Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > One click suites for DVD backup and DVD creation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th November 2007, 10:45   #141  |  Link
rendez2k
Registered User
 
rendez2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
Back on the topic. Some more troubleshooting

Did you try changing AVS Source method? Go to Settings/Encoding/AVS Source Filter and select "AVISource".

Same error?

Another (mayve silly) question: do you have DirectX 9 installed?

:wink:

Bye
Sorry, meant to do some testing but not had much time! I do have DirectX 9.0c and AviSynth 2.5.7 but I need to check the other things you asked for. I will let you know ASAP!
rendez2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 10:55   #142  |  Link
rendez2k
Registered User
 
rendez2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 625
Just downloaded the 1.20 zip file and extracted to c:\program files etc and I get a mediainfo.dll not found?
rendez2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 10:57   #143  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by rendez2k View Post
[Edit] Just found out that windows wants to replace some files in the Windows directory with the ones from the original XP-CD (after installation of AVS120). Then it works ok. So some ".dll" or other files you install there seem to be incompatible with some XP installations.
Found the problem

Since release 1.2.0 I have created the installer on Vista (before I had XP), using CreateInstallFree as usual. That software picks up some DLLs (VB6 runtime libraries) from my Windows\System32 dir, like comcat.dll which Vista version is 6.0.6000.16386 and puts them into the installer package.

When the installer goes on a XP system with Windows Defender, it overwrites current comcat.dll (XP version 5.0.2600.1). Then Windows Defender wakes up, does not want new version (6.0.6000.16386) and restore old one.

I really hate M$



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 11:05   #144  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by rendez2k View Post
Just downloaded the 1.20 zip file and extracted to c:\program files etc and I get a mediainfo.dll not found?
From file ReadMe_NoInstall.txt

Quote:
AVStoDVD "NoInstall" package notes
----------------------------------

Be sure to have the following software installed on your system:

- AviSynth 2.5.7
- Visual Basic 6.0 Runtime Pack
- Mediainfo.dll 0.7.5.3 in WINDOWS/SYSTEM32 folder
You have to download mediainfo.dll and put it into Windows\System32



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 11:30   #145  |  Link
krisso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
First of all, I would like to say that this software is wonderful. From some random movie conversions at maximum quality (2 passes), the output looks superb. However, I came across two problems:

1. I've tried adding subtitles (using the supported formats) to the converted AVI to DVD, but when playing it back on my DVD player or computer no subtitles show. The option to enable English subtitles is available during playback though.

2. Converted movies with AC3 audio do not have any audio. I'm just curious, but why does it request an AC3 filter/codec if we're keeping the AC3 audio from the source AVI file?

Thanks again for this great software.
krisso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 12:06   #146  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by krisso View Post
First of all, I would like to say that this software is wonderful. From some random movie conversions at maximum quality (2 passes), the output looks superb
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by krisso View Post
1. I've tried adding subtitles (using the supported formats) to the converted AVI to DVD, but when playing it back on my DVD player or computer no subtitles show. The option to enable English subtitles is available during playback though.
What AVStoDVD release and what subs format are you using? Release 1.1.3 supports txt-based subs and 1.2.0 support graphical subs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by krisso View Post
2. Converted movies with AC3 audio do not have any audio. I'm just curious, but why does it request an AC3 filter/codec if we're keeping the AC3 audio from the source AVI file?.
When you feed AVStoDVD with a AC3 movie, the program detects if AC3 stream is DVD-compliant. If yes, you are prompted to keep that stream. If not, AVStoDVD forces audio recompression and outputs a warning to correctly configure the AC3 filter.



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 13:08   #147  |  Link
rendez2k
Registered User
 
rendez2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
From file ReadMe_NoInstall.txt



You have to download mediainfo.dll and put it into Windows\System32



Bye
Many thanks - I missed that! All is working and I'm running some tests now. Can subs be forced on or even 'embedded' into the video?
rendez2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 13:50   #148  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
AVStoDVD support only muxed subs (thru dvdauthor/txt-based until 1.1.3 and MuxMan/graphical since 1.2.0).

For burnt-in subs, you could use AviSynth filter VSFilter.dll that support both txt and graphical based subs: modify AVS script adding:

Quote:
TextSub("C:\subs.srt") ### txt based
or
Quote:
VobSub("C:\subs.sup") ### graphical based


Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 16:09   #149  |  Link
rendez2k
Registered User
 
rendez2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by krisso View Post
1. I've tried adding subtitles (using the supported formats) to the converted AVI to DVD, but when playing it back on my DVD player or computer no subtitles show. The option to enable English subtitles is available during playback though.
Just had this issue too. Converted subtitle file from an srt to a sst using Subtitle Workshop and they don't show in PowerDVD or Zoom Player. English option is also present. Any ideas?
rendez2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 18:52   #150  |  Link
blaze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
Hi, does this software support command line input?
blaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 20:59   #151  |  Link
rendez2k
Registered User
 
rendez2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 625
OK, the original errors I was getting using QuEnc only occur when I set process priority to 2 (so 2 QuEncs are running). When set to 1 the encode completes fine.

Also, the advise for hard coding the subs worked great - maybe this could be included as a feature?

Also, could a size entered under custom be made to be the default setting?
rendez2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2007, 21:15   #152  |  Link
krisso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
What AVStoDVD release and what subs format are you using? Release 1.1.3 supports txt-based subs and 1.2.0 support graphical subs.
I'm using 1.2.0 with both subtitle formats. I took a SRT and converted it to SST and SUP files. I've converted the movie once for each converted sub format, but they still don't show during playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
When you feed AVStoDVD with a AC3 movie, the program detects if AC3 stream is DVD-compliant. If yes, you are prompted to keep that stream. If not, AVStoDVD forces audio recompression and outputs a warning to correctly configure the AC3 filter.
I've tried it with a AC3 compliant movie where i had to select yes to keep the AC3 audio. However, the final DVD still had no sound.
krisso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2007, 11:23   #153  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaze View Post
Hi, does this software support command line input?
The only CLI supported is a AVStoDVD project file (.a2d). Example:

C:\Program Files\AVStoDVD\AVStoDVD.exe "D:\Movies\My Project.a2d"



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2007, 11:27   #154  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by rendez2k View Post
OK, the original errors I was getting using QuEnc only occur when I set process priority to 2 (so 2 QuEncs are running). When set to 1 the encode completes fine.
On some system there is an issue with MultiCoreEnc I really cannot understand. Since next release I will remove MultiCoreEnc for higher reliability.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rendez2k View Post
Also, the advise for hard coding the subs worked great - maybe this could be included as a feature?

Also, could a size entered under custom be made to be the default setting?
I will put them in my "ToDo" list



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2007, 11:34   #155  |  Link
rendez2k
Registered User
 
rendez2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
On some system there is an issue with MultiCoreEnc I really cannot understand. Since next release I will remove MultiCoreEnc for higher reliability.
Bye
With HC 0.22 supporting in-built multi-processor there seams to be less and less need for QuEnc (for me anyway!)
rendez2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2007, 11:36   #156  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by krisso View Post
I'm using 1.2.0 with both subtitle formats. I took a SRT and converted it to SST and SUP files. I've converted the movie once for each converted sub format, but they still don't show during playback
What software player are you using? With Media Player Classic (MPC) I have never had any issue.... Using MPC be sure to go to "Navigate"/"Subtitle Language"/"Enabled".

Another try: convert your video and audio using "Elementary MPEG2 Streams". You will have 2 files (.m2v and .ac3). Open MuxMan and load .m2v .ac3 .sup. Author DVD and see if problems is still present. If yes, it is a MuxMan fault.... if not, let me know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by krisso View Post
I've tried it with a AC3 compliant movie where i had to select yes to keep the AC3 audio. However, the final DVD still had no sound.
No sound on the PC (maybe you have to install a AC3 codec) or no sound on the table DVD player?



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2007, 11:39   #157  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by rendez2k View Post
With HC 0.22 supporting in-built multi-processor there seams to be less and less need for QuEnc (for me anyway!)
Yes, you are right, at least for video encoding. However QuEnc is still a good and simple AC3 audio encoder.



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2007, 15:30   #158  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Just for Doom9 braves...

AVStoDVD 1.2.1 beta Installer

Mainly bugfixing and removed MultiCoreEnc



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2007, 10:14   #159  |  Link
blaze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
The only CLI supported is a AVStoDVD project file (.a2d). Example:

C:\Program Files\AVStoDVD\AVStoDVD.exe "D:\Movies\My Project.a2d"



Bye
is this possible to automate avs2dvd so that it starts automatically when the a2d file is loaded this way?

Last edited by blaze; 2nd December 2007 at 11:03.
blaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2007, 10:50   #160  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaze View Post
is this possible to automate avs2dvd so that it starts automatically when the a2d file is loaded this way?
Something like:

Quote:
C:\Program Files\AVStoDVD\AVStoDVD.exe "D:\Movies\My Project.a2d" -start
Yes, it is

Batch launching a batch launcher... very very tautologic...



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.