Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd June 2020, 16:20   #29421  |  Link
SquallMX
Special SeeD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheIceman View Post
I hope there's an easy answer to this question. And no, I didn't read all 1471 pages in this forum to try and find it.
How do I enable video card (CUDA) acceleration in BDRB? I'm currently using v0.61.05, Win10.

Yes, my PC can handle 4K. Yes, my CUDA acceleration works with other programs like Adobe & FAB. So, what setting do I need to modify in BDRB or its' supporting programs to get this performance advantage???
Using a 2hr 4K file, and encoding to a high quality 25G output: FAB takes about 90mins, BDRB takes 19hrs. I really like BDRB, but the encoding time difference is Huge.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!!
BD Rebuilder does not uses CUDA Hardware Acceleration, software encoding provides better quality but is always slower.

Last edited by SquallMX; 3rd June 2020 at 16:54.
SquallMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2020, 21:30   #29422  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,355
BDRB doesn't no, because it's basically just a GUI for the command line tools like x264/x265 which DO use the CUDA/NVENC cores
Ch3vr0n is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2020, 23:15   #29423  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
BDRB doesn't no, because it's basically just a GUI for the command line tools like x264/x265 which DO use the CUDA/NVENC cores
I've never seen the x264 encoder use my nVidia CUDA GPU. I need a newer card for H.265 encoding.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2020, 13:21   #29424  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
BDRB doesn't no, because it's basically just a GUI for the command line tools like x264/x265 which DO use the CUDA/NVENC cores
That is absolutely false. BD-RB is much, much more than that. But the actual encoding itself is done by X264/X265/FRIM.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 4th June 2020 at 13:25.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2020, 13:23   #29425  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
I've never seen the x264 encoder use my nVidia CUDA GPU. I need a newer card for H.265 encoding.
The decoding may (if set properly) uses the CUDA core, but not encoding.

I still have NVIDIA's NVENC on my "to do" list.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2020, 14:24   #29426  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
That is absolutely false. BD-RB is much, much more than that. But the actual encoding itself is done by X264/X265/FRIM.
Oh I know it is. No offense meant, I was just simplifying it. That's all. It does a everything but encoding

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Ch3vr0n is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2020, 16:31   #29427  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
The decoding may (if set properly) uses the CUDA core, but not encoding.
Yep, it does indeed. The discussion was about encoding. Plus x264 isn't used for decoding.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2020, 17:40   #29428  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,355
This isn't meant as advertising by any means. Just as a reference, i have many tools in my video processing library (BDRB still being used, before this one even was released, my alternative (Elaborate Byte's "CloneBD" does full hw acc decoding and encoding. Shrinking a full size BD50 to BD25 on my GTX1080 takes me under 15 minutes with it. Though for my 3D discs, nothin beats BDRB (yet )

@jdobbs if you believe this post is violating your topic in any way. Feel free to edit/remove it.
Ch3vr0n is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2020, 05:36   #29429  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 539
BD RB could encode a disc in 15 minutes if you used the fastest settings. Is CloneBD any good or just fast?
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2020, 11:31   #29430  |  Link
Michi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 59
Error "Jaws UHD":

Code:
[06.06.20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[12:22:31] Source:  JAWS
  - Input BD size: 92,75 GB
  - Approximate total content: [06:47:49.242]
  - Target BD size: 46,26 GB
  - Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
  - Quality: High Quality (Default), CRF
  - Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
  - Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=448
- Resuming from previously started job.
[12:22:33] PHASE ONE, Encoding
 - [12:22:33] Processing: VID_00480 (4 of 18)
 - [12:22:33] Multiplexing M2TS
 - Error in attempt to multiplex: MUX_00480.meta
 - HEVC manual defined fps doesn't equal to stream fps. Change HEVC fps from 59.97 to 59.9401
[12:22:37] - Failed to build structure, aborted
Michi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2020, 11:43   #29431  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
BD RB could encode a disc in 15 minutes if you used the fastest settings. Is CloneBD any good or just fast?
For me 15 minutes is on "best quality" with my 1080A. If i select fastest option it's done in around 8 minutes. It's very good, and has an easy to use interface. Though offers less configuration options than BRDB.

Which is why i still use both
Ch3vr0n is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2020, 16:56   #29432  |  Link
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 200
Just jumping in late on the NVENC/CUDA discussion... I too have other tools that support it for Decoding/Encoding. They are definitely faster than BD-RB.

With my older Nvidia cards, GPU Accelerated encoding (be it Cuda/NVENC/Qsync/whatever), was faster but didn't look as good. It seemed softer and not as clear. And the bitrates were less even when trying to use the same CRF values, etc.

With my GTX1660ti (newest gen Nvidia hardware encoder) using hardware accelerated in the other tools (like FAB) is definitely faster and for all intents and purposes the output looks as good on my TV as BD-RB. (ok, I never looked frame by frame, blew them up side by side, etc... just talking about what my eyes see on my TV and my tablets)

That being said, I still use BD-RB as my primary app for making "Movie Only" MKV's for Bluray and UHD discs. (I use FAB for the occasional DVD) I just trust it, and its UI and settings are better (more configuration + very nicely laid out). Plus it always works and always gives me great quality which is the most important to me.

Having GPU Accelerated encoding would be a plus, I can certainly understand why some want it. But I'm fine without it if BD-RB keeps working as well as it does!
Mark_Venture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2020, 18:06   #29433  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michi View Post
Error "Jaws UHD":

Code:
[06.06.20] - HEVC manual defined fps doesn't equal to stream fps. Change HEVC fps from 59.97 to 59.9401
Huh? This movie was shot on film @ 24fps. The frame rate should either be 24 or 23.976. It is hard to get 60fps video from 24fps film and not use 3-2 pulldown. Doing so gains nothing for 24fps movies on Blu-ray and/or UHD

Last edited by MrVideo; 6th June 2020 at 18:13.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2020, 02:26   #29434  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 539
I've been away from this forum for a while and I'm seeing discussion of BD RB working with 4k discs, but searching the thread back for the past year, the first post and jdobb's website, I can't figure out what BD RB can and can't do.

Are people converting 4k discs to standard BD format? Can Atmos and other higher type audio tracks be passed to a standard BD?
Can BD RB re-encode 4k discs to a smaller size and output a burnable/playable UHD BD structure?
What happens to HDR in either of these cases?

Sorry if this has been answered, but there doesn't seem to be a resource explaining this. I don't see a setting for an x265 encoder, so I have to assume the output isn't UHD.

Edit: OOOooooh. tsMuxer was actually updated to support UHD structure, HDR, etc. I had no idea there was any development going on.
I had to dig back into the end of 2018 to find out that BD RB can actually shrink a UHD disc. Beautiful... but it would be nice if that info were somewhere like the first post.
Can anyone comment on standalone hardware support for UHD BD25 and BD50? I didn't think that was possible. It would be nice to know what brands/models support it.

Last edited by DoctorM; 12th June 2020 at 02:18.
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2020, 22:22   #29435  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 861
JDobbs, have you found a solution for the imported video becoming corrupted? I've recorded all 8 episodes of "The Secret of Skinwalker Ranch" (not related to the movie) Season 1, after removing commercials I've saved to MKV. There are 8 episodes. A few import fine, but the rest have glitches at chapter points. The MKVs before import are clear, and play through everything well. During Import v0.61.05, I've checked the TEMP directory and also made a copy when it's just about done..and checked with MPC-HC and the video is clean and smooth just like the MKV. It's when it's being added to the BD structure that some videos are altered.

Since I love the new actual evidence presented in this show I decided to make a BD. Which reminded me of the problem previously. I figured I'd check into it more, and I found that if Chapters are included or if not..and BD Rebuilder makes then, some videos are altered. Those are my findings so far. The episodes are in 720p 59.94 FPS.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2020, 03:56   #29436  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 539
@AmigaFuture - If your source recordings are mpeg2, you might want to try running mpeg2repair on them first.

And a question: Is "Quicker Encode for Extras" supposed to still work even if "force_noencode" is set to 1? Someone gave that advice once as a way to leave the movie untouched and encode the extras to fit the remaining space. It doesn't work for me. All video is left un-re-encoded. (I did make sure not to use x264's LAVF because that can't 1-pass.)
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2020, 04:32   #29437  |  Link
BuddTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Venture View Post
Just jumping in late on the NVENC/CUDA discussion...
Having GPU Accelerated encoding would be a plus, I can certainly understand why some want it. But I'm fine without it if BD-RB keeps working as well as it does!

I also was interested in GPU Accelerated encoding, but when JDobbs and other explained that there are fewer "quality" settings, compared to sw encoding, and the "best quality" BD-RB software settings gives a better final video, I am no longer interested in GPU Accelerated encoding.

I have two unused, older i7 pc's, attached to a KVM switch, and let BD-RB crank away at the highest possible settings making MKV files. So it takes 3 days or longer to make 1 MKV file using x265. The results are great, and "my" computer is left to do other things.

Now if they ever come out with GPU Accelerated encoding that offered "insane" High Quality video settings, I might be interested, but that might cost several hundred dollars for a video card, I probably would not be in a huge rush to buy such a graphics card, to get the same results I get now, with just waiting several days. Thanks everyone and JDobbs for explaing this!
BuddTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2020, 07:59   #29438  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddTX View Post


Now if they ever come out with GPU Accelerated encoding that offered "insane" High Quality video settings, I might be interested, but that might cost several hundred dollars for a video card, I probably would not be in a huge rush to buy such a graphics card, to get the same results I get now, with just waiting several days.
... and electric power is so cheap
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2020, 21:06   #29439  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
@AmigaFuture - If your source recordings are mpeg2, you might want to try running mpeg2repair on them first.

A question: Is "Quicker Encode for Extras" supposed to still work even if "force_noencode" is set to 1? Someone gave that advice once as a way to leave the movie untouched and encode the extras to fit the remaining space. It doesn't work for me. All video is left un-re-encoded. (I did make sure not to use x264's LAVF because that can't 1-pass.)
Comcast is transmitting MPEG-4 for HD channels. I have Quick-Encode for Extras enabled almost constantly. Functions very well with BD backups. Imported MKV's from that source aren't being reencoded. I'm now noticing, ahhhh...been a while attempting to "debug" this. That if I rencode some 59.94 files to 29.97 then..imports are great. So, there seems to be a problem that gets by (VideoReDo) TVSuite AND BD-RB (tsMuxer).
Which then also means some movies might not be rendered correctly, or mastering errors (?). I gave JD 2 files a while back, but I know he's been active with other stuff.
HandBreak is a nice replacement for now for encoding then since if I change the Framerate ONLY (to 29.97), and disable all Deinterlacing then it looks really good and plays smooth..and Imports sweetly. I just prefer JD's method because I'm not into all the math for getting MB output size right.

Appreciate the reply.

"x264's LAVF because that can't 1-pass." - It should, or DirectShow. I use these..often. Hmm..
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2020, 22:45   #29440  |  Link
ChuckUFarley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 23
Let me correct myself. CRF is disabled with X264's internal LAVF, but ABR is still an option. Since quicker-encode seems to use a CRF value, I would think a different decoder is needed.
I'd just like to know if that's a bug or a feature with force_noencode & quicker encode.

As far as your issue AmigaFuture... dude, I have no idea what you are even trying to do anymore. I figured you were capping OTA content. Since it's Comcast, I have to assume it's not QAM, and by MPEG-4, I'll assume you mean AVC video.

I don't know of a way to clean possible broadcast or encoding bugs under those conditions. I'm not sure there is. It could be a bug in the software you are using to cut the commercials.
ChuckUFarley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.