Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st June 2016, 07:59   #2081  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,555
I'll add b64a then. The reason I don't add all formats is that b64a (until now) didn't have an easy way to test it.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 09:18   #2082  |  Link
dipje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 268
Now comes to noobish question.

What is 'b64a'. 16-bit-per-pixel RGB with A? Planer or packed?

What output format should my Vapoursynth be if it would have to go to b64a? Regular vs.RGB48 or do I somehow need to fake an alpha channel?

(Or do you don't know yet till you worked on it :P)
dipje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 10:54   #2083  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
Yes, 16-bit-per-pixel RGB with A, packed.

I could also support b48r (no alpha) if it gives any benefit. Currently both UQRG and UQRA accept b64a so I did not bother with b48r.
I check whether alpha is valid by the codec id, not by bitmap format, so if you expect alpha from Vapoursynth I need to do something else.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2016, 16:40   #2084  |  Link
dipje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 268
Well I couldn't care about alpha, but some other people I guess do.

But just 'support whatever is needed to get UQRG working' is enough for me to be honest .
dipje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 19:39   #2085  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
I'll add b64a then. The reason I don't add all formats is that b64a (until now) didn't have an easy way to test it.
b64a is quite universal, so good to have it.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 19:42   #2086  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolak View Post
b64a is quite universal, so good to have it.
I'm having trouble finding something to test b64a in. Is there any free program I can use? (madvr doesn't count since it+mpc-hc doesn't play nice with debuggers)
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 19:45   #2087  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipje View Post
Utvideo codec has now RGB 10-bit and RGB-with-alpha 10-bit versions, with quicktime support and working (import/export) in Adobe After Effects for Windows at least.

Virtualdub FilterMod has added b64a support and tested the codecs and they seem to work.
But there is no way yet to go from Vapoursynth (with RGB30 / RGB48) into Virtualdub FilterMod since Vapoursynth doesn't support those colorspaces in the VfW module. May I request this? There is a legit use now for it .

(Vpy RGB30 into Utvideo 'UQRG' seems to be close to 50% of the same RGB30 as a DPX sequence in disksize so it helps a lot with disk i/o in After Effects)


An alternative would be an updated ffmpeg with the 10-bit utvideo versions in _encoding_ mode, but since there doesn't seem to be support for the (now a fear years old) YUV422-10bit mode (UQR2) I have little hope for that happening.
Both UQY2 and UQRG has been added to ffmpeg in recent days.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 19:47   #2088  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
I'm having trouble finding something to test b64a in. Is there any free program I can use? (madvr doesn't count since it+mpc-hc doesn't play nice with debuggers)
Hmmm...modded Vdub which has been mentioned here?
ffplay?
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 19:49   #2089  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolak View Post
Hmmm...modded Vdub which has been mentioned here?
Nope, it says it doesn't know b64a. That makes me sad. Maybe there's some obscure codec that also provides b64a "decoding".
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 19:58   #2090  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,843
What about graphstudio + MadVR or ffplay?

Last edited by kolak; 13th June 2016 at 22:43.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 20:31   #2091  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
Nope, it says it doesn't know b64a. That makes me sad. Maybe there's some obscure codec that also provides b64a "decoding".
Can I help with this?
Maybe vpy is handled by some other code path in vdub.
I tested UQRG with "avi (compat)" open option and it works.

For reference, this is how BitmapInfoHeader is filled:

Code:
biWidth = w
biHeight = h
biPlanes = 1
biCompression = VDMAKEFOURCC('b', '6', '4', 'a')
biBitCount = 64
biSizeImage = w*8 * h
Or I can try your intermediate version and see what happens.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 21:34   #2092  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,555
R33 test 1

RGB24 will now be automatically packed to BGRA so VFW likes it more.
RGB48 will be packed to b64a.
YUV444P14 will be packed to Y416.

The b64a I haven't managed to test so report your success with that.

Not much else changed, really.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet

Last edited by Myrsloik; 13th June 2016 at 21:37.
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 23:06   #2093  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
I made some fixes and in general it "works" (will make fixed update soon).
However it looks like VS output has different component order and byte order (UQRG matches this description http://www.bitjazz.com/en/products/s...rmats.php#b64a)
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 23:16   #2094  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
I made some fixes and in general it "works" (will make fixed update soon).
However it looks like VS output has different component order and byte order (UQRG matches this description http://www.bitjazz.com/en/products/s...rmats.php#b64a)
I double checked it and I'm fairly certain I match it. The evils of endianness and so on. Even the simple description says that the order of the components is ARGB which the big endian example confirms.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2016, 11:20   #2095  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
I confirm that your output is correct. My mistake.
Uploaded new version, now everything works fine.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2016, 13:44   #2096  |  Link
dipje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 268
I installed Vapoursynth r33 test 1 (x64, python 35) together with virtualDub64_pack_37197 (that was the latest one you were talking about, right shekh?)

If I open a .vpy file with RGB48 I get VirtualDub FilterMod showing it as b64a and it displays fine, and I can scrub around and it seems to work.

Setting the VDubFilterMod to 'direct stream copy' in video mode I can save a raw b64a AVI file no problem.

But whatever I try to save a Utvideo 10bit version VDub seems to crash.
Is it working with UQRA / UQRG? I know Myrsloik said it's basically untested but if I see the video OK in VDubFilterMod I'm guessing Vapoursynth has done it's job.

Shekh, you said you tested your b64a with Utvideo right? Did it break doing the latest changes?
dipje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2016, 13:46   #2097  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,843
Same here. Looks like UTVideo problem or something in between.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2016, 13:49   #2098  |  Link
dipje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolak View Post
Both UQY2 and UQRG has been added to ffmpeg in recent days.
Decoding only from the looks of it
dipje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2016, 16:37   #2099  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipje View Post
I installed Vapoursynth r33 test 1 (x64, python 35) together with virtualDub64_pack_37197 (that was the latest one you were talking about, right shekh?)

If I open a .vpy file with RGB48 I get VirtualDub FilterMod showing it as b64a and it displays fine, and I can scrub around and it seems to work.

Setting the VDubFilterMod to 'direct stream copy' in video mode I can save a raw b64a AVI file no problem.

But whatever I try to save a Utvideo 10bit version VDub seems to crash.
Is it working with UQRA / UQRG? I know Myrsloik said it's basically untested but if I see the video OK in VDubFilterMod I'm guessing Vapoursynth has done it's job.

Shekh, you said you tested your b64a with Utvideo right? Did it break doing the latest changes?
It works for me. Tested UQRA, UQRG, x86, amd64 - all work.
Can you narrow down the test which will crash and share source & script so I try it? Also crash report from vdub may be useful.

update:
Looks like it crashed when preferences->video compression threads is set to 0.
Fixed now, build 37201
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2016, 19:48   #2100  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,277
http://www.vapoursynth.com/doc/functions/levels.html doesn't mention the 'gamma' option of levels.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
speed, vaporware, vapoursynth


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.