Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd April 2016, 19:43   #1  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Loading and applying 3D LUTs

Just wondering how to go about loading and using .cube 3D LUTs in VapourSynth. I would like to use these LUTs here (1 / 2), but I'm not sure if this can this be done with std.Lut or is it one-of-those-things that will require a plugin?


Edit - I'm not the author, just posting link here for convenience.
------------------
Timecube, a plugin to load and apply 3D luts to a video:
Usage:
timecube.Cube(clip clip, string cube="")

Parameters:
clip = Input clip, colorspace must be RGBS.
cube = Path to 3D lut file, only .cube files are supported.

Last edited by Reel.Deel; 27th August 2018 at 03:16.
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2016, 20:20   #2  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,461
No idea about vs, but you cal always use free Resolve.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2016, 20:43   #3  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolak View Post
No idea about vs, but you cal always use free Resolve.
I have Resolve but I would like to do be able to do it in VapourSynth. For me VS would be a bit more straight forward and would not require any intermediate files since I can easily pipe to x264/x265.
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2016, 20:59   #4  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,142
You'll need a new plugin for that. Is there format actually documented somewhere?
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2016, 21:04   #5  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
You'll need a new plugin for that. Is there format actually documented somewhere?
Adobe's Cube LUT Specification.pdf
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2016, 21:19   #6  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reel.Deel View Post
Looks surprisingly simple, especially since there's sample code for reading the files is in there too. Maybe I'll have a go at it some day but probably not soon.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2016, 13:56   #7  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
Looks surprisingly simple, especially since there's sample code for reading the files is in there too. Maybe I'll have a go at it some day but probably not soon.
Good to hear that it looks simple. Hopefully we'll see this integrated into VS sometime. Thanks for the feedback.
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2017, 23:24   #8  |  Link
Joachim Buambeki
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany, Munich
Posts: 49
Have there been any news on this? Having 3Dluts would be great for professional workflows where you want to apply certain looks to your ungraded footage.

TIA!
Joachim Buambeki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2017, 02:41   #9  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,208
any update on this?
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2017, 00:15   #10  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by lansing View Post
any update on this?
Nope, too much other stuff to do.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2017, 06:59   #11  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
I currently use FFMPEG's 3DLut filter for .cube files. It's not as convenient as having a Vapoursynth/Avisynth plugin, but it's more flexible than Davinci Resolve. Resolve doesn't support efficient lossless codecs (FFV1, X264 lossless, UTVideo, etc), avisynth input, or piping VapourSynth scripts.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2017, 12:52   #12  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,142
Why didn't anyone tell me there's code I can borrow? Maybe I'll actually do something about this after I release R38
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2017, 19:17   #13  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ikea Chair
Posts: 2,142
If you can provide some before/after clips with a lut applied (and the lut file) so we can easily test a plugin that'd be great. Or this is not going to happen...
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2017, 03:53   #14  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,208
Here's my image before/after of a lut, lut file included

lut sample
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2017, 04:03   #15  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen R. Savage View Post
I got an error "Cube: must be RGBS" after I converted the clip to RGB
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2017, 08:12   #16  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
I don't know how to use the vscube plugin. Any pointers would be appreciated.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2017, 09:07   #17  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,545
I'm also receiving the "Cube: must be RGBS" error. The .cube file works fine with FFMPEG.

UPDATE:

Okay. It works now. Thank you.
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.

Last edited by Revgen; 9th June 2017 at 09:46.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2017, 14:08   #18  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,208
I got an error "Resize error 3074: no path between colorspaces", what does it means?
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2017, 14:46   #19  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,544
Read posts #2491 to #2495.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2017, 18:22   #20  |  Link
TheFluff
Excessively jovial fellow
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: rude
Posts: 1,096
link for convenience
TheFluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.