Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th May 2019, 10:57   #1  |  Link
brucethemoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 67
Handling Multiple Image Resolutions

I'm (ab)using VapourSynth for something it was probably not meant to do: batch image processing. But I've run into an issue: trying to feed a script images of different sizes, without resizing them to a common size, throws a "Size mismatch for frame X" error. Just poking around the Github, it seems this is a limitation of the ImageMagick reader, and I can't seem to get around it by reading images inside FrameEval.: https://github.com/vapoursynth/vapou...mwri/imwri.cpp

However, I have read that ffms2 in Vapoursynth supports "video streams that change resolution mid-stream". Other than running different scripts back-to-back or encoding images as a video, is there a workaround for feeding VS images with different resolutions?
brucethemoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2019, 14:50   #2  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by brucethemoose View Post
I'm (ab)using VapourSynth for something it was probably not meant to do: batch image processing. But I've run into an issue: trying to feed a script images of different sizes, without resizing them to a common size, throws a "Size mismatch for frame X" error. Just poking around the Github, it seems this is a limitation of the ImageMagick reader, and I can't seem to get around it by reading images inside FrameEval.: https://github.com/vapoursynth/vapou...mwri/imwri.cpp

However, I have read that ffms2 in Vapoursynth supports "video streams that change resolution mid-stream". Other than running different scripts back-to-back or encoding images as a video, is there a workaround for feeding VS images with different resolutions?
Why do you need the images to be lumped together into one clip?

You can technically create one image image source per image and then combine them all into one clip with "std.Splice([all the one frame clips], mismatch=True)" if it really matters a lot to you.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2019, 02:53   #3  |  Link
brucethemoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
Why do you need the images to be lumped together into one clip?

You can technically create one image image source per image and then combine them all into one clip with "std.Splice([all the one frame clips], mismatch=True)" if it really matters a lot to you.
With something like a bunch of folders full of game textures, cramming everything into one clip makes scrubbing through them for comparison in VSEdit or the multi-viewer easier.

And thanks, that works.
brucethemoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.