Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th December 2009, 00:44   #1  |  Link
flapane
Registered User
 
flapane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 108
DXVA-->how to control brightness-contrast-and so on

It seems that MPC HC can't control brightness and contrast via ffdshow while playing h264 DXVA.
Same happens while watching DVB HD in DXVA on WinTV.
Any solution?
t.i.a
__________________
My site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
Ibook 12''1,33ghz 1.5GB 160GB-PC Intel i3-2120@3.3ghz-Galaxy S4 Mini-Sony a6000 16-50
flapane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 02:57   #2  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,477
w/ PS scripts in MPC?
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 12:57   #3  |  Link
flapane
Registered User
 
flapane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 108
Forgive me, could you be more clear?
__________________
My site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
Ibook 12''1,33ghz 1.5GB 160GB-PC Intel i3-2120@3.3ghz-Galaxy S4 Mini-Sony a6000 16-50
flapane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 14:04   #4  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,477
in MPC, you can use Pixel Shader scripts...these should work on DXVA

or maybe in your graphic card drivers? only trying to help, I never use DXVA
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 16:28   #5  |  Link
flapane
Registered User
 
flapane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 108
Nope, overlay won't work as EVR is in use.
Thanks anyway, let's see if someone has a solution
__________________
My site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
Ibook 12''1,33ghz 1.5GB 160GB-PC Intel i3-2120@3.3ghz-Galaxy S4 Mini-Sony a6000 16-50
flapane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 17:31   #6  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,477
EVR does support DXVA, and PS scripts work in EVR...that should work?
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 17:35   #7  |  Link
flapane
Registered User
 
flapane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 108
The problem is that I don't even know what a pixel shader script is and how to code it -.-

edit:
I think that you hit the point, the problem is how to find a script that does the work, I only saw sharpen scripts and similar ones.
__________________
My site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
Ibook 12''1,33ghz 1.5GB 160GB-PC Intel i3-2120@3.3ghz-Galaxy S4 Mini-Sony a6000 16-50

Last edited by flapane; 10th December 2009 at 17:37.
flapane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 17:51   #8  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,477
If I were you, I'd get a colorimeter(even a cheap one, like a Spyder II) and calibrate my display properly(D65/2.3 gamma).

If you just wanna do it by the eye, you can play around w/ this sort of script:
Code:
sampler s0 : register(s0);

#define const_1 (16.0/255.0)
#define const_2 (219.0/255.0)

float4 main(float2 tex : TEXCOORD0) : COLOR
{
	// original pixel
	float4 c0 = tex2D(s0,tex);

	return (c0 * const_2) + const_1;
}
change 16 and 219 to your taste

Last edited by leeperry; 10th December 2009 at 18:04.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 18:13   #9  |  Link
flapane
Registered User
 
flapane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 108
The lcd works quite well, but you know, a lot of movies (most part) is so dark... ffdshow is always set on GAMMA 1.35

Thanks for the script, let's try...

edit: none of the stock shader scripts work (i.e sphere, sharpen and so on). Hd3850 and latest catalyst on 7 x64. I suppose that your script even wouldn't work... What's wrong?
__________________
My site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
Ibook 12''1,33ghz 1.5GB 160GB-PC Intel i3-2120@3.3ghz-Galaxy S4 Mini-Sony a6000 16-50

Last edited by flapane; 10th December 2009 at 18:22.
flapane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 18:33   #10  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,477
if the picture is dark, that's most likely because the native gamma of your screen is very low...your best option is really to grab a colorimeter(a second hand Spyder II should cost no more than 30/40 EUR, and you'll even get accurate colors).

ah well, do scripts work w/ non-DXVA material? you need some old DX9 DLL to get them working on Vista/7 I think
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 18:37   #11  |  Link
flapane
Registered User
 
flapane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 108
The gamma is ok with photos and text, if I'd raise it my eyes will get tired in a few minutes.
The problem is ONLY with movies.

No, the scripts don't work on NON DXVA material even
__________________
My site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
Ibook 12''1,33ghz 1.5GB 160GB-PC Intel i3-2120@3.3ghz-Galaxy S4 Mini-Sony a6000 16-50
flapane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 19:06   #12  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,477
you really do need to calibrate your display

can you distinctively see all the black boxes? and the colors are spot-on ?



you need to hunt for some old DX9 DLL, can't remember which one...searching on google or here on doom9 should tell you which one, or maybe someone can chime in.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 19:11   #13  |  Link
littleD
Registered User
 
littleD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 342
How would you know that ffdshow set 1.35 gamma? The movies are dark only with ffdshow or with other decoders too??
Go to RGB conversion in ffdshow and make sure input levels are standard and output levels as your monitor settings.
littleD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 19:32   #14  |  Link
flapane
Registered User
 
flapane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 108
Ffdshow IS set, but not automatically.
I decided that it was a nice gamma value for most movies.
The movies are dark with all decoders on earth, maybe is an eyesight problem because movies look always dark on every monitor or tv, but I don't think so, because seems like my eyesight is almost perfect.

@lee
Yes, I can see all the boxes on the 00 to 100 white to black test, but anyway I don't want to change the monitor values because everything but the movies look good to me, and increasing either gamma, contrast or brightness will result in eyesight stress while surfing the web, doing photo editing or whatever. That wouldn't be a good news as I only watch some movies rarely, so the best workaround is to set gamma while playing via DXVA.
By the way I already have dx9, I've just used them in Dirt 2 until 5 minutes ago
__________________
My site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
Ibook 12''1,33ghz 1.5GB 160GB-PC Intel i3-2120@3.3ghz-Galaxy S4 Mini-Sony a6000 16-50
flapane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 20:32   #15  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,477
doing photo editing on a monitor that's not perfectly calibrated is a major hit or miss IMHO.

well on x64 OS, you got DLL's in many different system folders...you need to copy some 32bit d3dx9_**.dll in your MPC-HC folder, might just be d3dx9_41.dll: http://www.cccp-project.net/forums/i...p?topic=3761.0
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2009, 22:53   #16  |  Link
flapane
Registered User
 
flapane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 108
Nothing seems to change (of course I copied the system32 one and not the WoW94 one).
Curious...
__________________
My site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
Ibook 12''1,33ghz 1.5GB 160GB-PC Intel i3-2120@3.3ghz-Galaxy S4 Mini-Sony a6000 16-50
flapane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2009, 10:39   #17  |  Link
littleD
Registered User
 
littleD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 342
For dx9 dlls you just need install newest DirectX redistributable. Thats all. Anyway, MPC HC use dx9_42 already.
littleD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2009, 11:01   #18  |  Link
flapane
Registered User
 
flapane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 108
I already have latest DX red.
__________________
My site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
Ibook 12''1,33ghz 1.5GB 160GB-PC Intel i3-2120@3.3ghz-Galaxy S4 Mini-Sony a6000 16-50
flapane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 02:51   #19  |  Link
namaiki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by flapane View Post
Nope, overlay won't work as EVR is in use.
Did you try it? My overlay colour settings affect video in EVR on either my PC with Intel or Nvidia graphics (forgot which one and don't want to mess around with that).
namaiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 10:59   #20  |  Link
littleD
Registered User
 
littleD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 342
Quote:
Ffdshow IS set, but not automatically.
I decided that it was a nice gamma value for most movies.
The movies are dark with all decoders on earth, maybe is an eyesight problem because movies look always dark on every monitor or tv, but I don't think so, because seems like my eyesight is almost perfect.
Sorry but i dont get you. Have you changed gamma in ffdshow or in your display or in gfx drivers? Windows OS "requires" display with gamma 2.3-2.5 and thats how it should stay.

There is gamma control in ffdshow in "Picture properties" menu. But if all your videos are too dark, then you could have messed with your drivers. Whats your graphic card? Do you have video levels setting in drivers control panel?
littleD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dxva brightness

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.