSynth EXE: E:/Tools/Simple x264 Launcher v2/extra/VapourSynth/core64/vspipe.exe
VapourSynth DLL: E:/Tools/Simple x264 Launcher v2/extra/VapourSynth/core64/vapoursynth.dll
VapourSynth version was detected successfully.
VapourSynth 64-Bit edition found!
VapourSynth thread finished.
VapourSynth support is officially enabled now! [x86=0, x64=1]
I did update my VS portable install from here recently too so maybe the issue was just not showing because I was using --skip-version-checks until the v2.90.
Chouonsoku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2019, 21:10   #1794  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chouonsoku View Post
Then I close and relaunch and get this:I did update my VS portable install from here recently too so maybe the issue was just not showing because I was using --skip-version-checks until the v2.90.
Well, as can be seen from your log, VSPIPE.EXE encountered a deadlock (i.e. did not terminate normally within the time limit) on the first attempt:

Code:
VapourSynth EXE: E:/Tools/Simple x264 Launcher v2/extra/VapourSynth/core64/vspipe.exe
VapourSynth DLL: E:/Tools/Simple x264 Launcher v2/extra/VapourSynth/core64/vapoursynth.dll
VSPIPE.EXE process encountered a deadlock -> aborting now!
VSPIPE.EXE process still running, going to kill it!
VSPIPE.EXE failed with code 0x0000F291 -> disable Vapousynth support!
VapourSynth 64-Bit edition was found, but version check has failed!
The time limit currently is 12 seconds. This choice is kind of arbitrary, yes, but I don't see a reason why the invocation of "vspipe.exe --version" should take longer than about ~1 second – let alone 12 seconds!

If a program takes unusually long to start for no comprehensible reason, then – more often than not – so-called "anti-virus" software was interfering.

Anyhow, coincidentally I did some clean-up and refactoring of the startup code today and also slightly increased the time limit. You can try with the latest TEST build and see if that makes any difference for you...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 7th May 2019 at 21:21.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2019, 10:18   #1795  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,093
Maybe other app is blocking vspipe.exe? I have seen similar problem in my thread
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...06#post1862506
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...84#post1872384

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 8th May 2019 at 10:22.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2019, 20:29   #1796  |  Link
Chouonsoku
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
The time limit currently is 12 seconds. This choice is kind of arbitrary, yes, but I don't see a reason why the invocation of "vspipe.exe --version" should take longer than about ~1 second – let alone 12 seconds!

If a program takes unusually long to start for no comprehensible reason, then – more often than not – so-called "anti-virus" software was interfering.
Yeah, seeing it in the log makes it clear that it's not an issue with the program. I've also noticed VSEdit taking a while to open sometimes. Gonna just add the whole folder as an exclusion in Windows Defender. Thanks for helping me troubleshoot a problem completely unrelated to your software!

Edit: Excluding it worked, Simple launched on the first try and VSEdit is opening faster.

Last edited by Chouonsoku; 8th May 2019 at 20:33.
Chouonsoku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2019, 18:10   #1797  |  Link
aldix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 150
hello.

i've both avisynth and vapoursynth installed and working, yet, when trying a vs script, the simple 264/265 encoder gives the -1 error, saying there's no avisynth installed. :/

what's up?
aldix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2019, 21:00   #1798  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by aldix View Post
hello.

i've both avisynth and vapoursynth installed and working, yet, when trying a vs script, the simple 264/265 encoder gives the -1 error, saying there's no avisynth installed. :/

what's up?
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2019, 00:18   #1799  |  Link
aldix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 150
well, it's like i said. which is why i'm confused...

Code:
[2019-05-19][02:16:40] avs [error]: failed to load avisynth
[2019-05-19][02:16:40] x264 [error]: could not open input file `C:\Temp\8E5_python.vpy'
[2019-05-19][02:16:40] 
[2019-05-19][02:16:40] PROCESS EXITED WITH ERROR CODE: -1
i'll update with the latest version of the x264 gui tho just in case, and report back whether this changes anything.

--
further updates:

um. latest simple x264/x265 gui. using latest this (https://github.com/jpsdr/x264/releases) for my encoding, always have been, swapping it out in the
C:\Program Files (x86)\MuldeR\Simple x264 Launcher v2\toolset\x64 folder. does this mean i cannot use tmod anymore? that would be very unfortunate...

Code:
[2019-05-19][02:45:34] 
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] vpyp [info]: Error: fwrite() call failed when writing frame: 0, plane: 0, errno: 22
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] vpyp [info]: Output 9 frames in 1.82 seconds (4.95 fps)
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] 
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] WARNING: Input process exited with error (code: 1), your encode might be *incomplete* !!!
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] 
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] FATAL ERROR: The encoder process has *crashed* -> your encode probably is *incomplete* !!!
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] Note that this indicates a bug in the current encoder, *not* in Simple x264/x265 Launcher.
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] 
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] PROCESS EXITED WITH ERROR CODE: -1073741795
--
#update 2:

that sucks. tmod indeed doesn't work at all. whereas regular x264 does. with regular avisynth script it has always worked though. is it something inherent to tmod and there's no hope or what?


thanks!

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 19th May 2019 at 10:29. Reason: fixed code tags
aldix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2019, 10:34   #1800  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by aldix View Post
um. latest simple x264/x265 gui. using latest this (https://github.com/jpsdr/x264/releases) for my encoding, always have been, swapping it out in the
C:\Program Files (x86)\MuldeR\Simple x264 Launcher v2\toolset\x64 folder. does this mean i cannot use tmod anymore? that would be very unfortunate...

Code:
[2019-05-19][02:45:34] 
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] vpyp [info]: Error: fwrite() call failed when writing frame: 0, plane: 0, errno: 22
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] vpyp [info]: Output 9 frames in 1.82 seconds (4.95 fps)
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] 
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] WARNING: Input process exited with error (code: 1), your encode might be *incomplete* !!!
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] 
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] FATAL ERROR: The encoder process has *crashed* -> your encode probably is *incomplete* !!!
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] Note that this indicates a bug in the current encoder, *not* in Simple x264/x265 Launcher.
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] 
[2019-05-19][02:45:36] PROCESS EXITED WITH ERROR CODE: -1073741795
Quote:
Originally Posted by aldix View Post
that sucks. tmod indeed doesn't work at all. whereas regular x264 does. with regular avisynth script it has always worked though. is it something inherent to tmod and there's no hope or what?
As we can see from your log, the encoder process (i.e. x264.exe) has crashed!

From the exit code -1073741795, which is equivalent to STATUS_ILLEGAL_INSTRUCTION (0xC000001D), we can conclude that x264 crashed because it tried to execute an instruction that is not supported by your CPU. If you get that error with "tmod" build, whereas the vanilla build that ships with Simple x264/x265 Launcher is working, then this indicates that the person who compiled "tmod" build used different compiler settings – settings not compatible with your CPU.

Anything else concerning "tmod" build would have to be discussed with the person who provides those builds. I don't provide or use "tmod" build.

BTW: You can ignore the warning about the input process (VapourSynth) in this case, because when the encoder processes crashes and thus breaks the pipe, then the input process won't be able to write to the pipe anymore, obviously.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 19th May 2019 at 17:31.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.