Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th April 2014, 20:14   #20101  |  Link
Yordan5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 74
Tried a 2D back up using FRIM. With QuickSync the framerate hovered around 200 fps however, when playing the resulting backup the movie picture kept twiching every few seconds throughout the movie. I had similar results with 3D back up using QuickSync (InMux enabled) - the back up was heavily pixelated.

[04/24/14] BD Rebuilder v0.47.05 (beta)
[19:37:21] Source: HUNGER_GAMES_2_CATCHING_FIRE_00000
- Input BD size: 20.16 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:27:31.808]
- Target BD size: 4.36 GB
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: Highest (Very Slow), ABR
- Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
- Audio Settings: AC3=1 DTS=1 HD=0 Kbs=448
- Resuming from previously started job.
[19:37:26] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [19:37:26] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- [19:37:26] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 212,231 frames
- Bitrate: 3,408 Kbs
- Using FRIMEncoder for AVC encoding
- [19:37:26] Reencoding: VID_00000, Pass 1 of 1
- [19:59:24] Video Encode complete
- [19:59:24] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Reencoding audio to AC3...
[20:00:29]PHASE ONE complete
[20:00:29]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [20:00:29] Rebuilding AVCHD file Structure
[20:01:40] - Encode and Rebuild complete
[20:01:40] JOB: HUNGER_GAMES_2_CATCHING_FIRE finished.

[Status]
LABEL=HUNGER_GAMES_2_CATCHING_FIRE
VERSION=v0.47.05 (beta)
SOURCE_SIZE=21650927616
SOURCE_VIDEO_SIZE=21650927616
TARGET_SIZE=4686086144
REDUCTION=.216438123442664
RESIZE_1080=0
RESIZE_1440=0
AUDIO_TO_KEEP=eng;
KEEP_HD_AUDIO=0
SUBS_TO_KEEP=all
BACKUP_MODE=1
MOVIEONLY_TYPE=0
USE_LAVF=0
INSTANCES=1
DGDECNV=0
DGDECIM=0
FRIMSOURCE=0
SSIF_MODE=0
QUICK=0
ENCODE_STEP=0
REBUILD_COMPLETE=1
COMPLETED=1
[00000]
AUDIO=1
PGS=1
APULLDOWN=0
S1440=0
VIDEO2=0
V2MBRATE=0
M2TS_TARGET=4686086144
RATE=3408
NSIZE=0
FLINK=0
MLINK=0

Last edited by Yordan5; 24th April 2014 at 21:28.
Yordan5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2014, 20:28   #20102  |  Link
Hajnal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 26
- Input BD size: 20.16 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:27:31.808]
- Target BD size: 4.36 GB

- Bitrate: 3,408 Kbs


wtf.....
Hajnal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2014, 20:32   #20103  |  Link
Yordan5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 74
I wanted to see what quality I can expect from FRIM when pushed. It was good, may be not on par with x264 but still very good.
Yordan5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2014, 21:21   #20104  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hajnal View Post
- Input BD size: 20.16 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:27:31.808]
- Target BD size: 4.36 GB

- Bitrate: 3,408 Kbs


wtf.....
wtf indeed. Where's the rest of the log.

And you do know that you're shrinking a 20GB of data onto a format that can only hold 4.36GB right. In order to achieve that, bdrb has to shrink to a format 5x less the original size. So the bitrate has decrease immensely
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2014, 21:25   #20105  |  Link
Yordan5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 74
I've shrank 39Gb movies to 4.36Gb using BD-RB (x264) with very good results so nothing unsusual here. Wanted to put FRIM to the same test.
Yordan5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2014, 22:33   #20106  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yordan5 View Post
I've shrank 39Gb movies to 4.36Gb using BD-RB (x264) with very good results so nothing unsusual here. Wanted to put FRIM to the same test.
I think that's fair. I've done movies in that size range to BD-5 before using X264. They're not comparable to the quality you'd get on a BD-25, but they're pretty good. The notable thing is that, once again, the HW mode creates a mess.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 24th April 2014 at 22:35.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2014, 08:16   #20107  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 861
Cloud Atlas Subtitle/Chapters Bug?

Code:
[04/24/14] BD Rebuilder v0.46.14 (beta)
[21:55:20] Source:  CLOUD_ATLAS_00100
  - Input BD size: 34.67 GB
  - Approximate total content: [02:51:57.432]
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - MOVIE-ONLY/ALTERNATE OUTPUT mode enabled
  - Mode: MKV, Intact Video, DTS2AC3 or Keep AC3
  - Decoding/Frame serving: DGDecNV [4-way]
  - Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[21:55:22] PHASE ONE, Encoding
 - [21:55:22] Processing: VID_00057 (1 of 2)
 - [21:55:22] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00057]
 - [22:02:47] Reencoding video [VID_00057]
 - [22:02:47] Keeping original video (no reencode)
 - [22:02:47] Processing audio tracks
   - Track 4352 (eng): Reencoding audio to AC3...
 - [22:06:48] Processing: VID_00058 (2 of 2)
 - [22:06:48] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00058]
 - [22:07:13] Reencoding video [VID_00058]
 - [22:07:13] Keeping original video (no reencode)
[22:07:13]PHASE ONE complete
[22:07:13]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
 - [22:07:13] Building ALTERNATE OUTPUT Structure
[22:41:57] - Encode and Rebuild complete
[22:41:57] JOB: CLOUD_ATLAS finished.
The resulting file shows 18 chapters, and the markers for the chapters end in the middle of VLC's seek bar, or any other software players seek area. Because the movie's length is showing as 5 hours plus. My HDTV as well as LG player..same. If I remove the English PGC with MKVMergeGUI the chapters show correctly all across whatever players Seek bar; LG player or Windows, Mac. Meaning, 2h 51m 57s vs 5h34m32s. Looks like a bug?

Noticing a SUP has a 0 size might have something to do with it?

Code:
04/24/2014  10:41 PM    <DIR>          .
04/24/2014  10:41 PM    <DIR>          ..
04/24/2014  10:02 PM    27,109,525,867 00057.track_4113.264
04/24/2014  10:02 PM     1,946,125,176 00057.track_4352.dts
04/24/2014  10:02 PM        41,571,513 00057.track_4608.sup
04/24/2014  10:02 PM        31,296,814 00057.track_4609.sup
04/24/2014  10:02 PM        37,301,387 00057.track_4610.sup
04/24/2014  10:07 PM     1,235,212,226 00058.track_4113.264
04/24/2014  10:07 PM                 0 00058.track_4608.sup
04/24/2014  09:55 PM               614 AUD_00057.meta
04/24/2014  10:06 PM       825,395,200 AUD_00057_4352.AC3
04/24/2014  10:02 PM               291 AUD_00057_4352.AVS
04/24/2014  10:06 PM               196 AUD_00058.meta
04/24/2014  10:23 PM               936 mChapters.chp
04/24/2014  10:07 PM               243 MUX_MOVIE_ONLY.meta
04/24/2014  10:02 PM               232 VID_00057.AVS
04/24/2014  10:02 PM               197 VID_00057.CHP
04/24/2014  10:01 PM         5,278,154 VID_00057.DGI
04/24/2014  10:07 PM               232 VID_00058.AVS
04/24/2014  10:07 PM                22 VID_00058.CHP
04/24/2014  10:07 PM           288,860 VID_00058.DGI
Update: I had BD-RB make another MKV output, leaving all the Subtitles enabled (English, French, Spanish) and singles for all.

Code:
04/24/2014  10:02 PM    27,109,525,867 00057.track_4113.264
04/24/2014  10:02 PM     1,946,125,176 00057.track_4352.dts
04/24/2014  10:02 PM        41,571,513 00057.track_4608.sup
04/24/2014  10:02 PM        31,296,814 00057.track_4609.sup
04/24/2014  10:02 PM        37,301,387 00057.track_4610.sup
04/24/2014  10:07 PM     1,235,212,226 00058.track_4113.264
04/24/2014  10:07 PM                 0 00058.track_4608.sup
04/24/2014  09:55 PM               614 AUD_00057.meta
04/24/2014  10:06 PM       825,395,200 AUD_00057_4352.AC3
04/24/2014  10:02 PM               291 AUD_00057_4352.AVS
04/24/2014  10:06 PM               196 AUD_00058.meta
04/24/2014  10:23 PM               936 mChapters.chp
04/24/2014  10:07 PM               243 MUX_MOVIE_ONLY.meta
04/24/2014  10:02 PM               232 VID_00057.AVS
04/24/2014  10:02 PM               197 VID_00057.CHP
04/24/2014  10:01 PM         5,278,154 VID_00057.DGI
04/24/2014  10:07 PM               232 VID_00058.AVS
04/24/2014  10:07 PM                22 VID_00058.CHP
04/24/2014  10:07 PM           288,860 VID_00058.DGI
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!

Last edited by AmigaFuture; 25th April 2014 at 09:18.
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2014, 22:26   #20108  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 576
Help

Just have reencoded a source (My Monsters, inc BD - SD extra video)using 3:2 pulldown (MPEG-2, 480i, 29,97fps, 153MB) getting the following results:

- converted to 1920x1080i (upresized), CRF=20, without IVTC and deinterlacing, 84,2MB - played back fine in powerdvd and popcorn-hour

- converted to 1920x1080i (upresized), CRF=20, with IVTC enabled, 40,7MB - video played back stalling while the audio was continuous through the timeline in powerdvd and popcorn-hour

- converted to 1920x1080p (upresized), CRF=20, without IVTC, SmoothDeinterlace enabled, 42,8MB - video played back very similarly as the previous

- converted to 1920x1080p (upresized), CRF=20, with IVTC and SD_PROGRESSIVE enabled, 40,4MB - video played back very similarly as the previous 2 ones.

I am a little bit confused about the similar "stalling effect" with all the last 3 results. If someone has an idea, it would be really appreciated.

Thank you!
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2014, 00:30   #20109  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,675
What are you using for decoding? I've done hundreds of encodes from DVD to BD using iVTC, most with DGDecodeNV, and have had no problems. In fact, I just encoded 40 episodes from a series that were MPEG-2, 480i, 29.97 with iVTC today (resulting in 23.976 output).

Can you post the AVS file of the source that is causing the issue?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 26th April 2014 at 01:21.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2014, 10:06   #20110  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 861
I haven't done any testing of FIRMEncode/Decode because I thought it is for 3D only. I skipped some of the chatter because I have some 3D+2D movies, but since I don't watch anything in 3D. But, JDobbs, yours comment about 2D is intriguing. So, I'll try it with my i7 930. I've never agreed with the saying, "If it isn't broke, don't modify/fix it." Talk about a recipe for stagnation and same ol' same ol'... ;-) So, on that note...I'll report soon.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2014, 10:34   #20111  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
What are you using for decoding? I've done hundreds of encodes from DVD to BD using iVTC, most with DGDecodeNV, and have had no problems. In fact, I just encoded 40 episodes from a series that were MPEG-2, 480i, 29.97 with iVTC today (resulting in 23.976 output).

Can you post the AVS file of the source that is causing the issue?
DirectShowSource
I do not use DGdecNV because I do not have a CUDA enabled video card (AMD Firepro V4900).

Please find all the four avs files as a zip attachement from
which 3 causes very similar playback errors in all the 2 player devices I currently have. (PC with Powerdvd and Popcorn-hour C200 with it's own playback software).

I really appreciate your efforts!
Attached Files
File Type: zip Monsters, inc - VID32 avs files.zip (1.8 KB, 4 views)
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2014, 12:32   #20112  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
What are you using for decoding? I've done hundreds of encodes from DVD to BD using iVTC, most with DGDecodeNV, and have had no problems. In fact, I just encoded 40 episodes from a series that were MPEG-2, 480i, 29.97 with iVTC today (resulting in 23.976 output).

Can you post the AVS file of the source that is causing the issue?
I think the situation with 3:2 pulldown / hard telecined sources has become a kind of "standoff" for me.

DirectShowSource results = stalling video, audio OK
LAVF = cannot be used for frameserving by such sources
DGdecNV = cannot be used for frameserving because not
owning an Nvidia with CUDA video decoding support
FRIMSource = plays fine, but I will never want to use ABR in my encodes....
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2014, 13:59   #20113  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
What are you using for decoding? I've done hundreds of encodes from DVD to BD using iVTC, most with DGDecodeNV, and have had no problems. In fact, I just encoded 40 episodes from a series that were MPEG-2, 480i, 29.97 with iVTC today (resulting in 23.976 output).

Can you post the AVS file of the source that is causing the issue?
It seems that the problem solved:

DirectShowSource enabled for frame serving + set IVTC_TELECIDE=0 in the ini. file + "IVTC sources with 3:2 pulldown" checkbox selected, however the avs script (attached) says nothing about IVTC...
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2014, 14:04   #20114  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by mparade View Post
DirectShowSource
I do not use DGdecNV because I do not have a CUDA enabled video card (AMD Firepro V4900).

Please find all the four avs files as a zip attachement from
which 3 causes very similar playback errors in all the 2 player devices I currently have. (PC with Powerdvd and Popcorn-hour C200 with it's own playback software).

I really appreciate your efforts!
I looked at the AVS files you posted. The only odd thing I sees is the "no iVTC with deinterlacing" isn't doing any interlacing. I'll assume that was a mistake.

If you are getting jerky motion with these AVS files, only one of three things might be the reason. 1) The source isn't telecined; 2) The source is hybrid; 3) The players have issues.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2014, 14:08   #20115  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by mparade View Post
It seems that the problem solved:

DirectShowSource enabled for frame serving + set IVTC_TELECIDE=0 in the ini. file + "IVTC sources with 3:2 pulldown" checkbox selected, however the avs script (attached) says nothing about IVTC...
It isn't exactly doing "inverse telecining" -- but it is using DirectshowSource to convert the framerate. That makes me think even more that the source either isn't telecined or it is hybrid.

Do you have "IVTC_480i=1" set in your INI file? If so that's the issue. That should only be set when you have a hard-telecined source. It can really screw with non-telecined sources.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 26th April 2014 at 14:12.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2014, 14:53   #20116  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
It isn't exactly doing "inverse telecining" -- but it is using DirectshowSource to convert the framerate. That makes me think even more that the source either isn't telecined or it is hybrid.

Do you have "IVTC_480i=1" set in your INI file? If so that's the issue. That should only be set when you have a hard-telecined source. It can really screw with non-telecined sources.
No, I haven't set IVTC_480i, so it must be on it's default value which is 0. I am going to check the 480i source with previewing it in dgmpgdec...but as far as I remember it is
telecined and BD-RB automatically started the IVTC process on this source by selecting the IVTC checkbox in the setup dialogue.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2014, 16:36   #20117  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by mparade View Post
No, I haven't set IVTC_480i, so it must be on it's default value which is 0. I am going to check the 480i source with previewing it in dgmpgdec...but as far as I remember it is
telecined and BD-RB automatically started the IVTC process on this source by selecting the IVTC checkbox in the setup dialogue.
Please post your INI file.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2014, 19:16   #20118  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Please post your INI file.
Please find it enclosed with the info file from DGindex.

Your help is really appreciated.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ini + DGIndex source info.zip (1.4 KB, 6 views)
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2014, 23:30   #20119  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 861
FRIMEncoder is at FPS: 31.xx to 33.xx.
Code:
[04/26/14] BD Rebuilder v0.47.05 (beta)
[02:46:55] Source:  CLOUD_ATLAS_00100
  - Input BD size: 34.67 GB
  - Approximate total content: [02:51:57.432]
  - Target BD size: 23.14 GB
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
  - Quality: High-Speed Option (BD-25+), Two Pass
  - Decoding/Frame serving: FRIMSource
  - Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[02:46:58] PHASE ONE, Encoding
 - [02:46:58] Processing: VID_00057 (1 of 2)
 - [02:46:58] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00057]
 - [02:54:44] Reencoding video [VID_00057]
   - Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
   - Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 233,455 frames
   - Bitrate: 16,352 Kbs
 - [02:54:44] Reencoding: VID_00057, Pass 1 of 2
 - [02:54:44] Reencoding: VID_00057, Pass 2 of 2
 - [04:52:37] Video Encode complete
 - [04:52:37] Processing audio tracks
   - Track 4352 (eng): Keeping original audio
 - [04:52:37] Processing: VID_00058 (2 of 2)
 - [04:52:37] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00058]
 - [04:53:07] Reencoding video [VID_00058]
   - Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
   - Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 13,916 frames
   - Bitrate: 13,286 Kbs
 - [04:53:07] Reencoding: VID_00058, Pass 1 of 2
 - [04:53:07] Reencoding: VID_00058, Pass 2 of 2
 - [04:57:59] Video Encode complete
[04:57:59]PHASE ONE complete
[04:57:59]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
 - [04:57:59] Rebuilding BD file Structure
[05:10:49] - Encode and Rebuild complete
[05:10:49] JOB: CLOUD_ATLAS finished.
A Full Backup (2D) with same settings is showing same frame rates.

Next test (2D)...I've switched BD-RB to x264 Encoder. Nothing else changed. With the same parts x264 is getting ~46 FPS. This is for single pass only. More tests to do..


A side note to my previous post about "Cloud Atlas" with English PGS showing as 5+ hours long, I had BD-RB imported the MKV to create a BD. Then played the BD with PowerDVD 12 and my LG. Both showed the move as being 5+ hours. For your information. Again, only way it shows it the correct play time is without the English PGS. I'll try with French or Spanish without English, soon.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2014, 03:17   #20120  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by mparade View Post
Please find it enclosed with the info file from DGindex.

Your help is really appreciated.
You have to set:

SD_PROGRESSIVE=1

If it is set to "0" (as in your INI). When you change it BD-RB is told to insert pulldown flags (via X264) in the output. TSMUXER can't handle 3:2 pulldown (even in MPEG-2), I think it's a PTS/timing issue, but I've never looked at it closely enough to say for sure. That's why the SD_PROGRESSIVE default is "1". The "0" setting is really only useful for output to MP4 or MKV.

I'm pretty much positive that's the source of your problem.

[Edit] Interestingly I just noticed that the HIDDENOPTS.TXT file incorrectly states that the default is "0". That is incorrect -- the default is "1" -- I've updated HIDDENOPTS for the next release.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 27th April 2014 at 03:33.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.