Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th October 2019, 07:54   #57621  |  Link
VBB
Registered User
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by garson View Post
So suggested setting for de-banding is low/low? I had it on medium/medium so far, 1080p Samsung LED TV.
Depends on how heavy the banding in your content is. Low/low doesn't cause any noticeable harm and gets rid of most banding. I leave it on low/low for everything.
__________________
Henry

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-C3 | Denon AVR-X3500H | Elac Uni-Fi | Elac Debut 2.0 SUB3030
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2019, 15:38   #57622  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 537
As always with compression artifacts, it depends on the source.
I have some MPEG2 SD TV channels that are so bitrate-starved that they need deband on high. The good thing is I find when you have horrible source, that deband on high also has the side-effect of smoothing out other compression artifacts without needing to enable other algos. Image looses some detail but I definitely prefer it to the bands-and-blocks fest that is the alternative.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2019, 18:05   #57623  |  Link
garson
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
Depends on how heavy the banding in your content is. Low/low doesn't cause any noticeable harm and gets rid of most banding. I leave it on low/low for everything.
I mostly watch 1080p movies, ~10GB in size.
Ok, so low/low should be fine.
garson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2019, 10:14   #57624  |  Link
Bo.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Hi everyone.
When downscaling UHD->FHD (projector FHD) on test patterns S&M (Chroma Multiburst and Chroma Zone Plate), the Lanczos (tape 4) chroma upscaling looks much better than everyone else (with the exception of NGU AA, I just don't have enough power for it). super-xbr: the test circle looks awful because of the moire throughout the area. Jinc - too very dark edges in the corners. Spline looks a bit darker around the edges than Lanczos. Bilateral is generally terrible. Lanczos visually very similar to NGU AA on all test patterns. I use the SSIM 1D + LL + AR + AB downscaling algorithm.
How to choose the right algorithm? According to test patterns, as I did, I chose the closest to NGU (Lanczos for me), which looks great. Or put the most powerful (super-xbr) and not look at the test patterns?
Bo. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2019, 10:59   #57625  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,891
test pattern can be like pixel art a place where jinc does bad.

i personally ignore test pattern fro chroma and select the chroma scale on real world image where it matters.

BTW you could avoid the chroma scaler in your case and use the option under trade for performance "scale chroma separately, if...".

NGU AA and super xBR AR are considered to be better choices for chroma.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2019, 11:12   #57626  |  Link
Bo.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Thanks! If I cancel chroma scaling, then there is a clear difference on the real content. I can’t say for better or worse, it's just different. Without chroma scaling bright white-red areas look more blurry. With scaling more compiled. What would you advise to choose:
1) chroma: super-xbr + AR; luma: SSIM 1D + LL + AR + AB or 2) without chroma scaling; luma: SSIM 2D + LL + AR + AB

Last edited by Bo.; 16th October 2019 at 11:16.
Bo. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2019, 11:45   #57627  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,891
i'm not down scaling so i have no real experience here not touching the chroma should be relative save and cheaper on the GPU.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2019, 15:00   #57628  |  Link
okc_smoker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 54
Are there any examples out there of what the chroma layer actually looks like without the luma layer (and vice-versa)? Even better if there are examples of a chroma/luma layer upscaled with different algorithms.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
__________________
Vizio P75-F1 | Denon AVR-S740H | Dayton B652-AIR/C452-AIR L/C/R | Boston VRS Micro Surrounds | Dayton Sub-1200 | HTPC (Win10, Red Dragon RX 5700 XT, Kodi, MPC-HC/MadVR) | PS4 | XBone
okc_smoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2019, 16:40   #57629  |  Link
RXP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by tij View Post
Worst comes to worst ... can tell MadVR to output in Top/Bottom format ... then can tell TV to output 3D in Top/Bottom

if you use 4K LG OLED ... this should not result in any resolution loss

downside ... cannot watch 3d rips in 2d (as switching tv to 2d will show you top/bottom picture) ... solution - create symbolic link to your 3d rip ... name one mkv another mk3d ... then use madvr profiles to output one in top/bottom and another in 2d

plus side to this ... you using madvr to do chroma upscaling and horizontal stetching in 4k for 3d ... and for 2d you also using madvr for upscaling to 4k
Just wanted to say thanks for this tip. I just setup my 1660TI today and it works perfect
RXP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 02:27   #57630  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 11
Weird video resolution

Hey there
Can someone help me figure this out!

Why is my video concerting to a different resolution?

I donít see any setting with that resolution...

The movie wonít really play. A few frames a minute.

I posted this same question earlier, but in the wrong place. Posting here for assistance.

Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 12:05   #57631  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 843
I doubt anyone here has the crystal ball required to help you with this, you've given us nothing to go on really, post your MADVR control+J screen and your system and gfx card specs + your video file specs.
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit

Last edited by mclingo; 17th October 2019 at 17:45.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 18:34   #57632  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 11
Yes, I supposed having information would help!

I attached screenshots of what options are configured.

If more images are needed, please let me know.

Media File Info:ID : 1
Format : HEVC
Format/Info : High Efficiency Video Coding
Commercial name : HDR10
Format profile : Main 10@L5.1@High
Codec ID : V_MPEGH/ISO/HEVC
Duration : 2 h 32 min
Bit rate : 47.2 Mb/s
Width : 3 840 pixels
Height : 2 160 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 23.976 (24000/1001) FPS
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0 (Type 2)
Bit depth : 10 bits
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.237
Stream size : 50.1 GiB (93%)
Default : Yes
Forced : No
Color range : Limited
Color primaries : BT.2020
Transfer characteristics : PQ
Matrix coefficients : BT.2020 non-constant
Mastering display color primaries : BT.709
Mastering display luminance : min: 0.0050 cd/m2, max: 4000 cd/m2
Maximum Content Light Level : 500 cd/m2
Maximum Frame-Average Light Level : 200 cd/m2
Attached Images
     
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 18:56   #57633  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 705
We cannot watch your attachments, see here:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ETm...ew?usp=sharing
Please upload your files to Google drive or whatever.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 19:03   #57634  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 11
Sorry, I'm kind of new here!

https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...wG?usp=sharing
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 20:26   #57635  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Your profile rules are probably bad

Use this instead:
Code:
if (srcHeight <= 720) "720p"
else if (srcHeight <= 1080) "1080p"
else if (fps > 31) "4K60"
else "4K"
Edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboydude99 View Post
I posted this same question earlier, but in the wrong place. Posting here for assistance.
That was a perfectly fine place too.

Can you post a screenshot/photo of the madVR OSD (crtl-J)? What GPU do you have?
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 17th October 2019 at 20:31.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 21:08   #57636  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 11
Thanks! I added the image. GPU is GTX1080

I can update the rules, but why would the resolution be changed to what is in the newly added image?

Last edited by Cowboydude99; 17th October 2019 at 21:13.
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 21:18   #57637  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Sorry, your rules weren't this issue.. but they probably weren't doing what you wanted them to either.

It seems your issue is with the player, it is asking madVR to 'touch window from inside, +1%'. I have no idea why it would do that. I suggest using Zoom Player.

This is not a madVR issue or option, it is simply doing what the player asked of it.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 21:26   #57638  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 11
Thanks for the rule. I realized I had Width 720, instead of height, so that's good!

This is the only video the player has an issue with. No other video shows that touch from inside +1%...
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 21:28   #57639  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboydude99 View Post
Thanks for the rule. I realized I had Width 720, instead of height, so that's good!

This is the only video the player has an issue with. No other video shows that touch from inside +1%...
What player are you using?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 21:41   #57640  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 11
Jriver media center
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.