Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd July 2018, 09:54   #51801  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I would not consider that difference to be at all useful when deciding between D3D9 and D3D11. They are measured in different ways by madVR, anything <1ms is the same as far as we know or care. Even if it was real, why do you care if present takes 300Ás longer if it is more stable?

If using D3D9 let you use higher settings without drops or glitches it would be a good reason to use it but looking at the reported rendering and/or present times is not.

You are sure nothing is using your GPU every 10-20 minutes? No desktop slideshow or anything?
I will test with D3D11, no desktop slideshow I doubt anything is interfering with the playback, cause before I didn't have presentation glitch. Maybe it is from the drivers 382.53 the card is GTX 1050 Ti.

Last edited by Siso; 22nd July 2018 at 10:06.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2018, 12:09   #51802  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
I will test with D3D11, no desktop slideshow I doubt anything is interfering with the playback, cause before I didn't have presentation glitch. Maybe it is from the drivers 382.53 the card is GTX 1050 Ti.
Try 385.28
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2018, 12:42   #51803  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Try 385.28
A week ago I did, and I had video glitches and flicker in the desktop. So I rolled back to 382.53.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2018, 17:33   #51804  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,944
After a lot of testing, I found the reason for my delay issue.

I should not try to watch a video in boredom while having a D3D11 game in the background, waiting for a long process to finish. Not even when it's minimized down to the task bar.

Without any GPU-competing application, madVR appears almost immediately, and D3D9 overlay is fine for the basic videos and hardware I have.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2018, 19:47   #51805  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Great news, I thought it was a strange issue.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2018, 13:19   #51806  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 850
had another look at my delay, yeah so I forgot to mention that all my disks are spun spun down to save power / reduce heat so spinning them up when i play a movie adds to my delay.

doh...
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2018, 20:34   #51807  |  Link
neo2018
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 4
I have a 103" 2:35:1 screen, and my projector can crop the black bars, and some of the top/bottom/side content, so i can have the same image on 16:9 or 2:35:1 films:


Is it possible to do something similar with madVR?
neo2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2018, 21:11   #51808  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,915
yes.
device -> "device name" set to digital projector
-> screen config
and processing -> zoom control
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2018, 23:30   #51809  |  Link
neo2018
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 4
Perfect, thank you!
neo2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2018, 00:52   #51810  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,317
Hey all, I have what I hope is a simple question. I'm now on a 4K LG OLED and I have the gamma set to BT.2020. What should I set for gamma in madvr to match that? I know this is total newbie land here but I'm still learning about the 4K world. Thanks!!!
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2018, 02:04   #51811  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,915
bt 2020 is not a gamma curve it is a colorspace a "gamut".
no screen can show it not even professional ones.

if you don't have calibration equipment leave it at default.even if you select something like DCI P3 which is nearly doable on these screen you wll not get DCI P3.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2018, 02:15   #51812  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,317
That's what I get for doing things from memory and not looking. You are correct, that's colorspace.

Gamma: BT.1886

That is what I meant to say.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2018, 03:32   #51813  |  Link
wnholt01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 6
12 bit RGB not sticking

This isn't a madVR problem specifically I think, but I encounter it when using madVR with resolution switching. Anyone else use RGB 12 bit for 4K 23.976 with Nvidia card and have a problem getting the 12 bit to stick. Works fine if I leave in 23.976, but when switching between 23.976 and other refresh rates like 60 every once in awhile RGB for 4K 23.976 switches back to 8 bit, which of course screws up HDR until manually toggling back to 12 bit.
wnholt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2018, 03:57   #51814  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Yes, this is a known issue with current Nvidia drivers.

Try 382.53 or 385.28.

edit: It doesn't have to mess up HDR though, my LG OLED (C7) handles 8 bit HDR even better than 10 bit HDR (less banding, madVR's dithering is better than the TVs - or something).
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2018, 04:13   #51815  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,317
I'm seeing the same with 8bit on my C8. Working very well with HDR.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2018, 05:14   #51816  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
That's what I get for doing things from memory and not looking. You are correct, that's colorspace.

Gamma: BT.1886

That is what I meant to say.
that't a gamma choicen on the black level of a display a oled should respond with a 2.4 gamma in that setting but they obviously don't do that.

but no matter what you change as a gamma setting there is nothing to change in madVR.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2018, 06:14   #51817  |  Link
wnholt01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Yes, this is a known issue with current Nvidia drivers.

Try 382.53 or 385.28.

edit: It doesn't have to mess up HDR though, my LG OLED (C7) handles 8 bit HDR even better than 10 bit HDR (less banding, madVR's dithering is better than the TVs - or something).
Thanks. I know 8 bit HDR is technically supported but I thought it wasn't recommended. For some reason image goes mostly pink when sending RGB 8 bit HDR to my JVC projector. Good to know it isn't caused by a limitation of 8 bit HDR.
wnholt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2018, 08:23   #51818  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Yes, I think that is due to the projector not handling it correctly, because all HDR capable hardware players output 10+ bits, rather than a limitation of HDR itself. You do need good dithering to avoid banding with 8 bit HDR content, something that does not live through compression (like the HEVC on a UHD bluray) but does for madVR's output or video games.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
that't a gamma choicen on the black level of a display a oled should respond with a 2.4 gamma in that setting but they obviously don't do that.
Interestingly I do not measure a notable difference between my LG C7's 2.4 and BT.1886 settings, but they are not exactly pure power 2.4 near black either (it actually rises slower, I think to make shadows look very deep). The 2.2 setting is pretty close to 2.2 though.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2018, 14:31   #51819  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
that't a gamma choicen on the black level of a display a oled should respond with a 2.4 gamma in that setting but they obviously don't do that.

but no matter what you change as a gamma setting there is nothing to change in madVR.
Good to know thanks. Like I said I'm still learning on this 4k stuff so I'll probably ask a bunch of stupid questions while I get it dialed in. Thanks for your patience!

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2018, 17:41   #51820  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnholt01 View Post
Thanks. I know 8 bit HDR is technically supported but I thought it wasn't recommended. For some reason image goes mostly pink when sending RGB 8 bit HDR to my JVC projector. Good to know it isn't caused by a limitation of 8 bit HDR.
It's not caused by a limitation of 8bits HDR, it's a bug in the JVCs.

The only thing you need to do to get the JVC to work with HDR 8bits, as reported a few times, is to disable "Send HDR Metadata" if using passthrough, or use the HDR to SDR conversion wiht Pixel Shader.

The magenta bug in the JVCs is far worse with recent nVidia drivers. It's only at 4K60p with 385.28 while it's all 8bits modes with the more recent ones. So it could be nVidia rather than JVC.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 24th July 2018 at 17:48.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.