Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th January 2018, 12:18   #2901  |  Link
dipje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 268
maybe asking is faster than trying it later tonight:

Is the 'b64a' packing of RGB64 now also working with alpha? Or is it a dummy alpha, the same is in the compatbgr32 mode?
dipje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 12:23   #2902  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipje View Post
maybe asking is faster than trying it later tonight:

Is the 'b64a' packing of RGB64 now also working with alpha? Or is it a dummy alpha, the same is in the compatbgr32 mode?
No, as I wrote it's only in vspipe for now. So only planar output like GBRAPX and YUVAPX will work. If enough people request it I guess I could extend it to avfs and vfw too. The compat formats will be removed some day when I make a major api revision so don't expect improvements to those ever.

Oh an one more quirk, far from all the common FOURCCs even have alpha so in those case setting an alpha output clip would have inconsistent results. And then there's v210 with 2 bits of alpha...
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet

Last edited by Myrsloik; 10th January 2018 at 13:00.
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 16:27   #2903  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
It works like you guessed. If you check the info output from vspipe it also says "alpha: yes" or something similar.
This is the official R41 x64 ; vspipe --info reports no alpha (but clip[0] and clip[1] are valid separately)

Code:
Width: 1280
Height: 720
Frames: 90
FPS: 24/1 (24.000 fps)
Format Name: RGB24
Color Family: RGB
Sample Type: Integer
Bits: 8
SubSampling W: 0
SubSampling H: 0
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 16:54   #2904  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
This is the official R41 x64 ; vspipe --info reports no alpha (but clip[0] and clip[1] are valid separately)

Code:
Width: 1280
Height: 720
Frames: 90
FPS: 24/1 (24.000 fps)
Format Name: RGB24
Color Family: RGB
Sample Type: Integer
Bits: 8
SubSampling W: 0
SubSampling H: 0
You're using an old vspipe. Maybe old other stuff too. R41 always has a line with Alpha: yes/no
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 17:41   #2905  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
You're using an old vspipe. Maybe old other stuff too. R41 always has a line with Alpha: yes/no
I know stuff is moving fast, but it's from yesterday

Dated 2018-01-09

R41 from official
https://github.com/vapoursynth/vapoursynth/releases

, or should I go back to RC ?


EDIT: you are right . I messed up vspipe versions, called the wrong one

So if it passes to the alpha, how do you use it with something like ffmpeg ? can I pipe rawvideo and specify the arguments in ffmpeg (since yuv4mpegpipe won't work)

Last edited by poisondeathray; 10th January 2018 at 17:49.
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 17:45   #2906  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
I know stuff is moving fast, but it's from yesterday

Dated 2018-01-09

R41 from official
https://github.com/vapoursynth/vapoursynth/releases

, or should I go back to RC ?
Just delete all copies of vspipe.exe and reinstall. I checked again and you're definitely using an older exe.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 17:53   #2907  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,346
^ Yes, you're right .I edited my post. Can you answer the 2nd question please ?

What -pix_fmt in ffmpeg ? Or can you show a usage example ?
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 17:56   #2908  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,346
Ok , it's -pix_fmt gbrap ; apparently GBRAP (caps) doesn't work


Everything working now

Usage example for piping 8bit RGB with alpha to ffmpeg to write out a PNG sequence (in case other ppl get stuck)

Code:
#clip[0].set_output(alpha=clip[1]) #alpha clip specified in script

#since it's a rawvideo pipe, you need to specify dimensions, frame rate (I guess not for image sequence, but left it in for completeness in case you're writing an RGBA video), pixel format

vspipe script.vpy - | ffmpeg -f rawvideo -pix_fmt gbrap -s 1280x720 -r 24 -i - -c:v png -an -start_number 0 output%03d.png

Last edited by poisondeathray; 10th January 2018 at 18:06.
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 18:13   #2909  |  Link
dipje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 268
I compiled r41 on Mac osx . I have a weird thing I didn't have with r40: vspipe keeps 'hanging' at the end of a video.
Instead of exiting and letting ffmpeg (I'm piping y4m yuv444p10 and plain rgb30 into ffmpeg) finish graceful, it just sits there doing nothing.

In vsedit when I try (benchmark) the script, it gives warnings at the end that it can't read all the frames.
But it did this in r40 as well and didn't have try hanging vspipe issue.

Source is a .webm from YouTube with ffms2000. I tried pulling the latest master from the ffms2000 branch and compiled it, but no luck.
Am I the only one ? If so, I'll dig a bit deeper if it's vapoursynth, the Mac, the source filter or the source .
dipje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 18:49   #2910  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipje View Post
I compiled r41 on Mac osx . I have a weird thing I didn't have with r40: vspipe keeps 'hanging' at the end of a video.
Instead of exiting and letting ffmpeg (I'm piping y4m yuv444p10 and plain rgb30 into ffmpeg) finish graceful, it just sits there doing nothing.

In vsedit when I try (benchmark) the script, it gives warnings at the end that it can't read all the frames.
But it did this in r40 as well and didn't have try hanging vspipe issue.

Source is a .webm from YouTube with ffms2000. I tried pulling the latest master from the ffms2000 branch and compiled it, but no luck.
Am I the only one ? If so, I'll dig a bit deeper if it's vapoursynth, the Mac, the source filter or the source .

This works for me OK to completion on a random YT VP9 webm . Upscaled to format=vs.YUV444P10. ffms2000 test8 . Win8 x64. R41

Did you try another webm? maybe problem with that specific one ?
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 23:13   #2911  |  Link
hydra3333
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: crow-land
Posts: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
R41 released. The usual post about it. Have fun with {} alpha support.
Thank you.
hydra3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 23:14   #2912  |  Link
hydra3333
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: crow-land
Posts: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Using Vapoursynth to try to process a UHD video
script is

error report
Code:
Error Video encoding using NVEnc 3.23 (1.7.0.4)

Video encoding using NVEnc 3.23 failed with exit code: -1073741819 (0xC0000005)

The exit code might be a system error code: The instruction at 0xp referenced memory at 0xp. The memory could not be s.


------------------- Video encoding using NVEnc 3.23 -------------------

"C:\Program Files (Portable)\StaxRip\Apps\NVEnc\NVEncC64.exe" --vbrhq 38400 --codec h265 --preset quality --level 5.1 --output-depth 10 --weightp --ref 5 --gop-len 24 --lookahead 32 --qp-init 1 --max-bitrate 38400 --vbr-quality 25 --aq --cuda-schedule auto --colormatrix bt2020nc --colorprim bt2020 --transfer smpte2084 --mv-precision q-pel --cabac -i "W:\TEMP\KONG SKULL ISLAND_temp\KONG SKULL ISLAND.vpy" -o "W:\TEMP\KONG SKULL ISLAND_temp\KONG SKULL ISLAND_out.h265"




StaxRip.ErrorAbortException: Video encoding using NVEnc 3.23 failed with exit code: -1073741819 (0xC0000005)

The exit code might be a system error code: The instruction at 0xp referenced memory at 0xp. The memory could not be s.


------------------- Video encoding using NVEnc 3.23 -------------------

"C:\Program Files (Portable)\StaxRip\Apps\NVEnc\NVEncC64.exe" --vbrhq 38400 --codec h265 --preset quality --level 5.1 --output-depth 10 --weightp --ref 5 --gop-len 24 --lookahead 32 --qp-init 1 --max-bitrate 38400 --vbr-quality 25 --aq --cuda-schedule auto --colormatrix bt2020nc --colorprim bt2020 --transfer smpte2084 --mv-precision q-pel --cabac -i "W:\TEMP\KONG SKULL ISLAND_temp\KONG SKULL ISLAND.vpy" -o "W:\TEMP\KONG SKULL ISLAND_temp\KONG SKULL ISLAND_out.h265"



   at StaxRip.Proc.Start() in D:\Projekte\VS\VB\StaxRip\General\Proc.vb:line 338
   at StaxRip.NVEnc.Encode() in D:\Projekte\VS\VB\StaxRip\Encoding\NVEnc.vb:line 82
   at StaxRip.GlobalClass.ProcessVideo() in D:\Projekte\VS\VB\StaxRip\General\GlobalClass.vb:line 225
   at System.Threading.Tasks.Parallel.<>c__DisplayClass4_0.<Invoke>b__0()
--- End of stack trace from previous location where exception was thrown ---
   at System.Runtime.ExceptionServices.ExceptionDispatchInfo.Throw()
   at StaxRip.GlobalClass.ProcessJob(String jobPath) in D:\Projekte\VS\VB\StaxRip\General\GlobalClass.vb:line 137
If I run

Through the command line The error is Vapoursynth failed to open input file

Any ideas?
No, not me I wonder, does it work under r41 ?
hydra3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2018, 00:16   #2913  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydra3333 View Post
No, not me I wonder, does it work under r41 ?
Version of NVEncC was the problem
Versions after the one I was using work fine
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2018, 00:44   #2914  |  Link
hydra3333
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: crow-land
Posts: 540
OK, thank gonca. Not a Vs related issue then.
hydra3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2018, 19:05   #2915  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
R42 RC1

R42 RC1 this soon because of a regression that makes player integration like mpv fail. Report if it works or not.

Code:
r42:
updated to zimg v2.7.1
vapoursynth.dll is now simply symlinked into the python directory, makes it less confusing to replace the dll since there's only one real copy
fixed regression introduced in r41 that would make setting a node using vsscript_setvariable silently fail
resize no longer pointlessly copies frames when no processing is needed (that dude)
optimized transpose filter even more (that dude)
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2018, 19:59   #2916  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
R42 released. No changes from RC1.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 00:19   #2917  |  Link
AzraelNewtype
Registered User
 
AzraelNewtype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 135
Since somebody still hasn't pointed this out, there's also a R42.1, which most certainly has changed from RC1.
AzraelNewtype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2018, 17:41   #2918  |  Link
no1d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Is get_output returns two nodes now?
no1d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2018, 18:22   #2919  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by no1d View Post
Is get_output returns two nodes now?
Yes, it returns a tuple of main video and alpha
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2018, 14:10   #2920  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
R43 RC1

Code:
r43:
updated to zimg v2.7.2
fixed a possible hang on error in vspipe, regression introduced with the alpha support in r41
Go test it. Not much changed but should fix all serious issues reported.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
speed, vaporware, vapoursynth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.