Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th September 2013, 22:16   #201  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by martin53 View Post
Code:
ColorBars()
#~ ConvertToYV24()
ScriptClip("return last")
I can't reproduce this with the given script. I loaded it into VDub and encoded also to HuffYUV. Memory usage settles at about 140K. OS is XPSP3.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2013, 22:33   #202  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by martin53 View Post
This is the crash script.
Script error: ScriptClip does not have a named argument "local"
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2013, 22:37   #203  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,980
@Martin53,
There is a known Overlay bug in v2.6a4, here:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...03#post1624303

Use Groucho2004's ICL Avisynth.dll with fixed OverLay for YV24. (just overwrite dll in sytem32/SysWOW64)

EDIT: Groucho, Local is for the GScript version Scriptclip. EDIT: Actually Grunt, not Gscript.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 9th September 2013 at 22:56.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2013, 22:38   #204  |  Link
martin53
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
I can't reproduce this with the given script.
Did you remove the comment marks?
martin53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2013, 22:43   #205  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Groucho, Local is for the GScript version Scriptclip.
Ah, I see.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2013, 22:44   #206  |  Link
martin53
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Use Groucho2004's ICL Avisynth.dll
Please give me a hint where I find this dll.
martin53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2013, 22:46   #207  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by martin53 View Post
Please give me a hint where I find this dll.
Here you go.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2013, 22:49   #208  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,980
Groucho, see here for recent nasty little problem concerning GScript Local solution. EDIT: Actually Grunt, not Gscript.
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168538
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 9th September 2013 at 22:57.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2013, 22:49   #209  |  Link
martin53
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
yes, I did.
OK, I also rechecked in parallel and found after the 1st post that some of my experiments stabilized, so what I had assumed to be bad was not always. I always try to give a most simple example, but alas, that misleads me sometimes. Please look at my edit, but StainlessS already posted that it's not ConvertToYV24() alone, but together with Overlay() - as in my real problem script. So, if you'd be so kind to indicate where I can find the fixed dll, thank you!
martin53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2013, 22:52   #210  |  Link
martin53
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 407
Quote:
Here you go.
Many thanks!
martin53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2013, 22:52   #211  |  Link
Gavino
Avisynth language lover
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 3,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Local is for the GScript version Scriptclip.
Actually, it's from the GRunT version.

But I expect you can just leave out local=true as I doubt it has anything to do with the problem.

EDIT: Looks like you've now found the solution anyway.
__________________
GScript and GRunT - complex Avisynth scripting made easier

Last edited by Gavino; 9th September 2013 at 22:55.
Gavino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2013, 22:53   #212  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,980
OOooops, yes of course.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2013, 03:37   #213  |  Link
vcmohan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: India
Posts: 890
@stainless .Thanks. But I avoided the hassle by adding three calls in avisynth.h 2.5. IsY8() returning false, GetHeight/width subsampling returning 0 or 1. At parameter checking itself I ensure the input formats . In my plugin code I do not by name check any other Planar formats.
__________________
mohan
my plugins are now hosted here
vcmohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 20:17   #214  |  Link
ultim
AVS+ Dev
 
ultim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 359
Hello, I've got another question about the alignment code, this time though it is purely technical and not ideological

In both NewVideoFrame and NewPlanarVideoFrame, assuming that we need a buffer of size large, the methods reserve size+align*4. For alignment only, size+align-1 is enough, so I was wondering if this overreserve is accidential, or it this on purpose and the align*4 is needed for some implementation detail that I was too stupid to spot.

Contextual information (rant): You might be thinking,"WUUT, this strange dude is still working on alignment?" Yes and no. Well, first of all I cannot allow myself to work on avisynth every day, so progress is steady, but slow. But more importantly, since my last questions about alignment in avisynth I have done a lot of magic (many-many hours) using Git's rebase to clean up my repository, in the hope that upstream (IanB) will accept my proposals this way, when I finally publish them. So that he'll get nice patches Now that I'm done, I'm continuing where I left off, which is (yeah you guessed right) alignment. It looks like I am reverting about 99.9% of my alignment patches, but I still like to understand things even if I don't modify them, which is why I'm asking the question in the beginning of this post. Cheers and thank you for your help!
ultim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 22:54   #215  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,167
The off hand answer is so you can run off the end safely with an sse load or store, but as you say size+align-1 would be sufficient. So I don't know, may be you can do some archaeology and find an answer. Here is a link to version 1.1 of Avisyntn.cpp, Thu Jul 4 13:16:41 2002 UTC (11 years, 2 months ago) by richardberg as originally supplied by BenRG. Around version 1.9 Sh0dan started doing something with improving alignment.
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2013, 18:49   #216  |  Link
ultim
AVS+ Dev
 
ultim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanB View Post
The off hand answer is so you can run off the end safely with an sse load or store, but as you say size+align-1 would be sufficient. So I don't know, may be you can do some archaeology and find an answer. Here is a link to version 1.1 of Avisyntn.cpp, Thu Jul 4 13:16:41 2002 UTC (11 years, 2 months ago) by richardberg as originally supplied by BenRG. Around version 1.9 Sh0dan started doing something with improving alignment.
Thanks IanB! I really appreciate you being here for us every day and helping us.

As for the reason of the memory allocation in question, I looked at the repository, but unfortunately, there is nothing there to answer me. In the initial checkin (first-ever version 1.1 of avisynth), where the supported alignment was only 8 bytes, the reserved extra space was already 32 bytes. So even here, farthest back in the history, we see that align*4 is used. "+32" was then refactored to "+align*4" in revision 1.12 (Mon Feb 10 16:42:40 2003), but even there, the commit only contains the unhelpful message of "Moved avisynth_2_1 onto MAIN".

"so you can run off the end safely with an sse load or store" cannot be the reason either, because the row pitch (which is calculated based on the alignment) already makes sure that such things cannot happen.

So I have no explanation for the current code right now, so I'm gonna try changing it to "+align-1", do some tests and see if anything breaks apart. My bet is that everything will still work as expected, but ofc it wouldn't be the first time for me to be wrong.

Last edited by ultim; 13th September 2013 at 18:59.
ultim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2013, 16:31   #217  |  Link
Wilbert
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,364
I moved all the posts about the fork of ultim to this thread: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168856

Last edited by Wilbert; 30th September 2013 at 18:47.
Wilbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2013, 23:38   #218  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,167
Next version, AviSynth 2.6.0 Alpha5 [Sep 18th, 2013]

Also a clickable link for the post above Avisynth forks

I wish link parsing could be re-enabled, in the meantime I wish people would manually do the tags themselves,
i.e. [url]http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168856[/url]
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2013, 22:51   #219  |  Link
Richard1485
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilbert View Post
Did anyone get SoundOut to work with Avisynth v2.60a4? When i open a script (ending with SoundOut()) in Virtualdub i get the error message:

Avisynth open failure:
Cache: Filter returned invalid response to CACHE_GETCHILD_CACHE_MODE. 176310176

Is it supposed to work in 2.60 or is something not implemented properly?
Did you ever get SoundOut() to work? You mentioned that you might try to recompile the plugin. I receive the same error in v2.60a5. This page says: "It will be included in AviSynth from v2.6 on", but I guess that that has not happened yet.

EDIT: It seems to work with Wavsource() but not other sources e.g. NicAC3Source(). With Wavsource() I can render to FLAC, but Virtualdub crashes when rendering AC-3.

Last edited by Richard1485; 12th November 2013 at 23:05.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2013, 09:07   #220  |  Link
ultim
AVS+ Dev
 
ultim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilbert View Post
Avisynth open failure:
Cache: Filter returned invalid response to CACHE_GETCHILD_CACHE_MODE. 176310176
This usually means the plugin needs to be updated to the 2.6 interface. Recompiling with the newest header should solve the issue.
ultim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.