Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th September 2012, 17:07   #41  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,537
Will it be possible to do something like virtual file system?

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=133313
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2012, 17:24   #42  |  Link
active1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: spain
Posts: 45
thanx! i'll try it now
stupid question: what is the advantage of VapourSynth over Avisynth MT?
active1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2012, 18:12   #43  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolak View Post
Will it be possible to do something like virtual file system?

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=133313
I suppose so. You could probably reuse quite a bit of the sourcecode so replacing avisynth as the backend should be quick. Or so my 15 second survey of the sourcecode tells me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by active1 View Post
thanx! i'll try it now
stupid question: what is the advantage of VapourSynth over Avisynth MT?
VapourSynth may one day have all its threading issues fixed. I'm not so optimistic about avisynth mt...

And with that I return to my debugger.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2012, 22:16   #44  |  Link
Rumbah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 474
The site seems to be down, is there another way to download it?
__________________
x264 full help - x264 --fullhelp r2345
Cuttermaran HCEnc provider - Support for HCEnc in Cuttermaran
DualDVDRB - Dual core support for DVD-RB free
Rumbah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2012, 22:30   #45  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,570
http://www.mediafire.com/?64s562ufwy8x7fp (Windows r2)
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2012, 22:35   #46  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rumbah View Post
The site seems to be down, is there another way to download it?
Not for the moment, no. I will make a third release once it's back up. I guess you get what you pay for... and I pay $1.78/month.

Anyway, have some performance comparisons from r3 while you wait:
Code:
Avisynth 2.5.8
$ time avs2yuv.exe test.avs - > NUL
test.avs: 640x368, 24000/1001 fps, 5000 frames
 
real    1m23.680s
user    0m0.000s
sys     0m0.015s
 
VapourSynth r3:
$ time /c/Python32/python.exe test.py > NUL
 
real    0m23.753s
user    0m0.015s
sys     0m0.000s
Script:
Code:
import vapoursynth as vs
import sys
core = vs.Core(threads=4)
core.avs.LoadPlugin(path='ffms2.dll')
core.avs.LoadPlugin(path='mvtools2.dll')
ret = core.avs.FFVideoSource(source='possible rule 6 violation.avi', threads=0)
ret = core.std.Trim(clip=ret, first=10000, length=5000)

src = ret
c = core.avs.MSuper(c1=src)
b1v = core.avs.MAnalyse(c1=c, delta=1, isb=False)
f1v = core.avs.MAnalyse(c1=c, delta=1, isb=True)
b2v = core.avs.MAnalyse(c1=c, delta=2, isb=False)
f2v = core.avs.MAnalyse(c1=c, delta=2, isb=True)
ret = core.avs.MDegrain2(c1=src, c2=c, c3=b1v, c4=f1v, c5=b2v, c6=f2v)
ret.output(sys.stdout, y4m=True)
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2012, 00:43   #47  |  Link
active1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: spain
Posts: 45
wow, vapoursynth is really awesome!
thank you Myrsloik
Q: can i load avsi scripts with it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
I'm not so optimistic about avisynth mt...
can you explain 'why' a little?
active1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2012, 07:15   #48  |  Link
hajj_3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by active1 View Post
can you explain 'why' a little?
because there has been virtually no development on avisynth for ages. Vapoursynth is already good and judging by the speed of changes i'm sure we'll have a great version ready within a few months with lots of added features.
hajj_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2012, 11:13   #49  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,289
The website has stopped sleeping. R3 has been released. It has greatly improved avisynth plugin compatibility and many other fixes. Most notably mvtools works perfectly now so someone crazy could try porting the QTGMC script.

Next on the list is probably adding more things related to frame properties so they can become useful, including a port of ffms2.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2012, 12:27   #50  |  Link
-Vit-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 448
I've been thinking about the QTGMC port, if I get some time this weekend I'll have a go.
-Vit- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2012, 12:56   #51  |  Link
Keiyakusha
契約者
 
Keiyakusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,578
Not working...
Keiyakusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2012, 13:05   #52  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keiyakusha View Post
Not working...
\ is the escape character for python strings, just like in C.
Either write path=r'c:\blah.dll', path='c:/blah.dll' or path='c:\\blah.dll' to make it work as expected.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2012, 13:11   #53  |  Link
Keiyakusha
契約者
 
Keiyakusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,578
Oh yes, this way it works... Sorry.
Keiyakusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2012, 13:27   #54  |  Link
-Vit-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 448
I get problems encoding through y4m to x264 with core threads at anything other than 1. Affects any source. Can post scripts if you wish, but it's just a pass-through python script (FFVideoSource) & generic x264 settings. Get errors like this and encode terminates early (usually after a few frames, but a non-deterministic #):
y4m [error]: bad header magic (82848485 <=> )
y4m [error]: bad header magic (41524682 <=> FRAM)

Thread count on FFVideoSource works fine. No problems so far experimenting with 1 core thread.
-Vit- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2012, 13:40   #55  |  Link
JEEB
もこたんインしたお!
 
JEEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland / Japan
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Vit- View Post
I get problems encoding through y4m to x264 with core threads at anything other than 1. Affects any source. Can post scripts if you wish, but it's just a pass-through python script (FFVideoSource) & generic x264 settings. Get errors like this and encode terminates early (usually after a few frames, but a non-deterministic #):
y4m [error]: bad header magic (82848485 <=> )
y4m [error]: bad header magic (41524682 <=> FRAM)
Seems to be related to how x264 reads the stuff, if output it to a y4m file or switch x264 to avconv/ffmpeg, it will work :s
(Chikuzen had this problem last night)
__________________
[I'm human, no debug]
JEEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2012, 17:30   #56  |  Link
-Vit-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 448
Same problem with ffmpeg. Fine with core threads = 1. If core threads is anything else then it encodes only a few frames (final frames become offset to the right), no error message shown in ffmpeg. Seems like a threading issue to me.
-Vit- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2012, 21:02   #57  |  Link
JEEB
もこたんインしたお!
 
JEEB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland / Japan
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Vit- View Post
Same problem with ffmpeg. Fine with core threads = 1. If core threads is anything else then it encodes only a few frames (final frames become offset to the right), no error message shown in ffmpeg. Seems like a threading issue to me.
Yeah, in that case it's a threading/output-related issue. At least Myrs is already debugging it.
__________________
[I'm human, no debug]
JEEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2012, 04:58   #58  |  Link
wOxxOm
Oz of the zOo
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 208
What is the easiest way of making vapoursynth case-insensitive for filter and parameter names (I mostly write everything in lowercase) ?

Last edited by wOxxOm; 8th September 2012 at 06:02. Reason: moved other technical questions to Myrsloik's thread.
wOxxOm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2012, 05:23   #59  |  Link
TheFluff
Excessively jovial fellow
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: rude
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by wOxxOm View Post
What is the easiest way of making vapoursynth case-insensitive for filter and parameter names (I mostly write everything in lowercase)?
Python function and variable names are always case sensitive; that's a language thing and not something VS gets to decide. Probably the simplest way of making it possible to write everything in lowercase would be write some metaprogramming magic that generates all-lowercase wrappers for all the methods on the VS core object.
TheFluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2012, 06:01   #60  |  Link
wOxxOm
Oz of the zOo
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 208
  1. What are 'format' and 'yuvrange' and is it possible to mimick spline16/36/64resize with Spline(clip:clip;width:int:opt;height:int:opt;format:int:opt;yuvrange:int:opt;) ?
  2. Is it possible to specify float numbers for the area to be resized like in avisynth's resize filters which have cropXXXX parameters?
  3. What is the syntax of 'Lut' and 'Lut2' functions?
  4. Is it possible to implement positional parameters so that instead of Spline(c1=myvideonode,width=1280,height=720) it'd be spline(myvideonode,1280,720) ?
  5. It would be nice to have a callback in 'output' function with current frame number and coded frame size so that it could be used in a custom gui for progress reporting
wOxxOm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
speed, vaporware, vapoursynth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.