Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > One click suites for DVD backup and DVD creation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th June 2009, 22:16   #901  |  Link
hlrsnd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 32
Wow, looks great. Thanks. I'll check it out later.

Now using Windows 7 RC. I'll let you know if that causes any problems.
hlrsnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2009, 22:22   #902  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,556
Thanks for the new version!

One thing I noticed on my 1024x768 display: The menu editor has a hard coded resolution which makes it unusuable on my display. It simply is too large vertically, I cannot access the buttons at the bottom of the editor window.

Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2009, 22:18   #903  |  Link
wg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 78
Thanks for the new one, keeps getting better & better.

Cheers!!
wg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2009, 20:39   #904  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Thanks guys for the kind words!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hlrsnd View Post
Now using Windows 7 RC. I'll let you know if that causes any problems.
Thanks, it would be a very useful feedback.

Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
One thing I noticed on my 1024x768 display: The menu editor has a hard coded resolution which makes it unusuable on my display. It simply is too large vertically, I cannot access the buttons at the bottom of the editor window.
You mean using the 4:3 DAR Menu, don't you? Yeah, I know it. I have the same problem, my display is 1280x768, but I usually make 16:9 menus... ok ok it is not a valid workaround... What do you think having the possibility to slide the icons group from bottom to right window side?



Bye

P.S. I have released the 2.2.0 2 days ago and I have already found a bug: when encoding 5.1 AAC tracks to 5.1 AC3 tracks, channels mapping is wrong. Correct mapping should be 2-1-3-4-6-5. Shame on me.
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2009, 21:20   #905  |  Link
hlrsnd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 32
I haven't had time to really use 2.2.0 yet but I made a sample 3 minute DVD using an Avisynth script as an input, running Windows 7 RC 32 bit, and everything worked fine. Thanks.

It appears the default AVStoDVD script always includes a line to resize the video to 720x480 even when the video is already that size. Any point in checking the video size and not including that line if it's already ok? Will trying to resize something already that size make any difference in speed or quality? Just wondering.
hlrsnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2009, 00:47   #906  |  Link
MysticE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 120
Quote:
P.S. I have released the 2.2.0 2 days ago and I have already found a bug: when encoding 5.1 AAC tracks to 5.1 AC3 tracks, channels mapping is wrong. Correct mapping should be 2-1-3-4-6-5. Shame on me.
I've had similar problems, I'd assumed it was my system. I've taken to converting the audio first with Xvid4PSP (Aften based).
MysticE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2009, 20:36   #907  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by MysticE View Post
I've had similar problems, I'd assumed it was my system. I've taken to converting the audio first with Xvid4PSP (Aften based).
I will fix it with 2.2.1. Right now you can edit the AVS script and adjust manually the GetChannel function.

What about the file(s) drag&drop onto AVStoDVD executable?



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2009, 20:39   #908  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlrsnd View Post
It appears the default AVStoDVD script always includes a line to resize the video to 720x480 even when the video is already that size. Any point in checking the video size and not including that line if it's already ok? Will trying to resize something already that size make any difference in speed or quality? Just wondering.
I do not think that there is any speed or quality difference. But some AviSynth guru can better clarify.

BTW I agree that it is reduntant: a product of my laziness in optimizing the code.



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2009, 22:57   #909  |  Link
MysticE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
I will fix it with 2.2.1. Right now you can edit the AVS script and adjust manually the GetChannel function.

What about the file(s) drag&drop onto AVStoDVD executable?



Bye
Very nice, I can now drop the file right on the Desktop icon.
MysticE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2009, 10:03   #910  |  Link
Filbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
AVStoDVD 2.2.0 Final is (finally)
- Added a backup Audio encoding routine (ffmpeg based) if main routine fails. Thanks to Filbert @forum.doom9.org
Thanx for new version. There is still an error in the audio backup routine:
Code:
<30.06.2009 10:17:50>
Problems encountered during Title 1 AUDIO encoding operations.
START (BACKUP) AUDIO ENCODING OPERATIONS
FFmpeg Parameters: -i "F:\WORK\Test-Videos\[Source]\testrun.mov" -y -vn -ar 48000 -ab 1536k C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\user\Eigene Dateien\DVD_4_testrun.wav"
<>
<30.06.2009 10:17:54>
PROCESS ABORTED DURING TITLE 1 AUDIO ENCODING OPERATIONS.
I think the quote sign is missing at the beginning of the destination path, as the routine itself seems to work.

Greets, Filbert
Filbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2009, 22:15   #911  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filbert View Post
There is still an error in the audio backup routine


Looks like that 2.2.1 is pressing...

Workaround: use a Output Folder without *space* chars.



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2009, 11:55   #912  |  Link
MysticE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 120
Seems I got a problem with latest build. It's not reading the runtime right.

Note the runtime disparity. I tried it with 3 different files. The auto bitrate (QUenc) was set to AVG: 7930, MAX: 9000. Wrong for 1:27 minutes. I let it run it completed, and I ended up with a 2.09GB DVD. What it did was create an oversized file that was then transcoded to an undersized one. It showed the correct runtime and played, but note the details of one VOB.

Video
ID : 224 (0xE0)
Format : MPEG Video
Format version : Version 2
Format profile : Main@Main
Format settings, Matrix : Default
Duration : 49mn 20s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 2316 Kbps
Nominal bit rate : 7945 Kbps


Went back to the previous Alpha and everything was correct. AVE: 6533, MAX 9000. The resulting DVD now came in at 4.32GB.

Here's the bad log:


<6/30/2009 6:22:57 PM>
TITLE 1 SOURCE FILES
Video: C:\Doed.avi
Info: XviD - 968 kbps - 624x336 - DAR 1.857 - 25 fps - Progressive - 1:27:42 hours - 131551 frames
Audio: C:\Doed.avi
Info: MPEG-1 Audio layer 3 - 134 kbps - VBR - 48000Hz - 2ch - 1:27:42 hours
Subs: C:\Doed.srt
[MediaInfoLib - v0.7.16]
<>

<6/30/2009 6:22:57 PM>
AVISYNTH SCRIPT
Import("C:\Program Files\AVStoDVD\Lib\A2DSource.avsi")

Video = A2DVideoSource("C:\Doed.avi", CacheFolder = "C:\DOCUME~1\Johnny\LOCALS~1\Temp")
Video = Video.ConvertToYV12
#Using DGPulldown to upsize FPS
Video = Video.AddBorders(0,7,0,7)
Video = Video.Lanczos4Resize(720,480)

Audio = A2DAudioSource("C:\Doed.avi", CacheFolder = "C:\DOCUME~1\Johnny\LOCALS~1\Temp")
Audio = Audio.EnsureVBRMP3Sync()

AudioDub(Video, Audio)
<>

<6/30/2009 6:22:57 PM>
START VIDEO ENCODING OPERATIONS
Encoding Profile: QuEnc CBR 1-pass
Target Video FileSize: 4149.1 MB
QuEnc Parameters: -i "C:\DOCUME~1\Johnny\LOCALS~1\Temp\Doed_latest_0_Doed.avs" -o "G:\AVStoDVD\Doed_latest_0_Doed.m2v" -b 7930 -1 -hq -novbr -scene -trell -aspectratio 16:9 -nointerlaced -mpeg2mux noaudio -dc 10 -priority 5 -auto -close
<>

<6/30/2009 7:04:38 PM>
END VIDEO ENCODING OPERATIONS
Created File: G:\AVStoDVD\Doed_latest_0_Doed.m2v (4974.3 MB)
OUTPUT VIDEO INFO: MPEG-2 Video - 8065 kbps - 720x480 - DAR 1.778 - 25 fps - Progressive - 1:27:42 hours - 131551 frames
<>

<6/30/2009 7:04:38 PM>
START TRANSCODING OPERATIONS
ReJig Parameters: -size 4149 -o "G:\AVStoDVD\Doed_latest_0_Doed.ReJig.m2v" -i "G:\AVStoDVD\Doed_latest_0_Doed.m2v" -auto -close -quiet
<>

<6/30/2009 7:06:39 PM>
END TRANSCODING OPERATIONS
Transcoding executed on File: G:\AVStoDVD\Doed_latest_0_Doed.m2v (1824.5 MB)
OUTPUT VIDEO INFO: MPEG-2 Video - 2953 kbps - 720x480 - DAR 1.778 - 25 fps - Progressive - 1:27:42 hours - 131551 frames
<>

<6/30/2009 7:09:51 PM>
END PULLDOWN OPERATIONS
DGPulldown executed on File: G:\AVStoDVD\Doed_latest_0_Doed.m2v (1824.5 MB)
OUTPUT VIDEO INFO: MPEG-2 Video - 2953 kbps - 720x480 - DAR 1.778 - 29.97 fps - Progressive - 1:27:41 hours - 157701 frames
<>

<6/30/2009 7:11:36 PM>
END AUDIO ENCODING OPERATIONS
Created File: G:\AVStoDVD\Doed_latest_0_Doed.ac3 (240.9 MB)
OUTPUT AUDIO INFO: AC3 - 384 kbps - CBR - 48000Hz - 2ch - 1:27:42 hours
<>

I also could not Hard Code the subs, it went to Quenc for a second then on to audio encoding.

Went back to the previous Alpha and all worked well. Here's that log:

<6/30/2009 4:12:49 PM>
TITLE 1 SOURCE FILES
Video: C:\Doed.avi
Info: XviD - 968 kbps - 624x336 - DAR 1.857 - 25 fps - Progressive - 1:27:42 hours - 131551 frames
Audio: C:\Doed.avi
Info: MPEG-1 Audio layer 3 - 134 kbps - VBR - 48000Hz - 2ch - 1:27:42 hours
Subs: C:\Doed.srt
[]
<>

<6/30/2009 4:12:49 PM>
AVISYNTH SCRIPT
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AVStoDVD\Lib\VSFilter.dll")
Import("C:\Program Files\AVStoDVD\Lib\A2DSource.avsi")

Video = A2DVideoSource("C:\Doed.avi", CacheFolder = "C:\DOCUME~1\Johnny\LOCALS~1\Temp")
Video = Video.ConvertToYV12
#Using DGPulldown to upsize FPS
Video = Video.AddBorders(0,7,0,7)
Video = Video.Lanczos4Resize(720,480)
Video = Video.TextSub("C:\Doed.srt")

Audio = A2DAudioSource("C:\Doed.avi", CacheFolder = "C:\DOCUME~1\Johnny\LOCALS~1\Temp")
Audio = Audio.EnsureVBRMP3Sync()

AudioDub(Video, Audio)
<>

<6/30/2009 4:12:49 PM>
START VIDEO ENCODING OPERATIONS
Encoding Profile: QuEnc CBR 1-pass
Target Video FileSize: 4107.4 MB
QuEnc Parameters: -i "C:\DOCUME~1\Johnny\LOCALS~1\Temp\DOED_N_ALPHA_0_Doed.avs" -o "G:\AVStoDVD\DOED_N_ALPHA_0_Doed.m2v" -b 6548 -1 -hq -novbr -scene -trell -aspectratio 16:9 -nointerlaced -mpeg2mux noaudio -dc 10 -priority 5 -auto -close
<>

Here's a SS of the new build:
Attached Images
 
MysticE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2009, 22:25   #913  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
@MysticE

Fixing a bug in the bitrate calculation routine has generated another bug, only for NTSC setting. Anyway, ReJig shrinking seems to be a little bit too aggressive. I suspect that QuEnc sometimes does a heavy bitrate padding. Waiting for 2.2.1, if you have time, repeat that project using HCenc.



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2009, 23:41   #914  |  Link
MysticE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 120
No hurries the Alpha is fine.
Quote:
repeat that project using HCenc.
Makes no difference, the too high bitrate is already chosen (I assume based on the wrong/short runtime, shows as 1:13 instead of 1:27). And if I choose to burn subs with HCenc it also crashes.
MysticE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2009, 08:44   #915  |  Link
Filbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 37
Hi MrC,

just two other things that might be corrected if I'm not wrong (mainly for PAL-DV Sources):

1. For interlaced sources shouldn't it be "Video = Video.ConvertToYV12 (interlaced=true)" instead of "Video = Video.ConvertToYV12"?
2. Adding Borders and resizing shouldn't be necessary (Video = Video.AddBorders(24,0,24,0)
Video = Video.Lanczos4Resize(720,576)) as it's already correct size. Maybe it's adjusted because the pixelratio 720:576 is 5:4 and the aspectratio should be 4:3. If I feed my DVD recorder (Panasonic DMR E65) with DV (via Firewire, digital copy) there's no adding of borders/resizing. Same with commercial DVD authoring program (Sonic DVDit).

Not that important as I can correct this by editing the script, but maybe you agree...

Thanx, Filbert

Last edited by Filbert; 2nd July 2009 at 09:31.
Filbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2009, 18:32   #916  |  Link
drjake
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 14
Error 445 Object doesn't support this action

When trying to use the preview window for the Menu editing Function, I get an Error 445 Object doesn't support this action message. Any suggestions on how to fix this.
drjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2009, 12:50   #917  |  Link
toology
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 44
I have a small feature request. In my case the only guaranteed non stuter way of converting 23.976 to PAL is a speedup to 25 fps. Could you add an option to do that for us that have pulldown issues? Thanks!
toology is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2009, 22:05   #918  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filbert View Post
For interlaced sources shouldn't it be "Video = Video.ConvertToYV12 (interlaced=true)" instead of "Video = Video.ConvertToYV12"?
You are correct. And update is simple.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Filbert View Post
Adding Borders and resizing shouldn't be necessary (Video = Video.AddBorders(24,0,24,0)
Video = Video.Lanczos4Resize(720,576)) as it's already correct size. Maybe it's adjusted because the pixelratio 720:576 is 5:4 and the aspectratio should be 4:3. If I feed my DVD recorder (Panasonic DMR E65) with DV (via Firewire, digital copy) there's no adding of borders/resizing. Same with commercial DVD authoring program (Sonic DVDit).
Your explanation goes in the right way: if DAR is 1.25 then AddBorders is added. Unfortunately many DV files have a wrong DAR flag (instead of 1.333/1.778 they have 1.25) or no flag at all. But, generally speaking, I have to trust what MediaInfo reads.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drjake View Post
When trying to use the preview window for the Menu editing Function, I get an Error 445 Object doesn't support this action message. Any suggestions on how to fix this.
Do you get the same error by using the Preview Clip window from the main window?
Do you have a directshow compatible codec installed (like ffdshow)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by toology View Post
I have a small feature request. In my case the only guaranteed non stuter way of converting 23.976 to PAL is a speedup to 25 fps. Could you add an option to do that for us that have pulldown issues? Thanks!
That's curious: in early AVStoDVD releases (up to 1.1.3) there was the possibilty to choose fps upsizing method (ChangeFPS, ConvertFPS or Pulldown), but I removed it because, theoretically speaking, the best way is Pulldown. Will go in ToDo list with low priority.



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2009, 01:26   #919  |  Link
toology
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 44
Thanks man! Any tool I used that encoded with HCenc gave me skipping and jitter, so I finally gave up and started speeding up video.
toology is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2009, 02:09   #920  |  Link
hlrsnd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 32
I wanted to let you know, MrC, that I successfully encoded an 89 min, 20 title NTSC DVD using Windows 7 32-bit RC. All files were Avisynth scripts joining, fading, etc., avi files. Everything worked great. Thanks. Looking forward to the next version.
hlrsnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.