Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th December 2017, 11:25   #47601  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
those with working 3D MVC with FSE disabled, are you sure its not converting it to SBS, i've had someone tell me this before only to find they were playing 3D SBS movies, if I turn off FSE 3D stops working, turn it on again and it works again, its as simple as that, i'm sure full frame packed 3D is not supposed to work outside of FSE.
It works just fine on NVIDIA without FSE.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 11:45   #47602  |  Link
Jesco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillieSan View Post
and image upscaling? Also NGU Sharp high quality?
Yes, image upscaling, doubling: NGU Sharp, algorithm quality: high (<-- luma doubling) but I don't believe image upscaling is used when I playback 1080p movies on 1080p projector, right?

You can take a look at my madVR settings here if you like: https://postimg.org/image/alqsl4dbr/

Last edited by Jesco; 8th December 2017 at 11:55. Reason: Added url
Jesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 11:51   #47603  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
those with working 3D MVC with FSE disabled, are you sure its not converting it to SBS, i've had someone tell me this before only to find they were playing 3D SBS movies, if I turn off FSE 3D stops working, turn it on again and it works again, its as simple as that, i'm sure full frame packed 3D is not supposed to work outside of FSE.

If it worked outside of FSE you'd be able to run it in MPC-BE without MADVR?

can anyone clarify this?
Sorry to clarify, anyone with an AMD card getting full frame packed 3D without FSE turned on, note if you are using KODI DS it could still be turned on.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 12:18   #47604  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesco View Post
Yes, image upscaling, doubling: NGU Sharp, algorithm quality: high (<-- luma doubling) but I don't believe image upscaling is used when I playback 1080p movies on 1080p projector, right?

You can take a look at my madVR settings here if you like: https://postimg.org/image/alqsl4dbr/
I think that image scaling is not used. What you could do is scaling the image to 4K and then downscale it back to 1080. This could improve the image quality. I have no experience with this.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 12:25   #47605  |  Link
SirSwede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillieSan View Post
I think that image scaling is not used. What you could do is scaling the image to 4K and then downscale it back to 1080. This could improve the image quality. I have no experience with this.
Read a few pages back. We were just recommended by huhn and Asamodian not to do this.
SirSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 12:27   #47606  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 126
Ok, thank you for your reply.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 12:35   #47607  |  Link
Jesco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillieSan View Post
I think that image scaling is not used. What you could do is scaling the image to 4K and then downscale it back to 1080. This could improve the image quality. I have no experience with this.
Why should I upscale perfectly fine 1080p source material to 4k, only to downscale it again to 1080p for viewing on 1080p projector. That doesn't make any sense to me and I can not image it'll do image quality any good. Not to mention it will have great negative impact on rendertimes too.
Jesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 12:46   #47608  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 126
It could refine the image. In the past there were discussions about this here in the forum. But I think this not the case anymore.
Yes it has great negative impact on rendertimes and you need a powerful graphics card to do it.

See message from SirSwede above.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 13:17   #47609  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
It works just fine on NVIDIA without FSE.
Agreed
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 6Go Win10(x64) / Nvidia 1050Ti / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 13:37   #47610  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastiii View Post
Agreed
is FSE just required for AMD cards then?, they deal with MVC frame packed 3D differently.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 13:40   #47611  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 126
@mclingo

Have you tried to set video frames from 8 to 4?

in rendering->exclusive mode->

Also try to set GPU queue size from 8 to 4 and see if it changes things

in rendering->general settings->

This has fixed FSE issues with some here in this forum. I will try it soon and see if it helps.

Last edited by HillieSan; 8th December 2017 at 13:44.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 13:41   #47612  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillieSan View Post
@mclingo

Have you tried to set video frames from 8 to 4?

in rendring->exclusive mode->

This has fixed FSE issues with some here in this forum. I will try it soon and see if it helped.
i'll try that but if we dont need FSE why use it, people are telling me its not required for MVC playback but I cant get it without FSE turned on, something odd going on here.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 13:47   #47613  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 126
True. I have moved from FSE to fullscreen windowed this week and it works fine. I am not using 3D. Anyway I will lower the buffers and see what happens.

Last edited by HillieSan; 8th December 2017 at 13:50.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 14:18   #47614  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillieSan View Post
True. I have moved from FSE to fullscreen windowed this week and it works fine. I am not using 3D. Anyway I will lower the buffers and see what happens.
are you saying MVC 3D works fine or just general playback?

Are you sure its not converting it to SBS, if your projector is automatically sensing 3D SBS it might switch to that mode and you'd never know.

best way to check is turn 3D off on the projector while its playing, if you see two images its SBS.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 15:55   #47615  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by austonrush View Post
reclock is buggy as hell with creators version of windows 10. I dropped it completely.
Only when using FSE mode, Windowed is fine. It's all the fault of Microsoft's "full screen optimisation" changes, really.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
sorry i misread, thanks for your help. Any idea why i'm having to use 23p display mode instead of 24p? which i've used with AMD card for over 10 years
'23 Hz' is supposed to be 23,976 and '24 Hz' 24,000; but if the display is HDMI and uses standard TV modes, Windows normally applies 23,976 even if you select 24 Hz (for compatibility: no correctly authored consumer content is supposed to be 24,000 Hz).
Did you maybe enable some trick to force real 24,000 Hz to the display, or are you playing a 24,000 fps movie?
A frame repeat every 40 seconds is the typical symptom of playing 23,976 material at 24,000 Hz, and a drop every 40 seconds when playing 24,000 (i.e. badly mastered) material at 23,976 Hz.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 15:56   #47616  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by steakhutzeee View Post
Evening, in the section i posted the screenshot below, i always used NGU Sharp with luma doubling setted to high. All the rest let madvr decide.

Yesterday i saw a youtube video where the user suggested to use these settings, what do you think? I'm not expert so i'm testing:

https://postimg.org/image/nis3mwkjv/

Another question, if i use Ctrl J during video, i can see that my monitor frequency is 59,9 or something similar. Never 60. Is this right this way?
At the moment i turned back my settings, only ngu sharp with doubling on high. It looks better this way. But so why that video suggests the configuration i posted? I want to learn, what's the use of those settings?
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 16:01   #47617  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
Only when using FSE mode, Windowed is fine. It's all the fault of Microsoft's "full screen optimisation" changes, really.

'23 Hz' is supposed to be 23,976 and '24 Hz' 24,000; but if the display is HDMI and uses standard TV modes, Windows normally applies 23,976 even if you select 24 Hz (for compatibility: no correctly authored consumer content is supposed to be 24,000 Hz).
Did you maybe enable some trick to force real 24,000 Hz to the display, or are you playing a 24,000 fps movie?
A frame repeat every 40 seconds is the typical symptom of playing 23,976 material at 24,000 Hz, and a drop every 40 seconds when playing 24,000 (i.e. badly mastered) material at 23,976 Hz.
no seriously, i've always had my display modes set to 24p and had no issues until recently, I wasnt using reclock either.

What are your thoughts on FSE and 3D MVC, people are stating quite categorically 3D MVC should work without FSE but in the years i've been using this i've never had it work without FSE ticked.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 16:39   #47618  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
no correctly authored consumer content is supposed to be 24,000 Hz).
Both 23.976fps and 24fps are legitimate frame rates according to the blu ray standards
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 16:43   #47619  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
are you saying MVC 3D works fine or just general playback?

Are you sure its not converting it to SBS, if your projector is automatically sensing 3D SBS it might switch to that mode and you'd never know.

best way to check is turn 3D off on the projector while its playing, if you see two images its SBS.
I am not using 3D.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2017, 17:06   #47620  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,173
any other AMD card users with a 3D TV that can play 3D MVC frame packed rips?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.