Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th July 2015, 17:10   #31801  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Freeman View Post
Madshi,
Here is my crash report (Ctrl+C as you instructed):
The actual crash report would be much longer than this one line.
You can copy-paste the entire dialog - and it'll include plenty information. Don't try to extract this one line from it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Freeman View Post
Its in German.
Thats fine, so is he.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 17:12   #31802  |  Link
James Freeman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 919
I did not try to extract anything, just ctrl+c and ctrl+v into notepad. That's all there is.
BUT, it tries to send email with a much longer crash report, I'll upload that.

EDIT:
Ahh yes, I need to click "show bug report" and only then press ctrl+c.
In a minute...

http://www.mediafire.com/download/6v...eport_James.7z
Quote:
disassembling:
[...]
4a47e0dd call +$4f6e ($4a483050) ; settings.cpp.CSettings.GetCurrentSmoothMotion (madVR64.ax)
4a47e0e2 test al, al
4a47e0e4 jz loc_4a47e387
4a47e0ea 7078 movsxd rax, dword ptr [r13+$26a0a0]
4a47e0f1 imul rax, rax, $9a8
4a47e0f8 > cmp byte ptr [rax+rsi+$71], 0
4a47e0fd jz loc_4a47e10f
4a47e0ff mov rcx, [r13+$26a0e0]
4a47e106 call -$6a30b ($4a413e00) ; dynopencl.cpp.COpenCL.IsNVidia (madVR64.ax)
4a47e10b test al, al
4a47e10d jnz loc_4a47e128
[...]
Disabling SmoothMotion from the start stops the crashes.
__________________
System: i7 3770K, GTX660, Win7 64bit, Panasonic ST60, Dell U2410.

Last edited by James Freeman; 14th July 2015 at 17:25.
James Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 17:15   #31803  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
Another thing I noticed is that my TV is set to 12bit color depth via NVidia CP, madVR is set to 10bit+, ctrl+J menu shows D3D11 exclusive (10bit), but right under it I get "h264, 8bit, 4:2:0 - NV12, 8bit, 4:2:0". Is that how it should be or is my LAV Filter/Decoder (or something else) not configured correctly? I have all LAV Filter/Decoder output formats ticked/enabled except for AYUV.
I would be interested in a reply to the very same question.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 17:15   #31804  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
madshi, I think the crash report I uploaded may not have been for the right crash (it may have been an old one still sitting on my desktop). Even though the crash reporter comes up, when I get this crash it doesn't seem to create a crash report - which may explain why it can't send the report. I created a debug log where it crashes, and tried pressing Ctrl+C on the crash reporter window (then pasting it to a text file), which seems to have worked. I've uploaded the two logs here.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 17:24   #31805  |  Link
noee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 530
madshi,
I'm getting an immediate crash with jRiver MC20b129 as soon as I open an MKV for playback with 17. 16b is fine, seems like what the other guys are getting, would you like a crash report or do you have enough? MPC-HCx64, however, is not crashing...
__________________
Win7Ult || RX560/4G || Ryzen 5
noee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 17:33   #31806  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
I would be interested in a reply to the very same question.
h264, 8bit, 4:2:0 - NV12, 8bit, 4:2:0

means this:

h264 8bit is the source video. codec and bit deep.

NV12 is the decoded frame format. lavfilter or any other decoder is decoding these frames to this example format.

NV12 is a 8 bit 4:2:0 colorspace could be YV12 too doesn't matter.

or in short it is what madVR gets as input.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 17:36   #31807  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by noee View Post
I'm getting an immediate crash with jRiver MC20b129 as soon as I open an MKV for playback with 17. 16b is fine, seems like what the other guys are getting, would you like a crash report or do you have enough?
A crash report is always helpful, so yes, I would like to see it. It could be the same as the one from Ver Greeneyes and James Freeman (which is identical), but it could also be a different one. One quick look at it and I know.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 17:56   #31808  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by surgical View Post
Greetings to all:
First of all, I apologize if the question I'm going to do may seem silly, but for more that I've read in this thread yet I've a doubt about the " upscale refinements ".
My question is if these are activated in "any" upscaling, I mean, for example, with "image doubling"; or only when acts an algo from "image upscaling" .
Thanks in advance
Upscaling Refinement is activated whenever a video is resized. If your display is 1080p, then any source below 1080p must be resized and will use the Upscaling Refinement setting.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 18:05   #31809  |  Link
noee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
A crash report is always helpful, so yes, I would like to see it. It could be the same as the one from Ver Greeneyes and James Freeman (which is identical), but it could also be a different one. One quick look at it and I know.
Meh.....for grins and tickles, I rebooted and now I can't get the crash to occur again.....hate that.....er....or love it.

Be on Windows for a while so I'll see what else.

Oh yeah, I do see that strobing deint issue mentioned above with 17. 16b does not show it.
__________________
Win7Ult || RX560/4G || Ryzen 5
noee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 19:49   #31810  |  Link
Braum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Upscaling Refinement is activated whenever a video is resized. If your display is 1080p, then any source below 1080p must be resized and will use the Upscaling Refinement setting.
To be sure : if there is only Chroma Upscaling and Image downscaling, does Upscaling refinement is activated ?

Basically : Source resolution > Monitor resolution
Braum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 21:08   #31811  |  Link
surgical
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Upscaling Refinement is activated whenever a video is resized. If your display is 1080p, then any source below 1080p must be resized and will use the Upscaling Refinement setting.
Understood ...........thanks Warner306
surgical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 22:19   #31812  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 273
Shall I activate superRes filter in chroma upscaling permanently?Is it for good?
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 23:33   #31813  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Braum View Post
To be sure : if there is only Chroma Upscaling and Image downscaling, does Upscaling refinement is activated ?
No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
Shall I activate superRes filter in chroma upscaling permanently?Is it for good?
I don't know. Try it, and let me know what you think!
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 23:34   #31814  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
madVR v0.88.18 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Code:
* fixed: DXVA deinterlacing resulted in heavy flickering
* fixed: low latency mode was always activated with some media players
* fixed: smooth motion FRC: OSD incorrectly reported empty queues
* fixed: crash when OpenCL wasn't working properly
* fixed: FSE mode was sometimes activated when it shouldn't
Any problems (introduced by v0.88.17) left?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2015, 23:36   #31815  |  Link
tobindac
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 115
works now with DVB-T on latest mpc-hc (nightly). thanks.
tobindac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2015, 01:24   #31816  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Any plans for an auto-updater for madVR?

EDIT: Yey! 88.18 fixed my presentation glitches on my 120Hz monitor!!!
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2015, 01:52   #31817  |  Link
baii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 180
With current update speed, it will need to separate beta and stable for a updater to work for everyone, which is extra effort that can probably spend else where?

Sent from my 306SH
baii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2015, 05:06   #31818  |  Link
TOM_SK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
Any plans for an auto-updater for madVR?
htpc-updater - install or update MPC-HC, LAV Filters and madVR automagically.
https://github.com/nikola/htpc-updater
TOM_SK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2015, 05:25   #31819  |  Link
KhR0N1K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 14
awesome! DXVA deinterlacing etc. seems fine now with v .18

i noticed something else im not sure is fixable. but in FSE DX11 its not as Exclusive as FSE DX9 was. for example my kaspersky trial notification still pops up while in FSE DX11 mode or the "Completed" msg pops up after successful burn with ImgBurn the video turns black for about half a second then stays Exclusive. the FSE DX9 version stayed fully Exclusive in both these situations.

not a big deal at all. just not sure if anyone has pointed these specific situations out.

KhR0N1K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2015, 05:45   #31820  |  Link
j5627429
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Is there a way to adjust the size of the OSD text?
j5627429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.