Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th December 2016, 18:58   #41501  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight77 View Post
Asmodian can you clarify something to me?

I do not have any dropped frame or particular problem but looks like is suggested to change from the default optimail power to maximum or at least adaptive, but how? I mean... in the setting page below or you let the application manage the settings or you decide but then there are many other settings to check not only the one about power usage. Am I missing something? If not...what else should I choose or select other then the power settings?

Hope you can help.
It is in the advanced settings page, not adjust with preview. As huhn said, leave the other options at their defaults.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 19:31   #41502  |  Link
iopq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
try reset to defaults. but this sounds strange did you update madVR while it was still running?
Already tried, didn't help. I did update madVR while it was running, but it didn't let me replace the files so I couldn't do it. I replaced the files again and I think I found the problem:

the settings are dropdowns, you need to click on the little < for them to actually show something

I have another issue:

When I launch Brood War (which has a resolution of 640x480 so it changes screen resolution) and alt tab back out, MPC says

madVR reports:

- creating Direct3D device failed (80070005)

Last edited by iopq; 14th December 2016 at 19:38.
iopq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 19:39   #41503  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,059
well doubling clicking works too just to let you know.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 20:06   #41504  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by iopq View Post
I have another issue:

When I launch Brood War (which has a resolution of 640x480 so it changes screen resolution) and alt tab back out, MPC says

madVR reports:

- creating Direct3D device failed (80070005)
This is normal, the game destroys the Direct3D device when it changes the resolution so madVR fails.

You cannot do anything like this with madVR running, e.g. sleeping the computer has a similar result.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2016, 21:47   #41505  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by iopq View Post
I can't adjust any settings with the newest version
Use the batch file in the installation directory and reset madVR to default settings.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 00:43   #41506  |  Link
iopq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
This is normal, the game destroys the Direct3D device when it changes the resolution so madVR fails.

You cannot do anything like this with madVR running, e.g. sleeping the computer has a similar result.
It might be normal, but it's undesirable that MadVR doesn't handle this gracefully.
iopq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 01:04   #41507  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,059
well maybe this is the place to add this: http://bugs.madshi.net/view_all_bug_...d=4&dummy=bla/

it is just me saying that but i don't think this is a high priority issue
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 01:47   #41508  |  Link
XTrojan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 88
New windows beta build supports HDR and native rec2020 colorspace, Madshi might wanna take a look?
XTrojan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 01:57   #41509  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,022
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 04:37   #41510  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Could NVIDIA's default optimal power vs adaptive power be causing this reboot on madvr paused + display idle/off?
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 05:07   #41511  |  Link
burfadel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
This is normal, the game destroys the Direct3D device when it changes the resolution so madVR fails.

You cannot do anything like this with madVR running, e.g. sleeping the computer has a similar result.
Actually sleeping the computer (or at least, having the monitors turned off and therefore video as well) doesn't result in that. If there isn't buggy code for the architecture in the driver related to this when you wake it up again you simply have to double-click back to windowed mode and then again back to full screen to reset it. I believe this also works for full screen windowed mode, but I doi t for full screen exclusive mode.

With my R9-280X it worked, when I first got the RX480 it didn't (possibly requiring a cold restart of the computer), but now with 16.12.1 it works again.
burfadel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 09:36   #41512  |  Link
Oguignant
Registered User
 
Oguignant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 181
I do not find a good setup to see old remastered movies 2k to 4k. They are very noisy. Can somebody help me?

I'm using the latest version of madvr with this configuration:

luma: very high
chroma: let madvr decide
upscaling/downscaling: let madvr decide.

Without any upscaling refinement


I would appreciate any help.

Thks
__________________
"To infinity, and beyond!"

Last edited by Oguignant; 15th December 2016 at 09:42.
Oguignant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 10:09   #41513  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,761
For old movies I suggest:

NNEDI3 128
luma: doubling: 128 neurons, quadrupling: 32 neurons
chroma: let madVR decide
upscaling/downscaling: let madvr decide

NNEDI3 is great for older video content while NGU is great for native HD content.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 11:05   #41514  |  Link
adhara
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 39
Hi,

When looking at HDR (10 bits, HEVC) video on MadVr(Jriver), I get a black screen.
My display is full 4k / HDR / HDCP 2.2 compliant and my graphic card too (Nvidia GTX1070).

Is there any recommanded settings or user guide (MadVr/Nvidia control pannel) for watching a HDR video on my HTPC ?

Thx
adhara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 11:11   #41515  |  Link
Oguignant
Registered User
 
Oguignant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
For old movies I suggest:

NNEDI3 128
luma: doubling: 128 neurons, quadrupling: 32 neurons
chroma: let madVR decide
upscaling/downscaling: let madvr decide

NNEDI3 is great for older video content while NGU is great for native HD content.
I'll try the configuration you recommend. I'll tell you later.

Thks
__________________
"To infinity, and beyond!"
Oguignant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 11:18   #41516  |  Link
Oguignant
Registered User
 
Oguignant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
For old movies I suggest:

NNEDI3 128
luma: doubling: 128 neurons, quadrupling: 32 neurons
chroma: let madVR decide
upscaling/downscaling: let madvr decide

NNEDI3 is great for older video content while NGU is great for native HD content.
Nnedi3 128 for chroma upscaling, right?

Update

I tried it. It looks a little better. But the render time is high. 40ms. Is a remux file of 30 gb with bit rate 41.6mb/s. I use gtx 1080 g1 oc.
__________________
"To infinity, and beyond!"

Last edited by Oguignant; 15th December 2016 at 11:29.
Oguignant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 11:56   #41517  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oguignant View Post
Nnedi3 128 for chroma upscaling, right?

Update

I tried it. It looks a little better. But the render time is high. 40ms. Is a remux file of 30 gb with bit rate 41.6mb/s. I use gtx 1080 g1 oc.
No, I never use over NNEDI3 64 for chroma upscaling, and that is for SD where the performance hit is almost non-existent as any improvement is unnoticable. NNEDI3 32 would be my max for HD, especially remastered content.

I meant NNEDI3 128 for luma doubling to 4K, but of course that depends on which GPU you have. NNEDI3 128 runs at about the same speed as NGU veryHigh for me so I hoped you could run it as well. I can run NNEDI3 256 for 1080p24 -> 2160 so I might be overestimating what is possible.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 12:28   #41518  |  Link
Oguignant
Registered User
 
Oguignant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
No, I never use over NNEDI3 64 for chroma upscaling, and that is for SD where the performance hit is almost non-existent as any improvement is unnoticable. NNEDI3 32 would be my max for HD, especially remastered content.

I meant NNEDI3 128 for luma doubling to 4K, but of course that depends on which GPU you have. NNEDI3 128 runs at about the same speed as NGU veryHigh for me so I hoped you could run it as well. I can run NNEDI3 256 for 1080p24 -> 2160 so I might be overestimating what is possible.
My gpu is nvidia gtx 1080 gaming g1 (oc 2150mhz) All with the same mkv remux file (30gb bit rate 40mb/s) without compressiono...

Chroma upscaling nnedi3 32
Image upscaling NNEDI3 doubling 256 quadrupling 32
Render time 58 ms
Others option let madvr decide

Chroma upscaling nnedi3 32
Image upscaling NNEDI3 doubling 128 quadrupling 32
Render time 40 ms
Others option let madvr decide

Chroma upscaling nnedi3 32
Image upscaling NNEDI3 doubling 64 quadrupling 32
Render time 24 ms
Others option let madvr decide

Chroma upscaling NGU high
Image upscaling NGU high
Render time 19 ms
Others option let madvr decide

Chroma upscaling NGU high
Image upscaling NGU very high
Render time 40 ms
Others option let madvr decide

Render times are very bad. I do not understand why.
This gpu is the fastest I found.
__________________
"To infinity, and beyond!"

Last edited by Oguignant; 15th December 2016 at 13:01.
Oguignant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 12:41   #41519  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,247
Fired up the 30th anniversary of Transformers the Movie tonight (It looks amazing) and I'm quite happy with super-xbr 150 AR
being used for chroma upscaling for this type of content.

There's a number of scenes like this and they all show similar benefit. NGU doesn't do too good here, thinning lines and being softer than super-xbr 150 AR (even NGU very high SR4!)
Where as super-xbr 150 is keeping the same line thickness but giving it some nice line darkening. Can post more scenes if anyone would like to see them.

Check it out.

Last edited by ryrynz; 15th December 2016 at 12:43.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 12:57   #41520  |  Link
Werewolfy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 135
I'm interested to see more screenshots. It's a great example to show that chroma does count.

Could you post screenshots of this scene with Jinc or NNEDI3 32/64 neurons just to see the results? I didn't expect that super-xbr was so good actually, I aslo find it better than NGU very high in this example.
__________________
Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i5-4670K (4.2 GHz) - 8 GB DDR3 - MSI Geforce GTX 1080 8 GB - Sony KD-55A1
Werewolfy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.