Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th February 2019, 18:13   #23281  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
If you register them outside of the JRiver plugins directory and add them as custom filters, then yes, it's using your external LAV installation. I'd not necessarily recommend that as it has caused problems in the past. I update the plugin version and re-register them with regsvr32. This method has never given me an issue.
Yes, that's what I did, I install the standalone LAV and then add them in jRiver as custom filters, same as MadVR.

If I was to do it your way, I should:

Copy the LAV x64 most recent LAV files into the plugin directory
Uninstall LAV standalone
Register the plugin version using regsvr32

Then when a new version of LAV arrives, unpack it and copy the x64 files to the plugin?

Then what I do I do to have the x86 version registered for MadMeasureHDR?

The only issue I have a the moment is lots of UHD BD Menus won't play properly (direct movie playback works fine). If this is unlikely to fix it, I'm tempted to stay as it is...
__________________
MBP 13" 2018 Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
i7 8559U@4.1Ghz 16Gb@3.8Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 418.81 RGB Full 12bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 8th February 2019 at 18:22.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2019, 18:29   #23282  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,024
I doubt that'll fix the UHD menu issue. If you have examples of titles not playing menus correctly, you should visit the bd menu thread on JRiver forum and post about them there so they can be looked at.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator (Optimus)
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2019, 18:58   #23283  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
I doubt that'll fix the UHD menu issue. If you have examples of titles not playing menus correctly, you should visit the bd menu thread on JRiver forum and post about them there so they can be looked at.
It didn't fix the UHD BD Menus issue (I'll report these in the jRiver forum), but at least I'm using the plugins LAV version now.

I've registered the 32bits .ax as well that I put in a lav32 folder in the plugins folder. That was needed for MadMeasureHDR to work.

Thanks!
__________________
MBP 13" 2018 Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
i7 8559U@4.1Ghz 16Gb@3.8Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 418.81 RGB Full 12bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2019, 19:02   #23284  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
It didn't fix the UHD BD Menus issue (I'll report these in the jRiver forum), but at least I'm using the plugins LAV version now.

I've registered the 32bits .ax as well that I put in a lav32 folder in the plugins folder. That was needed for MadMeasureHDR to work.

Thanks!
I keep the 32 bit version separate and outside of the plugins dir. I've not had any issues doing so. Just ran madmeasurehd with that configuration yesterday with no issue.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator (Optimus)
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2019, 20:48   #23285  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
I keep the 32 bit version separate and outside of the plugins dir. I've not had any issues doing so. Just ran madmeasurehd with that configuration yesterday with no issue.
Oh yes, I only put it there so it's next to the 64bits one, that way I have all the plugins (madVR and both LAVs) in the same folder., which makes manual maintenance easier. I expect it to be wiped out by the next jRiver update. It doesn't matter where you put it.
__________________
MBP 13" 2018 Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
i7 8559U@4.1Ghz 16Gb@3.8Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 418.81 RGB Full 12bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 02:44   #23286  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 576
Hi, are there portable versions of the nightly builds?
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 06:44   #23287  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,253
the is no point in a portable standalone directshow filter.
but you should be able to overwrite the lavfilter version in your portable player or editing software of your choice.
huhn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 13:18   #23288  |  Link
eugeny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2
LAVVideo.ax bug in two latest nightly builds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleksoid1978 View Post
I think it is because of update to latest Intel MSDK decoder. It's use function SetThreadErrorMode, it's minimum support Windows 7/2008 R2.
Is it possible to compile Vista/2008 Server compatible build?
eugeny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2019, 13:25   #23289  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,534
Just use the previous nightly or release until it is resolved.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2019, 23:52   #23290  |  Link
arrgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 106
Kabylake HD620; 3D-MVC; Win81x64; Intel driver 15.45.21.4821

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
I have re-visited the problem and done some additional filtering of the bitstream to hopefully avoid the problem. However, I was also unable to reproduce it anymore, even with old LAV and old drivers, so maybe something in a Windows 10 update fixed it.

Anyhow, its now possible to enable H.264 MVC HW decoding in LAV Video, if you have a Intel GPU. Its default off.

Testing would be appreciated. Even more so if you previously had the hang problem. It'll be available in a couple hours in the next nightly build at https://files.1f0.de/lavf/nightly/
I'm on MPC-BE 4418; with newest Win-Updates;
madVR *.17 and LAV 73.1.14;
with all HW-Decoders I get a black Screen and a frozen MPC-BE, when I check MVC_hardware Decoding (no playback at all; Need to use Taskmanager to Close MPC; via Hot-Key (alt-x), it fails/freezes; that was not the case with LAV 73.1.0);

I went through all Options in VideoDecoder (without MVC-HW-Decoding checked)... with some I get several minutes (~5 min) of smooth playback; then the stuttering starts (also with "None" HW Decoding );
I cycled back to D3D11/native and now for >10min it worked (I stopped then)... so, it seems to be very shaky/unpredictable... but always, there is no clean exit from MPC-BE; it must be cut via task manager.

Last edited by arrgh; 10th February 2019 at 23:59.
arrgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2019, 00:09   #23291  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,534
No options have any impact on MVC hardware decoding, other then turning it on or off.

And if you don't have stable hw playback at all of normal videos, then trying MVC is probably not of much value.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2019, 05:15   #23292  |  Link
zvans18
Registered User
 
zvans18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 21
Hello, sorry if this is the wrong place or asked too much, but after a fresh install of Windows, I have A/V sync drift I'm trying to fix but don't know how. It starts okay, but needs more and more audio delay, ultimately around 500ms of delay by the end of a 45 minute show. This desync doesn't seem to happen when played with latest VLC, but I don't use it much.

System is W10 Pro x64, GTX 1080 SLI, 418.81 drivers, 8700k, MXH motherboard with no specific audio driver/software installed feeding 3.1 "computer speakers" (separate DAC + headphones for critical listening I haven't tested yet with the new install), speaker settings enhancements disabled and default format 24/44.1, MPC-BE beta 64 bit, madVR, LAV Filters, XySubFilter 64 bit

Player setup procedure (which as far as I know is identical as I had on my previous W10 install) was: No portable version of things. Install .bats ran as Admin. LAV Splitter, LAV Splitter Source, LAV Audio Decoder, and LAV Video Decoder selected in external filters and set to prefer. Video decoder 12 threads and dxva2 copyback. MPC-BE power set to Adaptive in NVCP.

How should I look for the problem? I've tried disabling outputs above 24 bit, disabling auto a/v sync, but testing is difficult as it's a gradual drift.

EDIT: playback is on a 144Hz monitor with smoothmotion auto in madVR (auto off in this case)
__________________
Windows 10 // i7-8700k + GTX 1080 SLI // MPC-BE x64 + LAV + XySubFilter

Last edited by zvans18; 12th February 2019 at 06:21. Reason: additional detail
zvans18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2019, 05:26   #23293  |  Link
zvans18
Registered User
 
zvans18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by zvans18 View Post
Hello, sorry if this is the wrong place or asked too much, but after a fresh install of Windows, I have A/V sync drift I'm trying to fix but don't know how. It starts okay, but needs more and more audio delay, ultimately around 500ms of delay by the end of a 45 minute show. This desync doesn't seem to happen when played with latest VLC, but I don't use it much.
--snip--
WOW I was totally wrong. Let one play out and desync very much happens in VLC as well. Disregard, I guess.
__________________
Windows 10 // i7-8700k + GTX 1080 SLI // MPC-BE x64 + LAV + XySubFilter

Last edited by zvans18; 11th February 2019 at 05:35.
zvans18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2019, 10:37   #23294  |  Link
Mevunky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Anyone having issues with E-AC3? If I use current versions or even recent versions of LAV I cannot bitstream eac3, however using old versions I have no issues. MPC-HC 1.8.4+ bundled LAV.
Mevunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2019, 12:28   #23295  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mevunky View Post
If I use current versions or even recent versions of LAV I cannot bitstream eac3
What happens if you try? Is there an error message? And you tested the very same file with older version? Try to find the exact version the problem appears.

Last edited by sneaker_ger; 11th February 2019 at 12:31.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2019, 12:30   #23296  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by zvans18 View Post
WOW I was totally wrong. Let one play out and desync very much happens in VLC as well. Disregard, I guess.
So the file is broken?
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2019, 13:37   #23297  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Just use the previous nightly or release until it is resolved.
You probably already know this. But fix is easy. There is just a wrong winver check in dispatcher code. Adjust preprocessor checks around the uses of SetThreadErrorMode (0x0600 > 0x0601) and define in project file _WIN32_WINNT=0x0600.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2019, 19:43   #23298  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by arrgh View Post
with all HW-Decoders I get a black Screen and a frozen MPC-BE, when I check MVC_hardware Decoding
Have you tried other players?
Quote:
I went through all Options in VideoDecoder... with some I get several minutes of smooth playback; then the stuttering starts (also with "None" HW Decoding );
I cycled back to D3D11/native and now for >10min it worked (I stopped then)...
Is this on a laptop or NUC? If yes then it may be related to power/thermal throttling. It's weird though that DXVA2 native doesn't work as good as D3D11 native performance wise.
__________________
HTPC: W10 1803, E7400, 1050 Ti, DVB-C, Denon 2310, Panasonic GT60 | Desktop: W10 1803, 4690K, HD 7870, Dell U2713HM | Laptop: Insider Slow, i5-2520M | MediaPortal 1/MPC-HC, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2019, 23:30   #23299  |  Link
arrgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
No options have any impact on MVC hardware decoding, other then turning it on or off.

And if you don't have stable hw playback at all of normal videos, then trying MVC is probably not of much value.
it's a misunderstanding... regular h264/1080p mkv work ok; also the shut down of MPC-BE via hot-key (alt-x) works; only mvc-mkv cause a hang after alt-x...

anyways, to double check, I reinstalled a system image from 12/2018 which had the December Win updates in it, LAV 73.1, madVR .17 and MPC-BE 4167;
this setup had (of course) also the stuttering in (some of) the 3D files but MPC-BE closed nicely with alt-x from mvc-files... when I upgraded to MPC-BE 4322 it had a hang....
so, sorry for the confusion, but it seems to be a MPC-BE problem which happened somewhere in-between 4167 and 4322...

during this I have "discovered" that MPC-BE offered to download libmfxsw32.dll... so I checked and it seems that there are several versions at large...
when I copied version "8.18.6.8 dated 8.6.18" into the LAV folder, the stuttering seemed to be reduced significantly... only every few minutes there was a short jerk, otherwise it seemed to work "ok" (but also with this the alt-x resulted in a hang)... are we sure that we have already the "perfect/newest" libmfxsw32.dll?
arrgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2019, 02:26   #23300  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,100
I test latest MPC+BE + LAV on mvc-mkv - all perfect playback. But - i test on software decoding.
__________________
I7 2600K@4.2 /Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 /Kingston HyperX 8Gb 1866 (4x2) Kit /OCZ Vertex 3 256Gb /Gigabyte GTX 960 /BenQ EW2430 /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.