Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > (HD) DVD & Blu-ray authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th January 2019, 15:03   #8001  |  Link
mariner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 556
Dean's masterpiece is known to be highly temperamental. It would give certain brand like Panasonic a hard time.
Perhaps Xbox is one on those.
mariner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2019, 16:03   #8002  |  Link
Avalokitesvara
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariner View Post
Dean's masterpiece is known to be highly temperamental. It would give certain brand like Panasonic a hard time.
Perhaps Xbox is one on those.
Thank you Mariner. Exact! That's why I was wondering if re-setting the menu commands from the BDEdit software was possible, and if that would change anything. If yes, how ? BDEdit is very complete but also very complex... I get lost. Hence my request for help on this forum ^^ I know, I should probably ask the question on the forum of this software >.<
Avalokitesvara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2019, 06:03   #8003  |  Link
mariner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 556
A guide may have been posted some time ago, but I've been searching for it in vain. In the end, getting something to play non-compliant discs is easier than finding a pelican.
Hope you have better luck.
mariner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2019, 05:11   #8004  |  Link
WSC4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 27
Just need to know if this program does "no" re-encoding of the video if you set an option.

In the Transcode window, you can set "Do Not Transcode". Just wondering if it means do not re-encode?

In the log file it states this:

--------------------------------------------------
Detected frame reference count: 2 (max:4).
Detected video: ID#1:V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC 1920x1080, fps=25.000, ref=2

Decoding H264 stream (track 1): Profile: High@4.0 Resolution: 1920:1080p Frame rate: 25
H.264 stream does not contain fps field. Muxing fps=25
H264 bitstream changed: insert nal unit delimiters
H264 bitstream changed: insert pict timing and buffering period SEI units
H264 bitstream changed: insert SPS/PPS units
---------------------------------------------------

In the video, there is a bitstream change inserting nal unit, pict timing and SPS/PPS units. Is it re-encoding?

V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC, "C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\My Videos\AVCHD_Tests\Nutbush_1920_new.mkv", insertSEI, contSPS, track=1, lang=eng, fps=25.000

I notice a new video created with a Matroska file extension, and I guess it's a temp file as it does not exist.

The original video from MediaInfo:

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4
Format settings : CABAC / 2 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, RefFrames : 2 frames
Format settings, GOP : M=3, N=13
Codec ID : avc1
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
Duration : 3 min 10 s
Bit rate : 16.1 Mb/s
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 25.000 FPS
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.311
Stream size : 366 MiB (98%)

MediaInfo from the BDMV folder, 00000.m2ts video created:

Video
ID : 4113 (0x1011)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4
Format settings : CABAC / 2 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, RefFrames : 2 frames
Format settings, GOP : M=3, N=13
Codec ID : 27
Duration : 3 min 10 s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 16.2 Mb/s
Maximum bit rate : 40.0 Mb/s

Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Variable
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Stream size : 369 MiB (94%)

The bit rate mode is now variable, changed to 16.2 Mb\s up to a maximum of 40 Mb\s. Frame rate changed from constant to variable. Has it changed to 50 fps? Stream size has changed from 366 MiB to 369 MiB.

Does all this mean the video has been re-encoded?

Last edited by WSC4; 27th February 2019 at 00:11. Reason: Ad colour as high-lighting
WSC4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2019, 18:19   #8005  |  Link
Taurus
Registered User
 
Taurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Krautland
Posts: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by WSC4 View Post
Just need to know if this program does "no" re-encoding of the video if you set an option.
You should really read the readme's which come along with this program and it's dependencies.
And Yes, no encoding, just repacking into m2ts container.
M2ts has more overhead compared to mkv/mp4/etc, that's why
the filesize is always quite a bit bigger.
And the inserted commands like "nal unit delimiters, pict timing and buffering period SEI units, SPS/PPS units, pict_struct, etc.
are for BluRay/AVCHD compatibilty reasons only.
So dont worry be happy.
Have not touched multiAVCHD for ages, but this should be like
I'd remember it.
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2019, 00:46   #8006  |  Link
WSC4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 27
Thank you, thank you for your knowledge on this.

There are no Readme,s, manuals which are packed with the program. I only found this: http://multiavchd.deanbg.com/tutorial.php I did read it and I'm still reading. I found you have to experiment with the settings by burning to DVD to see the results, and I think at last I have found what I need.

I found a lot of answers and help by searching this thread.

Last edited by WSC4; 27th February 2019 at 00:07. Reason: spelling
WSC4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2019, 17:09   #8007  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,670
To avoid that MediaInfo considers the new file as VFR instead of CFR, try first to mux the mkv into ts with Tsmuxer (or ffmpeg) before opening it in multiAVCHD.
In Tsmuxer, in video options, select "Do not change SEI ... " instead of "Insert SEI ... " which may cause problems.

Last edited by Music Fan; 26th February 2019 at 17:14.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2019, 06:24   #8008  |  Link
WSC4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 27
It is not an MKV video file, it is an MP4.

The only tsmuxer I have is in the program's Tools directory. It is command line, too old and did not work. I used FFmpeg, but could not find any settings to not change SEI.

Anyway, I found the setting in MultiAVCHD under Insert enhancement information. Checking this off made no difference and the frame rate is still variable.
WSC4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2019, 08:33   #8009  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,670
That's why I said that you should try it before opening it in multiAVCHD. Because multiAVCHD uses an old Tsmuxer version.
Try the latest version ;
https://www.videohelp.com/software/tsMuxeR

With ffmpeg, there is no setting to change, it keeps SEI by default.
The command looks like this ;
ffmpeg.exe -i "input file.mp4" -c copy "output file.ts"
The container is simply specified by the extension.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2019, 19:25   #8010  |  Link
hardkid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Hi, everybody.
When I put music on the menu background, it starts playing over from the beginning each time a select the next title while navigating. Anybody knows how to make it play continuosly during navigation between titles? Thanx.
hardkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2019, 18:52   #8011  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardkid View Post
When I put music on the menu background, it starts playing over from the beginning each time a select the next title while navigating. Anybody knows how to make it play continuosly during navigation between titles?
I don't think it's possible with MultiAVCHD.
To my (limited) knowledge this can only be achieved with java programming.
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2019, 13:37   #8012  |  Link
neil wilkes
Registered User
 
neil wilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardkid View Post
Hi, everybody.
When I put music on the menu background, it starts playing over from the beginning each time a select the next title while navigating. Anybody knows how to make it play continuosly during navigation between titles? Thanx.
I'm not 100% sure I am properly understanding what you are trying to do so let's make some assumptions & try to cover all options.

Firstly, are we talking about DVD-Video, DVD-Audio or Blu-ray here?
If in DVD-Video then you cannot do this at all - period. In DVD Menus, the audio is tied to the video background, be it a motion menu or a static menu. This cannot be worked around at all - change the graphic, and the audio must change with it.

If in DVD-Audio then things are reversed and the graphic can be tied to the audio in such a way that it is quite simple to change the graphic without interrupting the audio. It does require a full-spec DVD-Audio capable authoring system though.

If we are in Blu-ray things are a little more complex, but again what you must bear in mind is that everything is a video - even the menu systems. Again, the visual element is the dominant one and the audio is tied to it.
There are possible options available though. If you use BD-J, you can set up a dynamic menu system similar to the attached example. How this works is that as you scroll down the playlists available on the disc (the left-hand side) the tracklist for each playlist (the right-hand side) is automatically changed. To access individual tracks you simply use right arrow and a new button appears at thee top of the tracklist section.
This cannot be done in DVD at all & I do not know if it can be done using the IG (Interactive Graphics) method of authoring - I suspect that you would run into graphics buffer problems (the limit is 16Mb across all menus) even if it were possible.
Authoring in BD-J is not a simple matter so lots of luck if you want to give it a try - you have to use a certain type of Java or else you run into compatibility issues. Whilst this is the method we use, I do not do the BD-J code writing so cannot be much more help than this.
Attached Images
 
__________________
www.opusproductions.com
Multichannel Audio Productions
DVD-Audio/Video Authoring specialists
neil wilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2019, 07:36   #8013  |  Link
hardkid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
neil wilkes, Ghitulescu - thanks for your replies.
hardkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2019, 09:00   #8014  |  Link
neil wilkes
Registered User
 
neil wilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 145
You are welcome.
It can be a real bugger finding info these days, and this forum is one of the best resources out there - I have had so much help from people here.
__________________
www.opusproductions.com
Multichannel Audio Productions
DVD-Audio/Video Authoring specialists
neil wilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avchd, blu-ray hd-dvd, mkv, multiavchd, re-author

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.