Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th January 2010, 03:43   #61  |  Link
war59312
war59312.com
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheck View Post
It works fine on my PC. Make sure resize=1 is set too.

What OS are you running it on ?
OK so "Saving of position and size" is off by default.

Indeed, changed it to 1 and working fine now. Thanks
war59312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 14:24   #62  |  Link
ron spencer
DVD Magistrate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sodor
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheck View Post
Ron, can you make sure that mkvmerge is working properly ? Open command line and navigate to your mkvtoolnix folder and run: mkvmerge -i "mkv file" Make sure you get output.
I checked it...works fine
ron spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 23:16   #63  |  Link
sheck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 203
v 0.4.1.0 Released

Changes:

* Fixed: MKVcleaver was not releasing mediainfo.dll handles properly
* Better progress tracking in status bar.
* MKVcleaver will now check if mkvextract.exe and mkvmerge.exe exist in the same folder.
* MKVcleaver will give an error and stop processing if mkvmerge.exe returns error or blank.
* MKVcleaver will give an error and exit if mediainfo.dll could not be loaded.
* MKVcleaver can now shutdown your PC when done.
How to use:
Create a shutdown entry in custom.ini under GUI section. If shutdown=1 then MKVcleaver will shutdown your PC once and turn this setting off, if shutdown=2 then MKVcleaver will shutdown your PC each time after it's done. And, of course, shutdown=0 will turn this off. If MKVcleaver doesn't find shutdown entry, it will assume it's off.
sheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 23:18   #64  |  Link
sheck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 203
@ Ron and Retarip_old,

Try the new version. Let me know if the same problem persists or if it's fixed.
sheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 03:54   #65  |  Link
ron spencer
DVD Magistrate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sodor
Posts: 988
well....the error I reported a few posts above is gone, but the one saying that mkvmerge cannot get info about the mkv is back:

"Could not get information from mkvmerge.exe"

So I re-downloaded from bunkus and manually used the -i command switch and it works fine. Not sure what else to say. mkvmerge is working fine on its own, but something is amiss between mkvmerge and your GUI...anything else I can do to help let me know.

perhaps you should provide a zip file of ALL the stuff that works on your PC so I can help troubleshoot here. What about paths? Any restrictions within your GUI on path depth? I have mkvs on server such as Y:\Media\High Def Movies\name.mkv Are spaces an issue?
ron spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 21:08   #66  |  Link
sheck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 203
Well, at least I know where to look now. I don't think my files will help you. I think it's something to do with your XP and not with MkvToolNix nor MKVcleaver.

Anyways, download this file, put it in the same folder as MKVcleaver and run it. First it will ask you to locate MkvToolNix folder then any MKV file. It will create a text file in the same directory called STD_log.txt. Post contents of the file here. Then we'll go from there.

Last edited by sheck; 30th January 2010 at 21:27.
sheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 21:48   #67  |  Link
ron spencer
DVD Magistrate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sodor
Posts: 988
not sure what could have to do with XP, but let me know!!!

here is the log:

Quote:
MkvToolNix Path:
C:\Program Files\MKVtoolnix

STDOUT_CHILD:


STDOUT_CHILD + STDERR_CHILD:


STDERR_MERGED:


STDOUT_CHILD + NC:


STDOUT_CHILD + STDERR_CHILD + NC:


STDERR_MERGED + NC:
ron spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 23:46   #68  |  Link
ANGEL_SU
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 109
a nice tool! But, i got the same error as ron spencer said at #51.
i found the reason is the internationalization of mkvtoolnix. After i delete the folder "locale", mkvcleaver works fine.
ANGEL_SU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 23:51   #69  |  Link
ron spencer
DVD Magistrate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sodor
Posts: 988
where is this folder...i do not have one
ron spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 00:03   #70  |  Link
ANGEL_SU
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 109
@ ron spencer
C:\Program Files\MKVtoolnix\locale
ANGEL_SU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 00:17   #71  |  Link
sheck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANGEL_SU View Post
a nice tool! But, i got the same error as ron spencer said at #51.
i found the reason is the internationalization of mkvtoolnix. After i delete the folder "locale", mkvcleaver works fine.
Ah ! That's interesting...

Ron, see if that works for you.

From the log file I see that on your machine MKVcleaver cannot read from memory where mkvmerge writes it's output. That's why you get that error. As to why that happens, I would have to research, but only if the above mentioned method doesn't work for you.

Last edited by sheck; 31st January 2010 at 00:23.
sheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 00:24   #72  |  Link
ANGEL_SU
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 109
@sheck
hope mkvcleaver can handle non-ascii characters. Without "locale" folder, mkvtoolnix app shows in english only, not my native language...
ANGEL_SU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 00:27   #73  |  Link
sheck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANGEL_SU View Post
@sheck
hope mkvcleaver can handle non-ascii characters. Without "locale" folder, mkvtoolnix app shows in english only, not my native language...
The output of mkvmerge.exe MUST be in English. For everything else, such as file names, MKVcleaver uses UTF8.
sheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 00:54   #74  |  Link
ron spencer
DVD Magistrate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sodor
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheck View Post
Ah ! That's interesting...

Ron, see if that works for you.

From the log file I see that on your machine MKVcleaver cannot read from memory where mkvmerge writes it's output. That's why you get that error. As to why that happens, I would have to research, but only if the above mentioned method doesn't work for you.
Well....the locale trick makes no difference...Wonder what is going on. No issues with anything else. Nice mystery!!!
ron spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 03:01   #75  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,270
@sheck

V.0.4.1.0 now gives me the ability to add a 2 letter language code to the subtitle stream.

However, I now have TWO "99%" displayed indefinitely when the program has actually finished ;>}

I guess the fact that it changes from "EXtract tracks" to "Cancel" shouyld be sufficient to indicate that processing has been completed...
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 03:04   #76  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,270
@ron spencer

Hi!

This program may not work properly with older versions of MKVToolnix. Do you have MKVToolnix v.3.1 (the latest) on your system?
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 04:45   #77  |  Link
ron spencer
DVD Magistrate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sodor
Posts: 988
Yep. Is latest
ron spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 07:12   #78  |  Link
ANGEL_SU
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheck View Post
The output of mkvmerge.exe MUST be in English. For everything else, such as file names, MKVcleaver uses UTF8.
i tried a file with non-english filename, mkvcleaver can show filename and extract tracks correctly.
with option '--ui-language en', mkvmerge.exe can output in english while i can keep "locale" folder. Can mkvcleaver run with this option?

Last edited by ANGEL_SU; 31st January 2010 at 07:18.
ANGEL_SU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 20:28   #79  |  Link
sheck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 203
@ setarip_old

Most likely this happens if mkvextract.exe didn't exit. Mkvcleaver detects it and waits for it to close. Open task manager and see if mkvextract.exe is still in process list when you get that indefinite 99%.

Does this happen with all the files you work with, or just one file. Try different files, it could be that you have a corrupt mkv file and mkvextract cannot exit.

@ Ron

I will have to research and see if the issue is fixable. Possibly, I will have to make a different MKVcleaver just for you.

@ Angel_SU

Yes it can run with that option, I will add it to the next release.
sheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 22:21   #80  |  Link
ron spencer
DVD Magistrate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sodor
Posts: 988
Quote:
@ Ron

I will have to research and see if the issue is fixable. Possibly, I will have to make a different MKVcleaver just for you.
HA HA!!!!

I am more interested in why of all the software I have why yours is the only one that will not work...not complaining for sure, but as I said, it is a neat mystery!!!! Keep me posted.
ron spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
batch extract, extractor, matroska, mkv, mkv batch, mkv decoder, mkvextract

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.