Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th July 2008, 23:18   #1  |  Link
yari
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
x264.exe or ffmpeg.exe on a VPS ?

what are the minimum requirements to run either one ?

is there a preference over the two x264.exe or ffmpeg.exe to encode videos ?

im more or less looking to see if i can produce efficient, and higher quality videos....i have seen Dark Shikari's site, and blown away by x264....

how can i reduce size video takes up and still improve the quality ? i would prefer to use ffmpeg...since its already installed and being used on my website...

thank you.
yari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2008, 02:37   #2  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
x264 windows builds are usually more up to date than FFMPEG builds.
so, looking at the x264 development pace and its recent improvements, i would always use x264.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2008, 02:50   #3  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,666
x264 alone doesn't do what you need--you need an audio encoder and muxer.

ffmpeg does all of it together, but if you want to have the muxing Flash-ready, you need to use qt-faststart or mp4box in addition. Also note that ffmpeg's option system is an absolute nightmare--it completely mangles the x264 options and defaults and requires a 7-line commandline to get decent results.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2008, 16:31   #4  |  Link
roozhou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,181
ffmpeg's buggy muxers will sometimes give you bad files. Hope someone will fix them.
roozhou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2008, 21:46   #5  |  Link
yari
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
i would like to use ffmpeg in that case....it seems just x264.exe is not enough.

i've taken a look at
http://rob.opendot.cl/index.php/usef...ncoding-guide/

however, the first setting

Code:
ffmpeg -i INPUT -an -pass 1 -vcodec libx264 -b BIT_RATE -flags +loop -cmp +chroma -partitions +parti4x4+partp8x8+partb8x8 -me epzs -subq 1 -trellis 0 -refs 1 -bf 16 -b_strategy 1 -coder 1 -me_range 16 -g 250 -keyint_min 25 -sc_threshold 40 -i_qfactor 0.71 -bt BIT_RATE -rc_eq 'blurCplx^(1-qComp)' -qcomp 0.6 -qmin 10 -qmax 51 -qdiff 4 OUTPUT.mp4
works very well. however the second one

Code:
ffmpeg -i INPUT -acodec libfaac -ab 128k -pass 2 -vcodec libx264 -b BIT_RATE -flags +loop -cmp +chroma -partitions +parti8x8+parti4x4+partp8x8+partp4x4+partb8x8 -flags2 +brdo+dct8x8+wpred+bpyramid+mixed_refs -me umh -subq 7 -trellis 1 -refs 6 -bf 16 -directpred 3 -b_strategy 1 -bidir_refine 1 -coder 1 -me_range 16 -g 250 -keyint_min 25 -sc_threshold 40 -i_qfactor 0.71 -bt BIT_RATE -rc_eq 'blurCplx^(1-qComp)' -qcomp 0.6 -qmin 10 -qmax 51 -qdiff 4 OUTPUT.mp4
throws weird errors and will not work....

are there more optimal settings out there? robert swain's blog is the only one i found that has an optimal setting laid out.

thank you.
yari is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.