Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th August 2019, 20:40   #57101  |  Link
ng4ever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 18
Is it true Nvidia RTX cards have a freezing issue with madVR ?
ng4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2019, 21:51   #57102  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,579
I have no issues with current drivers on my 2080 Ti.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2019, 22:02   #57103  |  Link
ng4ever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I have no issues with current drivers on my 2080 Ti.
Thanks.
ng4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2019, 23:13   #57104  |  Link
fourbigkids
Registered User
 
fourbigkids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Washed out video

Hi all. I have been having problems with madvr for some time. The latest issue occurred when I upgraded the driver for my video card, a Gigabyte Nvidia RTX 2060, and then had to downgrade to an earlier driver when the latest gave me a black screen when running two displays.

I use MPC-BE. When Madvr is selected as the video renderer, the colours are washed out. These are just ordinary DVD or blu-ray rips. Nothing fancy. If I change the renderer, or if I use a different player such as VLC or Media Player, the colour appears normal, just not with madvr. The TV is UHD and automatically handles the colour gamut and madvr is setup for PC 0-255. I have reinstalled MPC-BE and madvr (since the downgrade in the driver), but no luck. Still washed out compared to any other player or renderer.

Appreciate any pointers you might have.

Cheers,

Allan
fourbigkids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 00:02   #57105  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,579
Do you have a "this display is already calibrated" display setting configured? Set it to BT.709 with a 2.2 gamma.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 02:26   #57106  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by ng4ever View Post
Is it true Nvidia RTX cards have a freezing issue with madVR ?
Freezing, no. There are microstutter issues that some of us have. But we've worked around it 1 of 2 ways. Either use D3D9 or set the present frames in advance to 1 if you are impacted by the issue.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 02:27   #57107  |  Link
ng4ever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
Freezing, no. There are microstutter issues that some of us have. But we've worked around it 1 of 2 ways. Either use D3D9 or set the present frames in advance to 1 if you are impacted by the issue.
Cool. Thanks!
ng4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 02:50   #57108  |  Link
fourbigkids
Registered User
 
fourbigkids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Do you have a "this display is already calibrated" display setting configured? Set it to BT.709 with a 2.2 gamma.
Thanks Asmodian. That fixed it! You're a star! :-)

Cheers,

Allan
fourbigkids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 10:15   #57109  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Do you have a "this display is already calibrated" display setting configured? Set it to BT.709 with a 2.2 gamma.
Why does that need to be configured? Isn't that the default setting? Or maybe he had another configuration and set "disable calibration..." does the same?
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 19:24   #57110  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
My 2080 Ti drops an average of 4584 frames with a standard deviation of 265 (5.8%) over 10 repeats.
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i run it 2 times at 60 hz and got very reliable results from this both runs where pretty much spot on 33000 dropped frames.
MSI 1060 Gaming X 6GB, 9 runs, median: 36855
36898 , 36469 , 36921 , 37039 , 33106 , 36855 , 36900 , 36964 , 35671

What does it tell us? (Apart from 2080TI is faster than 1060 6GB)
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 19:25   #57111  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,716
i was using a 960.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 19:38   #57112  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,579
I am not even sure this method is useful... we don't have enough data (yet?) but it is odd that the 960 seems faster than the 1060 based on your reports.

Upload queue was 1-8 or higher the entire time?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
What does it tell us? (Apart from 2080TI is faster than 1060 6GB)
Did you see my previous post?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
My benchmark is simply a "madVR performance score". Once we have enough data we could say what score you need to do 1080p24 -> 2160p with NGU high "with some headroom", or any setting we are interested in. The same with adding BlueSky or similar. If users report their experiance with a particular GPU and a particular configuration we could compare the performance score of their GPU with another no one has posted anything about to decide if it is likely to work.
Edit: There are 38073 frames total, maybe dropping that many is testing some interop step more than NGU speed.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 13th August 2019 at 19:53.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2019, 03:34   #57113  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,716
i get ~28000 on my 1060 i will do a better test later but relative to my 960 this is actually matching.
960 ~5073
1060 ~10073
on paper a 960 has 2500 GF and a 1060 4.600 GF taking the boost behaviour and the architectural difference this could be spot on.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2019, 15:18   #57114  |  Link
okc_smoker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 44
This may be a pipe dream, but it would be great to have some sort of automated test bench. Something like 3DMark or Passmark. Just something a user would run and it would spit out scores for, say, 720p -> 4k, 1080p -> 4K, Tone Mapping, etc., using the appropriate scalers and everything else set to default.
okc_smoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2019, 15:47   #57115  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,716
3 more runs:
27854
28234
28214

working flawless for me right now but it has to work at least for the majority too.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2019, 20:08   #57116  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 44
madVR isn't creating profiles when putting in user-created settings bins. I cannot get it to change

Edit: had to revert to default before adding in.

Now if someone could tell me how to keep the seekbar from turning blue with no markers when going into fullscreen.

Last edited by toki; 14th August 2019 at 20:55.
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2019, 20:59   #57117  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by toki View Post
Now if someone could tell me how to keep the seekbar from turning blue with no markers when going into fullscreen.
Disable FSE.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2019, 00:11   #57118  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Disable FSE.
Thank you. I tried your max and low powered settings and I couldn't even handle low power on a 1060ti : (

now, how can I ungrey perfrom tone and gamut mapping in less accurate color space?

Last edited by toki; 15th August 2019 at 01:02.
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2019, 01:24   #57119  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,579
Ah yes, my low power settings do not consider the performance hit from HDR.

I am not sure what you mean by your question, sorry. Are you talking about an option from the hdr test builds?
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2019, 01:36   #57120  |  Link
ng4ever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 18
That is easy.
ng4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.