Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th August 2010, 04:29   #8361  |  Link
dragon_warrior
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 123
@Atak : Thank you
dragon_warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2010, 22:01   #8362  |  Link
glen8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 178
Can someone please tell me if the fps on mpeg2 blu-rays is slightly slower than vc1?

Usually I get a constant 30fps, Now and again up to 45 but with mpeg2 it's a solid 25

Just wondering, thanks

Oh, also I stupidly encoded the same movie twice by mistake and the file sizes were very very slightly different. Only a few k but thought it was strange. Any thoughts?
glen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2010, 02:09   #8363  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
it's not going to encode exactly the same every time. being a bit different is 100% normal
all blurays (main movies) are 24fps (excluding a few 25fps things like BBC life and etc)
encoding fps depends on a lot more things than mpeg2 vs vc1 (and don't forget avc/mpeg4).
such as AR, resolution, and then some things in the movie itself. a lot of fast movements / changes will take longer. whereas a slower really dark movie should go faster
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2010, 03:47   #8364  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
hey Atak (or anyone else who might know) if I want to encode something over 25000kbps do I need to modify the profile?
I just noticed my last encode missed the target size by about 1.5GB. but I had set the bitrate to 27000 with the default 4.0 profile
it seems I should change the level to at least 4.1 and the max bitrate to 30000 or however high is necessary, is that correct?
should the buffer be changed to coincide with the max bitrate?
and lastly....having these settings as such (4.1 25000) shouldn't have any negative impact on lower bitrate encodes should they?
like if I use the same profile to encode a bd9
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2010, 04:52   #8365  |  Link
prettyboy85712
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacaveli211 View Post
hey Atak (or anyone else who might know) if I want to encode something over 25000kbps do I need to modify the profile?
I just noticed my last encode missed the target size by about 1.5GB. but I had set the bitrate to 27000 with the default 4.0 profile
it seems I should change the level to at least 4.1 and the max bitrate to 30000 or however high is necessary, is that correct?
should the buffer be changed to coincide with the max bitrate?
and lastly....having these settings as such (4.1 25000) shouldn't have any negative impact on lower bitrate encodes should they?
like if I use the same profile to encode a bd9
4.0 is limited to 25000. Anything higher requires you to switch to 4.1.
prettyboy85712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2010, 05:04   #8366  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
yup, have answers to any of my other questions there? =)
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2010, 20:34   #8367  |  Link
MaistroX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wonderland
Posts: 159
Hi!

In the Movie Robots from 2005 I try to get the hole movie but cant seem to get the end with the after texts to be included!

I choose the appropriate mpls, in this case 00850.
mpls and choose the first angle. (tried both)

RipBot does what it should but the movie is missing the aftertexts that are aprox. 6min., what do I do ?

In the mpls i use it uses files:
00818.m2ts+00834.m2ts+00835.m2ts
, but the last part (aftertexts) is in 00821.m2ts!

How do I get the hole movie to be demuxed as one so I can encode the complete movie!

PLEASE HELP!

Last edited by MaistroX; 18th August 2010 at 23:19.
MaistroX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2010, 22:33   #8368  |  Link
Zorro70
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 39
Can you add the correct mpls in ts muxer as you would in ripbot, then ADD the extra 00821.m2ts file and see if it will remux into a blu ray so you can ripbot it????

its just a guess, its one film i havent downloaded so cant try it myself
Zorro70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 02:03   #8369  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
if you're choosing a playlist that doesn't include the m2ts with the credits you should check the other playlists, you're probably using the wrong one
use BDinfo
or simply add it with tsmuxer as zorro70 suggested
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 02:37   #8370  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,528
I get a avs2yuv crash when I try to load DGDecNV avs file ever since it dropped CUVIDServer.
rack04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 11:18   #8371  |  Link
MaistroX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wonderland
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaistroX View Post
Hi!

In the Movie Robots from 2005 I try to get the hole movie but cant seem to get the end with the after texts to be included!

I choose the appropriate mpls, in this case 00850.
mpls and choose the first angle. (tried both)

RipBot does what it should but the movie is missing the aftertexts that are aprox. 6min., what do I do ?

In the mpls i use it uses files:
00818.m2ts+00834.m2ts+00835.m2ts
, but the last part (aftertexts) is in 00821.m2ts!

How do I get the hole movie to be demuxed as one so I can encode the complete movie!

PLEASE HELP!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorro70 View Post
Can you add the correct mpls in ts muxer as you would in ripbot, then ADD the extra 00821.m2ts file and see if it will remux into a blu ray so you can ripbot it????

its just a guess, its one film i havent downloaded so cant try it myself
Tryed it, and it does not help, the end resoult is with out the endcredits anyway!


Quote:
Originally Posted by pacaveli211 View Post
if you're choosing a playlist that doesn't include the m2ts with the credits you should check the other playlists, you're probably using the wrong one
use BDinfo
or simply add it with tsmuxer as zorro70 suggested
Tryed to find a playlist WITH the credits, but does not exist from what I can see, this is a major mystery for me.

IS there anyway to tro to manually force together the separate files into one movie file, allready tryed all diffrent ways with TSmuxer, and nothing works, either crash at the end (usually with error msg:
"Reading buffer overflow. Possible container streams are not syncronized. Please, verify stream fps. File name: M:\BDMV\STREAM\00818.m2ts"
or ends...without the credits in the final output ? :/
BDinfo dont show me anything that can help me solve this issue.

Last edited by MaistroX; 19th August 2010 at 11:38.
MaistroX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 17:06   #8372  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
zip your playlist folder for me and upload it (to mediafire). I'll see if I can find anything that you may have missed
also does tsmuxer by chance seem to give that error for any certain stream? or just as a general error?
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 17:40   #8373  |  Link
MaistroX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wonderland
Posts: 159
Here´s the link to Robots playlist -> http://www.mediafire.com/?7gkk4t1bfgi2d2k

Only reason that is given is -> "Reading buffer overflow. Possible container streams are not syncronized. Please, verify stream fps. File name: M:\BDMV\STREAM\00818.m2ts"
When I try to join thoose 4 files.
The movie complete should be Aprox. 90 Mins.

Last edited by MaistroX; 19th August 2010 at 17:42.
MaistroX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 17:48   #8374  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
damn, I need the clipinf folder too
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 18:27   #8375  |  Link
MaistroX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wonderland
Posts: 159
Here´s the clipinfo dir -> http://www.mediafire.com/?z917p6p584sy63p
MaistroX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 18:52   #8376  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
bdinfo reads problems with 00334.mpls, 00800.mpls and 00850.mpls
you might want to try pulling the playlist folder and Clipinf folder off the bluray again

I dunno if that's the actual issue....but if the main playlist is truly corrupt it might've dumped some of the data out
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 19:07   #8377  |  Link
MaistroX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wonderland
Posts: 159
This is straight from the original BD -> http://www.mediafire.com/?wzbuarek2s7zcdf

MaistroX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 19:07   #8378  |  Link
stryker412
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 144
I have a question that does not pertain to any particular version of RipBot. I'm just curious (in basic terms) how RipBot determines the bitrates for mkv's? I just ripped a few episodes of "Generation Kill" from BD which are 1hr in length. Using CQ18 I ended up with file sizes around 4GB per episode in 720p. I just tried to do "Book of Eli" which is a 2hr movie and I end up with a file size of 2GB (also in 720p). The bitrate for Eli is only 2.5MB while Generation Kill is 5MBs. I'm just trying to understand how this works.
stryker412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 20:28   #8379  |  Link
Remicade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Romania
Posts: 98
After i install latest Haali every video (mkv, avi) stuck at "Please wait...Gathering information". Do you encounter such problem ? Should I reinstall Windows ?
Remicade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2010, 04:30   #8380  |  Link
pacaveli211
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaistroX View Post
This is straight from the original BD -> http://www.mediafire.com/?wzbuarek2s7zcdf

I still get the same error, so I dunno man.
maybe try dropping some of the audio / subtitle tracks and see if it gets rid of the buffer overflow error or try demuxing them first. also check to make sure the framerates are the same on all the m2ts files

Quote:
Originally Posted by stryker412 View Post
I have a question that does not pertain to any particular version of RipBot. I'm just curious (in basic terms) how RipBot determines the bitrates for mkv's? I just ripped a few episodes of "Generation Kill" from BD which are 1hr in length. Using CQ18 I ended up with file sizes around 4GB per episode in 720p. I just tried to do "Book of Eli" which is a 2hr movie and I end up with a file size of 2GB (also in 720p). The bitrate for Eli is only 2.5MB while Generation Kill is 5MBs. I'm just trying to understand how this works.
some movies require a higher bitrate to retain the same quality, while other movies can maintain the same quality with a much lower bitrate. lots of things will factor into this. the colors in the movie, how much action there is, etc. animated movies can be dropped A LOT and still look fine due to how the colors are.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remicade View Post
After i install latest Haali every video (mkv, avi) stuck at "Please wait...Gathering information". Do you encounter such problem ? Should I reinstall Windows ?
lol....maybe try uninstalling and reinstalling a couple times or something (haali and ffdshow)? is that the first thing you do when you have an issue, reformat? lol
pacaveli211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
264, 265, appletv, avchd, bluray, gui, iphone, ipod, ps3, psp, ripbot264, x264 2-pass, x264 gui, x264_64, x265, xbox360

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.