Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th December 2019, 04:50   #29041  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,743
The 704x480 is really only for DVDs. The BD spec only has 720x480, which would only mean supporting 32:27 (for 16:9 video). No idea why BDRB was not getting it right. Doing the cropping trick does end up distorting the image, as you noted.

The original BDs are compliant. The BD spec allows for MPEG-2/AVC/VC1 as codecs for 720x480 video.

JDobbs is going to have to respond as to what is happening.

EDIT: Add "IMPORT_OVERSCAN=0" to the options file. Don't do the cropping. I'm curious as to what this does.

Last edited by MrVideo; 11th December 2019 at 12:09.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2019, 01:54   #29042  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,757
Quote:
The BD spec only has 720x480, which would only mean supporting 32:27 (for 16:9 video).
Maybe I misunderstood what you're saying? The BD Spec supports 4:3 video in 720x480. 720x480 at 4:3 is mentioned more times than I can even reference. For example, see page 1-147, Table 5-17 of the spec, and look under primary video formats. Adjusting for overscan is normal for 720x480 sources. Often people just forget about it and leave the aspect slightly stretched (by removing the overscan areas).

I'd have to see the source to decide what is going on in Alleycat's case. The part about bars being at the top and bottom (rather than the sides) throws me. Overscan adjustments should only apply to the sides??? I guess I need to go back and read his posts again.

I can tell you that I, for one, am happy to see the 1:1 ratios used in HD and UHD. Having to adjust for the leftovers from analog television (like overscan) is a real pain. These days trying to decide whether to adjust for overscan depends on what mood the original author was in at the time the disc was created. Many MKV files out there that hold old TV shows, for example, typically just resize the original 720x480 sources (minus overscan) to 640x480 with a 1:1 ratio (which means they are stretched slightly). But that depends on what the person doing the encoding knew or didn't know about video.

It's nothing if not confusing.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 12th December 2019 at 02:53.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2019, 05:34   #29043  |  Link
Alleycat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 9
@ Mr. Video: I tried adding IMPORT_OVERSCAN=0 to the ini file, but it made no difference. I was using the full backup mode, so maybe that function only operates when using the import mode.

@jdobbs: In my fist post I noticed BD-RB was re-encoding my disc with an SAR of 40:33 in X264, but the original has an SAR of 32:27, due to the video being in MPEG-2 blu-ray.

Would the problem not be solved by removing the --SAR X:X from the X264 command line when full back up mode is used? As the source is already a blu-ray, the original SAR must be compliant, so the BD-RB copy need not be any different?
Alleycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2019, 09:33   #29044  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Maybe I misunderstood what you're saying? The BD Spec supports 4:3 video in 720x480.
We were discussing the OP's original files, which are 16:9 720x480, which only has the one SAR. No discussion of 4:3 video.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2019, 09:34   #29045  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alleycat View Post
@ Mr. Video: I tried adding IMPORT_OVERSCAN=0 to the ini file, but it made no difference. I was using the full backup mode, so maybe that function only operates when using the import mode.
It was worth a try. No idea what JDobbs intended that option for.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2019, 12:05   #29046  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,780
@Alleycat
Can you upload a sample of a few seconds duration of the original file?
Without a sample all the discussions remain speculative.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2019, 08:34   #29047  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Well, that explains it. Many of the groups have it in their little heads that removing the letterbox bars from widescreen videos will reduce the file size. While it is true that it will, it obviously causes issues like this.

If I play a MKV file thru my Samsung and if it is 1920x800, the player will add the letterbox bars. But, if I author the file onto a BD, the player will vertically expand the video to fill the screen. Those cropped videos are a PITA.
Fully agree... Same here with my OPPO. I've Always thought it was nonsense removing the black bars, it doesn't save that much space and automatically makes it noncompliant. Stupid...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2019, 19:57   #29048  |  Link
gamete
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 104
Im trying to backup for the first time bluray 4k

My pc is
Win10 64bit
Intel i7 2.94ghz 4core(i Think)
6 gb ram

If i make backup of bluray 2k in bd25 is necessary 5 hours about

In my first 4k bluray backup time estimated from 55gb to 25gb in two pass is 40 hours
0.95 fps

Im trying using " x264 internal LAVF for frame serving"
Is it correct ?
40 hours for 4k backup ?
Thank to all

Last edited by gamete; 13th December 2019 at 20:17.
gamete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2019, 15:17   #29049  |  Link
raul124
Registered User
 
raul124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Yonkers New York USA
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamete View Post
Im trying to backup for the first time bluray 4k

My pc is
Win10 64bit
Intel i7 2.94ghz 4core(i Think)
6 gb ram

If i make backup of bluray 2k in bd25 is necessary 5 hours about

In my first 4k bluray backup time estimated from 55gb to 25gb in two pass is 40 hours
0.95 fps

Im trying using " x264 internal LAVF for frame serving"
Is it correct ?
40 hours for 4k backup ?
Thank to all
Same here...
raul124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2019, 17:19   #29050  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamete View Post
Im trying to backup for the first time bluray 4k

My pc is
Win10 64bit
Intel i7 2.94ghz 4core(i Think)
6 gb ram

If i make backup of bluray 2k in bd25 is necessary 5 hours about

In my first 4k bluray backup time estimated from 55gb to 25gb in two pass is 40 hours
0.95 fps

Im trying using " x264 internal LAVF for frame serving"
Is it correct ?
40 hours for 4k backup ?
Thank to all
I'd recommend you set your encoder to "Very Good (Fast)" and "One Pass (ABR) Encoding" if you want to speed up encoding. On my system (which is pretty old) it usually takes about 10-12 hours with that setting (I typically get 4 - 4.5 fps). Honestly, there is plenty of room on a 25GB disc even for UHD, and you don't need higher settings. Of course people have different opinions about that. But, I've done tests using different CRF settings to get constant quality to see how much space is needed, and I rarely hit anywhere near 25GB even when using high quality CRF values. With that said, it depends a lot on how much content is on the disc you're backing up.

If encode time isn't important to you... then ignore what I just said and use a higher quality setting and/or keep two pass encoding enabled.

It makes no difference what frame-serving option you select when doing UHD. BD-RB is going to use FFMPEG anyway so that the HDR10 settings get passed along to the encoder. I'm assuming you are doing a full or movie-only backup? If so, X264 isn't used either. UHD on blu-ray requires HEVC (X265).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 14th December 2019 at 17:28.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2019, 19:25   #29051  |  Link
gamete
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 104
Tks @jdobbs
Its my first 4k bluray backup
Only movie
For the next bluray ill try with your configuration
gamete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2019, 07:23   #29052  |  Link
gamete
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 104
Hi, I wanted to know what is the recommended size to set in bdrebuilder for the bd50, thanks

Is the remaining time calculated based on the video compression percentage?

is it possible that a future version of bd rebuilder marks how many mb uses every single audio of the film?

Last edited by gamete; 16th December 2019 at 07:25.
gamete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2019, 13:44   #29053  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamete View Post
Hi, I wanted to know what is the recommended size to set in bdrebuilder for the bd50, thanks

Is the remaining time calculated based on the video compression percentage?

is it possible that a future version of bd rebuilder marks how many mb uses every single audio of the film?
There is a default size already established for BD-50. Just select BD-50 from Settings/Output Options.

The remaining time is based on overall size and is updated based upon the speed up to that point.

The size of the audio is already taken into account when BD-RB calculates the bitrate needed for the video.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 17th December 2019 at 03:38.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2019, 21:45   #29054  |  Link
gamete
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
The size of the audio is already taken into account when BD-RB calculates the bitrate needed for the video.
I mean if there will be the possibility in new release of bdrebuilder to know the size each one of audio included in bluray

Tks

Last edited by jdobbs; 17th December 2019 at 03:38.
gamete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2019, 23:20   #29055  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamete View Post
I mean if there will be the possibility in new release of bdrebuilder to know the size each one of audio included in bluray

Tks
I have no plans to show the sizes of each audio stream.

But, you can go into the working folder after BD-RB extracts them and see the sizes. Each of the audio streams are extracted into individual files. You they will look like this:

00000.track_4352.dts

The "00000" is the M2TS they came from and the 4352 is the PID. The extension will tell you the type of audio (like dts or ac3). The audio tracks will have PIDs in the range of 4352-4383 (depending on how many audio tracks exist).

Those are the original tracks. After processing you may see the new ones. They will start with the text "AUD", will also include the PID number, and will end with an extension like ".AC3"
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2019, 23:22   #29056  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamete View Post
I mean if there will be the possibility in new release of bdrebuilder to know the size each one of audio included in bluray
Why do you need to know that?
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2019, 16:55   #29057  |  Link
Priapismic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 53
American Made Audio Problem

Hi,
I am trying to rip American Made, which contains only DTS audio but BDRB is unable to extract the audio. Any solution?



- [10:46:52] BuildTreeList() 35602 2702
----------------------
[12/20/19] BD Rebuilder v0.60.29
[10:47:07] Source: AMERICANMADEUHD_UPK75_00800
- Input BD size: 60.19 GB
- Approximate total content: [01:54:53.886]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: Highest (Very Slow), ABR
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=1 DTS=1 HD=0 Kbs=640
[10:47:08] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [10:47:08] Processing: VID_00007 (1 of 2)
- [10:47:08] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00007]
- Extracting video streams [VID_00007]
- Bitstream exception Unknown exception. It does not have to be! Please contact application support team for more information.
- Error in attempt to extract video.
- Bitstream exception Unknown exception. It does not have to be! Please contact application support team for more information.
- Bitstream exception Unknown exception. It does not have to be! Please contact application support team for more information.
[10:47:15] - Failed to retrieve audio, aborted
Priapismic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2019, 19:52   #29058  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,757
Not sure about that. That error is coming from TSMUXER. Are you sure it's a good rip?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2019, 22:41   #29059  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,743
In other words...
1) What does MediaInfo have to say about the M2TS file(s)?
2) Start up tsmuxer and have it read the M2TS file(s) and report back.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2019, 11:24   #29060  |  Link
Priapismic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 53
Hopefully I am using BDRB as designed; I understand it processes UHD 4k files. Yes; the rip is fine and I've re-ripped several times.
I finally achieved my goal of ripping the disc to the HD for play on our Samsung QLED TV using MakeMKV, which reencoded the DTS audio (unsupported on Samsung TV) to AAC. But would prefer BDRB (it's been awhile since I donated - need to again...) since it is familiar and can output AC3.
Hope this helps:
Name:  American Made UHD.jpg
Views: 546
Size:  183.8 KB
Priapismic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.