Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th April 2018, 05:10   #1  |  Link
PHClouse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 5
Threads for video encoding

OK, first, I use staxrip, although I don't think that's important. Anyway, I have read that if you have more threads in a video encoding, the task will be done sooner. I have a 4 core laptop so that means, I think, that I can use up to 8 threads. Well, I started using 13 and after a few encodes, now it doesn't encode (a messege pops up saying basicly it can't encode it). So can I do something about it to let staxrip encode with 13 threads, or should I just go back to 8? Note that I'm a newbie.
PHClouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2018, 12:28   #2  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,450
Use Auto! (formula: Logical cores * 1.5 = optimal number of threads)
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
encoding, laptop, staxrip, threads, video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.