Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd December 2015, 09:32   #61  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,753
IIRC, bobbing is the default mode of QTGMC, so simply call QTGMC and omit a following Select[Odd|Even]() ... no warranties though.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2015, 18:52   #62  |  Link
byme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 204
frames back and forth

Which script should you use?
byme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2015, 19:27   #63  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,718
Change the field order parameter in QTGMC or use AssumeTFF() or AssumeBFF() before the QTGMC call.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2015, 20:53   #64  |  Link
Thranduilion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Truly smitten with QTGMC's processing of HD progressive material (I'm partial to InputType=1). While it could be my imagination, I'm perceiving a slight motion blur as a result of the processing. My hunch is that Rep2 is my best bet for minimizing this effect. Could some kind soul please tell me which other parameters could play a hand in helping to minimize motion blur?

Again, I'm totally open to this being my imagination. Just trying to eliminate all other possibilities.

Much obliged!
Thranduilion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2015, 00:47   #65  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thranduilion View Post
Could some kind soul please tell me which other parameters could play a hand in helping to minimize motion blur?
avisynth.nl/QTGMC#Shutter Speed Motion Blur / Frame Rate
I've used QTGMC to add motion blur; never thought it had too much by default. But try SBlurLimit=0; it looks like the only MB parameter that's not already at minimum.
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2015, 01:33   #66  |  Link
manono
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7,406
Or maybe not use Input Type=1 as it performs temporal smoothing as an aid for the deshimmering it does which might create a kind of motion blur.
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 07:35   #67  |  Link
mjr4077au
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 97
To Didee and Vit, this script is absolutely amazing! I've been using this on old VHS-C tapes and the results are second to none

Below is the code I'm using to get these PAL tapes up to 720p50 for blu-ray.

Code:
AVISource("roadtrains.avi", audio=false).AssumeFPS(25,1).AssumeTFF()
crop(18, 8, -14, -16)
ColorMatrix(interlaced=true, mode="Rec.601->Rec.709")
ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true, matrix="Rec709", chromaresample="Blackman")
QTGMC(Preset="Placebo", TR2=2, EdiMode="EEDI3+NNEDI3", NoisePreset="Slower", ChromaNoise=True)
nnedi3_rpow2(rfactor=2, pscrn=4, fapprox=0, cshift="BlackmanResize", fwidth=960, fheight=720, ep0=7)
AddBorders(160,0,160,0)
One thing I wanted to comment on is I don't think the placebo preset is very 'placebo'. I notice definite improvement with using eedi3 and nnedi3 sclip and I think this could easily be in the lower presets.

Any thoughts?


Cheers,
Mitch

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Last edited by mjr4077au; 16th January 2016 at 09:45.
mjr4077au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 12:44   #68  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,743
Do you use ConvertToYV12 because your source is in YUY2 ? If yes, I believe it's better to let it in YUY2 for de-interlacing and convert in YV12 after QTGMC.

Last edited by Music Fan; 16th January 2016 at 14:18. Reason: error
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 13:03   #69  |  Link
mjr4077au
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Music Fan View Post
Do you use ConvertToYV12 because your source is in YUY2 ? If yes, I believe it's better to let it in YUY2 for de-interlacing and convert in YV12 after QTGMC.
Hi Music Fan,

The captures are YUY2. Because I'm using RgTools instead of the older RemoveGrain tools and cannot use YV16 properly with QTGMC, I've opted to do it at that stage. Systematically, it seems better than going through all the Interleaved2Planar and Planar2Interleaved stages. It also seems hackish using older DLL files for AviSynth 2.5 for MaskTools to work with YUY2 in AviSynth 2.6.


Cheers,
Mitch.

Last edited by mjr4077au; 16th January 2016 at 22:08.
mjr4077au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 13:28   #70  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjr4077au View Post
The resize as it is now is working exactly as I need it to and I get an output of 1280x720 for my 720p50 Blu-ray encode.
Ok, but your resize seems more appropriate to 4/3 than to 688.552 which changes AR.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 13:35   #71  |  Link
mjr4077au
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Music Fan View Post
Ok, but your resize seems more appropriate to 4/3 than to 688.552 which changes AR.
Yeah, that's intended . Even though the source is 5:4, the DAR should be 4:3. Apologies, I misunderstood what you were getting at earlier.

If I didn't resize, I'd add black borders to replace the crop and encode with a SAR of 16:15. Then I'd get the correct output resolution of 768x576 for the source.

Last edited by mjr4077au; 16th January 2016 at 22:40.
mjr4077au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 14:26   #72  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,743
Sorry, I made a bad calculation
Your video actually keeps its 1.25 SAR after your crop thus your resize is ok.
I believe I typed 576 instead of 552 on my calculator (918.720 would have been good for 688.576, not for 688.552).
I removed this part of my first post.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2016, 22:12   #73  |  Link
mjr4077au
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 97
All good! I edited my reply because that attachment was stupidly huge :P

I'd be interested on more feedback as to whether I should roll back to the old RemoveGrain package and masktools-2.5 to process the video as YUY2.

In this post here on another thread of mine, Reel.Deel mentioned QTGMC requires modification to work in YV16. I'd also be interested in knowing more about that too.


Cheers,
Mitch.
mjr4077au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2016, 05:32   #74  |  Link
fvisagie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 588
[QUOTE=mjr4077au;1753495]
Code:
AVISource("roadtrains.avi", audio=false).AssumeFPS(25,1).AssumeTFF()
crop(18, 8, -14, -16)
ColorMatrix(interlaced=true, mode="Rec.601->Rec.709")
ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true, matrix="Rec709", chromaresample="Blackman")
QTGMC(Preset="Placebo", TR2=2, EdiMode="EEDI3+NNEDI3", NoisePreset="Slower", ChromaNoise=True)
nnedi3_rpow2(rfactor=2, pscrn=4, fapprox=0, cshift="BlackmanResize", fwidth=960, fheight=720, ep0=7)
AddBorders(160,0,160,0)
Unrelated, but if you're working with interlaced source (which seems to be the case from your other posts) it should be a better idea to crop after deinterlacing.
fvisagie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2016, 06:13   #75  |  Link
mjr4077au
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 97
[QUOTE=fvisagie;1753695]
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjr4077au View Post
Code:
AVISource("roadtrains.avi", audio=false).AssumeFPS(25,1).AssumeTFF()
crop(18, 8, -14, -16)
ColorMatrix(interlaced=true, mode="Rec.601->Rec.709")
ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true, matrix="Rec709", chromaresample="Blackman")
QTGMC(Preset="Placebo", TR2=2, EdiMode="EEDI3+NNEDI3", NoisePreset="Slower", ChromaNoise=True)
nnedi3_rpow2(rfactor=2, pscrn=4, fapprox=0, cshift="BlackmanResize", fwidth=960, fheight=720, ep0=7)
AddBorders(160,0,160,0)
Unrelated, but if you're working with interlaced source (which seems to be the case from your other posts) it should be a better idea to crop after deinterlacing.
Hi fvisagie,

I cropped first due to the head switching noise. I was worried it'd affect the motion compensation in QTGMC. As I'm only cropping, not resizing, there should only be positives, right?


Cheers,
Mitch.
mjr4077au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2016, 10:40   #76  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,718
As you seem to crop vertically in mod-2 (YUY2), there should be no issues (and it's also recommended if there's only garbage there). Horizontal cropping shouldn't matter as long as you follow the basic rules which depend on the colorspace.

I'd move ColorMatrix after the deinterlacing part, but that's just a matter of taste.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2016, 10:49   #77  |  Link
mjr4077au
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
As you seem to crop vertically in mod-2 (YUY2), there should be no issues (and it's also recommended if there's only garbage there). Horizontal cropping shouldn't matter as long as you follow the basic rules which depend on the colorspace.

I'd move ColorMatrix after the deinterlacing part, but that's just a matter of taste.
I thought about it, it but isn't it better to convert to Rec709 prior to converting from YUY2 to YV12?
mjr4077au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2016, 10:59   #78  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,718
It shouldn't matter, the motion estimation procedure etc. is the same anyway.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2016, 04:53   #79  |  Link
fvisagie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Isle of Man
Posts: 588
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjr4077au View Post
I cropped first due to the head switching noise. I was worried it'd affect the motion compensation in QTGMC. As I'm only cropping, not resizing, there should only be positives, right?
You're right, I spoke too soon. Looking back, that's exactly the approach I'd been following with interlaced SD DV. Sorry for the red herring .

Cheers,
Francois
fvisagie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2016, 05:41   #80  |  Link
real.finder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mesopotamia
Posts: 2,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjr4077au View Post
Hi Music Fan,

The captures are YUY2. Because I'm using RgTools instead of the older RemoveGrain tools and cannot use YV16 properly with QTGMC, I've opted to do it at that stage. Systematically, it seems better than going through all the Interleaved2Planar and Planar2Interleaved stages. It also seems hackish using older DLL files for AviSynth 2.5 for MaskTools to work with YUY2 in AviSynth 2.6.


Cheers,
Mitch.
use this http://forum.doom9.org/attachment.ph...4&d=1445557480 it will work with YUY2 in avs 2.6 with new MaskTools and even RgTools
__________________
See My Avisynth Stuff
real.finder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.