Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Old 20th August 2011, 03:25   #1  |  Link
lovelove

difference between subtitles and closed captions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimmer View Post
[...] closed captioning! ... often it's a priceless resource of information, much more then just subtitles with dialog. I've been using your tools for several months to make DVDs out of TV captures, and the possibility to keep the CC still amazes me. Nowadays anybody could make a DVD with subtitles, but it's a whole new level of authoring to have your DVD closed-captioned.
can someone please explain this to me? I have been reading wikipedia and forum threads for quite a while now, but I still don't really understand the issue. I was told elsewhere that CC are often used as subtitles for the hearing impaired. But why can't normal subtitles be used for them? I have not yet seen CC on any of my DVDs, only normal subtitles it seems. But this might be because I don't know how to spot/detect them. I was told that MediaInfo identifies subtitles as RLE encoded text streams, whereas CC are also text streams in EIA-608 format. DVD subtitles are bitmaps and need OCR ... what about CC? Are they bitmaps too? Or do they come as text streams right away?

Why the need for two different formats (subtitles/CC) anyway? You see, I'm quite lost. And the comment quoted above only contributes to that. Why is CC "much more then just subtitles with dialog" ? And while "anybody could make a DVD with subtitles", why is it "a whole new level of authoring to have your DVD closed-captioned" ?

Many thanks if you can clarify this a little bit for me and guide me into the right direction. Thank you.

Last edited by lovelove; 20th August 2011 at 03:27.
lovelove is offline   Reply With Quote