Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th May 2020, 19:11   #7421  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 928
Do you know what the red line is showing? I never figured that out.
I tested EVR cp:
with internal VSync disabled - 25 fps video has flat green and red line in graph
with internal VSync enabled - 25 fps video has periodic jumps, which shows that the 25 fps can not be shown smoothly on 60 Hz. Perhaps I used that wrong in the past. What was the intention of the graph of red line an green line?

I beg to add also the graph of EVR cp in MPC VR that would be nice ;-)
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2020, 03:45   #7422  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Do you know what the red line is showing? I never figured that out.
DX9AllocatorPresenter.cpp
Code:
// draw jitter curve
m_pLine->Draw(Points, NB_JITTER, D3DCOLOR_XRGB(255, 100, 100));

// draw sync offset
m_pLine->Draw(Points, NB_JITTER, D3DCOLOR_XRGB(100, 200, 100));
Quote:
I beg to add also the graph of EVR cp in MPC VR that would be nice ;-)
You do not know what it is, but you need it? I will not do useless things.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2020, 04:27   #7423  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 928
I have always internal VSync enabled and then I knew if the framerate and refresh rates matched and I think something like that would be nice in MPC Video Renderer.

I only didn‘t know what the dev(s) created exactly, but for the usage I used it, it was fine. I hope that way it is clearer
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2020, 12:03   #7424  |  Link
stefanelli73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 43
MPC-BE use for some time now with great satisfaction... the other day I wanted to install MPC-HC and I noticed that the audio of the latter was weaker than that of MPC-BE, do you know what it can depend on? Volume for both 100%
stefanelli73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2020, 14:17   #7425  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 928
Can be several things. Some I can imagine:
- Internal Filters of MPC-BE vs. internal LAV Filters in MPC-HC -> different settings possible.
- bitstreaming enabled in one of them
- custom settings in the advanced audio processing options which MPC-BE has.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2020, 21:20   #7426  |  Link
yonta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 126
mpc-vr 1286 captures a wrong screenshot of an .mp4 video with rotate meta tag. it captures 2160x1215 when it should do 2160x3840(original size is 3840x2160). i tested previous versions and mpc-vr 1285 works correctly.
yonta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2020, 04:40   #7427  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by yonta View Post
mpc-vr 1286 captures a wrong screenshot of an .mp4 video with rotate meta tag. it captures 2160x1215 when it should do 2160x3840(original size is 3840x2160). i tested previous versions and mpc-vr 1285 works correctly.
Thanks - fixed.
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2020, 14:59   #7428  |  Link
KoD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 561
I did some changes to the MPC video renderer:
- select the swap chain bit depth based on the bit depth of the area where the player window is located, not on the video bit depth;
- if Windows is configured to display HDR+WCG, then make the video renderer display HDR10 content as HDR10.

Regarding the first issue, I noticed that the bit depth of the swap chain was 8 bit. That's not optimal, we should be using more than 8 bit if the area where the player is located has a higher bit depth. The change I did was to pick the swap chain bit depth based on what Windows reports as the output bit depth underneath the area occupied by the player window.

Regarding the second issue, I noticed that even though HDR+WCG was enabled in Windows 10, the video renderer would tonemap HDR10 video content to SDR. The change I did was to allow displaying HDR10 media as HDR10 content when the area occupied by the player window was enabled as HDR.

What I did not do was to handle the case when the media player window is moved from one screen (virtual or not) to another, as one could be able to show HDR and another one only SDR. This would mean recreating the swap chain. Did try to do so, but likely hit some multithreading issues. This needs to be done by someone who understands what's going on there.

Would there be any interest in these changes?

Last edited by KoD; 25th May 2020 at 15:52.
KoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2020, 23:34   #7429  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoD View Post
I did some changes to the MPC video renderer:
- select the swap chain bit depth based on the bit depth of the area where the player window is located, not on the video bit depth;
- if Windows is configured to display HDR+WCG, then make the video renderer display HDR10 content as HDR10.

Regarding the first issue, I noticed that the bit depth of the swap chain was 8 bit. That's not optimal, we should be using more than 8 bit if the area where the player is located has a higher bit depth. The change I did was to pick the swap chain bit depth based on what Windows reports as the output bit depth underneath the area occupied by the player window.

Regarding the second issue, I noticed that even though HDR+WCG was enabled in Windows 10, the video renderer would tonemap HDR10 video content to SDR. The change I did was to allow displaying HDR10 media as HDR10 content when the area occupied by the player window was enabled as HDR.

What I did not do was to handle the case when the media player window is moved from one screen (virtual or not) to another, as one could be able to show HDR and another one only SDR. This would mean recreating the swap chain. Did try to do so, but likely hit some multithreading issues. This needs to be done by someone who understands what's going on there.

Would there be any interest in these changes?
Yes interesting. But i don't have HDR TV/Monitor and can't test.
You can create pull request on github.
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215

Last edited by Aleksoid1978; 26th May 2020 at 00:18.
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2020, 06:34   #7430  |  Link
Skibicki
Registered User
 
Skibicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 41
The Main File Store is getting uploads but is stuck on an older build.
__________________
Win 8.1 -- Core 2 Duo E7300 & Intel Q43 GMA 4500
Skibicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2020, 07:01   #7431  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,349
Latest SVN - https://yadi.sk/d/AjAXDDHtHRIELg/Beta%20(Nightly)
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2020, 07:18   #7432  |  Link
KoD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleksoid1978 View Post
Yes interesting. But i don't have HDR TV/Monitor and can't test.
You can create pull request on github.
Ok, I'll work on the code to make it more generic then, and then I'll make it available.
KoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2020, 09:35   #7433  |  Link
mogli
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogli View Post
[]
Also most youtube videos don't work for me anymore, hope it isn't related: The title and duration of the video is immediately found and shown in the playlist but it doesn't start and after a short time it says 'invalid' and 'file not found'. example youtube video
After almost one year this is happening again.
mogli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2020, 09:48   #7434  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogli View Post
After almost one year this is happening again.
You can say "thanks" to google

P.S. Fixed.
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215

Last edited by Aleksoid1978; 29th May 2020 at 10:12.
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:45   #7435  |  Link
mogli
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 74
Thank you! I can confirm it's fixed in build 5318.
mogli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 22:07   #7436  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 466
Where can we get the latest nightly builds (svn) builds? Yandex is on build 1.5.5.5290...
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:49   #7437  |  Link
M.Scott
Registered User
 
M.Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
Where can we get the latest nightly builds (svn) builds? Yandex is on build 1.5.5.5290...
... not sure if it's (svn) but I usually use the links in v0lt's sig for nightly builds. There's a forum for MPC-BE in Russian that can be used:
v0lt's sig -> https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...postcount=7378
Russian forum -> https://mpc-be.org/forum/index.php?topic=4

I had to translate but the links are here:
Ночные сборки: Яндекс.Диск, Альтернатива 1, Альтернатива 2.
Старые версии на VideoHelp.com.

Sometimes VideoHelp has the latest, and the main Yandex link is usually showing download limit exceeded so I find myself using alternative 1.

Last edited by M.Scott; Today at 03:06.
M.Scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:05   #7438  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 466
Thank you for the info, alternative 1 seems good.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.