Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th May 2022, 19:30   #31261  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
I believe that your question should be directed at MrVideo
I was just trying to figure out how he got the weird structure.
He mentioned MKV and DV so I tried the 2 most common ways of creating a MKV
Me, I decrypt to a folder structure and then compress and remux to a folder structure.
Real simple
Personally, I think that if someone creates one of these invalid structures they should fix it before inputting it to BD_RB
Agreed. Sorry, I wasn't aiming the response at you, only responding to the context. It sounds to me like MrVideo's issue is being created by MAKEMKV. That doesn't mean it is doing anything wrong... since the MKV seems to be compliant. It just makes it difficult to then reintegrate into a BD structure.

I wonder if the MKV created by MKVMERGE actually plays back as DV (with two streams, one of which only holds the DV extensions)?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 9th May 2022 at 19:32.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2022, 20:35   #31262  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
jdobbs
If you use MakeMKV and then create the BD structure with tsMuxeR you will get DV info only

EDIT
see my post above
However, if you use MakeMKV in 'Backup' mode and then drop the largest .m2ts file into MKVmerge, you get both video streams (including MEL/FEL Dolby Vision) that TSmuxer is able to mux perfectly
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2022, 22:57   #31263  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
However, if you use MakeMKV in 'Backup' mode and then drop the largest .m2ts file into MKVmerge, you get both video streams (including MEL/FEL Dolby Vision) that TSmuxer is able to mux perfectly
Agreed, but I would use the proper mpls
But this was trying to figure out how that MKV was obtained
Realistically
Decrypt to full folder with Makemkv
Input folder into BD_RB
Simpler approach to what is being attempted
(AND NOT by me)
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2022, 21:53   #31264  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,931
I'm still going to make the update so it pulls the data from the DV entry when the VID entry is empty. You never know when you might run into a UHD MKV that someone else created with MAKEMKV.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2022, 16:58   #31265  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,931
New Release of BD-RB (v0.61.28)

I have updated the first post of this thread with a link to the latest version of BD Rebuilder (v0.61.28). Changes for this release:
Code:
- Added code to ensure that forced subtitles
  found in imported video files are also
  flagged as forced in ALTERNATE file output.
- Fixed error where ALTERNATE_KEEP_SRT was
  not working for MP4 output.
- Added lookahead to NVENCC command line for
  slightly improved quality at a given rate.
- Fixed an error in which audio that must be
  encoded could be wrongly kept intact under 
  certain circumstances.
- Added code to support using SubtitleEdit
  to convert PGS to SRT subtitles, it now
  converts about 6x faster than BD-RB's 
  original (internal) routine.
- Fixed an issue that could (very rarely)
  cause BD-RB to misinterpret imported
  video run length.
- BD-RB's installation folder now includes
  Subtitle Edit v3.6.3 which is distributed
  under the GNU GENERAL PUBLIC LICENSE, v3.
  Note that it is a very useful utility that
  can also be run independently of BD-RB as
  a Windows application.
- Fixed an error in which importing may
  (rarely) cause error exit when using 
  NVENCC.
- Fixed a source of possible error that 
  shows as EXIT CODE: -1073741819.
- Added code to adjust for sources that are
  improperly formatted and don't include
  information for primary video on a DV
  source.  When it doesn't exist, BD-RB will
  look for a DV entry and pull format data 
  from it.
- Updated version of x264 to v0.164.3075
- Updated version of x265 to v3.5.0.13
- Updated NVENCC to a newer version (v5.41)
- Other minor corrections and cosmetic fixes.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2022, 22:17   #31266  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,017
Thanks for the update.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2022, 00:08   #31267  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,156
Many thanks for your continued work, jdobbs !

Besides of that I need a little hint:
I wanted to run a quick NVENC Comparison h.264 vs h.265 in BD-RB, but no matter what I tick I can not get h264 from NVEnc.
I keep getting .h265 muxed.
I must have spoilt just one tick, but which ?
If I read the logs I get told which decoder has been fired up at which source, but nothing about encoder and compression,
only "Reencoding: <element> Pass n of m" just how it always was.

Sometimes I wish the dual/triple system of "Setup" "Config" + "Hiddenopts" could be united into one GUI window, one fine day maybe ?

Maybe I should control that through NVENCC Reencoder v0.10.7 ?
I try to conclude something, maybe it is still not that easy to find:
NVENCCRE.INI
VIDEO_CODEC=0 specifies AVC, 1 specifies HEVC
AVC_Q_VALUES specify the 3 quality presets, I chose 28,23,18
tbc...
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."

Last edited by Emulgator; 12th May 2022 at 00:42.
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2022, 02:32   #31268  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulgator View Post
Many thanks for your continued work, jdobbs !

Besides of that I need a little hint:
I wanted to run a quick NVENC Comparison h.264 vs h.265 in BD-RB, but no matter what I tick I can not get h264 from NVEnc.
I keep getting .h265 muxed.
I must have spoilt just one tick, but which ?
If I read the logs I get told which decoder has been fired up at which source, but nothing about encoder and compression,
only "Reencoding: <element> Pass n of m" just how it always was.

Sometimes I wish the dual/triple system of "Setup" "Config" + "Hiddenopts" could be united into one GUI window, one fine day maybe ?

Maybe I should control that through NVENCC Reencoder v0.10.7 ?
I try to conclude something, maybe it is still not that easy to find:
NVENCCRE.INI
VIDEO_CODEC=0 specifies AVC, 1 specifies HEVC
AVC_Q_VALUES specify the 3 quality presets, I chose 28,23,18
tbc...
Is it a UHD source? That might force it to H265. Another setting might be if you select "Convert BD to UHD-BD (HEVC) Format" from the output menu (assuming UHD_CONVERT_ENABLE=1 is set in your INI).

In NVENCCRE you just select which encoder you want to use from the menu.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 12th May 2022 at 02:34.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2022, 02:50   #31269  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,156
UHD-BD 10bit HEVC source with DoVi layer, yes.
UHD_CONVERT_ENABLE=0 did not help, I was getting H.265 with this as well.

NVENCCRE did create H.264, and true, it was already implemented in the Output menu,
I had just looked at the .ini first, guessed at the entries and overlooked the nice menu cascading arrows.
I kept UHD resolution, let transcode to H.264 in MKV with all audio kept, giving enough bits CRF 18, came out at 48Mbps.
A quick glance showed very good quality on a 8-bit 100% gamut display, no pixel-peeping yet.

P.S. I think I see now, what I was asking would involve a conversion going 10-bit HDR -> 8-bit SDR
and ATM a non-standard disc would result.
For my limited scope of artifact peeping I didn' have to take care for the resulting shifted luma/chroma response.
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."

Last edited by Emulgator; 12th May 2022 at 08:00.
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2022, 07:46   #31270  |  Link
RetsimLegin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 31
@jdobbs I have a little puzzle. I have BDRB on two machines. I find that if I take any file with EC3 multichannel audio and import it then
- one one machine it will generate a multi-channel AC3 track
- on the other it will only generate 2 channels (or sometimes one). Never all 5.1.

I just put the newest BDRB version on both. No change. So I guess it must be something external to the folder containing the extracted BDRB zip. The only major hardware difference is a suitable NVidia card in the one that "works". That shouldn't (?) make any difference, right? So I have to guess it's something software external to BDRB that is at play. Any pointers as to where I might look?


EDIT P.S.Actually I just attempted to start a new job with 06128 and found that, whilst it did generate multichannel audio, it refused to select NVENCC on the NVidia equipped machine (unable to confirm compatibility). So I have reverted to 06122 which does work. It's a GeForce GTX1650ti. FYI.

Last edited by RetsimLegin; 17th May 2022 at 08:07.
RetsimLegin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2022, 14:49   #31271  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetsimLegin View Post
@jdobbs I have a little puzzle. I have BDRB on two machines. I find that if I take any file with EC3 multichannel audio and import it then
- one one machine it will generate a multi-channel AC3 track
- on the other it will only generate 2 channels (or sometimes one). Never all 5.1.

I just put the newest BDRB version on both. No change. So I guess it must be something external to the folder containing the extracted BDRB zip. The only major hardware difference is a suitable NVidia card in the one that "works". That shouldn't (?) make any difference, right? So I have to guess it's something software external to BDRB that is at play. Any pointers as to where I might look?


EDIT P.S.Actually I just attempted to start a new job with 06128 and found that, whilst it did generate multichannel audio, it refused to select NVENCC on the NVidia equipped machine (unable to confirm compatibility). So I have reverted to 06122 which does work. It's a GeForce GTX1650ti. FYI.
Are all the prerequisites (from the very first post) the same version on both machines?

Not sure about the NVENCC ... could be because of the newest version added in the 0.61.28

The 1650ti does not support HEVC B-Frames, might have something to do with that?
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2022, 22:28   #31272  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
The 1650ti does not support HEVC B-Frames, might have something to do with that?
Ya, I have the GTX-1660.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2022, 07:23   #31273  |  Link
RetsimLegin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
Are all the prerequisites (from the very first post) the same version on both machines?

Not sure about the NVENCC ... could be because of the newest version added in the 0.61.28

The 1650ti does not support HEVC B-Frames, might have something to do with that?
I'll have to re-check the pre-reqs. As to HEVC - I'm not using that in either case. H264 for output, and the source is the same file in the two cases.
RetsimLegin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2022, 17:04   #31274  |  Link
LowDead
Elit Amans
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetsimLegin View Post
I'll have to re-check the pre-reqs. As to HEVC - I'm not using that in either case. H264 for output, and the source is the same file in the two cases.
maybe you should post the .ini file for both computers?

//LD
__________________
Windows 11 Pro 64-bit, AMD Ryzen 9 5950X@3.40GHz, 32GB, NVIDIA RTX 2070 8GB, PIONEER BDR-S09XLT, ASUS BW-16D1HT, LG CX 65", Panasonic DP-UB820EB-K, Sony PS3 & PS5
LowDead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2022, 10:18   #31275  |  Link
RetsimLegin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetsimLegin View Post
@jdobbs I have a little puzzle. I have BDRB on two machines. I find that if I take any file with EC3 multichannel audio and import it then
- one one machine it will generate a multi-channel AC3 track
- on the other it will only generate 2 channels (or sometimes one). Never all 5.1.
Fixed by installing LAV Filters. Thanks for the pointer.

I'll get back to experimenting with 06128 and its seeming unwillingness to allow NVENCC at a future time. Sticking with 06122 for the time being.
RetsimLegin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2022, 14:28   #31276  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetsimLegin View Post
Fixed by installing LAV Filters. Thanks for the pointer.

I'll get back to experimenting with 06128 and its seeming unwillingness to allow NVENCC at a future time. Sticking with 06122 for the time being.
Although not recommended ... have you tried fiddling around with different versions of NVEncC ?
It might not help at all, since only JDobbs knows how the detection feature works...
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2022, 02:51   #31277  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 886
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I have updated the first post of this thread with a link to the latest version of BD Rebuilder (v0.61.28). Changes for this release:
Code:
[Snip]
- BD-RB's installation folder now includes
  Subtitle Edit v3.6.3 which is distributed
  under the GNU GENERAL PUBLIC LICENSE, v3.
  Note that it is a very useful utility that
  can also be run independently of BD-RB as
  a Windows application.
[Snip!]
Wow, this is great! Much better than the other way. Great idea. This program is pretty powerful.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2022, 20:29   #31278  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetsimLegin View Post
Fixed by installing LAV Filters. Thanks for the pointer.

I'll get back to experimenting with 06128 and its seeming unwillingness to allow NVENCC at a future time. Sticking with 06122 for the time being.
I'm guessing it's a driver thing. Try adding:

NVENC_CAPABLE=1

to the OPTIONS area o your INI file.

That way it will assume you have a compatible card installed (just as if the check came back positive).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 24th May 2022 at 20:32.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2022, 07:21   #31279  |  Link
RetsimLegin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 31
I'll try that and report back when I get chance. Thx.
RetsimLegin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2022, 06:36   #31280  |  Link
Hooman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
CURRENT VERSION 0.61.28 (May 11th, 2022)

9. Please DO NOT replace the versions of software included in the BD-RB ZIP with other versions (e.g. replacing the 32 bit X264 with a 64 bit version). In doing so you are very likely creating a self-inflicted injury that will not be addressed as a bug.
Hi, the included NVEnc fails to initiliaze my GPU's Cuda driver but some other/newer/x64 version of that encoder has no proplem initilaizing. Can I replace it?

Hooman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.