Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd August 2018, 00:46   #21  |  Link
Katie Boundary
Registered User
 
Katie Boundary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 849
Crap. I've lost my copy of Arearesize, the original DLL is somehow no longer part of Chikuzen's package, and Aktan's rewritten files aren't working for me ("Script error: there is no function named arearesize")!

Does anyone anywhere have a backup copy of Chikuzen's version?
__________________
I ask unusual questions but always give proper thanks to those who give correct and useful answers.
Katie Boundary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2018, 01:12   #22  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Katie Boundary View Post
Aktan's rewritten files aren't working for me ("Script error: there is no function named arearesize")!
That error is most likely due to not having the 2015/2017 MS runtimes installed.

Anyway, I made a build (32 bit) from Chikuzen's code which does not require any runtimes.
__________________
Groucho's Avisynth Stuff

Last edited by Groucho2004; 23rd August 2018 at 01:51.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2018, 03:50   #23  |  Link
Aktan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
That error is most likely due to not having the 2015/2017 MS runtimes installed.

Anyway, I made a build (32 bit) from Chikuzen's code which does not require any runtimes.
I doubt it without removing the multi-threaded part, but would it be possible to compile my version that doesn't depend on any runtimes?

Edit: Thanks, btw.
Aktan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2018, 07:15   #24  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aktan View Post
I doubt it without removing the multi-threaded part, but would it be possible to compile my version that doesn't depend on any runtimes?
Sure, just change the runtime library option "MD" to "MT". See also here.

However, it is not recommended to use static linking, particularly for DLLs, see here.
__________________
Groucho's Avisynth Stuff

Last edited by Groucho2004; 23rd August 2018 at 07:32.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2018, 18:35   #25  |  Link
Aktan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
Sure, just change the runtime library option "MD" to "MT". See also here.

However, it is not recommended to use static linking, particularly for DLLs, see here.
Thanks for this! I guess I'll keep it MD then, lol.
Aktan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2018, 19:07   #26  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,302
I used to do MD but then everyone complains that your plugins don't work because they haven't got the right runtime installed... can't win!
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2018, 19:12   #27  |  Link
Aktan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidhorman View Post
I used to do MD but then everyone complains that your plugins don't work because they haven't got the right runtime installed... can't win!
Yea, hard to decide... lol
Aktan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2018, 19:25   #28  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 9,761
Me is switching to MD if for only one reason, MD is default in VS2008 project and so is less bother in new project
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2018, 10:54   #29  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aktan View Post
Yea, hard to decide... lol
Not really. There are excellent All-In-One runtime installers which solve these problems, see here (the one I use) and here (a bit more up-to-date).
There are always plugin coders who use dynamic linking (as recommended) so having all up-to-date runtimes installed is a no-brainer and saves a lot of grief, especially for noobs.

Besides, the footprint of all runtimes (2005, 2008,..., 2017) is just 50-60 MB using these AIO packs.
__________________
Groucho's Avisynth Stuff
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2018, 22:01   #30  |  Link
Katie Boundary
Registered User
 
Katie Boundary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 849
Never mind. For reasons that I can neither remember nor guess at, I had backed up a bunch of avisynth filters to the "Ripped" folder on my external hard drive. One of them was the original Arearesize. It still works just fine.

This is one of the advantages of being a disorganized pack rat; I'm always finding random extra copies of stuff that I thought I had lost.
__________________
I ask unusual questions but always give proper thanks to those who give correct and useful answers.
Katie Boundary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2021, 06:13   #31  |  Link
Katie Boundary
Registered User
 
Katie Boundary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 849
I think Aktan's rewrite has some bugs...

__________________
I ask unusual questions but always give proper thanks to those who give correct and useful answers.
Katie Boundary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2021, 20:08   #32  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Katie Boundary View Post
I think Aktan's rewrite has some bugs...
<snip>
If you post more source info other than an output screenshot, script, how to reproduce the issue - someone might address the "bug"
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2021, 23:11   #33  |  Link
Katie Boundary
Registered User
 
Katie Boundary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
script, how to reproduce the issue
Here's my bad script:

Code:
mpeg2source("startrek02.d2v").converttorgb().arearesize(720,405)
Please tell me how this is my fault and not a bug.

After testing a few target resolutions, it seems that Aktan's rewrite expects rescaling in both directions. If either the vertical or horizontal resolution is kept the same, the bug happens. However, this is just my wild-ass guess.
__________________
I ask unusual questions but always give proper thanks to those who give correct and useful answers.
Katie Boundary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2021, 23:30   #34  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,771
In the vpy ported version, the target width has to be divisible by 32

Quote:
Fix bug for special target size

For Gray or YUV 8-16 bit, if the target width can't be divisible by 32, output is abnormal
I haven't found the reason, so add an exception handling
Did the original 32bit version from chikuzen have the bug ?
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2021, 01:10   #35  |  Link
Katie Boundary
Registered User
 
Katie Boundary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
In the vpy ported version, the target width has to be divisible by 32



Did the original 32bit version from chikuzen have the bug ?
Doesn't matter, this is RGB colorspace. That note is for "Gray or YUV 8-16 bit".

EDIT: also, the bug I'm describing happens when resizing from 720x480 to 640x480. Both 640 and 480 are evenly divisible by 32. Ergo, different bug.
__________________
I ask unusual questions but always give proper thanks to those who give correct and useful answers.

Last edited by Katie Boundary; 22nd August 2021 at 01:14.
Katie Boundary is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.