Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th April 2016, 20:19   #37601  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikarad View Post
How adjust hdr peak luminance option in madvr?
must I select the same nits like my display or select ramdomly or other?
I have an ips 8bit display with contrast equal to 800 and 120cd.
Sounds like your monitor is calibrated for 120 nits, since 1 nt = 1 cd/m2. I'm also assuming you meant 120 cd/m2.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2016, 21:39   #37602  |  Link
ikarad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
Sounds like your monitor is calibrated for 120 nits, since 1 nt = 1 cd/m2. I'm also assuming you meant 120 cd/m2.
Yes, my monitor is calibrated for 120nits but I would like to know if in madvr option I use the same nits or not.

I have tried with HDR movie example and at 120nits, it's too bright but I don't know if with a true HDr tv, it's like that or not.

With life of pi HDr eample available on http://demo-uhd3d.com/
120nits

400nits.

Last edited by ikarad; 26th April 2016 at 21:42.
ikarad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2016, 21:43   #37603  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,943
Just pick whichever nits setting looks best on your particular screen, there is no universal answer, or there wouldn't be as many options. Its generally higher than the 120 nits though, even if one might assume that would fit since SDR screens are calibrated for that.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 26th April 2016 at 21:47.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2016, 21:53   #37604  |  Link
nussman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodgexander View Post
Anyone using MadVR for live TV?
I am using madVR for live TV with DVBViewer Pro and DVB-S/S2.
Works perfect here, so madVR is ready for live TV.
nussman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2016, 23:05   #37605  |  Link
hu1kamania
Registered User
 
hu1kamania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodgexander View Post
Anyone using MadVR for live TV?

I am using it with a DVB-T2 tuner in the UK with MPC-HC and channels broadcast both in h264 and mpeg2 streams, no matter what I get dropped frames, albeit very very occasionally. I have an Ivy Bridge i5 with HD4000 graphics and have set image up-scaling/downscaling to DXVA and chroma up-scaling to Bilinear but it still drops frames.

I wondered if anyone else has had this problem, is it just Live TV? I have tried so many times to eliminate the problem, windowed mode, dx11 mode, exclusive mode etc.
Have you tried different deinterlacing settings within Lav Filters, and MadVR? That can make a difference as well.

I use MadVR with JRiver Media Center, but MPC-HC should work just as well.
hu1kamania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2016, 23:20   #37606  |  Link
Dodgexander
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by nussman View Post
I am using madVR for live TV with DVBViewer Pro and DVB-S/S2.
Works perfect here, so madVR is ready for live TV.
Thanks, yes I've used madVR before with live TV but recently I get dropped frames.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hu1kamania View Post
Have you tried different deinterlacing settings within Lav Filters, and MadVR? That can make a difference as well.

I use MadVR with JRiver Media Center, but MPC-HC should work just as well.
Yes, I've tried forcing video detection in settings and also deactivating deinterlacing but it doesn't help. At first I thought it was a problem using the hardware decoder in lav but using no hardware acceleration I still get the same problem. I've tried with hardware deinterlacing too.

I'm not sure what the problem is, it happens so irregularly. I know when changing between programs and adverts it happens but that's a separate issue related to switching between progressive and interlaced broadcasts. This is happening whilst watching 1080i25 broadcasted snooker. I would guess every half hour or so there is a slow down with some jumped frames, rest of the time is fine with rendering queues and times up to scratch. My Max render time has been 1.2s

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Dodgexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2016, 23:54   #37607  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikarad View Post
Yes, my monitor is calibrated for 120nits but I would like to know if in madvr option I use the same nits or not.

I have tried with HDR movie example and at 120nits, it's too bright but I don't know if with a true HDr tv, it's like that or not.

With life of pi HDr eample available on http://demo-uhd3d.com/
120nits

400nits.
I'd probably go with 265 nits, as 400 seems a bit dark sometimes, but it might be the best choice and closest looking to SDR once converted.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2016, 00:58   #37608  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, São Paulo
Posts: 153
hey people, about 3dlut calibration
tomorrow i gonna try again make a 3dlut, the last experience was bad... i got an old i1d2 and an lcd hdtv that don´t have rgb sliders or any colour controls...
what is the best config in dispcal gui?
should i set all to as measured and disable the interactive display adjustments? or should try using the rgb controls from intel cp?

and the tone curve? should i set as measured?
in profiling should i use black point compesation?
can somenone help me? the colorimetry is not mine and i don´have much time for testing possible configurations..

ps: my tv don´t support full range, and the best config i found is set madvr to tv levels and intel to full range... there something i should do in dispcalgui to match this settings?
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Last edited by CarlosCaco; 27th April 2016 at 01:08.
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2016, 02:02   #37609  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,888
If you don't want to get into it too deeply I suggest you set white point and brightness to native, tone curve to BT.1886. Black point compensation on for the first try, off if that calibration is not good near black.

This method doesn't try to fix the white point but white is relative for humans and without a lot of testing and doing it right HDTV calibrations are generally better without targeting a white point, IMO. You sacrifice too much to sort-of fix white.

I suggest you look at the Display Calibration thread for continued discussion of this topic. There is some good information there and it is nice to avoid clogging up this thread with display calibrations.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2016, 04:25   #37610  |  Link
Stereodude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Region 0
Posts: 1,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosCaco View Post
hey people, about 3dlut calibration
tomorrow i gonna try again make a 3dlut, the last experience was bad... i got an old i1d2 and an lcd hdtv that don´t have rgb sliders or any colour controls...
what is the best config in dispcal gui?
should i set all to as measured and disable the interactive display adjustments? or should try using the rgb controls from intel cp?

and the tone curve? should i set as measured?
in profiling should i use black point compesation?
can somenone help me? the colorimetry is not mine and i don´have much time for testing possible configurations..

ps: my tv don´t support full range, and the best config i found is set madvr to tv levels and intel to full range... there something i should do in dispcalgui to match this settings?
DisplayCAL is much better than it used to be. I generated 3D LUTs for my plasma and one of my LCD monitors in the past week. It now has a 3D LUT for madVR option on the main page. You don't need black point compensation. Don't mess with RGB sliders in the drivers.

The rest of your questions depend on what you're trying to do or are after. After you generate a profile of your display you can generate a 3D LUT over and over changing the options however you want. That only takes a few minutes per 3D LUT and doesn't require any remeasurement.
Stereodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2016, 15:44   #37611  |  Link
*Touche*
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Can you produce test images? I have hard time noticing any difference when super-xbr or NNEDI3 is combined with SuperRes.
Don't have any saved, I just pause some movies and tv shows and compare. It's not that SR is important, actually, just sxbrAB25 ~ NNEDI3.
*Touche* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2016, 16:09   #37612  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,743
It's a bit softer, though, which is corrected well by SR.
SR also corrects some of the bloating by super-xbr without A-B, but this is mainly limited to bloating of dark areas since SR in GL has kind of thinning effect for dark lines. The ringing/bloating of bright areas by super-xbr isn't corrected as good, that's where super-xbr A-B comes in.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2016, 17:56   #37613  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodgexander View Post
I am using it with a DVB-T2 tuner in the UK with MPC-HC and channels broadcast both in h264 and mpeg2 streams, no matter what I get dropped frames, albeit very very occasionally.
I also had dropped frames. I've tried to disable deinterlacing, but I still also noted dropped frames, despite using bilinear basic filters. Maybe the problem is with hardware. I never took time to test with DVBViewer.
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2016, 18:53   #37614  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, São Paulo
Posts: 153
Guys i need help, i aways used madvr in tv levels and the gpu on full range... My tv cleary don't suports full range, all other aplications turn darker and saturated...

But i downloaded avschd patterns and when i play the black clipping pattern all the bar are flashing so i tried others
And the only that keep 16 black and 17 flashing is madvr 1-255 and gpu full
But how this is possible? If i can see cleary on other aplications that the tv don't support full range, also on madvr full range the movies are darker and oversaturated...i really don't know what is happening
Its possible to be a Intel driver bug?
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2016, 19:57   #37615  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,406
are you getting a different result here?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9TI9f1zxucw

+-1 level scaling can make more levels visiable.
is DXVA scaling used?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2016, 21:04   #37616  |  Link
Dodgexander
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by pirlouy View Post
I also had dropped frames. I've tried to disable deinterlacing, but I still also noted dropped frames, despite using bilinear basic filters. Maybe the problem is with hardware. I never took time to test with DVBViewer.
I've done some more testing using jriver with madVR. And I think I've narrowed it down to some kind of deinterlacing detection. It was most apparent when watching the Simpsons but I found madVR kept switching deinterlacing on and off, eg not detecting if it's needed from the stream or not.
This was more apparent because when I turned on forced deinterlacing in madVR or forced it off there's no dropped frames.

At first I thought it was video mode/film mode detection and that may be responsible from some dropped frames too but its best stuck to video only for TV.

It might help to understand how the auto detection works to try figure out why madVR keeps switching deinterlacing off/on.

Edit # further testing confirms the same behavior in mpc-hc. Never dropping frames with deinterlacing off. Keeping deinterlacing off in madvr and forcing it on in lav such as enabling yadif once again means the occasional dropped frames. The same occurs when using hardware deinterlacing in lav and forcing it on. How the hell can I work out how to solve this?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Last edited by Dodgexander; 28th April 2016 at 03:38.
Dodgexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2016, 21:22   #37617  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, São Paulo
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
are you getting a different result here?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9TI9f1zxucw

+-1 level scaling can make more levels visiable.
is DXVA scaling used?
No dxva, later i will try your link

Is Very strange if i set madvr to tv anda gpu to full 1 to 25 all flashes
Ir ser madvr full and gpu limited i get 19 to 25 flashing but with madvr full and gpu full almost the same happens... I found that madvr 1-255 and gpu limited works but i don't want Intel dithering...
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2016, 23:53   #37618  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosCaco View Post
No dxva, later i will try your link

Is Very strange if i set madvr to tv anda gpu to full 1 to 25 all flashes
Ir ser madvr full and gpu limited i get 19 to 25 flashing but with madvr full and gpu full almost the same happens... I found that madvr 1-255 and gpu limited works but i don't want Intel dithering...
What do you mean by "works"? 17 to 25 flashing is correct so it sounds like you have correct behavior using the recommended madVR full and GPU full setting. You simply have slight shadow crush which is very common on any consumer display that hasn't been calibrated. You can use custom levels in madvr to correct it or use different options when calibrating your display.

edit: btw your results are not strange at all, that is exactly what you would expect to happen. Picture information is 16-235, so when set to full madVR expands 16-235 to 0-255, clipping 0-15. If set to limited madVR outputs the untouched 0-255, which includes the blacker than black 1-15 bars which you incorrectly see. The GPU setting simply compresses 0-255 to 16-235 if set to limited and outputs the untouched 0-255 if set to full. The GPU always assumes it is 0-255 so if you set both the GPU and madVR to limited you get double compression.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 28th April 2016 at 00:08.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2016, 00:35   #37619  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, São Paulo
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
What do you mean by "works"? 17 to 25 flashing is correct so it sounds like you have correct behavior using the recommended madVR full and GPU full setting. You simply have slight shadow crush which is very common on any consumer display that hasn't been calibrated. You can use custom levels in madvr to correct it or use different options when calibrating your display.

edit: btw your results are not strange at all, that is exactly what you would expect to happen. Picture information is 16-235, so when set to full madVR expands 16-235 to 0-255, clipping 0-15. If set to limited madVR outputs the untouched 0-255, which includes the blacker than black 1-15 bars which you incorrectly see. The GPU setting simply compresses 0-255 to 16-235 if set to limited and outputs the untouched 0-255 if set to full. The GPU always assumes it is 0-255 so if you set both the GPU and madVR to limited you get double compression.
Maybe i not explaned cleary english is not my native language

I aways used madvr on tv levels and gpu on full levels

But when i run the patterns the resulta are strange

Lets show you:

Madvr: 16-235 gpu: 0-255 = all bars 1 to 25 flashing similar to limited limited But with brackground more darker
Madvr: 0-255 gpu: 16-235 = 18 to 25 flashing
Madvr: 0-255 gpu: 0-255 = 19 to 25 flashing
If i set madvr 1-255 any range on gpu flashes 17-25

But my tv don t have hdmi black level option also don't have any levels
Options, and with gpu to full all colors on desktop and internet and everything else become Very darker without any shadow detail and oversaturated on reds...
I really don t know more what levels use...

With thats situation i tried 3dluts with all settings and only terrible results
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2016, 01:40   #37620  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosCaco View Post
Madvr: 16-235 gpu: 0-255 = all bars 1 to 25 flashing similar to limited limited But with brackground more darker
Madvr: 0-255 gpu: 16-235 = 18 to 25 flashing
Madvr: 0-255 gpu: 0-255 = 19 to 25 flashing
If i set madvr 1-255 any range on gpu flashes 17-25
Your first setting doesn't make sense given you report a clipped desktop if you have the GPU set to full range. How can you see bars 1-15 if you have crushed shadow detail on your desktop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosCaco View Post
Options, and with gpu to full all colors on desktop and internet and everything else become Very darker without any shadow detail and oversaturated on reds...
I really don t know more what levels use...

With thats situation i tried 3dluts with all settings and only terrible results
Set madVR to 1-255 and the GPU to limited to fix the desktop, of course this has Intel's dithering.

The only other option is madVR 16-235 and the GPU full, but this clips your desktop.

These are the only two options if your TV does not support full range. But it sounds like your's does if you can see all the bars with madVR 16-235 and the GPU 0-255?

Maybe you can recalibrate your TV for full range input? I know some TVs I have calibrated did not have an option for blacklevel but I could change it by changing brightness and contrast.

Set madVR to 16-235, GPU to Full, usually you raise brightness to bring lower numbered bars visible and lower contrast to bring higher numbered bars visible. Sadly sometimes the manufacture has 'brightness' and 'contrast' change different aspects so these adjustments might not be right or even involved in the black or white level. You want to adjust until you can see 1 and 254. If you can adjust so all steps are visible you then change madVR to full range and you should only see 16 and 235 (and the desktop should look correct).
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.