Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th February 2020, 01:56   #29281  |  Link
terrykuntz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
If I re-open of re-rebuilder and have it continue from where it left off, it rebuilds the BD file structure the progress bar on the bottom gets to 100 percent rebuild then the error occurs at very end?
terrykuntz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2020, 15:04   #29282  |  Link
prologic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Today .. Dvdfab failed to do a movie only, of
A Shaun the Sheep Movie Farmageddon...
It came up error on disk `message from oppo .

But BdRebuiler did it, no problem ..(with no re-encode) options.
but I also took 2 audio streams out .. Things are getting good.
prologic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2020, 23:33   #29283  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by terrykuntz View Post
If I re-open of re-rebuilder and have it continue from where it left off, it rebuilds the BD file structure the progress bar on the bottom gets to 100 percent rebuild then the error occurs at very end?
It's rare -- but I've seen that error a couple of times. It comes from TSMUXER. Sometimes it just gets confused by the source. I'm not sure why yet, but if I can put my finger on the issue, maybe I'll be able to find a workaround.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2020, 17:25   #29284  |  Link
toiletglasses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
How is BD-RB so wildly off-size? I have a blu-ray that's only 4.73GB, so I ask it to encode to BD-5 (4.37GB). Result: 3.73GB. This is with highest quality, 2-pass. The entire point of 2-pass is to get exact size. I've repeated this with FULL blu-rays, to BD25. The result is ALWAYS smaller than DVDFAB, thus, lesser quality. It's off by GIGABYTES. Custom size 23.3GB? BD-RB gives me 19-21GB.
BD-RB log
toiletglasses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2020, 23:34   #29285  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by toiletglasses View Post
How is BD-RB so wildly off-size? I have a blu-ray that's only 4.73GB, so I ask it to encode to BD-5 (4.37GB). Result: 3.73GB. This is with highest quality, 2-pass. The entire point of 2-pass is to get exact size. I've repeated this with FULL blu-rays, to BD25. The result is ALWAYS smaller than DVDFAB, thus, lesser quality. It's off by GIGABYTES. Custom size 23.3GB? BD-RB gives me 19-21GB.
BD-RB log
From your log:

- Bitrate: 15,000 Kbs

You are hitting the maximum bitrate for an AVCHD disc. BD-RB can't make it any larger without risking exceeding the speed that a BD-5 can handle.

So... BD-RB isn't "wildly off-size" -- it is doing exactly what it supposed to do to prevent the disc from skipping and/or failing during playback.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 20th February 2020 at 19:16.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 00:08   #29286  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by toiletglasses View Post
How is BD-RB so wildly off-size? I have a blu-ray that's only 4.73GB, so I ask it to encode to BD-5 (4.37GB). Result: 3.73GB. This is with highest quality, 2-pass. The entire point of 2-pass is to get exact size. I've repeated this with FULL blu-rays, to BD25. The result is ALWAYS smaller than DVDFAB, thus, lesser quality. It's off by GIGABYTES. Custom size 23.3GB? BD-RB gives me 19-21GB.
BD-RB log
shamelessly taken from another site


The Max official allowable bitrates for AVCHD are:

1. (BD media) ~24Mbps v+a+sub/pic
2. (DVD media) ~18Mbps v+a+sub/pic (this is supposed to also equal BD-9 spec)

and the new Max AVCHD/3D and AVCHD/60p rates are:
~28Mbps v+a+sub/pic (only BD media is supported)

As you can see, BD/AVCHD titles on DVD media are more limited by the spin/transfer capability of the DVD playback chain than by the spec's limits, so it often depends on the brand/quality of the playback equipment. Realistically speaking, you should set the target bitrate to fall in the 1/4 to 1/3 (possibly/occasionally 1/2) compared to BD rates.
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 22:33   #29287  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,471
And, although you mention it, I want to emphasize... the 18Mbs is the combined total of video, all audio tracks, subtitles, and muxing overhead (which is significant in an M2TS file). That's why BD-RB puts a 15Mbs limit on video.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:12   #29288  |  Link
terrykuntz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
More information on the failure for 4K movie Jumanji

It does not matter if you select the target output to be 25 gb or 50 gb. Both selections fail. I do have an AMD processor. The final status is Current Progress: 100.00% and Overall Progress: 99.00%

[02/21/20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[16:56:55] Source: JUMANJI_WELCOME_TO_THE_JUNGLE_00001
- Input BD size: 54.11 GB
- Approximate total content: [01:59:03.135]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: High Quality (Default), ABR
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
- Resuming from previously started job.
[16:56:59] PHASE ONE, Encoding
[16:56:59]PHASE ONE complete
[16:56:59]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [16:56:59] Rebuilding BD file Structure
- Bitstream exception. Adjusting...
- Failed in attempt to multiplex: MUX_MOVIE_ONLY.meta
- Bitstream exception std::exception. It does not have to be! Please contact application support team for more information.
[17:00:34] - Failed to REBUILD
terrykuntz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:23   #29289  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
One other point. There's also the option to choose the fastest speed for X265 in BD-RB. My guess would be that it is similar to hardware encoding in quality …..
Out of curiosity I made a VMAF quality comparison between cartman0208's QP24 HW encode and a x265 'superfast' CPU encode at same bitrate (about 7500kbps):

cartman's QP24 GPU encode: VMAF = 95.5446
x265 'superfast' CPU encode: VMAF = 96.2049 (encoding speed roughly 8fps with my i5-8400 CPU here)

No big difference in VMAF quality, both softening the picture slightly.
Visually they look much the same IMO, by far good enough for casual viewing (a very subjective statement of course ).

Last edited by Sharc; Today at 12:34.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.