Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th January 2012, 16:01   #41  |  Link
kalehrl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 285
Thank you Nikse.
This is the best and most complete subtitle editor ever.
kalehrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2012, 01:06   #42  |  Link
tonyymmao
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 19
this really is good, i just have one question though, is it possible to add a border option for the text, cuz i've seen some videos with image based subs have different colour borders like ass.
tonyymmao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2012, 09:46   #43  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyymmao View Post
this really is good, i just have one question though, is it possible to add a border option for the text, cuz i've seen some videos with image based subs have different colour borders like ass.
For which subtitle format?

SE allows for styles for in .ass files, but otherwise SE does not offer other styles than italic, bold, and font color in SubRip/MicroDvd files.


Latest SE test version should be able to export VobSub (and bd sup with correct timestamps) via File -> Export.
Could anybody verify that it works?
http://www.nikse.dk/SubtitleEdit.zip (or get the C# code from svn and compile it yourself)
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2012, 14:52   #44  |  Link
Chetwood
Registered User
 
Chetwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,103
I've set SE to ANSI as the default encoding type, OCR'ed a Vobsub and saved it to SRT. When I open it again in SE with "Autodetect ANSI encoding" checked, all German Umlauts are messed up. When unchecked the umlauts are ok.

When exporting to VobSub on default settings the sub is far less readable than the original VobSub. Gonna pm you some files.
__________________

MultiMakeMKV: MakeMKV batch processing (Win)
MultiShrink
: DVD Shrink batch processing
Offizieller ‹bersetzer von DVD Shrink deutsch
Chetwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2013, 10:59   #45  |  Link
OtonVM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 17
This is an amazing piece of software, thank you for making it!

I have found a slight problem with FAB subtitles in Encore.
I export from srt to fab so I can keep italics and such. What I get is an image like this (tinypic converted from tiff to jpeg removing the alpha channel so black is actually transparent):

with it's script:
Code:
IMAGE002.tiff 00:03:01:01 00:03:03:18 123 417 596 465
and this is the result:

notice the line above the text.

What I have to do is lower (I think it's lower) the image by 1px:
Code:
IMAGE002.tiff 00:03:01:01 00:03:03:18 123 416 596 465
so I can get this:


One line is not a problem but it happens multiple times, seemingly at random.
OtonVM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2013, 09:04   #46  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 233
Latest version of SE (installer version only) uses the roaming profile. On my computer it's C:\Users\Nikse\AppData\Roaming\Subtitle Edit\Tesseract\tessdata

If you edit your Settings.xml file (C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Subtitle Edit\Settings.xml) and change <ShowBetaStuff>False</ShowBetaStuff> to <ShowBetaStuff>True</ShowBetaStuff> you will get a "..." button that can download/install Tesseract languages for you in the ocr window.


@OtonVM: Sorry about not replying sooner - do you still need this?
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2013, 09:31   #47  |  Link
OtonVM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 17
Not a problem, I was busy too...

But yes, I did not solve this problem. I created a python script that modified the txt file but it did not help.
OtonVM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2013, 01:18   #48  |  Link
Betsy25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Holland, Belgium
Posts: 330
Regarding the "fix common errors..." command, is there some way we can configure this ? For instance change the default "Break long lines" from 45 to some other value ?
Betsy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2013, 23:14   #49  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 233
Try Options -> Settings -> General - Single line max. length (I think...)
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2013, 22:44   #50  |  Link
Betsy25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Holland, Belgium
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
Try Options -> Settings -> General - Single line max. length (I think...)
Doh. Thank you very much Nikse.
Betsy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2013, 18:53   #51  |  Link
Betsy25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Holland, Belgium
Posts: 330
Just have a weird issue here. I use the "default" Directshow video engine as the video player, which also auto-adds the subs into the display on it's own (DirectVobSub), but when playing *any* mkv video the subs drawn by SE are almost 0.2 secs late compared to the default renderer's (which are by DirectVobSub, and I suspect are the correct timings).

Please, why is there such a relatively large delay between what DirectVobSub renders (and which will be the timings we get when we play our content in our players of choice) and the ones that get drawn on screen by SE ?

Seeing this, I simply cannot trust altering the timings using SE that way

Last edited by Betsy25; 25th May 2013 at 19:00.
Betsy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2013, 21:19   #52  |  Link
JeanMarc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 59
'Input file too large' in Subtitle Editor command line mode

Thank you for this high quality subtitle application.
When I want to convert this sup subtitle file (extracted via ea3cto.exe from a blu-ray file) to subrip, it works very well in the normal GUI mode.
If I want to do the same thing in command line mode, for example:
Code:
SubtitleEdit /convert cotgf.sup subrip
, I get the following output:
Code:
E:\Cotgf_test>

Subtitle Edit 3.3.3 - Batch converter

- Syntax: SubtitleEdit /convert <pattern> <name-of-format-without-spaces> [/offs
et:hh:mm:ss:msec] [/encoding:<encoding name>] [/fps:<frame rate>] [/inputfolder:
<input folder>] [/outputfolder:<output folder>]

    example: SubtitleEdit /convert *.srt sami
    list available formats: SubtitleEdit /convert /list

1: E:\Public\Public_videos\_videos to do (HD)\Cotgf_test\cotgf.sup - input file
too large!
I did'nt find any reference to that issue anywhere.
I am using Subtitle Edit 3.3.3 rev.1745 on Windows 7, and the sup file is 22,537KB.
Thank you for any help.
JeanMarc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2013, 16:01   #53  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 233
@OtonVM: What happens if you use full resolution at each line (the last two parameters), like:
IMAGE002.tiff 00:03:01:01 00:03:03:18 123 417 720 480

@Betsy25: Argh, I only checked for subtitles every 250 ms
Should be fixed in this beta: http://www.nikse.dk/SubtitleEdit.zip (portable version)

@JeanMarc:
I have not added ocr to command line... only to batch convert.
Do you need to command line version?
Also, I still recommend to run ocr live, so error checking is easier.
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2013, 19:39   #54  |  Link
Betsy25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Holland, Belgium
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
...
@Betsy25: Argh, I only checked for subtitles every 250 ms
Should be fixed in this beta: http://www.nikse.dk/SubtitleEdit.zip (portable version)
...
Thanks, all good !
Betsy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2013, 07:01   #55  |  Link
Chetwood
Registered User
 
Chetwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,103
I was unaware this tool can OCR from SUPs inside MKVs which is nice. It would be very cool to be able to do this from m2ts as well so there'd be no need to extract subs to find forced items not properly marked as such prior to conversion. Thx.
__________________

MultiMakeMKV: MakeMKV batch processing (Win)
MultiShrink
: DVD Shrink batch processing
Offizieller ‹bersetzer von DVD Shrink deutsch
Chetwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2013, 23:54   #56  |  Link
THXTEX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 17
Just tested this awesome tool. Looks like it can do a lot of stuff. I used the export to BD .sup, but there seems to a be a little bug in that function. If there is a p, g, q or j - letters that has a part below the baseline that subtitle is placed higher than subtitles not having this.

Anyway - a great tool. Thx
THXTEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 11:25   #57  |  Link
mariner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 561
Greetings Nik. Many thanks for this wonderful tool.

Appreciate if you could kindly explain the correct way to edit the time code of BD sup and save the modifications. It seems all png information is lost in the process.

Best regards.

Code:
.....
<Event InTC="00:01:31:00" OutTC="00:01:32:11" Forced="False">
  <Graphic Width="150" Height="50" X="885" Y="1015">0002.png</Graphic>
</Event>
<Event InTC="00:01:37:06" OutTC="00:01:39:06" Forced="False">
  <Graphic Width="150" Height="50" X="885" Y="1015">0003.png</Graphic>
</Event>
.......
mariner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2013, 10:20   #58  |  Link
THXTEX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by THXTEX View Post
Just tested this awesome tool. Looks like it can do a lot of stuff. I used the export to BD .sup, but there seems to a be a little bug in that function. If there is a p, g, q or j - letters that has a part below the baseline that subtitle is placed higher than subtitles not having this.

Anyway - a great tool. Thx
There are still some issues regarding baseline alignment. When there is a , (comma) the line still floats above the baseline. Other lines are also moving differently up but I can not see any pattern there.

Playing back a m2ts muxed with tsMuxer and subtitle from SE337 in VLC does not work correctly. The subtitle is only shown for a fraction of time. Playing back the same file in Media Player Classic is OK.
THXTEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2013, 21:15   #59  |  Link
Nikse555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by THXTEX View Post
There are still some issues regarding baseline alignment. When there is a , (comma) the line still floats above the baseline. Other lines are also moving differently up but I can not see any pattern there.
In latest svn I've tried to improve this a bit... or here: http://www.nikse.dk/SubtitleEdit.zip (portable, beta)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THXTEX View Post
Playing back a m2ts muxed with tsMuxer and subtitle from SE337 in VLC does not work correctly. The subtitle is only shown for a fraction of time. Playing back the same file in Media Player Classic is OK.
With Bluray sup?
Nikse555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2013, 08:42   #60  |  Link
THXTEX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
In latest svn I've tried to improve this a bit... or here: http://www.nikse.dk/SubtitleEdit.zip (portable, beta)
Subs still moves up and below the baseline - but's getting better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikse555 View Post
With Bluray sup?
Yes
THXTEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.