Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Old 10th November 2011, 11:07   #1  |  Link
t2nolan

DirectShowSource and Windows Server 2008

Hello, I'm new to AviSynth... I've had success working with it on Windows 7, but when I try to use it with Windows Server 2008 SP2, I can't get DirectShowSource to load video files. I've installed Desktop Experience, but it didn't install x264... I've read there's a Windows Update to resolve this, but only for Windows 2008 R2. I've also tried installing many codec libraries, and have been using "DirectShow Detective" to see Microsoft MPEG4 encoders ever get installed, but they don't.

Here's what I've installed:
"Desktop Extensions" - which installed Media Player, codecs, and codec
Windows Essentials Media Codec Pack
K-Lite Codec Pack Full
VLC
QuickTime

I'm sure this is a common problem, how can I get around it? Are there other non Microsoft codecs I can install that DirectShow will automatically use, or do I need update something to make this happen?

AVS Script:
video0 = DirectShowSource("video0.avi", fps=30, pixel_type="RGB24")
video1 = DirectShowSource("video1.avi", fps=30, pixel_type="RGB24")
Dissolve(video0, video1, 30)

AVS Error:
avs [error]: `test.avs' didn't return a video clip

x264 test.avs -o test.mp4 --bframes 3 --ref 3 --vbv-maxrate 2500 --vbv-bufsize=25000 --level 40 --threads

Last edited by t2nolan; 10th November 2011 at 22:17.
t2nolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2011, 23:35   #2  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer

The usual problem in the past with server is the lack of a sound card driver causing the default audio graph build to fail. Workaround was Audio=False in the DSS calls.

But this looks a little different. What happens if you load the script into VirtualDub?