Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th February 2021, 19:30   #61281  |  Link
KrazyLurt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenhorn View Post
so it's kinda offtopic for madVR, but MPV uses backbuffers like madVR's old DX9 and DX9 Windowed Overlay modes. set it with swapchain-depth in your mpv config.

Since it's not presentation in advance I'm not sure if the same logic applies. I know the old Windowed Overlay mode in madVR is actually stutter-free for me with 3 backbuffers on a Turing card. (And this stuttering nonsense started for most people when Turing came out.)
Thanks buddy, I must have skimmed over swapchain-depth when doing another dig at the reference manual yesterday.

swapchain-depth=1 solved the vsync issue with the d3d11 API.

Not when using the Vulkan API though. I tried vulkan-queue-count=N with several values (default 1) with and w/out vulkan-swap-mode=fifo and/or swapchain-depth=1.

Doesn't matter that much, it's more a curiousity thing at this point, d3d11 is fine .
KrazyLurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2021, 15:25   #61282  |  Link
Warlock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 37
After reading several comments and tips from you guys, the best configuration I got to eliminate the stutterings / glitches on my rtx2060, using mpc-hc, lavfilters and madvr was to leave vsync in the default settings, set value "1" in present several frames in advanced.

Even with these changes, I still noticed some glitches and stutterings, which were completely solved when I configured it on the nvidia control panel, exclusively only for the mpc-hc and madvr, in the power option for preference for maximum performance, with that resolved definitely the problem of stuttering / glitch in the system, now everything runs perfectly, everything is soft, but there is a catch, the consumption and temperature of the vga increases a little and maybe, depending on the profile used in madvr, the user may need to reduce some things for vga to hold the performance.

But I'm seriously considering abandoning madvr permanently and start using mpcvr with standard video renderer, because I found it much better than madvr, it is light, works for videos encoded in 10bit and is very simple to configure. I am testing it at the moment, no stutterings / glitches using it, I will do some tests, but it is likely that it will definitely stay on it, just not having stuttering in the videos is already perfect, without having to do or configure anything.
Warlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2021, 04:34   #61283  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warlock View Post
I will follow your tips for mpc-hc, in case just activate the automatic full exclusive mode option in general setttings, and then set the value "1" in present several frames in advanced, both in windowed and exclusive mode?
FSE is also not useful in current Windows 10 with current drivers.

It is being emulated in the current Windows 10 so it does not provide the same benefits as it used to. There really isn't a point to use it anymore and it often causes problems. If it doesn't cause problems on your system it is fine to use, of course, but it is not an option I would enable anymore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warlock View Post
works for videos encoded in 10bit and is very simple to configure.
madVR works for 10 bit too.

But feel free to use MPCVR if you don't need the other features of madVR, less hassle is a good enough reason.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 21st February 2021 at 04:37.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2021, 04:37   #61284  |  Link
quietvoid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 260
FSE can be used with latest NVIDIA drivers to keep HDR enabled, because any windows UI element would disable tonemapping on the TV otherwise.
__________________
LG OLED C8 | madVR 870 DPL HDR curve
quietvoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2021, 05:10   #61285  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,161
Ah, nice, that could be useful.

I still don't like FSE and I don't use the UI elements when I want the tone mapping to work anyway.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2021, 11:27   #61286  |  Link
Maryoum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 3
HDR looks great in Windowed mode but it gets very dim in fullscreen. Any ideas?
Maryoum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2021, 11:45   #61287  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
But feel free to use MPCVR if you don't need the other features of madVR, less hassle is a good enough reason.
The thing about MPCVR for me is that it doesn't support 3dlut, and it lacks more scallers.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2021, 14:10   #61288  |  Link
menac1ty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by menac1ty View Post
I have a GTX 980Ti and a Ryzen 2600x
1080p
When playing a video file with madVr, the whole system restarts within 10 seconds. I've tried 32bit and 64bit, different settings, updated LAV filters, nothing.
I have no issue in games or any type of stress testing the GPU.
What's the problem?
anyone?
menac1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2021, 14:29   #61289  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,898
you should check the event manager why this is happening.
a video renderer is not really capable of doing this.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2021, 19:19   #61290  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by menac1ty View Post
anyone?
980ti doesn't have the HEVC decoder, so if you're running 4K, it's using CPU decode, if that's on the AVX path, it could lead to overheat / instability if you have an overclock.

Anything NOT running avx path won't crash the pc, but avx load would.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2021, 21:34   #61291  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by menac1ty View Post
anyone?
you havent given us much to go on here, does it only BSOD when you are playing a movie with the MADVR renderer, if you switch to stock renderer does not not crash?

have you done a full drive wipe and reinstall using the NVIDIA cleanup suggested here?

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=176013

have you analyzed the memory dump?
__________________
LG OLED EF950-YAM RX-V685-RYZEN 3600 - 16GBRAM - WIN10 RX 5700
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2021, 19:39   #61292  |  Link
menac1ty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
980ti doesn't have the HEVC decoder, so if you're running 4K, it's using CPU decode, if that's on the AVX path, it could lead to overheat / instability if you have an overclock.

Anything NOT running avx path won't crash the pc, but avx load would.
I'm only doing 1080p and CPU is not overclocked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
you havent given us much to go on here, does it only BSOD when you are playing a movie with the MADVR renderer, if you switch to stock renderer does not not crash?

have you done a full drive wipe and reinstall using the NVIDIA cleanup suggested here?

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=176013

have you analyzed the memory dump?
It doesn't BSOD, it straight up restarts the PC. without any kind of error.
With stock settings it doesn't crash at all. Also yes, I have read the thread you mentioned.
I used to have this issue before with my old GTX 970, after I installed MPC x86 it was solved.
Then I had RX570 it didn't have a problem with either x64 or x86
And this GTX 980ti has problems with both.
menac1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2021, 21:22   #61293  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,082
Power related, maybe? Power supply, etc...
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v398.18),Win10 LTSC 1809,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz) | madvr config
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2021, 00:10   #61294  |  Link
menac1ty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
Power related, maybe? Power supply, etc...
I managed to monitor GPU power draw while playing using madVr.
It consumes about 300watts.
During gaming, or even furmark test, it consumes well over 340watts and there's absolutely no crashing.
Although I will test with a different power supply to see if anything changes.
menac1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2021, 11:25   #61295  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,237
if its not even writing a MEMORY.DMP or MINIDUMP it suggests a hardware fault on some level but i have had this a couple of times way back in the past with my RX480 with a couple of driver packages where is would just restart the PC randomly with no dumps, so it is possible for a driver to cause this.

so it only happens in MADVR right?, have you definately done a full driver wipe or both NVIDA and AMD packages, you may still have some driver remnants from bother if you've had other cards installed.

so if you put the RX570 back in its ok?
__________________
LG OLED EF950-YAM RX-V685-RYZEN 3600 - 16GBRAM - WIN10 RX 5700
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2021, 18:04   #61296  |  Link
menac1ty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
if its not even writing a MEMORY.DMP or MINIDUMP it suggests a hardware fault on some level but i have had this a couple of times way back in the past with my RX480 with a couple of driver packages where is would just restart the PC randomly with no dumps, so it is possible for a driver to cause this.

so it only happens in MADVR right?, have you definately done a full driver wipe or both NVIDA and AMD packages, you may still have some driver remnants from bother if you've had other cards installed.

so if you put the RX570 back in its ok?
The answer to all your questions is yes )
menac1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2021, 22:31   #61297  |  Link
traykov77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 5
Did you clock your ram speed or changed ram settings, I had crashes before and think that is videocard, but when I put ddr ram to 1333 instead of 1600Mhz I have no problems at all.
traykov77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2021, 00:35   #61298  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by menac1ty View Post
The answer to all your questions is yes )

you reported similar issues march last year when you were overclocking a 970, have you clocked this one too?

have you tried installing a quick fresh OS build on spare hard drive to test your OS, could just be windows needs a fresh install.

does it do it in all players, have you tried both HC and BE, and KODI DS, or others?

are you running MADVR at stock settings after a nvidia full driver blitz?

Try removing MADVR completely and install it in another location on a different hard drive, ideally not OS drive just as a test.

I think i've had issues like this before a long time ago but I'm sure i managed to fixed them with a combination of driver / MADVR wipe, I did once have to refresh my OS but I cant remember exactly why that was, I think it was when I had issues upgrading from win8 to win10, I wiped at that stage.
__________________
LG OLED EF950-YAM RX-V685-RYZEN 3600 - 16GBRAM - WIN10 RX 5700
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2021, 19:15   #61299  |  Link
biship
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
If I want my Nvidia GPU to do all the work, must I set LAF Video to one of the 2 DXVA2 options?

And then MADVR Image Scaling Options to DVXA2?

What about Chroma upscaling? I don't see a DXVA2 option there.
__________________
LG OLED65C9PUA | Denon AVR-X3500H | Windows 10 | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 | LAV Filters | madVR | MediaPortal | Plex
biship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2021, 20:40   #61300  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,898
except for some very small exception madVR entirely runs on the GPU.

it "get" DXVA chroma scaling you either set it to bilinear and use DXVA image scaling or you use DXVA2 native decode with default trade quality for performance.
i highly recommend you to avoid DXVA2 native and DXVA "scaling" it's really bad.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.