Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th December 2018, 14:49   #53941  |  Link
madFloyd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
It is a LAV setting.
Thanks. I've installed the latest LAV filters but can't seem to access them. I see that there is a desktop app for each of the filters but when I try to launch the LAV Video app nothing happens.

Any ideas?
madFloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2018, 17:18   #53942  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 282
If the display is calibrated in target peak nits we put the calibrated peak nits or generally display's peak nits?
Damien147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2018, 20:32   #53943  |  Link
XMonarchY
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Does anyone have issues with NVidia latest drivers on Win10 1607 and Exclusive Full screen mode? I get tearing near the top in fast-paced scenes and that's with madVR-set custom resolution.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2018, 20:41   #53944  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
Does anyone have issues with NVidia latest drivers on Win10 1607 and Exclusive Full screen mode? I get tearing near the top in fast-paced scenes and that's with madVR-set custom resolution.
Why do you guys need Exclusive Full Screen mode ( FSE ) ? Windowed mode works better an faster.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2018, 21:01   #53945  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,406
i highly doubt windowed is faster than FSE.

@XMonarchY
does the display rate match the composition rate?
how high is the present time.
maybe add an screen of the OSD.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2018, 21:17   #53946  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,888
The switch into FSE is obviously slower than into fullscreen windowed.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2018, 21:54   #53947  |  Link
Rectal Prolapse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
Does anyone have issues with NVidia latest drivers on Win10 1607 and Exclusive Full screen mode? I get tearing near the top in fast-paced scenes and that's with madVR-set custom resolution.
I've had that problem before - on my system with a Sony 1080p projector, it was because the custom resolution I let MadVR pick is not compatible with the projector, leading to exactly what you are seeing. I had to pick a different one that is closer to specifications (I ended up trying 5 of them) and then it worked.

In the end I just manually create a custom resolution in the NVIDIA control panel instead of using MadVR's optimized ones. I already know what the settings should be so it saves me a lot of time doing that.
Rectal Prolapse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2018, 22:59   #53948  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 39
even I do not need to use "Exclusive Full Screen mode" !!!
Windowed mode works better for me too, with no problems in playback, no dropped, repeated or delayed frames.
"Exclusive Full Screen mode" is more problematic.
giulianoprs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2018, 05:06   #53949  |  Link
austinminton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 71
FSE is needed for the new rtx cards, definitely for my 2080 ti.
austinminton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2018, 06:04   #53950  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,888
I only need FSE for HDR, SDR works very well on my 2080 Ti in fullscreen windowed.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2018, 06:54   #53951  |  Link
austinminton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 71
Interesting, I get stutter in fs windowed for sdr. Do you change refresh rates to match the source?
austinminton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2018, 10:02   #53952  |  Link
cremor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
Does anyone have issues with NVidia latest drivers on Win10 1607 and Exclusive Full screen mode? I get tearing near the top in fast-paced scenes and that's with madVR-set custom resolution.
Make sure you didn't force VSync off in the driver. I did that once (because I read somewhere I should do it for G-Sync) and it also gave me tearing in madVR.

Quote:
Originally Posted by austinminton View Post
Interesting, I get stutter in fs windowed for sdr. Do you change refresh rates to match the source?
I have a RTX 2070 and windowed fullscreen works fine for me. I'm using madVR custom refresh rates and just SDR content.
cremor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2018, 10:12   #53953  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,318
Anyone got any performance numbers for 2070 vs 1080/1080Ti for madVR?

Also is there a way to get madVR to output an image beyond the screen resolution? I'd like to use it for upscaling images and saving but I'm limited to a non 4K screen.

Last edited by ryrynz; 20th December 2018 at 11:08.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2018, 11:19   #53954  |  Link
austinminton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 71
Ok so I stand corrected, not everyone with rtx needs FSE. I have tried with the latest drivers as well and am absolutely sure I need it for my setup. I get stuttering even with default madvr settings and matching refresh rates (i just cant tolerate unmatched). Have even tried a full windows reinstall. I am quite sure there are a few other users who have had the same problem and have solved it with FSE.

I dont need FSE for the exact same setup but the 2080 ti swapped out with a 1080.

For what its worth, my primary PC:
Intel 9900k, asus maximus xi code, 64gb ram, asus strix 2080 ti oc edition, samsung 970 evo, bunch of 10tb hdds. Sony 75" z9d as the primary display for madvr. Not sure what else could be relevant.

Last edited by austinminton; 20th December 2018 at 11:23.
austinminton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2018, 11:48   #53955  |  Link
Mykola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Anyone got any performance numbers for 2070 vs 1080/1080Ti for madVR?

Also is there a way to get madVR to output an image beyond the screen resolution? I'd like to use it for upscaling images and saving but I'm limited to a non 4K screen.
In AMD drivers there is setting called Virtual Super Resolution, it allows to run apps in 4K on screens, smaller than 4K. May be nVidia has something similar.
Mykola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2018, 12:03   #53956  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Also is there a way to get madVR to output an image beyond the screen resolution? I'd like to use it for upscaling images and saving but I'm limited to a non 4K screen.
madVR just renders to the players window size. It would be up to it to just be the size you want it to be, I would think.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2018, 13:53   #53957  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Also is there a way to get madVR to output an image beyond the screen resolution? I'd like to use it for upscaling images and saving but I'm limited to a non 4K screen.
try the screen shoot function it can do up to 800%.

if you combine it with other tricks you can do quite some resolution.

@austinminton

don't forget the nvidia power setting there is a problem on windows 10 with windowed mode that can results in a stuttering mess on dual or more monitor setup where the refreshrate doesn't match on all screens(composition rate mismatches) this varies heavily by the used windows version. a way to test it is using overlay rendering which usually ignores such issues similar to FSE.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2018, 18:12   #53958  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,888
Ah, good point huhn. I am currently running with only one screen attached.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2018, 18:39   #53959  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
foozoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 115
@madshi
Can we expect something big before Christmas?
What about the new algorithm?

Last edited by foozoor; 20th December 2018 at 19:15.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2018, 18:50   #53960  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinminton View Post
Ok so I stand corrected, not everyone with rtx needs FSE. I have tried with the latest drivers as well and am absolutely sure I need it for my setup. I get stuttering even with default madvr settings and matching refresh rates (i just cant tolerate unmatched). Have even tried a full windows reinstall. I am quite sure there are a few other users who have had the same problem and have solved it with FSE.

I dont need FSE for the exact same setup but the 2080 ti swapped out with a 1080.

For what its worth, my primary PC:
Intel 9900k, asus maximus xi code, 64gb ram, asus strix 2080 ti oc edition, samsung 970 evo, bunch of 10tb hdds. Sony 75" z9d as the primary display for madvr. Not sure what else could be relevant.
Your TV or Monitor could be the issue.. I had issue with Philips 7007 TV when using 60 Hz, 59 Hz worked fine.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.