Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th February 2015, 13:08   #12981  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCRaistlin View Post
tebasuna51, using libav leads to another issue, doesn't it?
What is the problem?

Of course there are very light differences between decoders but jruggle (ffmpeg developer in AC3 area) minimize the problem.
eac3to uses libav to decode AC3 to 64 bits float (the best resolution), and libav was actualized in eac3to v3.27 (the test was made with 3.24).
I'm trust in the AC3 expert (jruggle) about that.

BTW, if you prefer use a class "A" free decoder liba52 you can use BeHappy with NicAudio to decode AC3.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 15th February 2015 at 13:10.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2015, 13:33   #12982  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0lZ View Post
Another question about the Arcsoft DTS decoder....is it useful only for the recent 7.1 evolutions?
libav can't decode DTS-HD, only the 'core' is decoded, then can't be used to obtain 7.1 output and lose info from DTS-HR or DTS-MA (lossless).

Quote:
... Is it better to use it when decoding "regular" 5.1 DTS tracks?... AFAIK, a decoder that is able to decode a specific format (without bugs) should give exactly the same result than another decoder, and therefore there is no advantage to use the slow Arcsoft decoder when decoding a DTS tracks that the libav decoder can also decode properly. Am I right?
Lossy decoders not always output exactly the same result.
There are light differences (like with AC3 in precedents posts).
ArcSoft is a "certified" decoder, libav a free decoder.
It's your choice.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2015, 16:45   #12983  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,376
OK, thanks for the information.
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2015, 17:12   #12984  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,178
got an error message:

Code:
X:\file.m2ts>eac3to 1) 2: X:\file.mkv
M2TS, 1 video track, 11 audio tracks, 10 subtitle tracks, 1:48:42, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 37 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
...
v02 Extracting video track number 2...
v02 The h264 muxer doesn't support this stream type yet.
v02 Please send a 20MB sample to dear@madshi.net
v02 Muxing video to Matroska...
Aborted at file position 1048576.
sample can be found here https://www.sendspace.com/file/f7n75i (its a file from 2013)
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2015, 17:11   #12985  |  Link
bmcelvan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 39
I am having a problem trying trying to decode a TrueHD to anything, wavs, w64, wav or flac. I get the following log:

bitstream parsing for track 2 failed
demuxing this track may still produce correct results - or not.
This audio conversion is not supported.

The eac3to info says:
2: TrueHD, English, 7.1 channels, 48KHz

The mediainfo says:
Audio #1
ID : 2
Format : TrueHD
Codec ID : A_TRUEHD
Duration : 2h 2mn
Bit rate mode : Variable
Maximum bit rate : 7 719 Kbps
Channel(s) : 8 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, Back: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode : Lossless
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No

I have demuxed using mkvtoolnix and changed the extension to .ac3, .thd+ac3 and .truehd and when I try to look at it with eac3to it just says The format of the source file could not be detected.

tsmuxer won't recognize it and vidcoder (handbrake) doesn't even acknowledge it is there.

Could this be some new form of protection from Dolby. Do I need to update a codec or something.

Could it by Dolby atmos - is there a decoder for that?

Last edited by bmcelvan; 25th February 2015 at 17:31.
bmcelvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2015, 18:09   #12986  |  Link
bmcelvan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 39
*Edit: My apologies, due to bad searching I didn't find the posts about using ffmpeg.

Is there a way to determine if the above track I was talking about is Dolby Atmos. Is that what the A in A_TrueHD stands for? If Yes, then:

I just want to be certain. If I have an .mkv file or a Bluray folder with a 5.1 or 7.1 TrueHD (atmos) track and use the following command, it will output the lossless TrueHD extracted audio in a flac file with proper channel mapping?

ffmpeg -i "my file or folder" -map 0:1 "extracted_audio.flac"

Last edited by bmcelvan; 25th February 2015 at 18:15.
bmcelvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2015, 18:29   #12987  |  Link
ndjamena
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 366
(The "A" is for audio)
ndjamena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2015, 03:16   #12988  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 939
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcelvan View Post
Is there a way to determine if the above track I was talking about is Dolby Atmos.
The case of the movie should tell you if it has Dolby Atmos.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2015, 10:08   #12989  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcelvan View Post
...
ffmpeg -i "my file or folder" -map 0:1 "extracted_audio.flac"
That must work for the second track of a input file (tested .m2ts or .mkv).
I don't know what happens with a folder input.

For questions about ffmpeg syntax please use this thread:
ffmpeg syntax
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2015, 01:26   #12990  |  Link
eddman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 77
I tried replacing the avcodec-54.dll and avutil-52.dll files with newer versions from the latest version of Zeranoe FFmpeg, but eac3to gives me an error that the dll is missing.

What am I doing wrong?

As a side question; is there any other tool/method for converting DTS or dolby audio besides eac3to?
eddman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2015, 09:05   #12991  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,204
You can certainly convert DVD Video compatible dts or Dolby Digital audio with other tools, like BeHappy or MeGUI, maybe TEncoder. HD audio from Blu-rays is probably not widely supported though.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2015, 12:00   #12992  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddman View Post
I tried replacing the avcodec-54.dll and avutil-52.dll files with newer versions from the latest version of Zeranoe FFmpeg, but eac3to gives me an error that the dll is missing.

What am I doing wrong?
The dll's for eac3to aren't the standard dll's, must be compiled for eac3to by madshi.

Quote:
As a side question; is there any other tool/method for converting DTS or dolby audio besides eac3to?
The answer is in your first question: ffmpeg

Try TAudioConverter (ffmpeg)
Or AviSynth based BeHappy/MeGUI like LigH say.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2015, 14:02   #12993  |  Link
shh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 96
Bug? DTS-MA 1.0ch (mono!) -> WAV/FLAC broken

Hello!
Config:
Code:
C:\TMP>C:\eac3to\eac3to.exe -test
eac3to (v3.27) is up to date
Nero Audio Decoder (Nero 6 or older) doesn't seem to be installed
...
ArcSoft DTS Decoder (1.1.0.8) works fine
Sonic Audio Decoder (3.27.0.0) doesn't seem to be installed
I got some problems with a DTS-HD MA Mono file:
10MB snippet: http://www.file-upload.net/download-...est.dtsma.html
Code:
C:\TMP>C:\eac3to\eac3to.exe test.dtsma
DTS Master Audio, 1.0 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS, 1.0 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz)
Transcoding to WAV / FLAC / ... results in a sped up audio file.
Only way to handle this is extracting the DTS-core and convert the DTS afterwords.
However, MPC-HC is able to play the original .dtsma file. So the ArcSoft DTS Decoder does work for this file?
Any hints on what to do?
__________________
shh
shh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2015, 15:18   #12994  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,719
You should maybe try ArcSoft DTS Decoder v1.1.0.0 instead of 1.1.0.8 for this file.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2015, 22:43   #12995  |  Link
shh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 96
v1.1.0.0 workend.
Thanks a lot!
__________________
shh
shh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2015, 20:59   #12996  |  Link
73ChargerFan
Registered User
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by dade49 View Post
This is much simpler. Extract the TrueHD Atmos stream to a multi-channel wav via ffmpeg, and then run that wav through eac3to to dts or whatever.
Code:
ffmpeg -i 00000.m2ts -map 0:1 extract.wav
eac3to extract.wav extract.dts
Madshi, any ETA when you'll be able update to discard the Atmos extensions? I'm finding it in more and more BDs.

Thanks.
73ChargerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2015, 16:18   #12997  |  Link
Batman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 44
Guys
I'm trying to slow down an audio from 25.000 FPS to 23.976 FPS through ea3to
I put this code into cmd
Quote:
C:\eac3to\ea3to.exe "D:\MeGUI 2418\MeGUI output\AVSEQ02 Tc0 L2 2ch 48 224 DELAY 0ms.mp3" "101 D.mp3" -changeTo23.976
But I'm getting this error :


Please tell me what mistake I'm making or what I'm missing

Thank you ......
Batman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2015, 16:24   #12998  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,204
ea>c<3to.exe
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2015, 16:25   #12999  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,376
Try:
eac3to.exe "D:\MeGUI 2418\MeGUI output\AVSEQ02 Tc0 L2 2ch 48 224 DELAY 0ms.mp3" "101 D.mp3" -slowdown
Quote:
Originally Posted by eac3to v3.27 doc
-slowdown convert 25.000 and 24.000 content to 23.976 fps
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV

Last edited by r0lZ; 1st March 2015 at 16:27.
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2015, 16:55   #13000  |  Link
xxx666yyy777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batman007 View Post
Guys
I'm trying to slow down an audio from 25.000 FPS to 23.976 FPS through ea3to
I put this code into cmd


But I'm getting this error :


Please tell me what mistake I'm making or what I'm missing

Thank you ......
BTW - you can usually use the "Tab" button to auto-complete directories and filenames in the MS-DOS window...
xxx666yyy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.